Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt

Tartans are among our most popular patterns. Now you can wear these richly colored traditional short-sleeved plaid shirts in summer's warmest weather, thanks to the cool breathability of pure linen. Button-down collar; single chest pocket. Pure linen. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40).
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Review 1 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Shirt,
June 2, 2012
By: dnkansas
from Kansas
"Just received the black watch Tartan and I love it! Have to see how it holds up. Really like this pattern anyway, but Orvis makes it a step above the others. Be forewarned, the sizing is exactly as they say, "cut generously". I am a size 41 and this medium fits perfectly. Thanks, Orvis"
Review 2 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best on the market,
May 30, 2012
By: flintarrowhead
"This linen shirt is comfortable and sturdy against the skin and keeps the body cool, rapidly evaporating sweat. It also air dries quickly and with a bearly detectable seersucker-like texture instead of wrinkles, making it excellent for travel. I would even buy a couple in long sleeve if Orvis were to make them. As a matter of fact, I would like to see the Orvis military tartan shirts in this fabric."
Review 3 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool linen!,
May 30, 2012
By: Traveller2010
from Saffron Walden, England
"I love the shirt, but be careful on the sizing; ask first. Large may mean ENORMOUS 52inch or it may mean it's about 48inch actual size - normal fit. Experience of Orvis sizing anomalies made me check and then choose medium: the right choice."
Review 4 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
May 29, 2012
By: keebler
"The shirt is light and comfortable it warm weather. However, at the shoulder seams the lines dont come close to matching up. Off at least 1/2 inch to an inch."
Review 5 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great but returned,
May 29, 2012
By: atm1
"The linen makes this shirt very comfy. I returned it only because the style was not quite the look I expected, and I bought it on sale with only one color available."
Review 6 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
May 22, 2012
By: FishinMagician
from Mobile, Alabama
"I never thought I'd wear linen this side of glory, but this is a great shirt. The sizing is perfect, and it looks and feels super during our hot, humid summers here on the Gulf Coast. I had the laundry do a cold water wash, and it came back just like new."
Review 7 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Value,
May 12, 2012
By: Dunkeld
from Worcester - UK
"Admittedly I waited until the tent sale but nonetheless this is a terrific shirt made to the usual ORVIS high standard. The collar stands up nicely and for me the length of the sleeve is perfect (so many cheaper shirts have really short - short sleeves).
My wife is a fan too and likes the colour on me :)"
Review 8 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
up to Orvis standard,
April 10, 2012
By: gillysdad
from Kent
"A comfortable and practical shirt at an economic price. I like it"
Review 9 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good looking shirt,
February 29, 2012
By: Anglican
from Brevard NC
"I thought being linen it might not be comfortable but I was wrong it is very comfortable"
Review 10 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like them a lot,
February 27, 2012
By: Carrera911
from Maine
"Great fit and colors. I bought two and am perfectly happy with both"
Review 11 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Linen Shirt,
February 24, 2012
By: cgpg
from Fredericksburg, Texas
"Like all my Orvis shirts, this is a great fit. It is great with shorts and is cool on humid days."
Review 12 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality but too large,
February 13, 2012
By: Linnie49
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Shirt was too large for my husband (error in ordering) ... but even though I could get in his size he wasn't excited about the dry cleaning aspect of the shirt. Lovely shirt if you don't mind dry cleaning bills."
Review 13 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why I only buy ORVIS shirts,
February 6, 2012
By: Dougals
from Cambridge UK
"Bottom line is they are 11/10, just like Bo Derek. Excellent quality, great fit, always looking great ( For years). I'm never disappointed. The service is second to none. But ORVIS do need to deliver for free just like the rest of the Market."
Review 14 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Huge!,
January 27, 2012
By: Janat
"Lovely shirt in design and quality, but very large. I've had to return it and order the small size instead of the medium. It's both too wide and too long for my standard medium sized husband!"
Review 15 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good,
January 16, 2012
By: OrvisInNOLA
from New Orleans, LA
"Great cut and pattern design. The medium fit like most XL's do. Had to return."
Review 16 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very roomy,
August 18, 2011
By: ProfessorinSweden
from Gothemburg
"Extremely roomy and very elegant. I ordered 4 shirts (all of them in this family) in size Large but I got one of them labeled Extra Large. After having checked the code on this actual shirt and on the 3 other ones of the same family but in different colors (ordered and arrived as large) I assumed that the label was wrong."
Review 17 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Scotland and the Clans,
July 19, 2011
By: busybee
from Southern California
"Matches my slacks from a previous purchase. If you like the traditional Scotish patterns you will love it.
One can almost smell the burning peat.
"
Review 18 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shirt,
June 22, 2011
By: Baronpilot
"This shirt is crisp, cool, and well taylored. It holds up nicely in the hot, humid South."
Review 19 for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt for casual gatherings.,
May 11, 2011
By: MollyOprah
"I received the shirt and was delighted at the quality. I wore it to a early evening cocktail patio party and received numerous compliments. I'm veryk happy with the fit and with the apperance."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Linen Tartan Short-Sleeved Shirt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1