Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Schott® Naval Peacoat

Cold, damp weather is no match for the stout construction and timeless warmth of Schott's classic navy pea coat. Built in America, this coat's military-specification interlocked blend of melton wool and nylon ensures maximum protection against the elements—just as the peacoat has ever since it was adopted as standard issue by the US Navy in the early 20th century. The design was derived from the Royal Navy's reefer jacket—cut shorter for ease of movement in a ship's rigging—itself a staple of life at sea since the mid-1800s. Double-breasted button-front closure securely fastens from either side. Two hand-warmer pockets. Men's pea coat in dark navy. Wool/nylon with nylon lining and polyester fill. Dry clean. Made in USA. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 32" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.841 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
68 of 69(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Review 1 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful coat!,
November 29, 2013
By: Commander
from Vernon, Texas
"I first tried this coat on in the Dallas store and loved it, but decided not to buy it as there were other priorities at the time. To my surprise and delight my wife and children conspired to get it for me as a surprise gift. It is heavy, handsome and warm- very substantial. I've received numerous compliments while wearing it, most recently from a perfect stranger. Wonderful coat."
Review 2 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Serious Winter Wear,
September 3, 2013
By: kywagers
from Lexington, KY
"This coat exceeded my expectations for a winter coat-it is a heavy-weight item that should protect against serious winter weather, and gale force winds. I have winter wear from another prominent outfitter, but this coat is heavier. I can't imagine our upper-south winters producing anything this coat can't handle. Fit and finish are fine."
Review 3 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
more than expected,
September 3, 2013
By: kenkk
from riverside, ca
"i was in the us coast guard and stood many of watches on the flying bridge of a 250 foot coast guard cutter going from long beach to washington and the night watch was very severe with waves coming over the bow and lot of spray and cold water but my peacoat keep me warm lost but i am glad i have a new one to wear this winner"
Review 4 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
July 19, 2013
By: Seattkeski
from Seattle, WA
"Color, quality, fit, and style are all excellent. Very pleased with this purchase. Like the inside pockets for wallet and valuables."
Review 5 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Peacoat,
March 6, 2013
By: SanDShovel
from Near Cleveland OH
"How does it get better than a Navy peacoat made in the US by the same folks who manufacture US Navy Peacoats?
The fantastic jacket is extremely durable and warm. The huge collar pulls up against the wind -- maybe the way the Navy wanted it?
I'll be wearing this for decades!
Thank you, Orvis!"
Review 6 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Peacoat,
February 18, 2013
By: DHJMCKENZIE
from Toronto, Canada
"I have been looking for a good peacost for a few years, but never found what I was looking for, until I saw this coast on Orvis's web site.
This is the real deal.
It is thick and warm and the colar comes up very high around your neck. The hadn pockets are also very warm.
It is built tough.
I love this coast and quite a few people have paid me compliments on it and asked where I purchased it from.
This was my first purchase from Orvis, and now I will have to purchase more!"
Review 7 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toasty...watch sizing,
February 13, 2013
By: Donji
from Ontario, Canada
"I had to return the XL for a XXL. I'm tall and have some girth around the middle (240 lbs.). That's the area where I needed more maneuverability; I got excellent help from Orvis staff over the phone regarding measurements of the XXL coat. I'm awaiting the arrival of the XXL, but know what to expect because I tested out the XL!"
Review 8 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
February 12, 2013
By: MrSharp
"The warmest and most comfortable coat ever worn. The only problem is i don't want to take it off."
Review 9 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
February 7, 2013
By: rwsanch
from New York, NY
"This has quickly become my favorite coat. It works for everything from walking the puppy to attending a business meeting. I've been warm even through the recent coldsnap with only a shirt and jacket underneath (temperatures were down to about 20 degrees).
Only one complaint - the thread on the buttons is wearing out after only one week of use. Already it has come loose on five of the eight buttons on the front. This doesn't affect the wearability and I'll just resew the buttons myself, but should be taken into consideration."
Review 10 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the one!,
February 1, 2013
By: YukonPhil
from Philly
"I looked at a dozen Peacoats before ordering this one. If you are simply looking for fashion, or a lightweight coat - don't buy it. This coat is heavy and warm. It is a real double breasted jacket with buttons and button holes on both sides meaning you can close it right side over left or left side over right. The collar stands up and stays up and hugs your neck and ears. I wear a 40L and the medium fits perfect.
If you are looking for warmth and fashion, this is the one."
Review 11 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tradition at it's Best,
January 28, 2013
By: haverodwilltravel
from Barnstead, N.H.
"Great coat. Super quality. The only problem is with the buttons. Several unraveled after only a week. Other than that, the quality is great."
Review 12 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Coat,
January 26, 2013
By: GuitarPicker
from New Market, MD
"Warmest coat I've ever had. Quality is very good; hefty material, well made. Typically wear 48L coat; the fit of the XL is snug and comfortable. Been wearing it for the last week in 10-25 degree temps; nice and warm. No complaints. Very pleased with this purchase."
Review 13 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent jacket,
January 24, 2013
By: donjackie
"the jacket is well made. the wool is nice and buttons authentic. best peacoat out there. worht the extra $."
Review 14 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time found real pea coat,
January 21, 2013
By: Ingy
from Washington State
"Been looking for a real pea coat replacement for one I had that was way too big. First time in many years I finally found one, I'm thrilled terrific quality of material for warmth and terrific construction, fits perfectly also"
Review 15 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Excellent Coat,
January 14, 2013
By: NavyDavey
from New Jersey
"Coat arrived quickly after placing the order. I was concerned about fit, but no problems at all and no alterations will be needed. This is a fine, heavy peacoat that for all the world matches what I saw on active duty. Now if the January weather in the NY area would only get cold enough to wear it..."
Review 16 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks good,
January 11, 2013
By: EricaG
"This coat looks good and should keep my 16-year-old dry. It was rather wide for him though."
Review 17 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
January 9, 2013
By: BobRod
from Lancaster Pa
"Was in the Navy . This Pea is as warm if not better them the one I have hanging in my closet and it fit"
Review 18 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Coat I ever Orderd,
December 29, 2012
By: charlieroc
from Pittsburgh Pa.
"the coat was everything that I thought it would be.I love it."
Review 19 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat for cold winters,
December 29, 2012
By: Gizz
from Indiana
"Fantastic coat! Very warm and fits great. Looks good. Great quality"
Review 20 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Men's Coat,
December 29, 2012
By: BHonest
from Collierville, TN
"I bought the Orvis navy Peacoat for my husband for Christmas and he loves it! It fits him perfectly with just enough extra room to cover heavy clothes. It is a perfect color, weight and style. I saw a cheaper, similar version in a big box store locally, but I'm so glad that I bought the Orvis one because it is such better quality and the extra details make it so much classier than the cheaper version. Because it is 100% wool, it is very warm and is lined which makes it easier to put on."