Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch

A must-have accessory for every outdoorsman. Keep the time and your orientation in the woods within easy reach, but without a bulky wristwatch that can get caught on your gear or scuffed. The lens magnifies the watch dial, making it easier to read—but also flips out to be a functional magnifying glass. Hands and hour markers glow in the dark. Includes an ultrabright LED for navigating your way around camp or searching for items inside the car or tent. Precision quartz movement. Also works as a compass so you can always find your way home. 3-year battery included. Case diameter 38mm. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.024 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
3
34 of 41(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Review 1 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really cool,
November 6, 2014
By: SGR8647
"My husband doesn't wear a wristwatch or carry a cellphone so this is just what he needs when he wants to wear a watch. As you expect from Ovis, really good quality"
Review 2 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Watch,
October 20, 2014
By: Klatu
from Sacramento, CA
"I like to know the time in the backcountry, and the movable lens can help start a fire in emergencies."
Review 3 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
January 15, 2014
By: bk106381
from Seattle, WA
"Great gift and product! Nice heavy weight, exactly as pictured. Definitely recommend."
Review 4 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
flashlight,
December 19, 2013
By: 825k
from Roanoke, Va
"I own this item. The bulb of the flashlight protrudes from the body of the watch. I did not have it long before I accidentally bumped the watch on a table edge and broke the bulb. It would likely be too much hassle to replace the bulb. But the design flaw would still exist if I did. It would be better to have the bulb recessed. A LED light will last for thousands of hours, but having to try not to bump an item that is meant to dangle from clothing or a backpack or tote is not practical."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A perfect accessory.,
November 13, 2013
By: Snibbo
from Cambridge, UK.
"A well constructed beautifully tactile product that also ....... works!
So many positive comments and enquiries from admirers.
"
Review 6 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
short life,
July 26, 2013
By: Anonymous
from wimborne
"i bought one of these just over two years ago and a fantasic watch to have and not just for fishing.
just taken it in for a new battery and have been told that the battery is fine but there is a fault that cannot be repaired. not what you expect for the money.
"
Review 7 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good watch bad compass,
June 19, 2013
By: drumoil
from Stonehaven
"Very nice finish and looks as I hoped it would. Will have to return to local outlet as compass is useless with large air bubble inside. Don't expect any problem as compass is easily changed out."
Review 8 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Carabiner Watch,
May 2, 2013
By: cc21
"A very useful piece for any trip. Good features: carabiner, compass, small LED light = ecellent idea but too large and heavy to be practical."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How in the world?,
February 21, 2013
By: SSgtofMarines
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This will be quick. I left this on my shorts and forgot to take it off before my wife put it in the washing machine AND dryer. This is bananas. The magnifying glass came out, the glass has a bullethole-like piece missing from the center (so you can touch the hands), and the hinge pin that holds the flip out lens is halfway out.
After a full wash and dry cycle, the thing still works! Hands are ticking, and the LED is glowing like it was before.
I don't get it, but I'm guessing this thing will survive your toughest outdoor journeys."
Review 10 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Carabiner Watch,
February 7, 2013
By: Guy10
"This watch is very useful hooked on to an outer garment as it is a nuisance to have to try and get to a wrist watch when you are fully togged up, and its raining! However, I cannot see that the watch is water proof and whilst I have not used it in the rain so far, I would have thought that such a time piece should have some water proofing. Hence have not giving it 5 stars."
Review 11 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
January 16, 2013
By: saandra
from boise, idaho
"Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch fits the hand, smooth to the touch and performs well. Great for in the truck at night. It's not only well made and functional, it is nice looking."
Review 12 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loves it,
December 30, 2012
By: JRSeatte
from Bellevue, wa
"Sturdy with very readable dial. Actually easier to use than wrist watch which can be damaged when wash hands or pick up items. Husband wears it every day in place of wrist watch. Likes the magnifying glass also."
Review 13 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a cool watch!,
December 30, 2012
By: woodguy52
from Morris County, NJ
"I wanted something for being on the river when I came across this sharp looking item. It works perfectly, is very well made and is just the right size and weight to hang off the vest. Nice item, very highly recommended from a long time customer."
Review 14 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 30, 2012
By: Mich69
"Watch is good quality. Very nice looking and easy to use."
Review 15 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great time piece,
December 30, 2012
By: SallyLou
from KS
"I originally purchased this watch as a gift but when I opened it I decided to keep it for myself. I like the sweep hand, it is easy to read and I particularly like the magnifying glass."
Review 16 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great watch,
December 29, 2012
By: justinalynn
"My husband was trying to replace a similar watch that was wearing out, and the company had stopped making the one he had. This one is the perfect replacement! It does everything he wanted, Thanks so much!"
Review 17 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Help" Response,
December 20, 2012
By: Maineman6460
"The luminosity feature is severely deficient. I have called your customer service unit twice,and been assured twice that Technical Services was aware, and would be returning with a response to my concern. Since I am still waiting, I cannot rate either the product or your responsiveness positively. The only reason I rated at two stars was that the product appears to keep the time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Christmas Present,
December 19, 2012
By: iomgirl
from IOM
"My Dad wanted a decent watch he could wear on his belt, rather than his wrist. As a keen Orvis fan, I knew he would appreciate this. It is rather heavy but feels solid and well built. Not sure how well the LED light will hold up but the magnifying glass watch face is pretty neat! Be aware, the orange is definitely orange, not copper - the picture is quite a good colour match"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice item,
December 13, 2012
By: Bannerelk
from Grandfather, NC
"'Gave this as a gift and the recipient was very pleased. I don't know if we'll get a follow-up about function, but it really looked nice in silver. I read all reviews and thought it was a good original gift."
Review 20 for Ultimate Carabiner Compass Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Paint came off,
December 12, 2012
By: rfast55
from San Francisco,CA
"The Brown paint came off after using it only a short time"