Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases

The best travel protection available for a rod and reel. Rugged PVC tube offers great protection for the rod whilst padded top protects the reel. Top portion completely unzips to allow unobstructed access to rod tube. Oversize top will accommodate conventional reels up to large arbor designs. Smooth nylon lining won't catch guides. Small zip mesh pocket securely holds small items. Removable and adjustable shoulder strap with perforated foam pad for comfort. Single in slate blue. Double in cloudburst. Contents not included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
48 of 55(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Review 1 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rod protection you can buy,
November 30, 2014
By: AppalachianAmericanFlyGuy
from Kersey, Pa
"I love this product as it keeps my fishing system together and ready while also keeping it safe. The rod , reel, and line is always at the ready for the days when the stars line up for a hot day of fishing."
Review 2 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most convenient transport to fishing,
November 28, 2014
By: RustyBucket
"With this rod holder, I can travel anywhere by any means and be ready to fish knowing my fly rod and reel will arrive safely. It also takes up so little room that it isn't the first thing my wife considers leaving behind because the trunk is full!"
Review 3 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
QUALITY AT ITS BEST,
November 22, 2014
By: 635splash
from northern Calif.
"WELL MADE AND PADDED WELL TO PROTECT YOUR EXPENSIVE RODS AND REELS. I AM GOING TO BUG ANOTHER"
Review 4 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW,
November 6, 2014
By: FishermanRob
from Harrisburg, PA
"I shopped for a case for my new 8 Wt and could not find one that would give me everything I wanted and more... UNTIl I saw this case. I can take it anywhere and not worry about missing anything. Based on the price, there is not a better all in one case."
Review 5 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
light, compact, tough,
October 29, 2014
By: hai5
"This is in my car's trunk. Who knows when a stream suddenly appears. I think the pictures saids it all."
Review 6 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good rod case,
October 21, 2014
By: Flatlander1
from Wichita, Ks
"I bought this to house my 10' Helios 2 rod and it's a perfect fit. I can leave the reel attached and there is even a fly patch so you can leave your rod strung up if you desire. The zippered pouch inside the reel cover is a nice touch. Store the leaders that you would use for that setup and accessories."
Review 7 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough and simpe,
September 22, 2014
By: firemanfly
"Durability is the key with this case. The tough denier outer shell is stylish, but it does a great job protecting your rod and reel. The zippers are quality and don't snag. The rod pockets could be a little more durable yet they have held up to my roughness. This case has performed better than my previous cases which cost much more. The pictures don't do the colors justice."
Review 8 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
practical,
September 17, 2014
By: dfishmolar
from Hudson Valley, NY
"This product will protect your investment in your rod so it does not get crushed in your trunk."
Review 9 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
safe passage rod and reel cases,
August 12, 2014
By: dbyrd
"product was as advertised and provides a safe and convenient way to store and carry rods and reels"
Review 10 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 31, 2014
By: tenn
from gatlinburg, tn.
"Love the case. Great construction. My only complaint us the lack of protection between the reels other than that amazing"
Review 11 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
July 17, 2014
By: TK01
from Houston, TX
"Great construction. Very rugged and spacious. Already had three plane trips and has help up great. Hook pads are fantastic, don't have to break the entire rig down to pack up. Another trip next week."
Review 12 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rod and Reels case,
June 3, 2014
By: Joe469
"Great product and well worth the few extra dollars to buy the larger size. If I am only carrying one rod and reel, I can fit in plenty of other gear that makes traveling easier."
Review 13 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great protection,
May 13, 2014
By: RolandB
from Methuen, MA
"A great way to protect your rod & reel. Small price to pay to protect your expensive investment.
Great for travel and airport transport
"
Review 14 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
peace of mind,
May 12, 2014
By: todd7874
from Katy, Tx
"Easy to use. Love the wide open zipper to dry out the bag. Roomy with extra pockets for leaders, etc. Heavy duty padding and PVC protection. Shoulder strap makes it easier to carry around."
Review 15 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality travel fly rod & reel case,
March 4, 2014
By: Daliffi
from Southeast Georgia
"Made well, sturdy & ultimate protection for fly rods & reels. Very pleased w/ purchase"
Review 16 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
R & R Case,
February 25, 2014
By: MtBaldy2010
from Missoula, MT
"I shopped all over the sporting world looking for a two reel/pole case and this is the very best one I found. I will be using it for Alaska salmon fishing trips and fly fishing in Montana. All your equipment is protected plus there is additional storage for small items. The best of the best."
Review 17 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel bag,
January 22, 2014
By: coach32252
from Lafayette,la.
"Have taken my 10' rod and reel all over the America without a scratch. Love the bag"
Review 18 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Startlingly poor design,
January 13, 2014
By: Redbarn
from Hollis, ME
"Orvis' double reel on rod case for 4piece rods up to 10' fails at a very basic level.
The flaw being, each side of the case is divided into only two sleeves. Meaning, the 4 sections of your rod need to share sleeves. What this means is huge potential for snagged and broken snake guides. In addition the sleeves are alarmingly tight even for one rod section. I will be returning this product to Orvis directly.
To be clear, I usually find that Orvis makes great fishing gear and I own a number of pieces of it. However this case utterly fails at its intended mission to keep you rods safe and easy to access. I own another similar case by an alternate manufacturer, it works just as it should, has four slots for each rod and is easily loaded/ unloaded. I am astonished that this passed the design panel. A surprising disappointment."
Review 19 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Case,
September 2, 2013
By: brookman
from Texas
"Great case to carry both rod and reel. Protects both well in truck. Durable and looks great !"
Review 20 for Safe Passage Rod and Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod travel case!,
July 23, 2013
By: JDIII
"Needed a case for my 5 and 6 wt. Helios rods to take out to Montanta for a 3-day guided fly fishing trip. This was a great solution: light, easy to carry, great protection of the rods, easy to access the rods, and very attractive. Another great Orvis product."