Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases

The best travel protection available for a rod and reel. Rugged PVC tube offers great protection for the rod while padded top protects the reel. Top portion completely unzips to allow unobstructed access to rod tube. Oversize top will accommodate conventional reels up to large arbor designs. Smooth nylon lining won't catch guides. Small zippered mesh pocket securely holds small items. Removable and adjustable shoulder strap with perforated foam pad for comfort. Large comfortable carry handle with super grip fabric for secure grip even if wet. Single fly rod case in slate blue. Double in cloudburst. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.311 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
2
38 of 45(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
July 17, 2014
By: TK01
from Houston, TX
"Great construction. Very rugged and spacious. Already had three plane trips and has help up great. Hook pads are fantastic, don't have to break the entire rig down to pack up. Another trip next week."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rod and Reels case,
June 3, 2014
By: Joe469
"Great product and well worth the few extra dollars to buy the larger size. If I am only carrying one rod and reel, I can fit in plenty of other gear that makes traveling easier."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great protection,
May 13, 2014
By: RolandB
from Methuen, MA
"A great way to protect your rod & reel. Small price to pay to protect your expensive investment.
Great for travel and airport transport
"
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
peace of mind,
May 12, 2014
By: todd7874
from Katy, Tx
"Easy to use. Love the wide open zipper to dry out the bag. Roomy with extra pockets for leaders, etc. Heavy duty padding and PVC protection. Shoulder strap makes it easier to carry around."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality travel fly rod & reel case,
March 4, 2014
By: Daliffi
from Southeast Georgia
"Made well, sturdy & ultimate protection for fly rods & reels. Very pleased w/ purchase"
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
R & R Case,
February 25, 2014
By: MtBaldy2010
from Missoula, MT
"I shopped all over the sporting world looking for a two reel/pole case and this is the very best one I found. I will be using it for Alaska salmon fishing trips and fly fishing in Montana. All your equipment is protected plus there is additional storage for small items. The best of the best."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel bag,
January 22, 2014
By: coach32252
from Lafayette,la.
"Have taken my 10' rod and reel all over the America without a scratch. Love the bag"
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Startlingly poor design,
January 13, 2014
By: Redbarn
from Hollis, ME
"Orvis' double reel on rod case for 4piece rods up to 10' fails at a very basic level.
The flaw being, each side of the case is divided into only two sleeves. Meaning, the 4 sections of your rod need to share sleeves. What this means is huge potential for snagged and broken snake guides. In addition the sleeves are alarmingly tight even for one rod section. I will be returning this product to Orvis directly.
To be clear, I usually find that Orvis makes great fishing gear and I own a number of pieces of it. However this case utterly fails at its intended mission to keep you rods safe and easy to access. I own another similar case by an alternate manufacturer, it works just as it should, has four slots for each rod and is easily loaded/ unloaded. I am astonished that this passed the design panel. A surprising disappointment."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Case,
September 2, 2013
By: brookman
from Texas
"Great case to carry both rod and reel. Protects both well in truck. Durable and looks great !"
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod travel case!,
July 23, 2013
By: JDIII
"Needed a case for my 5 and 6 wt. Helios rods to take out to Montanta for a 3-day guided fly fishing trip. This was a great solution: light, easy to carry, great protection of the rods, easy to access the rods, and very attractive. Another great Orvis product."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST CARRY OUT THERE,
July 6, 2013
By: flgolfer
from TAMPA. FLORIDA
"THE ONLY BEST WAY TO CARRY YOUR FLY FISHING EQUIP. IT IS PROTECTIVE AND VERY COOL LOOKING, EASY ON PLANES AND VERY SAFE IN A CAR OR BOAT."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
surprisingly good,
May 3, 2013
By: angler26
from uk
"having purchased several makes of rod reel cases I was surprisingly pleased with the quality and well thought out Orvis rod reel case.The chance to purchase this item was the reason behind the original purchase but having used the case I would have willingly paid the full price."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not like the older version,
April 26, 2013
By: FlyTyingCaster
from Arkansas
"The Safe Passage Double Rod and Reel case no longer has the reel protection that was in this case a couple of years ago. The attention to detail in the assembly and sewing is also not what it was then. I have the older version, which I bought 2 or 3 years ago, and it is the best double rod and reel case I have ever seen (and I've looked a lot), Quality and features were great, but the current version is not of the quality that I expect from Orvis. The case now has no divider to prevent the 2 reels from banging against each other, and there is much less padding around the reel body. I bought this hoping that the padding (which is removable in the old case) had been removed to show the case interior better, but no such luck. I do not recommend the current version of this case, but if Orvis will just go back to the older design (and pay more attention to quality control) they will have a great case again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Like the Older Version,
April 13, 2013
By: FlyTyerFlyer
from Arkansas
"I purchased the double case for 2-pc 9 ft rods. I already have a 3 year old version of the "same" case, and I am disappointed by the reduced features and quality of the new case design. I saw the Orvis website photo, which doesn't show any reel divider or padding around the reel, but I thought "surely they must have taken out these removable pieces just to more clearly show how the rods fit in the case. They wouldn't eliminate them". But they did eliminate them. I wanted a case that allows the reels to be left on the rods without risk of damage, but the new double case has none of the padding around the reels that the older case has. This case still has some nice features, such as the foam hook holder, and sides that open fully for complete access to the reels, but whoever made the decision to eliminate the reel padding is leading Orvis in the wrong direction, and certainly didn't get input from end users. These changes were all about cutting cost, without realizing that they also cut some reasons for owning the case. I guess they expected the user to put their neoprene reel cases on the reels before putting them in the case, but that eliminates much of the convenience of the case. I pay a premium price for Orvis products because I expect a premium product. My old version of this case is the best double rod & reel case I have ever seen; I love it. But this new case now falls far short of the mark."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth It.,
February 21, 2013
By: heo9542
from San Diego, CA
"I bought this case for my saltwater access 9' 6" 6wt and it fits perfectly. You can keep your rod strung and it has a foam fly Keeper on the inside. The only change I would make is the zipper on the mesh pocket on the inside. It would be nice if the opening was up when the case is laying flat instead of it being on the end. It would be easier to get things out of it. Besides that it's great."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
must have,
January 16, 2013
By: Wyomtnman
from Central Wyoming
"I have two of theses cases. Both doubles, one for two piece rods and one for four piece rods. I like the durability and the lining that keeps the rod pieces seperated and not rubbing on each other. My clients are very impressed when i pull out a fully rigged rod and ready to fish in about 30 seconds. Several have told me the first thing they were doing when they get home is to order one."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Safe Passage...almost,
November 18, 2012
By: DaiG
from Singapore
"Great service, arrived to my Singapore address within 10 days of ordering with delivery $$$ on par with the big US e-retailers.
It is very sturdy and after the first trip as check-in luggage it came through without a scratch, could carry 2 rod&reel and my son's 3ft spinning set.
I would have given 5 stars except that the twin zippers do not come with the loop for a luggage lock, but luckily i have a wire loop padlock for keeping things safe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
an excellent buy,
October 21, 2012
By: tez48
from Northeastern Ohio
"This is a great product. I have been looking for a case I can take on the road and quickly get set up and fishing. I am a steelhead guy from Ohio and a lot of times go right to the river from work with not much day light left but this has allowed me to get in quick and home to the family fast as well. I am planning on purchasing the dual case for a trip to Florida in the winter."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Safe Passage Double Case,
September 24, 2012
By: MPS42
from Atlanta, GA
"Great case. Compact but still protects my rods well. I would like to see better protection around the reels. They tend to hit each other once the case is zipped shut. Adding in a small divider would do the trick. I typically just keep a reel cover on one when I travel and it works fine."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe passage rod reel case,
August 19, 2012
By: Gotemhooked
from Royal Oak, Michigan
"Compact, padded well, four piece rod is protected. Takes up little room in car. Sturdy zippers, attractive color combination."