Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access Mid-Arbor Reels

The new Access Mid-Arbor fly fishing reels take the mid-arbor concept to a new level of performance and do it at a price that makes it accessible to everyone. Starting at just $145, the Access Reel Series offers a full-range of performance features from machined 6061 aircraft aluminum to a totally sealed carbon and stainless-steel drag surface. From the diminutive I to the big-game V, the Access offers the angler the benefits of large arbor; faster retrieve, less coiling, but at a diameter size that isn't quite as overwhelming as some large arbors. With a new larger handle, positive click drag adjustment, and three bold colors, the Access fly fishing reels are the best dollar for dollar reel value in the industry. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.795 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (224 reviews)
5 stars
193
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
218 of 224(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Review 1 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel,
October 8, 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"Purchased the Access MAII for my 4 weight to use in Smokey Mtns. Performed wonderfully for brutal day climbing upstream chasing brook and browns. Would recommend this for anyone."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Access Mid Arbor Reel,
July 1, 2015
By: LolaSea
from Seattle, WA
"Bought one of these and an extra spool in gold. On purchase, in the shop while changing the retrieve, the bearings popped out. I should have been warned by that! Sometime later discovered that the spool had a separation in the frame. Gold no longer being made, no receipt so the 100% satisfaction guarantee means a gift card at the lowest sale price. Ugh! Next reel will be a different brand."
Review 3 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful feel,
June 29, 2015
By: BobbySan
from Bainbridge Island, WA
"I got one of these with my Recon Setup. it really is a nice reel and having the seeled bearing is important in the salt where i'm using it. It reminds me of my battenkill III only with the sealed bearings. this is a no nonsense product that i will be buying for my other rods."
Review 4 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built like a tank,
June 10, 2015
By: Taorn
from Texarkana ar
"First off I am fairly new to the world of fly fishing. However this thing is awesome. The drag is nice and works on big pond bass, though its not really necessary for those fish. It is smooth and feels great. Also I recently was involved in a rather terrible car accident that involved the vehicle rolling and I found this reel thirty feet from the car and it appears to work fine the feel is unimpeded and the drag system works great still. Gotta hand it to orvis for providing a superior product at a reasonable price."
Review 5 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
June 2, 2015
By: LRGMT
from Billings, MT
"Purchased this reel to go with a Clearwater 5wt that I received as a gift. The helpful staff on Orvis chat suggested this reel after asking me about my needs and what and where I fished. Couldn't be happier with the reel it performed flawlessly and the titanium color looks great paired with the Clearwater rod."
Review 6 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
May 26, 2015
By: mistybella67
from nj
"I chose this reel because of the numbering for the drag. It helps me remember where to set the drag. It works perfect with my Recon Rod."
Review 7 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big bang for my buck,
May 8, 2015
By: F385
from Long beach ca.
"The access mid Arbor reel.comes in a good variety of sizes with a drag system that works well for many different sizes of fish.it is light weight and has a very attractive design.with colors that go along with it's attractive design.from my rigorous use it seems to be extremely durable."
Review 8 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice reel for the $,
May 7, 2015
By: Fishinfool21
"Smooth drag and easy casting, put it on my 5wt and took on great lakes steelhead with ease."
Review 9 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Delivered!,
May 5, 2015
By: DLownds
from Lake Wylie, SC
"This reel meets every expectation I had for a superior brand like Orvis. The purchasing process and delivery also was extremely easy and quick. Its become tradition in the family, from my grandfather, my father, and me - to depend on quality gear supplied by Orvis!"
Review 10 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
May 5, 2015
By: Taylr110
from York, PA
"I am very happy with my new Access II reel. The second time using it I hooked into a 23" wild brown trout and the reel handled him beautifully with no skipping or slipping in the drag setting. It can definitely handle bigger trout with no problem.
The reel is nice looking and balances my 9ft. 5wt. perfectly.
I plan on getting the III or IV for steelhead and salmon this Fall."
Review 11 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible reel,
May 2, 2015
By: DWMiddleton
from Southern Missouri
"Great drag and smooth,fast line pick up. Will buy for my next 5 wt setup."
Review 12 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
May 1, 2015
By: Ralph6
from Mid Atlantic
"A newer purchase, fished it about 5x now and love it. High quality, smooth and nice finish.."
Review 13 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 25, 2015
By: Siets
"Beautiful reel that I had engraved, balances my glass rod out nice and easy drag adjustment."
Review 14 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
April 23, 2015
By: Doubledd
"This reel have a great drag and appears to be durable"
Review 15 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice little reel,
April 17, 2015
By: TWHart
from Northern California
"Nice drag. Nice action. Feels sturdy. Went well with a brand new rod. Great for drifting."
Review 16 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid All-Around Performer,
April 15, 2015
By: CarbonJ
"Met all expectations! Great build quality, performance and appearance for the price. The only gripe I had was the shipping time due to item being on back-order."
Review 17 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Reel,
April 14, 2015
By: DavidRainwater
from Huntsville, Al
"I purchased the Access Mid-Arbor Reel to be used on my handmade Bamboo rod. Together, they will become a family heirloom."
Review 18 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome reel,
April 7, 2015
By: exnhlo
from Gillette Wyoming
"I have had the same Orvis reel for twenty years and felt it was time to upgrade. This reel is wonderful. Such a difference from what I had been using. Makes me realize I should have upgraded long ago. Caught four rainbow the first time I used it, the larges of which was 12lbs plus. I set the drag and it worked to perfection. Would have never landed this fish on the old reel. Great purchase."
Review 19 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Class Act,
April 7, 2015
By: JayDubs
from Northville, NY
"I haven't had a chance to get out and enjoy my new reel but the quality feels and looks great. Matches my gold reel seat on my fly rod perfectly! The Access III is small, solid, light weight, has a sealed drag, you can't ask for much more. Customer service is also top notch!"
Review 20 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel; Great Price,
April 6, 2015
By: FlyFishVA
from Washington, DC
"I looked all around for a reel of this quality, and the Access Mid-Arbor was the best value hands down. Great feel, fit and finish. Well constructed. Can't go wrong with the quality and price."