Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access Mid-Arbor Reels

The new Access Mid-Arbor fly fishing reels take the mid-arbor concept to a new level of performance and do it at a price that makes it accessible to everyone. Starting at just $145, the Access Reel Series offers a full-range of performance features from machined 6061 aircraft aluminum to a totally sealed carbon and stainless-steel drag surface. From the diminutive I to the big-game V, the Access offers the angler the benefits of large arbor; faster retrieve, less coiling, but at a diameter size that isn't quite as overwhelming as some large arbors. With a new larger handle, positive click drag adjustment, and three bold colors, the Access fly fishing reels are the best dollar for dollar reel value in the industry. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (152 reviews)
5 stars
129
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
148 of 152(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Review 1 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel,
October 8, 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"Purchased the Access MAII for my 4 weight to use in Smokey Mtns. Performed wonderfully for brutal day climbing upstream chasing brook and browns. Would recommend this for anyone."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great job Orvis,
April 15, 2014
By: Eclat
from Fishing
"Access 6/ 9' Fly Rod with Access Mid-Arbor Reel III has got to be one of the best gifts a guy can get. Thanks Dad!"
Review 3 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is the best fly reel,
April 12, 2014
By: kevthetroutbum
from Plymouth MA
"the drag on this reel is excellent, it has a very smooth drag. i use it for trout and im going to try for some shad this spring. i will recomend this reel for any one that is looking for a great quallity reel, and at an affordable price!!"
Review 4 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel on the market for the money,
March 11, 2014
By: Tom36
from Danville California
"This is my second access reel. I'm very hard on my fishing gear due to extreme fishing conditions. It offers everything you could ask for, looks ,durability and longevity. I've recommended this reel every chance I get."
Review 5 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight and easy treating,
February 26, 2014
By: nakstm1
from Ibaragi, JP
"This reel weight was light although it has enough capacity.
I purchased first one Reel(G), and felt good treating reel so same type of 2nd reel was purchased as another color option(T).
Probably I will order another same one soon.
"
Review 6 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel I've bought,
February 11, 2014
By: bubbaone
from New Castle,IN.
"This is my 2nd. ACCESS reel. Very nice for the price!! This reel is smooth and well build. You can't go wrong with reel!"
Review 7 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful reel, great service,
February 8, 2014
By: CFSH
from Canada-UK
"I wanted to take up an activity with my 9 year old son, that we could learn together. I purchased him the encounter outfit and I ordered the titanium access reel. It looks fantastic and sounds great, I can't wait to use it on my return to the UK. The build quality looks impressive. I wanted to buy a reel that would last and see me through my early stages of fly fishing and beyond. I did have the reel personalized to commemorate my departure from my current military unit and was left disappointed. The text was a little small and due to its size didn't look very clear and the text was off centre. Orvis customer service is very good and have offered me a full refund or change of reel if I wish. Not sure what I will do, but no doubt will enjoy using it when I return to the UK."
Review 8 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good as gold,
February 7, 2014
By: johnnyraff
from South Jersey
"Got the gold IV and use it on a 7'11 bass rod. Handles freshwater very well, i use it in my kayak with the short rod and its deadly. Great all around reel havent had any problems with orvis yet."
Review 9 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Reel for my Rod,
January 26, 2014
By: Moemedic
from Danielson, CT
"My first fly rod was a 5wt Access with an Access III reel. I have caught many Trout on this combo, from the Battenkill to rivers and steams in CT/RI the reel has always performed flawlessly. This year I will be purchasing a Rod/Reel Combo for Striper Fishing, I'm going with the sister set up of my freshwater combo, a Access 9wt rod with an Access V Reel."
Review 10 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like the Battenkill-but better,
January 21, 2014
By: captss
from Jefferson, Ga
"Affordable, rugged, classic looking reel that easily takes lovers of the Battenkill to a mid-arbor reel."
Review 11 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good reel.,
January 20, 2014
By: HarleyCVO
from Arapaho, Okla
"I own an AccessIII in 5wt. Looking forward to fish my new Access 6wt. I have several Orvis products, I am very proud of them all."
Review 12 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my mistake,
January 15, 2014
By: reelaffair
from isle lamotte
"Since the name changed I wanted what was a battenkill 4 large arbor. This is a lot smaller than what I was looking for -should have purchased the Helios 4. However I believe that I will get used to it and it functions very well. Just concerned that if a large fish is running straight at me that I will not be able to pick up the line fast enough,"
Review 13 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Make fly fishing simple,
January 15, 2014
By: Nevada1
from Northern Nevada
"Purchasing a spare mid-arbor reel allows me to instantly switch from floating to sinking line when fishing conditions change."
Review 14 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great mid-priced Fly Reel,
January 15, 2014
By: MJAinKY
from Burlington, KY
"What an absolutely great reel for a very modest amount of green. The mid-arbor spool allows for a good amount of backing plus an WF line. The drag is smooth and easy to adjust and the finish is top-notch. Will definitely buy another."
Review 15 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing overall,
January 6, 2014
By: tdude99
"I purchased the size 3, weight line 5-7 and spooled it with 7 weight. Amazing reel overall. Preforms great, nice and smooth. The only that could be improved is taking the spool off. The lever is just fine but it takes a little tug to pull them apart with the lever pushed down. It's just a minor thing that won't hinder my fishing or the reel's capabilities at all, but it would be a nice fix"
Review 16 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My go to reel,
December 31, 2013
By: hansthenewbie
from Los Angeles, CA
"I have the IV platinum and it has been spooled with many different lines and used on many different rods as well. I have other reels from different manufacturers but I always go with the Access. This thing is a beauty, light and tough. I don't baby it, I let it submersed in the water for a long period of time, dropped on the gravel and rocks and it still performs flawlessly. I am getting the V for my switch rod."
Review 17 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large line capacity, great drag,
December 29, 2013
By: PNWJeeper
from High Cascades of Oregon
"My second Access reel, this one for use with my 7 wt. spey rod while chasing steelhead."
Review 18 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Reel,
December 6, 2013
By: Sockeye
from Westminster, South Carolina
"Wanted an Alaska trout fly reel that I could depend on. The Access Mid-Arbor III will catch allot of Alaskan Rainbows on the Russian and Kenai rivers."
Review 19 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Access Mid Arbour Is The Perfect Size Reel,
December 2, 2013
By: Robjcm14
from Brentwood Essex
"Unless you're big game fishing and expecting all your line, followed by a few hundred metres of backing to go screaming off your reel, why bother with an enormous large arbour at the butt of your rod? Let's be honest, most of us here in the UK rarely ever get down to the backing, even when hooked into a really large fish, so why bother with a heavy large arbour packed with hundreds of metres of backing, which will never see the light of day? Do yourself a favour, go for a smaller, lighter reel like the mid arbour Access reel; it will take plenty enough backing, plus your 30 metres (100ft) chosen line and will serve all your needs for big rainbow fresh water fishing. The reel also has a very good drag (if that's the way you like to play a fish) and will balance against your rod perfectly. You don't need a huge amount of unnecessary weight at the butt of your rod, so save yourself the weight and the money and go for this size reel....."
Review 20 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Value,
November 17, 2013
By: FlyTech
"The Access Mid-Arbor Reels are very good quality and great value."