Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access Mid-Arbor Reels

The new Access Mid-Arbor fly fishing reels take the mid-arbor concept to a new level of performance and do it at a price that makes it accessible to everyone. Starting at just $145, the Access Reel Series offers a full-range of performance features from machined 6061 aircraft aluminum to a totally sealed carbon and stainless-steel drag surface. From the diminutive I to the big-game V, the Access offers the angler the benefits of large arbor; faster retrieve, less coiling, but at a diameter size that isn't quite as overwhelming as some large arbors. With a new larger handle, positive click drag adjustment, and three bold colors, the Access fly fishing reels are the best dollar for dollar reel value in the industry. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (197 reviews)
5 stars
170
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
193 of 197(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Review 1 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel,
October 8, 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"Purchased the Access MAII for my 4 weight to use in Smokey Mtns. Performed wonderfully for brutal day climbing upstream chasing brook and browns. Would recommend this for anyone."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome reel!,
March 24, 2015
By: MadDog58
from Locust Grove, VA
"Bought this reel specifically for my 3-wt rod to hunt brookies in small mountain streams, and it didn't disappoint! Very smooth, super fast retrieve and it looks great - worth much more than the price I paid."
Review 3 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to use, easy on your wallet,
March 23, 2015
By: Ryan1024m
from spring, tx
"This reel has been great for me. the drag system is very easy to use and i have not had any issues with it. i would highly recommend it to any user."
Review 4 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
March 19, 2015
By: Rowens967
from Ringgold, GA
"Absolutely great reel, it truly helped my fight the biggest rainbow the other day, a 18.5", 2.4 pound chunk. Great drag, easy to adjust while fighting a big fish like this."
Review 5 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access Mid-Arbor lll Reel,
March 11, 2015
By: carrotfly
from Cornwall.
"perfectly balanced on my 6wt rod, solid build, smooth drag and looks great. Orvis customer service here in UK is outstanding, cannot rate them highly enough."
Review 6 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FINE PRODUCT!,
March 10, 2015
By: Jordan1
from Kaneohe, HI
"I have been around fly fishing for a while now. I recently relocated to Hawaii with the military and have since become completely obsessed with the Bonefish in the area. After some research online, I purchased and 8 weight rod and the Orvis Access IV reel to match it. What an outstanding product, especially given its price point! The drag system compares to that of reels twice as much. And to top it off, the cosmetics are flawless (I own the gold model and it is gorgeous!) Blown Away! Thanks Orvis for a quality product, and also thanks for the superior customer service I received over the phone regarding product assistance in choosing this. Top Notch all around!"
Review 7 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first choice,
February 26, 2015
By: sparraofcornwall
from southwest cornwall
"my ollection of reels contains 2 bfr system 11, 1 battenkill, 3 battenkill 11 large arbour and now 2 access midarbour, and having fished with them all on the same rod i have concluded that the access reels are the best balance and the best compromise for size and line retreival, the access reels are now my go to reels, now to save up for another one"
Review 8 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Buy Out There,
February 18, 2015
By: 2Lancet
from Pacific Northwest
"After reading some reviews on the Orvis Access Mid-Arbor reel I went ahead and ordered a Size IV in black. Given its incredibly low price, the quality of this reel is outstanding. The build is solid, the finish rivals that on reels costing two or three times as much, and the drag is silk-smooth. It comes with a sturdy, handsome protective case. I'll post a follow-up as soon as I've had a chance to try it out."
Review 9 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Reel,
February 17, 2015
By: RovingFlyFisher
from Siesta Key, FL
"My 2nd Access Reel. Beautiful workmanship & performance on my 9 wt Recon. Large & easy drag setting. NIce nickle finish."
Review 10 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this reel,
February 13, 2015
By: PoolTrout
from Seward, AK.
"have used Battenkill reels since 1985. I have fished the tailwaters of Tennessee and guided in Alaska, one time being the owner of Bob's Walkabut Fly Fishing. These reels have never let me down and have been instrumental in the landing of many a salmon (all 5 species of Paciifc) rainbow trout, steehead, brown trout, pike, and grayling in temperatures below 20 degrees"
Review 11 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
February 11, 2015
By: James7
"Used this reel for winter steelhead, reel is beautiful, balanced my 11 foot switch rod perfectly (I bought the V). Holds tons of backing, drag is great and easy to adjust. Only issue was with the hydros salmon/steelhead line I purchased with the reel. The welded loop snapped on my first hook up. Had to tie a make shift loop for my remaining fishing. Must've been a defect, Ive never had that happen. Emailed Orvis but still haven't heard back from them. I replaced with wulff ambush line to finish my trip."
Review 12 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smoooooth,
February 6, 2015
By: tntviking
from Orlando, FL
"Very impressed with this reel, very smooth drag and retrieve. Drag is easy to set and return. Got mine for a 4wt. rod for smaller prey: panfish, trout, small mouth, etc... Thinking about getting another larger one for an upcomng 6wt, purchase. Shipping for this reel was not what I expected, not impressed."
Review 13 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Access ii Reel,
February 5, 2015
By: Dan90
from Hampshire, UK
"tried the reel out on a small local trout fishery and had great fun playing a small rainbow off the reel. The drag is really good, nice and smooth so would be great for playing bigger fish to avoid breaks. I had it set very low and it has a big range between minimum and max. It sounds nice too when a fish starts to peel line off.
I have the black version and the finish is very nice, it feels like a quality reel and is made from block aluminium so should last me for a good few years.
Overall a good value reel for someone who wants a quality piece of kit without paying the earth."
Review 14 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bang for your buck,
January 26, 2015
By: Ryank
from San Diego, Ca
"I bought this reel for my dad and it is an outstanding reel for the price, size weight and balance is awesome."
Review 15 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product and value,
January 15, 2015
By: Shorthouse
from West Yorkshire
"Tested it during summer class with Orvis offered. This reel combines good looks and visual aesthetics with great functionality. Will last a lifetime of fishing.
Bought during sale period so it represents even better value.
"
Review 16 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight large Arbor,
January 12, 2015
By: Siderocks80
from Aberdeenshire
"Beautifully machined reel, smooth running that holds tonnes of backing for the big runs, surprising light weight for a large arbor game reel."
Review 17 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good building reel,
January 9, 2015
By: Vadims
from Hastings
"My first impression,strong building, light and strong, nice design. Also good price for this stage and quality reel. They cheaper then Hardy reels but quality will same or even better"
Review 18 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel by far,
December 17, 2014
By: StrictlyOrvis93
from Salladasburg, PA
"everyone has complained about how reels break and have flaws I have dropped my rod and reel of a rock where I fish it is about 10 feet high it dropped onto more rocks I thought for sure my Clearwater rod and my access reel were destroyed I hurried up and got to them nothing was wrong with either both still performed good, there was a minor ding in the frame of my reel, other than the ding not one other problem very impressed with this reel and the rod, my friends have already been recommended."
Review 19 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit,
November 17, 2014
By: ronp605
from Cedar Park, TX
"After purchasing an Encounter outfit and using it in Missouri, Colorado, and Wyoming on an extended fishing journey, I realized how much I appreciated the quality of Sage products and ordered an Access rod and reel upon my return. The Access reel has meet all my expectations. It is light, has a smooth drag system, and it looks great! I'm looking forward to years of great fishing experiences with it."
Review 20 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access Mid-Arbor Reels,
November 13, 2014
By: Robjcm14
from Brentwood Essex
"Reels at this price hardly break the bank, especially when Orvis so often provide a little helper in the shape of a price reduction.
A Mid-Arbor is a sensible size reel to have on a rod for the kind of fishing I do, which is mostly on lakes and reservoirs in the UK, using a rod between a 5 and 7 weight. Those huge Large Arbors, made from aircraft engine bits, or whatever it is, are pure overkill. The Access reel holds sufficient backing behind your main line; the drag is easy and comfortable to adjust and works very well; the overall appearance of the reel is one of quality. All in all, one of the best Orvis reels I've ever bought in this particular price range.
"