Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat

An authentic Tyrolean tailored sport coat in the finest Loden wool from Steinbock of Austria. Founded in 1938, Steinbock is world famous for their impeccably tailored alpine styling. This wool/cashmere blended fabric has a smooth soft finish that is remarkably durable and deeply rich in look and texture. Real horn buttons accent the jacket, a bi-swing back offers functional comfort. The jacket is finished with a faux-suede collar, green wool piping and trim, and is satin-lined for a luxurious fit and feel. Tailored wool sport coat in charcoal. Wool/polyester/cashmere. Dry clean. Imported.Even sizes: 38-48.
Average Customer Rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
13 of 19(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Review 1 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beautiful but boxy,
December 10, 2014
By: Stretchedpebble
"The material, workmanship, style of this jacket are all fantastic. I really wish it fit me. I am 5'11", 180 lb, 44" chest, 34" waist. It is a bit snug in the upper body and enormous in the lower body. The style is great but does not lend itself to alterations. So, sadly, I must return this beautiful jacket."
Review 2 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 21, 2014
By: 4669
from Chicago, IL
"Beautifully designed, very handsome jacket. Weight is very good, between a sweater and a sport jacket."
Review 3 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tyrolean Jacket,
January 2, 2014
By: Hansemil
from Wyckoff, NJ
"Good fit and true to size. Good quality but surprised the garment was not lined on the inside of the body or arms."
Review 4 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sport Coat,
December 30, 2013
By: Luvminnesota
from Minnesota
"I bought this for my husband as a Christmas gift - he LOVES it! The fit and color are perfect and, as usual, the quality of product from Orvis is top notch. I especially love the trim and the horn buttons!"
Review 5 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tyrolean Sport Coat,
December 25, 2013
By: kyawacs
from Anchorage, Alaska
"Not happy with the weight or quality of this sport coat. I expected better from Steinbock. Very flimsy and lightweight material. More like a flannel shirt than a jacket."
Review 6 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique and Stylish,
December 22, 2013
By: PaulV
from MA
"I bought this jacket to add a bit of style and differentiation to offset a boring world of plain menswear out there and I love it. It attracts attention and feels great. It is snug, even though I went a size larger. It is not a heavy jacket but the uniqueness of style and exceptional fabric makes it a special purchase. What attracts me to Orvis is the accents that make the products unique and different while being stylish. This jacket has it all."
Review 7 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful, warm, sharp looking,
January 8, 2013
By: Bendrix
from Rochester, MA
"I love Trachten (traditional Bavarian) clothing. Years ago, while on business in Munich, I got a wool jacket that always draws compliments, is comfortable and warm too. Finding a new style of Trachten in Orvis prompted me to order one of these in 40 immediately. The fit was true to my size and the construction top quality.
Not shown in the picture is the full button feature. Buttons run up the full length of the front, to the neck. The lapels are made to fold flat to the body for a full closed button up fit.
The collar snugs up against the neck like a scarf adding the warmth of an outdoor coat to a very stylish sport jacket style.
I'm fit so this jacket could be just a bit trimmer, but its still a great fit. This is not a giant-gut pyramid cut like the Walker Jacket is. I got one of those too, returned for poor fit, returned again for another poor fit and misleading material claims.
If you like the style, you'll love this coat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Obvious Quality,
October 24, 2012
By: Carlisle30
from Dallas, TX
"Top of the line materials and construction....what I've come to expect from Orvis."
Review 9 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice jacket,
April 25, 2012
By: joek123
from New Cumberland, PA
"I received the jacket and the quality of it really looks good. Although I normally wear a size 44 regular or 44 long jacket, the 44 regular that I received was a little snugger that I wanted. Therefore, I sent it back to Orvis for an exchange of the next size up (a 46 regular). I did not receive the replacement jacket yet. I hope it fits because I really like the look and quality of this jacket. I wish they carried long sizes."
Review 10 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Jacket but snug fit,
March 11, 2012
By: LakePlains
from Medina, NY
"This is a well made casual jacket design to be worn with just a single button-down or silk pullover shirt. It is not designed with the added room expected for active wear. I purchased a 48 and it fits like a 46 since I expected the added room for active wear. It is still a very smart looking jacket so I kept and only wear as stated above. Still a nice addition."
Review 11 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tyrolean sport coat,
December 31, 2011
By: 1620el
from Fords, NJ
"Superbly tailored of the highest quality. This jacket is a real eye catcher with a masculine alpine touch. The stag buttons against the soft grey wool and green piping sets it apart. You can wear this sport coat anywhere. A great value."
Review 12 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing,
December 30, 2011
By: greatgiftgiver
from New jersey
"The image of this jacket was lovely, rich looking etc. I ordered it and was disappointed because it was flimsy. There was no body to the fabric. It seemed to be a thin as a pajama shirt.
So back it went. With Orvis I was not disappointed because returns are never a problem
"
Review 13 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
an oft forgotten fabric,
December 29, 2011
By: dhcdoc
from River Forest, IL
"Loden cloth makes a great piece of fabric for a variety of uses. This sport coat like good loden cloth is lightweight, breathes well but is also good at keeping out the cold and watery elements. This coat can be worn in several ways including buttoning it with the lapels folded up as a warm winter jacket that with the release of a button and flip of the collar makes a great indoor sport coat. I own a couple since they wear well, resist elements and wrinkling and while coming from a more traditional Austrian outdoors background still provide good balance for color options for shirts and slacks."
Review 14 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique Sport Coat,
November 16, 2011
By: rbatect
from Los Angeles CA
"After reading Sprog's review I was a wondering , but I made the purchase anyway. The coat arrived , yes its half lined but its a very finished product , nicely tailored , I am a off the rack 42 and the large fits me nicely. The wool fabric is very soft and has a nice luxury feel. This is a unique sports coat , sporty and a little jacket like. I was unsure in ordering , but I am pleased with the purchase."
Review 15 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seamless transaction,
September 27, 2011
By: Delly
"Discussed sizing via telephone before ordering. Jacket is a perfect fit. I am entirely happy with the purchase."
Review 16 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made,
March 15, 2011
By: Johns
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"You can't go wrong with this sportscoat. Given to me a gift and it is well made and of high quality and style."
Review 17 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Why half lined?,
March 8, 2011
By: sprog
from Canada
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I was very excited for this to show up because it looked like a nice idea and it was on sale. I was a little surprised by the quality when it arrived. My biggest problem is that it is only half lined. When you open the jacket, you can see the stitching of the pockets and the pockets themselves. They look like little round pieces of material that have been sewn into the inside of the jacket. The jacket also feels a little flimsey and does not keep its shape. When outside, the wind goes right through it. It is nice and warm when you are indoors.
The piping and the buttons look good and are fun, the faux-suede collar should be real suede. From a distance I am sure it looks nice. Just don't unbutton it and carry anything in it or people will see the pockets flapping around from the inside.
I would have returned it but I don't live in the US and the additional costs didn't make sense. I had it tailored (he laughed when he saw it) and will live with it.
I have shopped at Orvis for a while and really enjoy wearing their clothes. This is my first so-so experiences."
Review 18 for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice!,
January 14, 2011
By: Alton
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This sport coat was a great purchase. Nice detailing. Good quality and fit. Runs true to size."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Steinbock Tyrolean Sport Coat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1