Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch

Our ripple foam fly-drying patch is an essential fishing accessory. The Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch can be attached to vest or pack with Velcro, pin or clip. In black. 2½"W x 4"H x ¼"D.
Average Customer Rating:
3.939 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
26 of 33(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Review 1 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ripple foam fly patch,
July 17, 2014
By: Leppy
from Maryland
"Nice foam patch, but the clip holder leaves a lot to be desired. For such a nice fly patch I would thought there would had been better. I would like to see a better material to hold the patch."
Review 2 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for Float Tubers,
June 17, 2014
By: Fllyfisherman
from Grass Valley, CA
"I used Velcro to attach this device to both the Left and Right pontoons of my float tube to hold used flies. Much simpler that putting each fly back into it's plastic case after each use, and it's available for use later in the day or trip. When I get home I put these flies in their proper boxes."
Review 3 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
soft junk,
May 23, 2014
By: southturner
from London UK, Livingston Manor USA
"it's just a piece of foam with a clip, I radically modified mine, as what I really wanted was the just foam, with a hard backing, so, cut it down, and attached it it to to something that will actually hold.
the original Orvis clip supplied, is useless, and will fall off with the lightest touch, the other option was a clothespin, high tech it's not."
Review 4 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Foam is not so good,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"The foam ripple material on mine only lasted 2years. It looks as if my flies destroyed it fully in 2 seasons.
It is as bad as all the other ones and I have not yet seen any version made by any body that lasts and works properly.
ORVIS - please invent something that is apart from the rest."
Review 5 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great item,
April 29, 2014
By: flyfisher56
from Melbourne Aust
"love it,works a treat,great idea with the 3 ways to attach"
Review 6 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Be careful...,
April 22, 2014
By: colanuke
"I wanted one of these to replace my sheepskin patch which seems to tangle around my flies. This looked like the perfect alternative. However, the foam is not effective at holding the flies in place - it has the opposite problem to sheepskin. I lost 4 flies from this patch in one day. I will be returning to the sheepskin..."
Review 7 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 9, 2014
By: nate93
"love this thing! keeps my heavy streamers in place while im falling in the river."
Review 8 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenient,
January 4, 2014
By: FlyMaryland
"Don't really have anything else to say besides that it does what it's supposed to do"
Review 9 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
September 3, 2013
By: dcat
from Woodward, OK
"I have not had a chance to use but one of my guides had one, seemed to be very handy and useful. So I bought one to use when the time comes."
Review 10 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ripple Fly Patch,
May 24, 2013
By: CraigFish
from South Africa
"Good product. Many attachment options. Simple and functional"
Review 11 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simple functionality,
March 5, 2013
By: HatchMatcher
from London
"Lightweight and easy to attach this fly patch means I've stopped wrecking my cork handles and losing flies in my pocket and on the water. The velcro on the back stops the flap flapping in the wind."
Review 12 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
There are better executed options.,
February 28, 2013
By: Cardo
"I've been looking for one of these to quickly attach to pack, wader suspender, shirt etc. The foam is hard backed which is good. The vinyl attaching the plastic clip should be more durable. The plastic clip itself is not very strong so it does not hold fast—it can easily be knocked off of whatever it's clipped to. I discarded the safety pin. I look forward to using the velcro on back to attach to Simms G4 wader jacket which has velcro patch as well as onto my Orvis sling pack. I would not buy again."
Review 13 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fine,
February 11, 2013
By: jackyredz25
"works for a number of things
i use it to hold the fly when paddling yak from place to place"
Review 14 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ripple fly patch,
December 28, 2012
By: lastchance54
"I haven't had the chance to use it yet, but it's going to work well. It's just the right size. What's really nice is that it can be attached in 3 different ways."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Inexpensive and durable,
September 16, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"I purchased a few of these and have cut them in half to throw on my sling pack and vest since they are quite large. They last quite a while, and the backs of them are pretty firm unlike other brands which is a plus."
Review 16 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good Patch,
September 10, 2012
By: WandaR
from nj
"Very good patch but the clip to hang it on the pocket needs a bit of work. Orvis as the sterling brand should reshape this part."
Review 17 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful replacement,
June 18, 2012
By: Rybo
from Sheffield, S Yorks
"Bought as a replacement for the original foam patch on my Sage vest, this is a very useful substitute. It is slightly larger than the original but fits securely due to the hook and loop patch on the rear. The alternative clip and pin fixings mean the patch can be used in a variety of ways.
Why only four stars? Well despite its functionality, it's still pretty expensive for a piece of foam!
"
Review 18 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fly patch,
April 30, 2012
By: invisable999
from yorkshire GB
"Simple idea that works well, with velcro backing, attached easily to my tail water jacket and seems to hold barbless hook flies well in foam patch."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handy,
April 13, 2012
By: NVflyflicker
from Elko, NV
"I bought this for my inflatable pontoon boat. It has several ways to attach to wherever you need it. Very handy for lots of situations."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Orvis Ripple Foam Fly Patch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
important to have,
March 26, 2012
By: Flytyerman
from Wilmington NY
"this is really inportant to have i used to throw all my used flys in any old pocket in my vest and i once lost about 7 really good flys when i fell in, this is a must have but i have seen some at stream-side fly shops for $1"