Orvis Ratings and Reviews

River Guard Streamline™ Boot

A new and updated version of our exceptional entry-level fly fishing wading boot program. The affordable River Guard Streamline Boot is extremely lightweight, but offers great support, comfort, and ankle protection. Newly revised padded neoprene collar and webbing eyelets for a tight and secure fit. These lightweight studded wading boots have a reinforced toe box which is wrapped in a durable synthetic material that resists abrasion while protecting the boot from rocks and debris. New upper material is a durable, high-density nylon that will hold up to years of use while minimizing the potential of transporting invasive species. Sticky-rubber soles with permanent studs provide good traction in a variety of conditions. Imported. Men's whole sizes: 4-14.
Average Customer Rating:
3.981 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
46 of 54(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Review 1 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my first pair but...,
April 19, 2014
By: mirex
from chicago
"those boots are great , very light, foot sits really in it ,I wear usually # 10 size regural shoes Ive order # 11 & I can wear extra thick sock .thanks costumer service."
Review 2 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
April 18, 2014
By: cdmalik
from Chicago, IL
"These a great entry level boot and are relatively comfortable for the price. They look like they will really hold up for time too. I bought these for myself (they for true to size for men's) and my girlfriend (ladies order a men's size 2 sizes down from your normal shoe size or If your a half size like my girlfriend order only 1.5 sizes down ex. 8 1/5 W = 7 M) I am very happy with my purchase."
Review 3 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boots for the price,
April 11, 2014
By: Cyph
from North east PA
"Delivery was quick and boots are as expected. For the money you won't find a better boot."
Review 4 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Try these boots,
April 7, 2014
By: justfishing2day
"I usually do not use boots with studs or felt bottoms. Just went small inner-city stream fishing in these boots. Easy to hike in. Great traction in all terrains, in the water and out of the water. Kept me warm and dry with excellent traction throughout the day."
Review 5 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality for the price,
April 7, 2014
By: TBear1
from VA
"I always worry about fit, but the size 12 was perfect. These boots go on easily and come off easily as well. You can't beat these "entry level" boots for the price The only unknown is how long they will last, but they appear to be of quality construction."
Review 6 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light but durable,
March 30, 2014
By: Hollar1
from KY
"I haven't fished in these yet, but I can tell that they are durable, yet easier to pack than other boots that I have had. These boots are not as heavy, yet feel as if they can hold up for a long time. Very true to size."
Review 7 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great boot,
March 27, 2014
By: fidge
"Newbie fly fisher. Boot fits great. looking forward to trying it out, confident Orvis product is quality."
Review 8 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great wader boots,
March 21, 2014
By: Mainebigfoot
from In rivers and streams of Maine
"These boots were very comfortable and are made to last many seasons of fly fishing , giving you a sure grip in any stream or river ."
Review 9 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Defective,
March 18, 2014
By: bartlettband
from Jponesboro, AR
"Very poor job of joining the heel to the boot. Got them on sale and through the mail so I have decided to keep them anyway. I liked the souls and the studs. Have always worn felt and cannot tell much difference. Also own another pair of orvis boots and these are soo much lighter. Like that. Hard to put on and not comfortable but this may improve as they are broke in."
Review 10 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product for a good price,
March 12, 2014
By: JKristo
from Cleveland OH
"I picked these up because I have big feet and not many boots will let you layer up and still have room. Took a bit of a shot in the dark because I could't try on the 14s but they fit well with my under socks and woolies. The studs are a bit small but bigger ones can probably be added. Not much padding in the boot but that's to be expected at this price point."
Review 11 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good deal on sale,
March 4, 2014
By: stuckinsidewinteblues
from RI
"With new regulations about felt-soled boots I had to get a new pair of wading boots on the cheap, these fit the bill. I had hoped the studs would be prominent enough to be useful, but alas, they are too short so it looks like I'll have to keep using my Korkers on slippery streams. The fit was OK, the tongue has some strange stitching that makes for a slightly uncomfortable fit at the base of the tongue. Not much support but I knew that just by looking at these boots."
Review 12 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I won't give these the boot,
March 1, 2014
By: ChuchK
from Friedens, Pa.
"A real nice pair of boots. For me the comfort and stability these provide are equal to other boots which cost a whole lot more. Has good traction and I'm well pleased with this product."
Review 13 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Entry Level Wading Boots,
February 10, 2014
By: DCAngler1321
from Washington DC
"I like these boots a lot. They dry quickly and they're easy to get on and off, while providing good slip protection. You do have to make sure to lace them tight as the ankle support is a little flimsy.
Overall, a good boot for the budget."
Review 14 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than felt,
February 10, 2014
By: sean25
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I had to replace my old felt bottom boots. I never used rubber bottom wading boots before. These boots have incredible traction on everything even slick rocks."
Review 15 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
River Guard Boots,
January 29, 2014
By: phat96
from Scottsdale, AZ
"I just received them, 2 weeks ago and couldn't be happier with the value, and the fit is perfect. My previous boots had become to small for my foot, but I'm quite comfortable now. Thanks Orvis."
Review 16 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice wading boots,
January 21, 2014
By: brhitch
"The boots fit well. Orvis customer service was helpful in helping me select the correct size. They fit comfortably with my waders. Haven't had a chance to try them in the water yet but did use them in the snow and they kept my feet warm and dry."
Review 17 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boots, good value,
January 19, 2014
By: Gilberto2
from Santiago, Chile
"These are simply great boots and a good value to boot"
Review 18 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great starter boots,
January 16, 2014
By: Pnbeam
from Sunny Cleveland, Ohio
"Im rather new to fly fishing and I wanted a pair of entry level boots to "get my feet wet". What a wonderful pair of boots; great price and great value"
Review 19 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid and Affordable,
January 15, 2014
By: Ktown
from Pacific Northwest
"If fish both fresh and salt in the Pacific Northwest. I needed a dedicated set of boots for the beaches that could stand up to the sharp barnacles and oyster beds that shredded my Korker rubber bottoms. These did the trick, at a price that proved a great value. They don't have as much structure as your typical river boots, but the material and stitching is solid quality. Certainly enough structure for a day walking the beaches. And grippy enough (with the studs) for casual sessions on a river. They fit as comfortably as my more expensive boots, shed water very well, and dry faster than any other boot I've owned. Highly recommended."
Review 20 for River Guard Streamline™ Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Boots,
January 15, 2014
By: KatieKlo
from State College, PA
"The boots fit great and are so comfortable. The only downfall that I have found is that the studs are VERY small. They still worked and kept me from falling but I've seen better studs on wading boots before. I wear a size 10 in womens, and I got a mens size 9 in a boot to account for my waders. For the price, it's a good deal."