Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels

There is not another true large arbor, big-game fly-fishing reel out there that carries this drag system performance at a price starting at just $225. It's unheard of until now. The new Hydros® Reel Series features a sealed drag surface that increases total drag surface by model: The larger the reel, the larger the drag surface and the more resistance available to handle larger fish. Using stacked carbon washers, controlled by a positive click adjustment system, the Hydros can be fine-tuned to handle any fish from a trout to a tuna with sustained and infinitely durable drag pressure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
118
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
7
129 of 145(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Review 1 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!!!!,
June 28, 2015
By: CaptainHal
from Port St Joe FL
"Great reel. Bought it for customer reels for Reds and Drum. Drag holds like a dream. Highly recommended!!!"
Review 2 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best choice,
June 25, 2015
By: KimCS
from Seoul, KR
"Best reel at my choice. Really beauty style and smooth drag.."
Review 3 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feeling so good,
June 24, 2015
By: KimCS
from Seoul, KR
"How light weight, smooth drag and fine design... already, i recommended to my friend this reel. so nice."
Review 4 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hydros V,
June 15, 2015
By: Alan57
from Norway
"Bought a Hydros V reel for salmon fishing in Norway. When spey casting, the running line gets caught between the reel handle and the spool because the washer where the handle joins the spool is smaller than the diameter of the handle at its base. This could easily be fixed by making the washer the same size as the handle's diameter."
Review 5 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great drag,
May 24, 2015
By: anthonyburzachiello1
from new jersey
"what a great reel for the price. pulled in 2 nice strippers the first time using it and the drag was great. very happy with this reel. looks great too..."
Review 6 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always a great product. Will be using it soon.,
May 20, 2015
By: TWoodfield
from Melbourne Florida
"I haven't had a chance to use it yet, but will be going from Florida to New York to do some trout fishing and I'm excited to use this reel."
Review 7 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really good reel,
May 20, 2015
By: Oletobias911
"Best reel at a good price. Really smoth drag and performance."
Review 8 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Reel,
May 13, 2015
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"This is a very functional smooth running reel that also looks great. I have various sizes up to a Hydros IV and they are all well built with a nice easy to use smooth drag."
Review 9 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always wanted a hydros reel,
May 1, 2015
By: Ridgeline13
from Western ny
"I have always used just a fly reel .I will never regret buying a hydros fly reel because the first time I fished with the hydros . I have a winner."
Review 10 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Large arbor,
April 29, 2015
By: Zorrozekkocho
"I purchased two of the largest arbor reels for salt water fly fishing. The first reel broke down after a small tuna (~8Ibs) made a run. The pin in plastic and spring collapsed and the break/drag never recovered either. The second reel broke down in almost the same way. While fighting a small mahi-mahi (~9Ibs) the break/drag completly jammed and now the break/drag isn't working any longer. Frustrating to loose fish in this way. Have switched over to other reels. Both these reels have retired and did not cope even with light salt water fly fishing for small tuna and mahi-mahi. Dissapointing"
Review 11 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome upgrade,
April 27, 2015
By: jms1964
from Salem, MA
"Stepped up to a new reel for my 9wt saltwater outfit and I couldn't be happier. Holds plenty of line and the balance feels great. Good deal on an extra spool to boot!"
Review 12 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great reel and service,
April 23, 2015
By: jude37
from australia
"this is a great reel very happy with it great postage service to very quick thanks very much."
Review 13 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive,
April 20, 2015
By: Yftuna
from San Diego
"It not only works very well it looks and feels like a more expensive reel"
Review 14 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
best value,
April 14, 2015
By: vtlyfisher
from Burlington, VT
"Hydros reels go toe to toe with best in class reels for nearly all performance metrics and at half the cost or even better. Only gave 4stars due to some cosemetic and subtle quality issues - delt with swiftly by Orvis. Already planning to add at least one more to my collection."
Review 15 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Goes well with my rod,
April 3, 2015
By: BilloftheAllan
from Scotland
"Bought to use with an older rod , an OrvisTrident TLS mid flex ( which suits me fine). Rod reel balance is just right. Drag been tested on wee daft trout, nice smooth action at a light setting
Quality of the product is very good, service from the people first class.
"
Review 16 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Reel in my Arsenal,
April 2, 2015
By: RamblinRick
from North Carolina
"I purchased a Hydros LA II and have used it on my 5 and 3 weight Orvis rods. The reel is smooth, and the drag system increased my catches when using 6X tippet with large trout. I liked the Hydros so much that I have added the IV and V to my arsenal with a variety of weighted lines for various conditions, including Saltwater fishing. Great job Orvis."
Review 17 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality product,
April 1, 2015
By: gryfox
"Quality product along with quality customer service, what else can you state !!"
Review 18 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful reel,
March 12, 2015
By: Pomfretian
from UK
"I have just received this reel and will be using it next month on the Aberdeenshire Dee. First impressions are that it is perfectly balanced and matches my Hardy 14ft rod beautifully. Lets hope I need all the backing I have loaded next month"
Review 19 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros - Powerstation,
March 10, 2015
By: AKC50
from UK
"A great looking reel with a drag that would stop a shire horse.
I bought this reel to avoid that sinking feeling when you have a decent Salmon on and realise that you only have 50 metres of backing on your the trout reel you used as the river was low and single handed seemed like s good idea.
"
Review 20 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best quality reel,
March 3, 2015
By: 007Eamon
from Oxfordshire UK
"great engineering,perfect presentation and most of all outstanding reliability"