Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bavarian Hat

The Bavarian Tyrol-style hat of loden wool is an alpine icon. Worn for centuries by citizens of the Alps, this wool Bavarian Tyrol hat offers not only style, but warmth as well. Four-cord rope band with stitched loop accent. Crown turned up in back and down in front. Two-inch brim. Bavarian Tyrol hat in loden wool. Pin sold seperately. Imported from Germany.Sizes: 6⅞, 7, 7⅛ , 7¼, 7⅜, 7½, 7⅝.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bavarian Hat
Review 1 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Genuine German style hat,
October 13, 2014
By: Germanbill
from Ohio
"After looking all over the place for one to finally able to locate one at Orvis. Excellent quality."
Review 2 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this hat!,
September 30, 2014
By: dawdog
"Hat is made of quality materials and fit was perfect. Wore this hat as part of an Oktoberfest outfit. Was way better than other so called "Oktoberfest hats"."
Review 3 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellence,
September 16, 2014
By: LisaEbi
"Beauty, quality and character. The best birthday gift of all time, said my husband."
Review 4 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Item,
July 31, 2014
By: h0677cjs
from Grantville, PA
"This Alpine hat is well made. Thick felt with an attractive color. Overall very pleasing item. Well put together. It promises to last a long, long time."
Review 5 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Hunting Hat,
September 19, 2013
By: CLPnIPY
from Spokane, WA
"This is the hat I wore hunting for years while stationed in Germany. It's warm, kept my head dry, and fit in perfectly with the German hunting traditions. I have my own "decorations" which I have already installed and I look forward to wearing it come Fall and Winter. The only downside is that, being wool, it will shrink over the years - that's why I got this one."
Review 6 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
March 13, 2013
By: GWR1
from Milwaukee, WI
"I understand that this type of hat is not for everyone, but it was a great find for me. Consistent with Orvis quality, the fit was perfect and it looks great with the feathered hat pins they were offering. Thanks"
Review 7 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bavarian Bliss,
January 3, 2013
By: Wannabebavarian
from Spokane, Washington
"My Bavarian hat "tops" off my Bavarian attire in authentic detail and style. It illicited compliments the first time I wore it. I'm looking forward to showing it off in the annual May Festival Parade in Leavenworth Washington, as I lead my Bernese Mountain Dog, Hans, amidst many other Berners."
Review 8 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Hat,
December 29, 2012
By: notmary
"This hat was purchased as a gift and became a favorite of the recipient. The hat owner has a very large collection of head coverings and the styles vary from silly to stylish. This hat falls into the stylish and practical. The quality is top of the line and the fit true. I would recommend this hat to anyone."
Review 9 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 28, 2012
By: Bincil
from New Hartford, NY
"The quality of the hat, along with the authenticity of being a Bavarian Hat is excellent. Great choice of having a Bavarian Hat and not having to go to Germany to get one. I would recommend this to anyone in search of a Bavarian Hat. Great addition for next year's Oktoberfest!"
Review 10 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bavarian hat,
November 12, 2012
By: mdjd
from Toledo, OH
"Pat is well made, warm, comfortable and best of all true to the right size. It is an excellent value."
Review 11 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice!,
October 30, 2012
By: Tankster
from WA
"Excellent quality hat... very comfortable and great shape.
Exactly as pictured and I highly recommend!
Shipping was real fast too!
"
Review 12 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bavarian Hat,
October 22, 2012
By: CarbonCopy
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This is a great hat. The picture shows it with a feather with which it does not come -- small matter. The hat is great - nice thick wool and ornamental cord as shown."
Review 13 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
March 8, 2012
By: Rogeriusrex
from Louisville, KY
"As most other reviews have stated, this is a very nice hat. Although not top-of-line quality, it is well made, looks sharp, and fits true to size. Much better the stuff you find at the Oktoberfest stores. And I highly recommend purchasing one of the feather pins from Orvis to decorate it--I bought three of them, and they are all outstanding."
Review 14 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hat,
January 20, 2012
By: Yodeler
"The hat is well made,, feels good and has a very nice look."
Review 15 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Son Loves It!,
December 30, 2011
By: Tski
from Morristown, NJ
"As my son says, he has a big head. This hat fits perfectly! It looks amazing with the hat pin on it, we also purchased from orvis. All looks great on my son especially when he is wearing his lederhosen. :)"
Review 16 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 29, 2011
By: AutomaticSlim
from Detroit, MI
"I purchased the Bavarian Style hat to match a cape my wife had purchased. The hat arrived and the size is perfect, and the quality is very high. It was on back order, but It still arrived in time for Christmas."
Review 17 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Value.,
December 25, 2011
By: CedarKnob
from Hickory Valley, TN
"There are many grades of Bavarian Hats and while this is not a top of the line model, it is a solid value and a perfect hat to use in the woods or field.
Typical of the Bavarian style, the hats conforms nicely to the shape of one's head and is therefore very comfortable."
Review 18 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of product,
December 17, 2011
By: Zigenhorn
"I was disappointed in the quality of the hat. The fabric looked aged and cheap, and the hat was misshaped."
Review 19 for Bavarian Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As expected -- outstanding,
January 1, 2011
By: Lochman
from active, avid outdoors person
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This hat, and the pin, ordered, are both exactly what I have come to expect AND receive from Orvis. Smart looking, well made, and quite reasonable. To top it off, it was received earlier than anticipated."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bavarian Hat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1