Orvis Ratings and Reviews

HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot

Some of the softest oil-tanned leather we've ever laid hands on, combined with durable American craftsmanship, makes this rugged pair of roper boots a favourite for years to come. Flexible rubber outsole. Leather cowboy boots in brown. Genuine leather. USA.US whole and half sizes 8-11 , 12, 13. About 13" high.
Average Customer Rating:
3.921 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
2
26 of 38(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Review 1 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
March 30, 2014
By: Brunavia
from California
"Very comfortable. Looks great. The leather is thick and durable, but surprisingly pliable and soft. I anticipate these will only get better with age."
Review 2 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots,
February 15, 2014
By: dred
from Madison, MS
"This is the best pair of boots I have ever owned. They are comfortable and look great."
Review 3 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HH Brown Roper Boots,
January 29, 2014
By: Yepja
"These should be the last pair of boots I ever buy. Comfortable and stylish, They get better looking with age."
Review 4 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and classy!,
January 15, 2014
By: Bam77
from Illinois
"Bought these for my husband. He works both in the office and outside. These boots were the perfect combination of a comfortable work boot that is also great looking!"
Review 5 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
January 6, 2014
By: ECMason
from Connecticut
"Extremely comfortable - soft leather yet substantial enough to be durable - true to size with a boot sock on - warm and extremely water repellent - I tried several other brands without success as they were either uncomfortable or simply wouldn't go on my feet - these were perfect"
Review 6 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great ropers!,
January 2, 2014
By: ollisom
from Houston, Texas
"Great ropers. Good fit, good color and not-you-average looking. I waited to see if they would go on sale but I purchased when sizes started to rum low."
Review 7 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disapointed,
December 21, 2013
By: FoxPoint
from Providence, RI
"Boots were well constructed, but lacked the finishing I was expecting. Would have taken more oil and elbow greese then I was willing to put in for what I paid for them, so the boots became the first item I ever returned due to lack of satisfaction."
Review 8 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Boot,
December 14, 2013
By: Calibogue24
from Charlotte, NC
"If you're looking for high quality, durability and everyday comfort - then this is your boot! From the moment I put this boot on it felt broken in. While I would say I would definitely buy this boot again, I probably won't need to for another 10 years! It's also made in the USA which is hard to find these days, especially in men's footwear. Bravo!"
Review 9 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect purchase,
December 7, 2013
By: Fsu1956
from Cairo, Ga
"Boots ..perfect fit, comfortable, good-looking, beautiful leather.
A big hit for a Twenty-something
Young man. Many thanks for having these in your catalog.
Also, quick delivery..
"
Review 10 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these but not a fan of cowboy boots,
October 22, 2013
By: PeakInspired
from Olive Branch, MS
"These boots are exactly what they are advertised to be even if the uppers aren't stiff like a regular cowboy boot. It doesn't bother me in the least. I ordered an 8 1/2 because they were on sale even though I normally wear an 8 1/2 or 9. The boots are a little snug but they seem to be supple enough to stretch a little over time and are not too short for my toes, so I believe I have a good fit. I'll just wear them around the house for a few days and see if I still feel the same way. Great boot!"
Review 11 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best!,
October 7, 2013
By: mustangman
from Creedmoor,NC
"These boots are everything you said! The leather is sooo soft and pliable that my foot just slides into them. As for fit,the size is right on! These are simply the best boots I have ever owned bar none."
Review 12 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted!,
October 2, 2013
By: Sargeant
from Toledo, OH
"As soon as I saw the HH Brown roper boots in last year's catalog, I knew that I had to have them. I read all of the reviews and it took me a year to order them but I am very glad that I did. They look exactly as they did in the catalog. The leather is just the right color and is very soft. They are easy to put on and are very comfortable to wear. I have nothing negative to report regarding these boots."
Review 13 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good quality, but didn't fit,
February 11, 2013
By: LktMountainMan
"The boots were made of high quality materials and the styling was as pictured. Unfortunately, I had to return them due to the high arch support that did not match up with the arch in my foot. The fit was also snug on my foot, so I would say that they are sized small. I wore them for only a few minutes until they became very uncomfortable."
Review 14 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Terrific boots,
January 14, 2013
By: BigSkyRick
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Softest, most supple leather uppers of any boots I've ever owned. Good fit, and, if antything, sizes run a bit large. Very pleased to have these boots and expect to use them as my 'everyday' footwear."
Review 15 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best boots ever,
December 30, 2012
By: CudaMan
from Alberta Canada
"excellent boots. Had purchsed a similar pair before but these were the best. look good, feel good and can walk for ever with them on. no complaints!"
Review 16 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Boots Ever,
December 28, 2012
By: Bluitt
"These boots are everything they were advertised to be. Very satisfied with them."
Review 17 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality shows,
December 19, 2012
By: Arena
from Southampton UK
"These boots are a real treat, colour style softness and quality of the leather all excellent.
Only point to note is the US 11 is a very big UK10 more like 10.5 but with an extra insole they fit ok. They slip on and off easily contrary to other comments - yes the uppers are soft, so you do need to pull them on but they are not wellingtons! Very pleased great value and really enjoy wearing them.
"
Review 18 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not as described...,
December 16, 2012
By: Escudo
from Northern California
"The picture of the Roper Boot in your catalog is absolutely not representative of this product. The tops of the boots are so soft and flimsy that they do NOT stand up as pictured. they actually gather at ankle like an old sock. Odd style?!"
Review 19 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boots but too narrow,
December 8, 2012
By: dryewestie7
from Asheville, NC
"I read all of the reviews before I ordered these boots. As most reviewers said, the upper portion of the boots is very soft and pliable. I like this and have another pair like this and had no trouble getting the boots on. The color is also very nice and exactly as pictured and as described by others. The quality of the boots is superb, exhibiting excellent craftsmanship. The problem for me is that the boots were too narrow for my feet. I have been a runner for 45 of my 61 years and I have muscular wide feet. I require a 10.5 EE foot in a shoe but can sometimes get by with Medium (D) with boots because they often have more room. Unfortunately, these boots only come in one width and myt feet were cramped in the mid-section. The length was fine. I hated to send the boots back because I really liked them. The narrow width is the only reason I did not give 5 stars."
Review 20 for HH Brown Oil-Tanned Roper Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor sizing,
December 4, 2012
By: Mooseyfan
from Co Durham
"I take a size 8 uk so ordered a size 8.5 because i like to wear thicker socks. Couldnt get my feet in past my instep. Reckon I should have ordered a size 10! sizing is well out, also a very floppy top part of boot didnt stand up like the picture.
Return to sender just like the song.
"