Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Safe Passage Roller Carry-On

The perfect carry-on or weekender bag. Maximum capacity in a legal carry-on for a full two to three day's worth of clothing and travel needs. Two-stage extending telescope handle and oversized wheels make it a smooth trip through the airport. Moulded bottom allows it to stand upright. Front easy-access pocket for toiletries and liquids. Business card pocket for identification. Moulded interior for maximum packing capacity. Meets airline standards for carry-on. In slate. 22½"L x 16"W x 10"H; 3,600 cu. in. Weight: 7½ lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
2.929 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
8 of 14(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Review 1 for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Inconvenient Design,
June 12, 2013
By: Jakester2
"While I have only used it once, it seems to be solidly built. There are two interior pockets, the smaller of which is also accessible from the outside.
As stated in other reviews, the main compartment can only be partially unzipped. If the unit is lying flat, you can fold the flap open, but you have to slide contents into the lower area where the zipper does not extend to, instead of just positioning them directly. The larger of the interior pockets, both of which are integrated into the inside of the main flap, runs the full length of the front of the unit, actually below where the zipper ends. In order to pack the full length of this pocket while lying flat, you have to unfold the flap and load it blindly, or stand it up and load it vertically. When you stand it up, if you have already packed the main compartment, the contents may fall out. If you pack in the larger interior pocket first with anything of substance, you may not be able to fold the flap open to subsequently load the main compartment. Starting to get the picture? It is very inconvenient.
Now, I don't travel that much at this point in time, and for the quality construction and recent sale price, I can deal with the hassle. If however, I was a more frequent traveler or this unit was being sold for anything above the heavily discounted sale price, I would look elsewhere.
"
Review 2 for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Orvis Quality,
June 6, 2013
By: Dissatisified
from Charlevoix, MI
"I recieved it and the bottom and back lower one third looked like it had mildew on it. I called and requested another to replace this one. I recieved it and it looked just like the first one. I returned this one and keep the first one I don't know why??? This is not Orvis quality I have over 20+ Orvis Battenkill products and this Safe Passage is not acceptable. Color Me, Dissatisified."
Review 3 for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exactly what I was looking for,
March 18, 2013
By: big0
from Littleton,Co
"I wanted a new carry on luggage and it is exactly what I was looking for."
Review 4 for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So So...,
March 11, 2013
By: MrsMal
"Purchased this at the "Tent Sale" for 99.00 so I'm keeping it, however if it had been purchased at the regular retail price of 229.00 it would have been returned. Zippers stick at the corners and are not long enough to open the bag completely. Overall it seems cheaply made, I don't believe it will be a very durable piece. NOT the quality I have come to expect from Orvis"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Deal,
February 26, 2013
By: Bill2468
from PA
"Well constructed as i expected, i got from the online web site as a on sale item, Loved the deal"
Review 6 for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
High Quality - Mediocre Design,
February 10, 2013
By: JohnJA
from California
"This is a very sturdy, well made bag. I can't imagine the wheels failing unless you want to carry a bunch of lead weights. The design is "OK". The front only zips about 3/4's of the way down making it a little difficult to pack. The molded interior adds to the bags sturdiness, but makes it a harder to zip if up if you have squeezed a lot of stuff in it. At the current price, it is a very good deal."
Review 7 for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets expectations,
January 11, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
"Despite prior reviews I ordered this bag for my son and found it well designed and sturdy. Being blue it is easy to find on the luggage carousel. The easy access to an inside pocket is a nice feature."
Review 8 for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointing,
January 3, 2013
By: SimonD1
from UK
"I was expecting to receive something a little special. Orvis usually add useful pockets and other additions to their products. This is a very ordinary case, with just one small pocket on the outside. Not what is required in a cabin case."
Review 9 for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little travel suitcase,
December 28, 2012
By: Traveler51
"It is perfect for a small carryon travel suitcase. It has the quality that you would expect from Orvis."
Review 10 for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bring Back the Light Green Design,
May 21, 2012
By: Sam1628
"I totally agree with the prior review of 6-18-11 by "OrvisVeteran" on this product.
I used this product on one trip and gave it away. I have traveled with various Orvis luggage designs...carry-on, duffle bags
and roller luggage for over 20 years .... hunting and fishing in the USA, Africa and Europe.
The earlier light green Safe Passage carryon was light, roomy and very packable and easy to get into. Very Good
Product....please bring it back.
"
Review 11 for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not ready for prime time,
June 18, 2011
By: OrvisVeteran
"Poor design, not ready for prime time.
1. Rolling wheel design lead to wheel bow-out failure within one month of use.
2. No easy way to attach briefcase
3. Front easy access pocket for toiletries/liquids is too small for one quart bags, and is made of plastic. Placing a plastic bag in a plastic pocket is very difficult.
4. Plastic coating over stiched ribs in back and top make sense, why not included on bottom front? Stitch tore on first trip.
Having used Orvis luggage for over 25 years, this piece doesn't cut it, and unfortunately is not ready for prime time. Bring back the light green design, it worked!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safe Passage Roller Carry-On
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3