Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bison Leather Winter Gloves

Soft and supple, but also incredibly durable, bison leather is the ultimate for comfort and style. The micropile lining keeps hands comfortable in colder conditions. Cinches at cuff with rawhide lace and antiqued-brass grommet to keep out the wind and snow. Men's winter leather gloves in tobacco. Bison, lambskin, rawhide, brass. Please note: Due to the natural variations in the hides used to make our gloves, the texture may vary from what is shown in this photograph. Imported.Sizes: M(8½), L(9-9½), XL(10-10½).
Average Customer Rating:
4.322 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (90 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
3
74 of 90(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Review 1 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
March 31, 2015
By: The807
from Virginia
"These gloves are "as advertised" with respect to quality, workmanship, true-fit size. Very versatile - good with dress clothes or work clothes. I got them very wet one snow day. Let them dry, rubbed in some leather conditioner - they were like new. Very pleased."
Review 2 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubby is happy,
February 27, 2015
By: BJBrasier
from Michigan
"Not the warmest gloves when it gets to sub zero temps, but they are the softest and nicest gloves hubby has ever had."
Review 3 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Winter Gloves,
February 26, 2015
By: Psydoc
from Short Pump Richmond, VA
"These gloves are very dressy in appearance, but they are warm and tough. Stitching detail and overall construction are very well done. A moderately expensive glove, but well worth the price."
Review 4 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the gloves pictured,
February 16, 2015
By: Logodad
from Boston
"I ordered these gloves because they looked sturdy and warm, the kind of gloves you might wear to watch your kids' sporting events in the cold. Instead, the leather has no grain--unlike the picture--and the gloves are thinner and dressy, more like going to work or out to dinner. And given this, the leather cinch seems out of place from a style perspective. Nice gloves, but not the ones I thought I was ordering."
Review 5 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Different texture, very long fingers,
January 6, 2015
By: MrSquish
from Virginia
"Quality is pretty nice but the pebble grain is not as defined as shown in photos. As others note, it is much more smooth. Color is fairly accurately represented, however.
The fingers--particularly the thumb and pinky--are excessively long. I have long fingers and the thumb folds up toward the end. This alone may warrant a return.
Other than that the leather quality and the lining quality are good. They also smell of nice leather upon unpacking."
Review 6 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gloves,
January 5, 2015
By: Gloves23841
"Terrific pair of gloves, warm, comfortable, and extremely durable. Would buy them again."
Review 7 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bison Winter Gloves,
January 5, 2015
By: 2604evd
"Unfortunately the gloves were to large for my hands and I had to return them. Service and delivery were fine."
Review 8 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome gloves,
January 2, 2015
By: JamLuis
from New York, NY
"Bought these as a bit of Americana for a cousin from Holland. The gloves look great and are very warm and comfortable. Hard to believe the leather is bison hide. I'm now sizing a pair for myself!"
Review 9 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and Comfy,
December 31, 2014
By: LobtahLady
from Peabody, MA
"These gloves are durable yet soft on both the inside and outside. Who would have thought that gloves would be a pleasure to wear?! I have worn them on cold New England nights and they have provided me with the warmth needed for outside enjoyment.
My dog, a Welsh Terrier, loves the smell of them, too!
"
Review 10 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Mens Gloves,
December 30, 2014
By: Elev7856
from Colorado
"My husband asked for these for Christmas and he is very happy with them."
Review 11 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable but not too durable,
December 24, 2014
By: Noooooooooooooooooooooo
from Ligonier, PA
"I bought these gloves to use on my ranch.They feel and look great. I had them for 2 years prior to the string that tightens them around your hand broke. My wife returned them to our local Orvis retail store and we were allowed to keep the old ones and a new pair arrived one week later. I love the customer service and I hope these last longer without any issues."
Review 12 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A Picture is worth a thousand words?,
December 20, 2014
By: SaavyGuy
from Bethesda, MD
"I was sold once I saw the picture of these gloves. They were exactly what I was looking for! Despite reading other reviews I decided to take a chance and unfortunately I too was disappointed. The gloves I received did not resemble in any way, shape or form the coold pebble textured bison leather I was seeking. The gloves were very average and the sizing I feel runs small. I normally wear a Large glove in almost all brands and I could not even get my whole hand into this pair without a lot of work. The fingers were exceptionally long as other buyers had noted. These gloves were a major disappointment and will be returned. I am surprised that Orvis would send out a product that is so obviously different than what is advertised. I don't think many customers like myself would be ok settling for these especially when the grain of the leather is of primary importance. Perhaps if you are still dead set on getting these gloves you make a trip to a store if possible to see in person whether they are a good fit rather than ordering online."
Review 13 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
over priced,
December 17, 2014
By: purpleheartmedal
from okla
"these gloves look lighter in the product picture but upon arrivel they have this lack luster look .leather seems to be thick enough and will probley out last liner"
Review 14 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disapointed,
December 17, 2014
By: DPro
from Albuquerque
"After looking at these gloves for 2 years and trying to order them last year (out of stock) I finally received a pair only to be very, very disappointed. The main reason I ordered the gloves was the rich, deep, distinctive texture of the bison hide shown in the numerous catalogs I've received from Orvis. The pair sent to me had a smooth texture, totally devoid of the rich, rugged look I was expecting. I would like to exchange them for a pair with the grain as advertised. If that's not possible, I'll just keep the ones I have and be very dissatisfied. With this one exception, I've been totally satisfied with the numerous purchases I've received from Orvis."
Review 15 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Winter Gloves,
December 15, 2014
By: Elle1234
from New Hampshire
"Purchased these gloves for my husband last year. He goes through gloves like no one I know. He loves them!!! They are so warm and they look like dress gloves but are durable and can take some punishment. I just bought him 2 pair for this year. He wants to keep one pair to wear with his leather coat. The second pair he will wear when using the snow blower and going to work. He thinks they are the best gloves ever!"
Review 16 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gloves,
December 15, 2014
By: Sandlapper
"I bought these for my husband to go with an Orvis bison jacket. Leather is very soft with quality stitching. He is very pleased!"
Review 17 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value, well made,
December 13, 2014
By: vlmf
from vancouver, b.c. Canada
"Bought gloves for my husband for Christmas and took a look at them before wrapping. Super durable and well made but soft and supple to the touch. I can't wait for him to try them on Christmas morning!"
Review 18 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bison Leather Winter Gloves,
December 8, 2014
By: KaliCav
from Iowa
"The picture online is not a good representation of the gloves. They appear rugged online but are more like a winter driving glove. Having said that, the gloves are very nice. They are warm in the cold (20+ F) as long as you are not out for any lengthy period of time."
Review 19 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just not the same as pictured,
December 3, 2014
By: Steve613
from New York, NY
"The gloves in the picture look textured and think. The actual gloves much be from a different batch because they are smooth, not particularly thick, but the worst part is the lining feels cheap and fake. I LOVE ORVIS...but this one got away from them."
Review 20 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Better Before,
November 22, 2014
By: EJGVCO
from WI
"I first purchased these gloves a couple of years ago, and loved them! Unfortunately I lost one last year, and had to order new ones. The previous pair were heavy weight shrunken bison leather with solid stitching and trim, exactly like the picture. The new pair are nice, but the leather is lighter and smoother and the finish isn't quite as good. Oh well, nothing stay's the same I guess."