Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot

Built on the same last as the Easy-On Brogue, the new Clearwater® II fly fishing boot's lightweight, yet rugged synthetic upper resists damage from rocks and debris as well as rot, mildew, and ultraviolet radiation. The work and hunting boot welt construction minimizes sole torsion and provides complete, over-the-ankle protection and support. The boot is constructed from durable polyurethane and high-density nylon mesh to provide years of use. The toe cap and heel counter are wrapped in textured rubber to add additional protection in high wear areas. The Orvis-exclusive EcoTraX soles have a proprietary lug pattern with sharp leading edges to afford the angler better traction. Comes with 20 pre-installed PosiGrip Screw-In Studs for added security in slippery environments. Screen-covered drain holes. In charcoal and tan. Imported.In men's whole sizes: 6, 7, 8, 9. Weighs 4 lbs 6oz. in size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.439 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
37 of 41(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Review 1 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made quality,
April 4, 2014
By: KRBNJ
from New Jersey
"Purchased these for my son. They appear to be of high quality and solidly built. I wish they had them left in my size too if so I would purchase another pair."
Review 2 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great shoes,
March 31, 2014
By: MsDee1
from Brooklyn, NY
"I love these shoes, I use it for this ugly weather here in NY. This became my winter boots, because of the spikes on hte bottom, I wont slip in the snow."
Review 3 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent boots, priced just right,
March 13, 2014
By: Agrasso
"Quality product at price hard to beat. I was skeptic when I first saw them, but the boots are of solid construction with great support in the ankles. The added toe and heel abrasion coverage is great, especially on the boulder strewn rivers I fish in on my home waters."
Review 4 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice boots for mom,
February 25, 2014
By: Adaminmaine
"I purchase these boots for my mother. She is very pleased said they are the best wading boot she has ever worn."
Review 5 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Grip on Rocks,
August 7, 2013
By: snobird23
from Sandy ,Utah
"I am a 66 yrs old woman who fishes small streams. After years of slipping & sliding & using a wading stick, I can now walk easily over stones & boulders without falling.
The grip of these boots is great! The boots are easy to lace up tight & stay tight through out the entire day unlike my old boots.
The boots are heavier & higher than my old boots, but they have superior gripping power which offsets the weight issue.
Why doesn't Ovis make more Womens fishing products like boots & waders? I had to buy a mens size 6 & a 7 in my old boots because there were no womens sizes. We women love fishing every bit as much as the men & hold good jobs with good incomes. Orvis you are missing a great retailing opportunity.
"
Review 6 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable boots,
July 12, 2013
By: CTsprey
from Guilford, CT
"I've used these boots dozens of times in rivers and ponds. They are comfortable even when hiking into a site. The studs provide outstanding grip. They lace up quickly and easily. The Orvis recommended sizing was perfect. The boots dry quickly after use. Another outstanding Orvis product."
Review 7 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Converted,
April 25, 2013
By: Auspicious
from Reno, NV
"I have always used felts when fishing the River... But I am completely converted to the rubber and stud combo. They have already kept me dry a couple of times. Great Grip, Traction, and Comfortable."
Review 8 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor quality replaced twice,
April 13, 2013
By: tictalk
from toronto, ON
"my first pair of these had felt and where amazing! then the stitching started to come lose. Orvis replaced it with the rubber sole ones as they did not have the felt any longer. First thing I noticed was the insole was different, cheaper then my old ones. Then on the first trip with them the shoe lace eyes came out! Not only 1 but on almost all of them and on both boots! Back to orvis and they replaced again. I live in Canada so for me to go to an orvis store is 2 hours away! The new pair I have the eyes are giving way also. Don't wait your money with these boots you will end up bring them back. I am giving them a 1 stars because the original ones where great."
Review 9 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Boots,
February 4, 2013
By: NCFlyFishing
from Granite Falls, NC
"I have used felt soles for many years, but needed studded boots as required in Alaska. These studded boots actually performed better than the felt. Many boots I've had cut into my ankles at the top. These boots were very comfortable."
Review 10 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good enough to buy again,
February 3, 2013
By: riverbassfisher
from cleveland, Ohio
"I've got the River guard boots in felt and rubber soles for summer wet wading. With a neoprene bootie and wools socks they can't be beat for comfort. The studs are tops for traction.I picked up a size 10 rubber sole pair recently as the booties on the Sonic waders are heavier and larger and I needed a larger size to accomodate a heavy wool sock for winter steelhad fishing.Easy to do at this price."
Review 11 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
solid and heavy,
February 1, 2013
By: calfly
"These boots are well-built: this is the 2nd pair I've bought, the first being for wet wading at one size smaller. Yes, they are not light but you know that by looking at the product info. Good grip even without the studs in."
Review 12 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 1, 2013
By: dbhlsh
from Murfreesboro,Tn.
"Have not got to use yet. They fit well and I like the screw studs on the bottom for better stability in the water. Will get to use May 2013 at Salem Mo."
Review 13 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great boot for a great price,
December 16, 2012
By: RomanL
from S. California
"bought size 12, fit is great with waders and wool sock on. pretty good ankle support, just have to make sure to tie laces tight.
while they seem a bit heavy when you first try them on in store, i had no issues while hiking and climbing some rough terrain. the only thing they feel a bit different at first due to their large foot print *(when comparing to regular sz.12 skate shoes i wear) but i see this as a good thing for more grip when wading.
i also noticed that boots drain extremely well, so even when wet, they don't really feel any heavier.
the only reason i gave it 4 out of 5 starts is because they aren't as light/snug fit as some of the much more expensive boots i've tried on. but for the price its hard to beat.
"
Review 14 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very heavy,
November 26, 2012
By: JT12
"These boots are well built, have good traction, but are VERY heavy - really too heavy to be a suitable wading boot, in my opinion. There is no reason for them to be that heavy."
Review 15 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Introduction to Wading Boots,
November 7, 2012
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
"I bought these as a resonably priced option for a first time fly fisherman. He had never worn wading boots (or waders) and I asked him what he thought of the boots. He said he was extremely surprised at how comfortable and mobile he was. He wouldn't want to go hiking for hours in them, but for the purposing of moving around the river and going from fishing spot to fishing spot, he felt they were excellent. With the help of these boots and some other orvis products, I think I may have gotten someone new involved in the great art of fly fishing. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 16 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Big Disappointment,
November 3, 2012
By: lebough
"I ordered the boots to wear with my breathable stocking foot waders. My shoe size is 10 1/2. Wading shoes are supposed to fit over the stocking foot waders but the size 11 shoes were too small. ( There were no size 12 available). The boots were too tall too fit comfortably under the gravel gaurds that are part of the waders. The boots were heavy and felt like I was wearing two anchors instead of shoes. They were stiff and not flexible. They were not easy to get on and off. I was glad to return them for a refund."
Review 17 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My first pair,
September 14, 2012
By: RetiredNovice
from Chester Co. PA
"Nice boot, great price, but too heavy. Exchanged for Riverguard Ultralights."
Review 18 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My best wading boots,
September 11, 2012
By: mjr1
from Wakefield, QC
"Used on local stream which has algae covered rocks. Traction is equivalent to my old felt boots. Excellent traction for hiking. They offer good toe protection and very good ankle support, which is important to me. Ordered one size larger than normal and they are just right. Excellent service as usual. Thanks."
Review 19 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Grip - Heavy,
September 10, 2012
By: TooClever
from MA
"Used these last week on many rivers in Southwestern Montana and Yellowstone. Excellent traction, but they are real heavy. They are also wide. When taking a step in the current you can feel the water pushing your elevated boot. Other than the flipper effect and the Frankenstien (steen?) like walking, I like them. I never lost my footing and drowned (not a bad way to go though)."
Review 20 for River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Low price for high quality,
September 8, 2012
By: morpheus
from Alaska
"I typically shy away from "cheaper" items but I ate my words on these! I have been out a few times already with these boots. The pre-installed studs make wading a dream. the design is comfortable and easy to get in/out of. All around a great boot!"