Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle

New eco-friendly material, new cart system and wheels, and an updated color. Same great size and function as its best-selling predecessor. Store clothes up top and gear, wet or dry, in the separate vented compartment below. Designed to stand on end without tipping over. The bottom will hold a 9' four-piece rod tube. One gusseted outside end pocket and improved compression straps to keep load from shifting. Roomy main compartment features a full-length, zip-close mesh pocket. In aurora. Bottom: 31"L x 5"H x 16½"W; 2,557 cu. in. Overall size: 31"L x 14"H x 16½"W; 6,500 cu. in. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.767 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 of 30(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have for Traveling Fishermen or women!,
February 4, 2014
By: AndrewM
from Overland Park, KS
"Great luggage for anyone who travels with their fishing gear! The vents allow airflow to help keep drying materials or waders from smelling. Big enough to carry a lot, yet flexible in how you want to pack. This is the nicest piece of luggage I own!"
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great luggage,
January 17, 2014
By: HarleyFlyFishGuy
from Port Washington, NY
"I had purchased 3 of these for a family trip. Its very light which means more weight available for clothes etc. The color is easy to spot at airport and the wheels are quiet and rugged."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Luggage,
January 15, 2014
By: Motohead7
from South Carolina
"I have been looking for duffle that I could boots, wet gear in the bottom for a long time. This one meets all my needs for my long trips"
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The right size,
January 14, 2014
By: tarponbob
from Florida
"A great bag for the traveling flyfisher. It is 31inches long so it carries 9ft 4pc fly rods easily in the bottom section. Very durable with a strong undercarriage and good wheels. It also has a water resistant flap over the top to keep the rain off. It carries so much stuff that you have to weigh it so it stays below 50#. I recommend it to all my fisher buddies."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
January 13, 2014
By: Clemson
"Super great rolling duffle. Well made with tons of storage. Stands up which makes it my first choice. As always-a great product from Orvis"
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better Than Any I've Seen,
January 13, 2014
By: Flyfisher719
from Washington Ct.
"I take several long fishing trips annually, and encounter many different fishermans' bags. The Safe Passage is better than any other I've used or seen. It had excellent capacity without being so big that you feel compelled to over back, the lower compartment is totally isolated from the upper, and the wheels and balance make it conveniently portable. This may well become my every vacation bag of choice, even when I won,t be fishing."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made,
January 13, 2014
By: Lund06
from Ohio
"Strong materials
high quality wheels
I bought one for my son and then my brother and now myself
Time for a fishing trip!
"
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
like it - will use it,
January 3, 2014
By: colsoh
from Columbus, OH
"The vented duffle I purchased on sale but was size I wanted and has the two compartments I wanted. It will show up well on the luggage belt.
And it's an Orvis product!!
"
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rolling duffle!,
December 28, 2013
By: skier23
from Virginia
"I bought this for my 14-year old son to take back and forth to boarding school. It folds up flat for storing under his bed, and it holds a lot, which is great! Very durable too!"
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite bag for fishing trips,
December 27, 2013
By: RBfish
"This bag has accompanied me on many trips across Europe and the USA. Apart from the inevitable cosmetic scatches from the airport baggage handling, the bag is still in perfect order with all zips, buckles, wheels and extending handle working as they should. Bottom compartment is useful as it will also take my 28" barrelled game guns when broken down as well as my 4 piece 9' fly rods. I see this bag is now in the sale. It's an absolute steal at this price."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
More zippered compartments please!,
December 26, 2013
By: lespaul
from CT
"I bought this as a second travel bag at a close out price that was hard to resist. Great price!!
In all fairness, it's a nice looking bag but still could use more side zip compartments. I have another bag a tad bigger than this from a well known merchant and it has many more features for a few dollars less.
More zippered compartments would make this bag a 5 star product. That said, still rugged and still stylish!"
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Last Duffle I'll Need For The Rest Of My Life,
December 26, 2013
By: Spawningshrimp
from Andros Island, Bahamas
"Immediately I found the construction of this duffle well designed for the rigors of travel eg- baggage handlers. Crafted for the serious fisherman who occasionally changes his latitude/longitude. This product will truly enhance my travelling fishing adventures, it has allready proven to be a sound investment."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the bag that i needed,
December 25, 2013
By: pam82
"I was looking for a nice travel bag to use it for my frequents trips and then I have found what I needed ...I fit in 3 rods 3 reels boots wader fly box so everything we need for fishing trips and more ...."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bag,
December 24, 2013
By: MrFMB
from Whgite Plains, NY
"This bag is perfect and suits my needs perfectly. Have used it twice and it seems to be exactly what I needed for my quick trips."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid,
December 21, 2013
By: Squish
"Bag appears to be very high quality; great color will make it stand out on the airport belt; seems a little heavy but attribute that to the quality construction"
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well constructed,
December 20, 2013
By: reelguy
from Nova Scotia
"Another fine produce by Orvis. The materials appears to be trip worthy and durable. Weels are very good and can easily support the luggage when fully loaded."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Big!,
December 19, 2013
By: DMILLER
from Sweet Home, OR
"I bought this bag to transport my fishing gear and rods. It holds everything with room to spare. I gave it four stars because the long zipper is hard to pull at times."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel bag,
December 17, 2013
By: Batta
from Buffalo NY
"I booked a trip to Mexico for fishing. I was so excited I did a prepack of gear and clothes. I wont need waders or boots but I will also be enjoying a resort for a week. All set everything fit, bag rolls well and is as promised
Orvis all the way
"
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Bag,
December 17, 2013
By: 1958Mike
from Los Angeles, Ca.
"Received this rolling duffel the other day. It looks very well constructed. I have a similar duffel I bought yrs ago but its much larger (too big for airport check-in). This size looks perfect for a multi day fishing trips, etc. I can stow my waders and rods easily. Plus the size accomodates my Backpack, thus I can use it for flights to summer backpacking events. I like the wheels and the ability for it to stand up while I'm waiting in airports tickets lines etc. I'm expecting to get many years of use out of this."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Rolling Duffle,
December 17, 2013
By: NRWPineLake
from Pepper Pike, Ohio
"I bought this bag a couple of years ago to complete the Eagle Creek bag of the same size. It was so much superior to the EC, that i bought another. Lower section is hard sided and sturdy for those items you don't want to get mashed.. Steel posts support the top section, while allowing it to flex. Plenty of extra small compartments to store incidentals. Zippers are as tough as the rest of the bag."