Orvis Ratings and Reviews

HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot

Some of the softest oil-tanned leather we've ever laid hands on, combined with durable American craftsmanship, makes this rugged pair of cowboy roper boots a favorite for years to come. Flexible rubber outsole. Leather cowboy roper boots in brown. Genuine leather. Made in USA.Whole and half sizes: 8-12. About 13" high.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
2
33 of 46(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Review 1 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not as advertised,
November 17, 2014
By: athiker393
"I am sorry to report that this boot is not a roper. It is a Wellington. Orvis advertised it as being about 13" high but it is really only 11" high. If you are looking for a western type boot this is not it. It is well made, looks good but did not have the height I require. I tried on the right boot and it seemed to be much too small for me. I normally wear a 10.5 which I ordered but it was a bit snug. Overall it is a well made boot but is a Wellington-- not a roper."
Review 2 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A beautiful boot, BUT,
November 7, 2014
By: tuna
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"The HH Roper boot is an absolutely beautiful boot. Soft supple leather and great color. Everything I wanted in a boot. HOWEVER, unless you have a very prominent arch, these boots are not for you. I am not flatfooted, but I don't have a very high arch. When I tried on these boots, it felt like someone put a rock under my foot. These boots have a steel arch support that really makes them, at least to me, very uncomfortable. If not for that one aspect of the boot, I would have definitely kept them. But after wearing them around the house for half an hour, my feet were killing me. So, a gorgeous boot, but not for everyone."
Review 3 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not a complete description of product,
November 6, 2014
By: james565244
from Tennessee
"The ordering and shipping were seamless and customer service is top notch; however, I feel a more accurate description would have saved on time and shipping costs. The product is well made and fit comfortably right out of the box. The color was the first thing I noticed...not the same shade, about two to three shades lighter. Lastly, perhaps most importantly, the sole of the boot is not described at all in product description. It's an Ice Lug Sole... with a sort of plastic appearance. Not what I expected for a boot of this price point."
Review 4 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis awesome customer service,
November 3, 2014
By: Midge1961
from Stantonsburg, nc
"Orvis consistently provides excellent customer service/delivery
Purchased HH Brown-Oiled Roper Boots for my son /Christmas present...another awesome purchase from Orvis. So excited....can't wait for my son to get them....Merry Christmas!!!
"
Review 5 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HH Brown boots,
November 1, 2014
By: Jayjayjay
from Senatobia, MS
"Nice well made boots. I had to return because of width. I needed a bootsthat were in a narrow width. Was told it was a special made for Orvis and a wide width was the only one made."
Review 6 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Boot Didn't Fit,
October 23, 2014
By: Anonymous
from Johns Creek, GA
"I was excited when I got the Roper Boot. Very well built with amazingly soft leather. The only problem I had was that I could not get my foot into the boot. I have high arches and I guess that was the problem. I was disappointed because I knew that it would have been a great boot if it had accepted my foot."
Review 7 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful comfortable boots,
October 8, 2014
By: RandyR7638swife
from Dallas, TX
"My wife purchased these boots for me as a gift. I'm a bit of a skeptic and did not expect to like the boots as well as I do. Nice fit and finish and they hold their shape. The uppers are extremely soft but once on they hold their shape. The only negative is they tend to pull my socks off as the day wears on. They look great with a pair of jeans."
Review 8 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 29, 2014
By: yama
"This Roper Boot is mannish but pretty ! Why so , it's made by thick leather and has a round toe ! I could have never found this type of boots in Japan . This is the reason why I ordered to ORVIS . Thanks ."
Review 9 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
March 30, 2014
By: Brunavia
from California
"Very comfortable. Looks great. The leather is thick and durable, but surprisingly pliable and soft. I anticipate these will only get better with age."
Review 10 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots,
February 15, 2014
By: dred
from Madison, MS
"This is the best pair of boots I have ever owned. They are comfortable and look great."
Review 11 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HH Brown Roper Boots,
January 29, 2014
By: Yepja
"These should be the last pair of boots I ever buy. Comfortable and stylish, They get better looking with age."
Review 12 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and classy!,
January 15, 2014
By: Bam77
from Illinois
"Bought these for my husband. He works both in the office and outside. These boots were the perfect combination of a comfortable work boot that is also great looking!"
Review 13 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
January 6, 2014
By: ECMason
from Connecticut
"Extremely comfortable - soft leather yet substantial enough to be durable - true to size with a boot sock on - warm and extremely water repellent - I tried several other brands without success as they were either uncomfortable or simply wouldn't go on my feet - these were perfect"
Review 14 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great ropers!,
January 2, 2014
By: ollisom
from Houston, Texas
"Great ropers. Good fit, good color and not-you-average looking. I waited to see if they would go on sale but I purchased when sizes started to rum low."
Review 15 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disapointed,
December 21, 2013
By: FoxPoint
from Providence, RI
"Boots were well constructed, but lacked the finishing I was expecting. Would have taken more oil and elbow greese then I was willing to put in for what I paid for them, so the boots became the first item I ever returned due to lack of satisfaction."
Review 16 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Boot,
December 14, 2013
By: Calibogue24
from Charlotte, NC
"If you're looking for high quality, durability and everyday comfort - then this is your boot! From the moment I put this boot on it felt broken in. While I would say I would definitely buy this boot again, I probably won't need to for another 10 years! It's also made in the USA which is hard to find these days, especially in men's footwear. Bravo!"
Review 17 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect purchase,
December 7, 2013
By: Fsu1956
from Cairo, Ga
"Boots ..perfect fit, comfortable, good-looking, beautiful leather.
A big hit for a Twenty-something
Young man. Many thanks for having these in your catalog.
Also, quick delivery..
"
Review 18 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these but not a fan of cowboy boots,
October 22, 2013
By: PeakInspired
from Olive Branch, MS
"These boots are exactly what they are advertised to be even if the uppers aren't stiff like a regular cowboy boot. It doesn't bother me in the least. I ordered an 8 1/2 because they were on sale even though I normally wear an 8 1/2 or 9. The boots are a little snug but they seem to be supple enough to stretch a little over time and are not too short for my toes, so I believe I have a good fit. I'll just wear them around the house for a few days and see if I still feel the same way. Great boot!"
Review 19 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best!,
October 7, 2013
By: mustangman
from Creedmoor,NC
"These boots are everything you said! The leather is sooo soft and pliable that my foot just slides into them. As for fit,the size is right on! These are simply the best boots I have ever owned bar none."
Review 20 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted!,
October 2, 2013
By: Sargeant
from Toledo, OH
"As soon as I saw the HH Brown roper boots in last year's catalog, I knew that I had to have them. I read all of the reviews and it took me a year to order them but I am very glad that I did. They look exactly as they did in the catalog. The leather is just the right color and is very soft. They are easy to put on and are very comfortable to wear. I have nothing negative to report regarding these boots."