Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack

The best portable rod rack we've ever seen. Four super-secure suction mounts stay attached to the car even under extreme high-speed driving conditions (not necessarily recommended). Adjustable mounting positions with ball-and-socket connections offer infinite mounting options. Attaches to all nonporous surfaces and stays attached with four independent lever-lock suction mounts. Ball and socket connections and vertical pivots provide unequaled flexibility to mount to any passenger vehicle. Additional ball and socket connection in the rod rest allows rods to be level. Rods held in place with double shock cord and rest of thick EVA foam. Made of the highest quality materials with glass-filled nylon base, rod rests, and socket. Polycarbonate-ABS suction mounts and stainless-steel hardware. Nickel rings for strap assembly. PVC suction mount pads. Also available with a super-strong magnetic attachment option.
Average Customer Rating:
4.042 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
19 of 24(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Review 1 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sumo Fantastic !,
October 6, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"Purchased the magnetic version.....great product. The entire rack is adjustable to accomidate roof contours and placement options. Magnetic feet have rubber boots so as not to scratch vehicle paint. This rack held four rods solidly in place at 65 mph on the hwy and at 10 mph over rocky Colorado mountain roads. Works great."
Review 2 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sumo Magnetic Rod Holder,
September 14, 2014
By: RYolton
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Purchased the magnetic Sumo rod holder for this years fishing trip. Carried 4 fly rod/reel combo's on my 2008 Silverado. No issues, 65 mph on HWY 395. Worked perfect. Easy on and off. Really impressed. Orvis sells only the best. Thanks."
Review 3 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Good Solution,
July 14, 2014
By: pete41
from La Junta, CO
"My guide on the Conejos this spring had one of these and I could see it would solve the problem of having to tear down and rebuild your rod every time you wanted to move to a new location. I bought the magnetic model and it holds well at speeds up to 50+mph. Line and fly did not seem to be taking any abuse at those speeds"
Review 4 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Check your Car First,
June 17, 2014
By: MommyFlyFisher
from Milwaukee, WI
"Before you buy - check your car to see which version you should buy.
We really wanted the magnet version based on other reviews - we live in WI and the cold might effect the suction level I guess.
I bought this for my husband and I for fathers day. He was so excited about it and can't wait to use it; however, both our cars do not have magnetic hoods! Shoot. So we'll be exchanging for the suction cup one.
I will re-review when we use the suction cup one."
Review 5 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Complete fail,
May 10, 2014
By: Flyfanatic14
"I don't think the suction cups work at all in cold weather (anything below 40 degrees). Mounted 2 rods on my truck after making sure cups were secure they still came off after about 30 minutes. Tried it twice and both times the suction cups just came off. I can only speculate that the difference between the hood temp and the ambient air temp caused the cups to come off."
Review 6 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Be careful in cold weather,
March 10, 2014
By: rmhpmi
from N.C.
"Suction cup model can be risky in colder temperatures. Quality is very good overall and if vehicle has been in the sun and/or ambient temps are above 60F or so, no problems. Be careful however in colder conditions."
Review 7 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I Expected!,
January 2, 2014
By: BoiseBrowns
from Boise, ID
"I bought this product for my husband for Christmas and he loves it. The magnet is very powerful, yet still easily removable. We have a roof rack on our truck, and the placing of the rod rack doesn't interfere at all. Perfect for driving creek to creek without all the extra work. Definitely recommend!"
Review 8 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A lifesaver,
November 4, 2013
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"Really bests disassembling your rods at every pond you stop at after work. The rod holders will keep your gear safe at remarkably high speeds. I think the manual says 40 mph but I've been known to push that by 25%."
Review 9 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very dissapointed,
August 16, 2013
By: Fishngolf
from Bennett Springs
"I purchased the sumo suction rod mounts late last year. They worked fairly well until yesterday. The mount I had on the hood of my car came off. Luckily I did not have my rod on yet. I was not able to find it. I was traveling about 20 miles an hour. I called the company and was very disappointed in the gentleman's reaction. He said just buy another one. I was very upset and disappointed. I checked the mounts prior to leaving and they were attached properly."
Review 10 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works for me,
June 11, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"I bought the Sumo rod mounts so I wouldn't have to keep breaking down my rod between streams and I must say they are fantastic. In my travels between streams over "unimproved" forset service roads at 35-40 mph the Sumo worked as advertised and allowed me to spend more time fishing. I have the magnetic style and couldn't be more pleased."
Review 11 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Investment,
May 16, 2013
By: FlyfishingManiac
from Oregon
"I am used to stuffing my flyrods out the window or out the sunroof. With the Sumo Rod Rack I can easily keep my fishing rods safe and drive where ever i want with no hassle."
Review 12 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Car Rack,
January 12, 2013
By: dochemingway
from Tampa, Florida
"Living in Florida, there is no shortage to the number of golf course ponds, or farm ponds to go cast a line. With the sumo car rack, I feel safe portaging my fly rods fully rigged to and from the hole."
Review 13 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Product,
December 31, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Well built and holds to the car very well. It's so nice to just stick the rods on it and drive to the next spot. Suction cups require a clean surface, but hold extremely well. The magnetic version holds extremely well too."
Review 14 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good construction but suction cups need work,
December 28, 2012
By: jeffreyj
from Norway
"As previously mentioned, the quality of the build materials is outstanding. The design and adjustability are also superb. My only beef is with the suction cup mounts. Living in Norway where it's fairly cold year round thus not always easy to attach the mounts and occasionally a suction cup will come loose (thankfully no rods lost). It sounds like there is a new magnetic version out and for folks living in colder areas this would certainly be the one to get."
Review 15 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rod Rack,
August 3, 2012
By: LuckyDoubles
from California
"This is fine and very well designed and made, but I prefer the older suction cup model that is also much less expensive."
Review 16 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No Good regrettably,
June 28, 2012
By: acefisherman
"On first use I tightened as per the instructions and the upper section was able to tilt quite badly so I tightened further and something broke.
Shame because I like the extra height provided by the sumo. Also the rod 'rest' and retaining elastic are good
However confidence lost I'm afraid .
"
Review 17 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great under certain conditions,
April 27, 2012
By: milosmaj
from new york city
"My first experience with this product was not very positive. In my opinion suction cups that come with this carrier are not large and soft enough to work properly in cold temperatures. I fish for stealhead in NYS and i would not recommend this for colder weather unless the cups are different - i have a camera that mounts to the car in the same fashion and it works fine.
After my review i received a call from RodMounts who are the manufacturer of the product and who were informed about my semi negative review by Orvis. Orvis customer support has always been among the frontrunners if not the best, but i also have to praise the treatment i have received from the guys from RodMounts. Despite the fact that i was not too thrilled about their product we had a great conversation/discussion at the end of which i was told that they came up with a magnetic attachments for the same rod holder (they should be available via Orvis soon). I received those (free of charge) some 10 day ago and they work absolutely fine. The switch process from suction cups to magnets is simple and takes seconds. They hold strong enough for safe travel between spots and to the hotel at the end of the day. I would not recommend using them on a highway or at high speed, but who would?
In a nutshell for those who could use magnets with this rod holder i would say thumbs up. If your car requires the use of suction cups keep outside temps in mind or see if guys form RodMounts come up with new design.
As for myself I am a happy camper now. Thnx for support to both Orvis and RodMounts crew!
"
Review 18 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does the job,
February 14, 2012
By: piobmohr
from Iowa
"Works well and is just plain practical. It is so nice just putting your rod and reel together at the start of the day no matter how many spots one tries."
Review 19 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great,
January 28, 2012
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"My experience has been great with this product. Like others have mentioned you need a relatively clean and completely dry surface for proper suction and installation, but with those in place it works great. I highly recommend. There's actually a video out there showing this product working flawlessly at over 100 mph... no joke. :)"
Review 20 for Sumo Car-Top Rod Rack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
November 29, 2011
By: Anonymous
from St. Helens, OR
"I purchased a SUMO a couple weeks ago and set it up on my (very contoured) Prius, hoping it would fit as advertised. The setup was easy and allowed me to use it on the windshield and hood for a weekend trip to the Deschutes River. So it went on quickly and was easy to use, stayed put just fine all weekend. I had no problems and look forward to taking it with me on a fishing trip to New Zealand next year. I had read previous reviews, called the company and was assured the issue with the tie had been fixed by the manufacturer. I agree that the car surface must be very clean for suction cup attachment, am overall very pleased with my purchase."