Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt

Built in America by The Stronghold for a lifetime's worth of good looks, this pure cotton ticking-stripe twill is breathable, exceptionally durable, and remarkably handsome. Melamine cat's-eye buttons. Button-flap-secured patch pockets. Back yoke's side pleats ensure full range of motion. Cotton canvas shirt in blue stripe. Pure cotton. Washable. Venice, California, USA. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44).
Average Customer Rating:
4.22 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
35 of 41(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Review 1 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Stronghold Quality,
July 15, 2013
By: HappyTrailsJim
"This work shirt is built "stronghold" tough for a multi year life on the range or ranch work. The older it get the better it looks. You can't beat American made!!"
Review 2 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality and Fit,
July 5, 2013
By: DesolationJoe
from New Hampshire
"Fit is more true to size, unlike my previous Orvis shirt purchase (which ran much too big). Very pleased with the quality and detail on a Made in USA shirt (an important reason in my purchase). Keep up the good work Stronghold and please stock more USA clothing Orvis!"
Review 3 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Retro cool...,
June 18, 2013
By: dadpageone
from Derbyshire, England
"Had been admiring this for a while & was well pleased to pick one up in the sale. I had read the other comments about sizing, but ordered a 'L'...My normal Orvis size. This is a hefty weight shirt with a pleasing 'retro' appearance. I am 5ft 11in, weigh 166 lbs, with a fairly long reach. The shirt fits fine, except that the cuffs are a bit tight. This can be cured by moving the buttons slightly. The shirt tails are not as long as your average Orvis shirt... This worries me not, as I often wear them untucked anyway. Although the wash instructions specify cold water, the shirt washes fine at 30c with no shrinkage...Excellent !"
Review 4 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Be Careful,
March 5, 2013
By: jimbob1
from Norwich VT
"Although I love the style of the shirt and it is ruggedly built, I have a problem with the fit. My normal size is somewhere between a medium and large. For this shirt I wanted more room and ordered a large. To my dismay, it feels tight and I'm fearful of shrinkage. I may have go through the hassle of returning it."
Review 5 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
March 5, 2013
By: crackpot
"I've loved the look of this shirt for a year; so i finally bought the shirt; i normally wear an XL and most shirt has plenty of room. However there was no XL, so a purchasd a L and it fits to tight so I'm stuck with this item."
Review 6 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Stronghold Shirt,
February 25, 2013
By: Expatriate
from Hermiston, Oregon
"Very poor fit...too small for size indicated, yes, but also not proportionate to a normal frame. I am returning the Stronghold shirt and have bought what is essentially the same shirt from another manufacturer that fits correctly for half the price."
Review 7 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Styling,
February 21, 2013
By: Styling
from Mooresville, North Carolina
"The shirt was beautifully taylored and I liked the material. However I am 5'10", weigh about 180 and the shirt was grosely too small for me. Sometimes a Men's Large is too big for me but I even had trouble buttoning the wrist buttons. The shirt is cut too small!"
Review 8 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Shines Through,
October 24, 2012
By: CotswoldJames
from Burford, England
"I'd been looking at this shirt for a while so when it was on sale I couldn't resist. A great decision as it is of a fantastic quality. Material is too heavy for summer but perfect for the other 3 seasons. Fit is normal, not Orivs, so go one size down from your Orvis norm. Can't recommend this enough."
Review 9 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy on sale,
October 9, 2012
By: Lessels
from Fife
"Before buying this shirt, read all the reviews and the complaint was, buy it 1 size bigger. Something wrong with some peoples sizing, (this does lead to wrong sizes being ordered) I am 5' 10" tall, size 39" chest and 32" waist, and ordered a medium, this fitted as if it was made to measure, excellent. The quality, cut, style and cloth are awesome, best buy ever from Orvis."
Review 10 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt!,
September 20, 2012
By: vegalittlewonder
from San Diego
"Well-made shirt with lots of texture. Heavier than I expected, too heavy for Summer. I'm 5'6" and the medium fit me well."
Review 11 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good looking shirt,
September 20, 2012
By: grossepointeflash
"quality and looks are there. Glad it was on sale, been watching it for a while. Heavy material, just right for fall."
Review 12 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing confusion,
August 27, 2012
By: Randeau
from San Francisco, CA
"The shirt arrived in a timely manner as always. Orvis sizing though is out of the norm. I returned this item for a Large size, because the Medium was too small, even though their sizing indicates Medium is a 38-40 size. The Medium is closer to a 38, meaning a collar size of 15-15 1/2. So be aware of that issue"
Review 13 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cold weather shirt,
August 4, 2012
By: LondonerEW
from Home counties
"A lovely shirt and well made but I can't see myself wearing it until the autumn rolls round as it's quite thick"
Review 14 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
5th try to review this shirt!,
June 27, 2012
By: RandyP
from Tyler TX
"I had to send this shirt back to get the right size as did many others. I liked the stripe pattern & found it @ the bottom of the sale price scale or would never have bought it, the original price was WAY TOO HIGH & I had had trouble with the American Made Line before. I have NEVER had trouble with the pure Orvis Line of clothing, it is simply the best ! Even with 1 size larger this shirt does not fit like an Orvis shirt, it is a little tight in several places, such as arm pits & the tail is much shorter than evan an Orvis Large, long tails are a big deal to me ! This indicates an attempt to cut corners to save money in my opinion, but still charge a high price, this is not a practice that I find with pure Orvis products! Over all it is an average shirt that fits like an average shirt, I just liked the stripe pattern @ the price I paid which was an average shirt price, a long way from the original asking price ! I have only given 1 other bad review of a product sold by Orvis & hated to give this one, but it is no accident this shirt is always on sale ! Very few of the products made outside of the USA have problems, its a shame that many of the ones made in the USA do! I love Orvis & I love the USA, but the Truth is the Truth ! RMP"
Review 15 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Shirt,
June 17, 2012
By: WMacK
from High Rock Lake, NC
"Unique / distinctive pattern for casual wear. Moderately heavy material. Quality assembly with matching stripes. Sizes run small; a large is perfect for me after one wash... I normally take an Orvis medium. Good value on sale."
Review 16 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
runs small for size,
May 29, 2012
By: ruud
from Apple-cookie New Mexico
"great shirt and great design, but, compared to other Orvis products, this shirt seems small for an XL"
Review 17 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice shirt,
May 26, 2012
By: dodgersfan
from Chino Hills CA
"This is a very nice shirt. Has a good, substantial feel to it and feels good wearing it I particularly chose it because it is made in the USA, even though it is a little pricey."
Review 18 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Shirt,
May 24, 2012
By: WoodwardBound
from Pennsylvania / Maine
"This shirt is wonderfully made (in the states which is all the more reason for my purchase.) Not only is the shirt a wonderful weight, it is handsomely crafted and durable. My only complaint is that it does run a little small. I wish there was a tall size!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality,
May 23, 2012
By: PinstripeMan
from Dayton, OH
"I was very impressed by the heft of the fabric and the attention to detail paid in matching the stripes and the excellent stitching.
I ordered a medium and it fit great, but you have to be careful by using cool laundering to minimize shrinkage. I would have rated it 5 stars if the laundering was more robust."
Review 20 for Stronghold® Awning-Stripe Canvas Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slim fit ticking shirt,
May 22, 2012
By: Kimnic5
from Sam Francisco
"This is a nicely made shirt, but cut smaller than Orvis shirts. You will need one size larger than your Orvis size. A very classic shirt."