Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access Mid-Arbor Reels

The new Access Mid-Arbor fly fishing reels take the mid-arbor concept to a new level of performance and do it at a price that makes it accessible to everyone. Starting at just $145, the Access Reel Series offers a full-range of performance features from machined 6061 aircraft aluminum to a totally sealed carbon and stainless-steel drag surface. From the diminutive I to the big-game V, the Access offers the angler the benefits of large arbor; faster retrieve, less coiling, but at a diameter size that isn't quite as overwhelming as some large arbors. With a new larger handle, positive click drag adjustment, and three bold colors, the Access fly fishing reels are the best dollar for dollar reel value in the industry. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.792 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (173 reviews)
5 stars
147
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
169 of 173(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Review 1 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel,
October 8, 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"Purchased the Access MAII for my 4 weight to use in Smokey Mtns. Performed wonderfully for brutal day climbing upstream chasing brook and browns. Would recommend this for anyone."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my Access III,
September 30, 2014
By: jct133
from Pawlet, VT
"I own an Access II, III and VI now and love them all. The three is the prefect size for my new Access 9'6" 6wt. It perfectly balances the road and while I've never been a fan of gold before it's a perfect match."
Review 3 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
September 18, 2014
By: EFDIII
from Greensboro, NC, USA
"Great drag, smooth action, cannot beat this reel for the price."
Review 4 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gift,
September 18, 2014
By: ShirleyG
"This was an anniversary gift that my husband very much appreciated. He can't wait to take it for a spin! The personalization was a plus!"
Review 5 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent reel for the price,
August 25, 2014
By: grindstonecreek1
from new york
"I've used my Access mid-arbor V for two king salmon seasons and its never let me down. The drag is very smooth, even after a dunk in the river. This reel is a beautiful piece of craftsmanship. I highly recommend this reel."
Review 6 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweet reel,
August 20, 2014
By: Jimmie61
from Nor Cal
"light weight and rugged. easy to adjust drag. inexpensive for the quality"
Review 7 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just One Problem,
August 6, 2014
By: UncleBuster
from Virginia
"An excellent reel and a perfect compliment to my Access 9' 5wt. It balances the rod perfectly and the gold finish just looks classy. Drag is smooth and I'm pleased.
4 stars because of the reel pouch: the darned thing is so tight that inserting or removing the reel is a definite struggle. I've even tried slitting the elastic band at the opening but with no result. I'm so frustrated with it that I'm just going to chuck the darned thing and buy a case from another manufacturer."
Review 8 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New favorite reel!,
August 4, 2014
By: Camer0n
from Minneapolis, MN
"I recently purchased the gold version of the orvis access reel and took it out to Yellowstone on a week long fly fishing trip! It worked perfectly the whole time and got some compliments from a few other fishermen on the river! I would recommend this reel to anyone looking for great performance, durability, and a beautiful design."
Review 9 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access II gold,
July 21, 2014
By: Tomsk
from England
"I bought this for my #4 7'2" split cane rod, and it balances the rod perfectly.
The drag is excellent, and has really made my set up perfect
"
Review 10 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
July 18, 2014
By: TroutRaider
from Northern New Mexico/So. Colorado
"Looks great, works perfect, excellent size, easy to use drag control, light weight, and high quality. Hard to beat this reel for the money or even for a couple hundred dollars more.
What more can I say, I Love It!
Plus the Orvis Lifetime Guarantee!!
How can you beat all that!
"
Review 11 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth spinning reel great purchase,
July 16, 2014
By: HJT603
from Temple, NH
"Bought to go with my 4 weight rod, it feels comfortable in my hand and is very smooth in the casting and reeling in."
Review 12 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access to Excellence,
July 1, 2014
By: Woodsound
from Summit, NJ
"What a charming reel! Light weight and a superb drag system. I purchased mine in gold and had my name engraved also. I paired this reel with the Orvis superfine hydros 5wt line and for a mid arbour, it looks and feels fantastic. It also has a very fine tuned drag system for any circumstance you'll need. If you're looking for beauty and durability, then the Access is for you. -Brian"
Review 13 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel I've ever had!,
June 20, 2014
By: stukel5577
from Scotland
"I got the access ii to hold a 5WT line. I use this reel for river fishing and loch fishing when the wind isn't too crazy (I'm in Scotland). The reel is lightweight and the drag is fantastic. I've landed big brown trout, with every confidence in the smooth drag. The numbering system is a good feature, so you know which number suits various tippet strengths. It's very durable, I have bashed it on riverbeds submerged it when changing flies, and dropped it with no damage. I will be getting the iv size soon for salmon fishing. Great reel at a great price!!"
Review 14 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Access Mid Arbor III Reel is a winner,
May 28, 2014
By: Asarkozy
from Aurora, CO
"I have the Orvis Access fly reel set up with the Orvis Access Trout 5 wt fly line and they work well together. The drag is easy to adjust and swapping spools is a snap. This reel balances well with both of my 5 wt rods and it looks great. I liked it so well I gave another as a gift and now my friend out fishes me! Good value in a very nice reel."
Review 15 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel!!,
May 10, 2014
By: Mattroy336
from Bathurst, NB Canada
"i own two of these reels and cant say enough about them!! On my 4WT it will handle brookies like a dream. On my 8WT it takes everything the Atlantic Salmon can trow at it!"
Review 16 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reel / line combo,
May 9, 2014
By: RPD1
from Nashua, N.H.
"The mid- arbor reel and matching line in 3wt. does a supurb job on the matched rod i used on a Maine trout trip recently. The drag was very excessable and ease to control while bringing fish to net. I really enjoy the matched line and backing purchased when i bought the reel.
Orvis did a great job applying these components. They worked out great. Thanks Russ
"
Review 17 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
May 7, 2014
By: ATX512
from Austin texas
"This is a great reel for any type of fly fishing. It's mid arbor size is great, not to big like large arbors but still big enough to get the fish in quick."
Review 18 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmansh,
May 1, 2014
By: Jab221
"Very easy to see the high quality and attention to detail that comes with this
reel. I am in manufacturing and when I hear the reel work it is a credit to its design and the manufacturing process.
"
Review 19 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm satisfied,
April 24, 2014
By: burgerler
from Birmingham, AL
"Can't go wrong with the Access Mid-Arbor reel. Caught some nice size bass at Lake Martin last week with Hydros bass/warm water fly line with Dacron backing."
Review 20 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great job Orvis,
April 15, 2014
By: Eclat
from Fishing
"Access 6/ 9' Fly Rod with Access Mid-Arbor Reel III has got to be one of the best gifts a guy can get. Thanks Dad!"