Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gitman Oxford Shirt

Based in Ashland, Pennsylvania, Gitman has—since 1948—produced some of the finest shirts in the world. This Oxford dress shirt for men offers durability and comfort unavailable in other shirts, pairing pure cotton Oxford cloth with traditional button-down styling. Garment washed for extra softness. Pure cotton. Washable. Ashland, Pennsylvania, USA.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Review 1 for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome shirt,
March 31, 2014
By: Polyd123
from Warrenton, VA
"Great shirt looks fantastic and fit super 100% well made"
Review 2 for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality and American Craftsmanship,
December 6, 2013
By: Wilifepix
from Maryland
"Excellent fabric and stitching. Great buttons. Have two of these now and I am pleased that taking them out of dryer slightly damp allows me to iron them quickly for a great look. These shirts will last. Have traditionally bought dress shirts from a major high end clothing chain with no-iron and various cuts (slim, etc.). But these wear out quickly. Not the Gitman. Solid buy."
Review 3 for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GR8 SHIRT,
October 9, 2013
By: Tigers68
from MI
"I have only worn it once but as soon as you pull it out of the bag you can tell the quality. looking forward to years of use."
Review 4 for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis offers quality merchandise,
January 10, 2013
By: Remora
from Sacramento,Ca
"When ever I buy a new dress shirt I always send it to a cleaners to have it washed and starched. It came back looking great. It will be ready for use when I need a bright white shirt ."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one of the best shirts ever made,
September 5, 2012
By: chili
from connecticut yankee
"I've worn some fancy shirts from Madison men's shops but this is the best Oxford shirt I've ever worn. It isn't cheap because very simply it's not cheap. Washed on a delicate cycle and pressed with a good iron and some starch and it will look as good as a shirt washed and pressed from your favorite laundry. Or, you CAN just take it to your favorite laundry. These fit guys who are in shape and they look good in any color esp. blue which is the new white. Buy one and most likely you'll buy more. If properly taken care of, these shirts will last years. If you like good neck ties, these shirts will really show them to your best advantage. They also look especially good with a hand-tied bowtie and just about any Orvis jacket and many Orvis vests will complement this shirt. Yes, they're pricey, but they're so worth it. When these came I regretted just having bought a dozen white shirts from another company that cost nearly as much and aren't anyway nearly as good. Those shirts are going to have to find a new home. They look out of date and frumpy compared to a Gitman. Gitman shirts feel smooth and soft even with starch."
Review 6 for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gitman Oxford Shirt,
May 26, 2012
By: Jonnyboy
"I finally found a nice Gitman shirt to fit me. I was lucky to find this one on sale earlier this month at a greatly reduced price. I would buy another today but they are not on sale now. This shirt feels luxurious when you wear it."
Review 7 for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best,
May 21, 2012
By: Snitch
from Pittsburgh
"It's been years since I've seen an oxford shirt of this quality. To be fair, I have my shirts laundered and prefer heavy starch, especially on the collars and sleeves. And it looks awesome as a freshly starched shirt. Aside from the price, it's the best shirt money can buy."
Review 8 for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 21, 2012
By: GMcK
"Top quality cotton shirt.
Built for North American sizes
"
Review 9 for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard to Find,
January 26, 2012
By: White
"This shirt is probably over priced, but it is made in the USA. I have been looking for a medium, traditional oxford cloth shirt. I like a shirt in cool weather with some weight. I still prefer untreated cotton for comfort. Highly recommended. Now if they could just do something about that price."
Review 10 for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Shirt,
November 7, 2010
By: toastedskin
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a nice Oxford. The fabric has a certain heft to it which provides great body. The collar is nice and stiff and holds a nice ironing. The price is a little high for a solid Oxford, but the shirt has a nice look and feel to it."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Gitman Oxford Shirt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1