Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access Mid-Arbor Reels

The new Access Mid-Arbor fly fishing reels take the mid-arbor concept to a new level of performance and do it at a price that makes it accessible to everyone. Starting at just $145, the Access Reel Series offers a full-range of performance features from machined 6061 aircraft aluminum to a totally sealed carbon and stainless-steel drag surface. From the diminutive I to the big-game V, the Access offers the angler the benefits of large arbor; faster retrieve, less coiling, but at a diameter size that isn't quite as overwhelming as some large arbors. With a new larger handle, positive click drag adjustment, and three bold colors, the Access fly fishing reels are the best dollar for dollar reel value in the industry. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (164 reviews)
5 stars
140
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
160 of 164(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Review 1 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel,
October 8, 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"Purchased the Access MAII for my 4 weight to use in Smokey Mtns. Performed wonderfully for brutal day climbing upstream chasing brook and browns. Would recommend this for anyone."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access II gold,
July 21, 2014
By: Tomsk
from England
"I bought this for my #4 7'2" split cane rod, and it balances the rod perfectly.
The drag is excellent, and has really made my set up perfect
"
Review 3 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
July 18, 2014
By: TroutRaider
from Northern New Mexico/So. Colorado
"Looks great, works perfect, excellent size, easy to use drag control, light weight, and high quality. Hard to beat this reel for the money or even for a couple hundred dollars more.
What more can I say, I Love It!
Plus the Orvis Lifetime Guarantee!!
How can you beat all that!
"
Review 4 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth spinning reel great purchase,
July 16, 2014
By: HJT603
from Temple, NH
"Bought to go with my 4 weight rod, it feels comfortable in my hand and is very smooth in the casting and reeling in."
Review 5 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access to Excellence,
July 1, 2014
By: Woodsound
from Summit, NJ
"What a charming reel! Light weight and a superb drag system. I purchased mine in gold and had my name engraved also. I paired this reel with the Orvis superfine hydros 5wt line and for a mid arbour, it looks and feels fantastic. It also has a very fine tuned drag system for any circumstance you'll need. If you're looking for beauty and durability, then the Access is for you. -Brian"
Review 6 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel I've ever had!,
June 20, 2014
By: stukel5577
from Scotland
"I got the access ii to hold a 5WT line. I use this reel for river fishing and loch fishing when the wind isn't too crazy (I'm in Scotland). The reel is lightweight and the drag is fantastic. I've landed big brown trout, with every confidence in the smooth drag. The numbering system is a good feature, so you know which number suits various tippet strengths. It's very durable, I have bashed it on riverbeds submerged it when changing flies, and dropped it with no damage. I will be getting the iv size soon for salmon fishing. Great reel at a great price!!"
Review 7 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Access Mid Arbor III Reel is a winner,
May 28, 2014
By: Asarkozy
from Aurora, CO
"I have the Orvis Access fly reel set up with the Orvis Access Trout 5 wt fly line and they work well together. The drag is easy to adjust and swapping spools is a snap. This reel balances well with both of my 5 wt rods and it looks great. I liked it so well I gave another as a gift and now my friend out fishes me! Good value in a very nice reel."
Review 8 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel!!,
May 10, 2014
By: Mattroy336
from Bathurst, NB Canada
"i own two of these reels and cant say enough about them!! On my 4WT it will handle brookies like a dream. On my 8WT it takes everything the Atlantic Salmon can trow at it!"
Review 9 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reel / line combo,
May 9, 2014
By: RPD1
from Nashua, N.H.
"The mid- arbor reel and matching line in 3wt. does a supurb job on the matched rod i used on a Maine trout trip recently. The drag was very excessable and ease to control while bringing fish to net. I really enjoy the matched line and backing purchased when i bought the reel.
Orvis did a great job applying these components. They worked out great. Thanks Russ
"
Review 10 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
May 7, 2014
By: ATX512
from Austin texas
"This is a great reel for any type of fly fishing. It's mid arbor size is great, not to big like large arbors but still big enough to get the fish in quick."
Review 11 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftsmansh,
May 1, 2014
By: Jab221
"Very easy to see the high quality and attention to detail that comes with this
reel. I am in manufacturing and when I hear the reel work it is a credit to its design and the manufacturing process.
"
Review 12 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm satisfied,
April 24, 2014
By: burgerler
from Birmingham, AL
"Can't go wrong with the Access Mid-Arbor reel. Caught some nice size bass at Lake Martin last week with Hydros bass/warm water fly line with Dacron backing."
Review 13 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great job Orvis,
April 15, 2014
By: Eclat
from Fishing
"Access 6/ 9' Fly Rod with Access Mid-Arbor Reel III has got to be one of the best gifts a guy can get. Thanks Dad!"
Review 14 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is the best fly reel,
April 12, 2014
By: kevthetroutbum
from Plymouth MA
"the drag on this reel is excellent, it has a very smooth drag. i use it for trout and im going to try for some shad this spring. i will recomend this reel for any one that is looking for a great quallity reel, and at an affordable price!!"
Review 15 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel on the market for the money,
March 11, 2014
By: Tom36
from Danville California
"This is my second access reel. I'm very hard on my fishing gear due to extreme fishing conditions. It offers everything you could ask for, looks ,durability and longevity. I've recommended this reel every chance I get."
Review 16 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight and easy treating,
February 26, 2014
By: nakstm1
from Ibaragi, JP
"This reel weight was light although it has enough capacity.
I purchased first one Reel(G), and felt good treating reel so same type of 2nd reel was purchased as another color option(T).
Probably I will order another same one soon.
"
Review 17 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel I've bought,
February 11, 2014
By: bubbaone
from New Castle,IN.
"This is my 2nd. ACCESS reel. Very nice for the price!! This reel is smooth and well build. You can't go wrong with reel!"
Review 18 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful reel, great service,
February 8, 2014
By: CFSH
from Canada-UK
"I wanted to take up an activity with my 9 year old son, that we could learn together. I purchased him the encounter outfit and I ordered the titanium access reel. It looks fantastic and sounds great, I can't wait to use it on my return to the UK. The build quality looks impressive. I wanted to buy a reel that would last and see me through my early stages of fly fishing and beyond. I did have the reel personalized to commemorate my departure from my current military unit and was left disappointed. The text was a little small and due to its size didn't look very clear and the text was off centre. Orvis customer service is very good and have offered me a full refund or change of reel if I wish. Not sure what I will do, but no doubt will enjoy using it when I return to the UK."
Review 19 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good as gold,
February 7, 2014
By: johnnyraff
from South Jersey
"Got the gold IV and use it on a 7'11 bass rod. Handles freshwater very well, i use it in my kayak with the short rod and its deadly. Great all around reel havent had any problems with orvis yet."
Review 20 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Reel for my Rod,
January 26, 2014
By: Moemedic
from Danielson, CT
"My first fly rod was a 5wt Access with an Access III reel. I have caught many Trout on this combo, from the Battenkill to rivers and steams in CT/RI the reel has always performed flawlessly. This year I will be purchasing a Rod/Reel Combo for Striper Fishing, I'm going with the sister set up of my freshwater combo, a Access 9wt rod with an Access V Reel."