Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels

There is not another true large arbor, big-game fly-fishing reel out there that carries this drag system performance at a price starting at just $225. It's unheard of until now. The new Hydros® Reel Series features a sealed drag surface that increases total drag surface by model: The larger the reel, the larger the drag surface and the more resistance available to handle larger fish. Using stacked carbon washers, controlled by a positive click adjustment system, the Hydros can be fine-tuned to handle any fish from a trout to a tuna with sustained and infinitely durable drag pressure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (132 reviews)
5 stars
107
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6
118 of 132(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Review 1 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great reel and service,
April 23, 2015
By: jude37
from australia
"this is a great reel very happy with it great postage service to very quick thanks very much."
Review 2 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive,
April 20, 2015
By: Yftuna
from San Diego
"It not only works very well it looks and feels like a more expensive reel"
Review 3 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
best value,
April 14, 2015
By: vtlyfisher
from Burlington, VT
"Hydros reels go toe to toe with best in class reels for nearly all performance metrics and at half the cost or even better. Only gave 4stars due to some cosemetic and subtle quality issues - delt with swiftly by Orvis. Already planning to add at least one more to my collection."
Review 4 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Goes well with my rod,
April 3, 2015
By: BilloftheAllan
from Scotland
"Bought to use with an older rod , an OrvisTrident TLS mid flex ( which suits me fine). Rod reel balance is just right. Drag been tested on wee daft trout, nice smooth action at a light setting
Quality of the product is very good, service from the people first class.
"
Review 5 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Reel in my Arsenal,
April 2, 2015
By: RamblinRick
from North Carolina
"I purchased a Hydros LA II and have used it on my 5 and 3 weight Orvis rods. The reel is smooth, and the drag system increased my catches when using 6X tippet with large trout. I liked the Hydros so much that I have added the IV and V to my arsenal with a variety of weighted lines for various conditions, including Saltwater fishing. Great job Orvis."
Review 6 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality product,
April 1, 2015
By: gryfox
"Quality product along with quality customer service, what else can you state !!"
Review 7 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful reel,
March 12, 2015
By: Pomfretian
from UK
"I have just received this reel and will be using it next month on the Aberdeenshire Dee. First impressions are that it is perfectly balanced and matches my Hardy 14ft rod beautifully. Lets hope I need all the backing I have loaded next month"
Review 8 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros - Powerstation,
March 10, 2015
By: AKC50
from UK
"A great looking reel with a drag that would stop a shire horse.
I bought this reel to avoid that sinking feeling when you have a decent Salmon on and realise that you only have 50 metres of backing on your the trout reel you used as the river was low and single handed seemed like s good idea.
"
Review 9 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best quality reel,
March 3, 2015
By: 007Eamon
from Oxfordshire UK
"great engineering,perfect presentation and most of all outstanding reliability"
Review 10 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel I have ever used,
March 2, 2015
By: GW1958
from Newcastle upon Tyne England
"This reel is the best reel I have ever used. The feel and drag system is first class. Excellent quality and finish and I would recommend anyone who is in the market for new and high end products that there is no need to look any further than Orvis"
Review 11 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigreel,
March 2, 2015
By: brooktroutfishrmn
from Richmond, VA
"Bought this reel for Saltwater fishing. Haven't used it yet, but thanks to my local Orvis store its all ready to go. Good Price."
Review 12 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oh yes!,
February 19, 2015
By: Brinx
"Easily the nicest reel I've ever bought. Soooooo smoooooooooth. Those rainbows won't know what's hit them once I've found the rest of my tackle in my garage.
Keep up the good work Orvis and please keep those constant stream of emails coming, they really brighten up my day!
I used to have spam fritters for school dinner which were delicious but nothing like Orvis spam.
Top notch!
"
Review 13 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the line,
February 12, 2015
By: dvail12
from Mystic, CT
"When fishing larger fish, the drag system on a reel is all important. Both the Mirage and Hydros have smooth drag systems. Fish do unexpected things, it's best if your gear doesn't."
Review 14 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
consistant quality performance,
January 1, 2015
By: PtReyesMick
from Pt Reyes Ca
"I have been using the Hydros large arbor reels now for about 5 years in salt water fishing, primarily in Belize and the Yucatan and the Sea of Cortez.
These reels hold up very well in all conditions. The sealed drag system is a real plus as a wet reel is still as dependable as dry-no changes in lbs/pull at all.
From tarpon to bonefish ,permit to sailfish, the performance is consistantley flawless.
I will continue to expand my ownership of this product as well as recommend it to others.
"
Review 15 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
December 27, 2014
By: Ruefdawg
from Tulsa, OK
"It's just what I wanted. It's lightweight and balances my new Access 8 weight rod perfectly. This is great for bass and striper fishing here at home and tailing redfish on the flats of South Padre Island."
Review 16 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect reel,
December 13, 2014
By: Igbilbao
"I really like this reel when I was fishing in the Patagonia / Chile some Chinook Salmons"
Review 17 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All Round Reel,
December 10, 2014
By: DLPCapeCod
from Cape Cod MA
"I began with Battenkills and had them salt up quite regularly. The Hydros goes longer before the drag needs attention. Really happy with the reel. Even though it has a sealed drag, you still need to pay attention. I generally break it down and do a real cleaning annually with regular cleanings after each use. Great Real for the money."
Review 18 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Value for the dollars,
December 9, 2014
By: Swingingfly
from Washington State
"Looked at internet reviews for large arbor, large capacity fly reels for my Skagit heads. Decide this reel was the best bang for the dollar. Sturdy construction, good drag system and fancy looking."
Review 19 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great look and feel,
December 7, 2014
By: Siesta
"I have the hydros IV reel and I love the finish of the titanium silver and the feel of the construction. It honestly feels better in the hand than a lot of the most expensive fly reels out there. It has a great sound and just feels solid."
Review 20 for Hydros Large Arbor Fly Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel and Great service,
December 5, 2014
By: Flyfishaddict
from Asheville NC
"I bought the 7/8 Hydros reel in Asheville NC retail store. Used in in FLA and love it."