Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Schott® Naval Peacoat

Cold, damp weather is no match for the stout construction and timeless warmth of Schott's classic navy pea coat. Built in America, this coat's military-specification interlocked blend of melton wool and nylon ensures maximum protection against the elements—just as the peacoat has ever since it was adopted as standard issue by the US Navy in the early 20th century. The design was derived from the Royal Navy's reefer jacket—cut shorter for ease of movement in a ship's rigging—itself a staple of life at sea since the mid-1800s. Double-breasted button-front closure securely fastens from either side. Two hand-warmer pockets. Men's pea coat in dark navy. Wool/nylon with nylon lining and polyester fill. Dry clean. Made in USA. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 32" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
83 of 85(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Review 1 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality Control,
February 17, 2015
By: Leo10
from Dallas, TX
"The very top button holes are not align to the buttons......Quality Control has been lost in manufacturing!"
Review 2 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Schott Naval Peacoat,
February 16, 2015
By: CSM1A
from Dothan, Al.
"The coat was everything I expected from Orvis, I have been buying from Orvis for over twenty years and have never been let down. Here in Alabama the weather is cold and damp in winter with variable Day to Night highs and low swings, the wool is warm yet breaths well also."
Review 3 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Schott Peacoat,
February 9, 2015
By: mrssparre
from West Chester, Pa
"I would very much recommend this coat to a friend. It does run large, however....my husband usually wears a large, but needed a medium int his coat."
Review 4 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made in the USA !!!!,
February 7, 2015
By: zymurgan
"Quite possibly the highest quality and best-looking coat I have ever purchased. Stops wind dead in it's tracks. Looks great with anything. Sized amply with high quality materials. Super comfortable. Oh, did I mention : American Made !!!!!!"
Review 5 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
January 29, 2015
By: juddwellington
from New York
"This peacoat looks great, nice cut, fits well (I had to shorten the sleeves), Materials have the appearance of being of very high quality. Like that it was made in the USA."
Review 6 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Issued,
January 24, 2015
By: LooseCannon
from Colorado
"This is identical to with the same level of quality as what I was issued in the Navy in the 1970s"
Review 7 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat keeps me warm!,
January 23, 2015
By: ChicagoGuyAH
"This is a very warm coat. Midwest winters can be brutal. We have cold temperatures plus windchill. This cold has a high collar that protects my ears from the bitter Chicago wind. The front closest nicely to protect my neck. In addition to its function of keeping me warm, it looks great. Also it is not too heavy or bulky. Great coat."
Review 8 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat Great Price,
January 22, 2015
By: tacklet62
"The Schott Naval Peacoat is a great product and I am especially pleased with Orvis' ability to deliver it to me in time for a birthday gift. It is extremely well-made and it is very warm. I feel incredibly comfortable in sub-zero degree temperatures. Polar Vortex be aware. The Orvis Schott Peacoat will turn you in to a little cool breeze."
Review 9 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it!,
January 21, 2015
By: JDavid11
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Over the past 3 years I have been searching for best looking,fitting and constructed Pea Coat. During that time I purchased and returned 2 other coats. After carefully reading all of the reviews about this coat on your web site I placed my order and could not be more satisfied....not only with the jacket...your service was wonderful. The Pea Coat was on back order and I received it 10 days earlier than promised. I must add that the sizing was perfect. I am 5' 9" and 150 lbs. The Medium fits like it was made for me. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 10 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Coat,
January 5, 2015
By: Jacksonkcmo
from Kansas City Mo
"I purchased this coat for my husband for Christmas, it fits great, the coat is everything he was looking for, as an added bonus in is made in the U.S.A. We have both recommended this coat to others looking for style and warmth!"
Review 11 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What He Wanted,
December 15, 2014
By: Roads
from Tidewater Virginia
"This jacket is warm, well made, and stylish. My husband, for whom it was an early Christmas present, is very pleased, as am I. Because of reviews about sizing I ordered both the large and medium for him to try on. The medium fits without needing tailoring."
Review 12 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
November 29, 2014
By: RedRockJeep
from St Paul, MN
"I've owned this jacket for two years now, just got it back from the dry cleaners.... It doesn't matter how cold it gets here in MN, this jacket will keep you warm and comfortable."
Review 13 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Authentic in every detail,
November 26, 2014
By: Luci
from Carmel, IN
"It is the perfect US Navy peacoat, which, besides the styling, is made from that dense, virtually waterproof wool that is so essential."
Review 14 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like it,
November 18, 2014
By: LoBank
from Saginaw, MI
"The coat fits well and seems to be well made. The only thing I don't like is it attracts every piece of lint within a half mile."
Review 15 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome and warm coat,
October 29, 2014
By: Andrius
from Kansas City,KS
"I bought this coat for my son. He is only seventeen and he is tall and looks very handsome in this style. He likes to work outside in winter. I hope this coat will keep him warm blowing snow in snowstorm, and it will last for many years. The fabric and color of the coat are very nice. The style is simple and classic.
Orvis clothes run large. I had to go down one size for this coat.
I am looking to buy more coats from Orvis. The quality of their clothes is the highest.
"
Review 16 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful coat!,
November 29, 2013
By: Commander
from Vernon, Texas
"I first tried this coat on in the Dallas store and loved it, but decided not to buy it as there were other priorities at the time. To my surprise and delight my wife and children conspired to get it for me as a surprise gift. It is heavy, handsome and warm- very substantial. I've received numerous compliments while wearing it, most recently from a perfect stranger. Wonderful coat."
Review 17 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Serious Winter Wear,
September 3, 2013
By: kywagers
from Lexington, KY
"This coat exceeded my expectations for a winter coat-it is a heavy-weight item that should protect against serious winter weather, and gale force winds. I have winter wear from another prominent outfitter, but this coat is heavier. I can't imagine our upper-south winters producing anything this coat can't handle. Fit and finish are fine."
Review 18 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
more than expected,
September 3, 2013
By: kenkk
from riverside, ca
"i was in the us coast guard and stood many of watches on the flying bridge of a 250 foot coast guard cutter going from long beach to washington and the night watch was very severe with waves coming over the bow and lot of spray and cold water but my peacoat keep me warm lost but i am glad i have a new one to wear this winner"
Review 19 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
July 19, 2013
By: Seattkeski
from Seattle, WA
"Color, quality, fit, and style are all excellent. Very pleased with this purchase. Like the inside pockets for wallet and valuables."
Review 20 for Schott® Naval Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Peacoat,
March 6, 2013
By: SanDShovel
from Near Cleveland OH
"How does it get better than a Navy peacoat made in the US by the same folks who manufacture US Navy Peacoats?
The fantastic jacket is extremely durable and warm. The huge collar pulls up against the wind -- maybe the way the Navy wanted it?
I'll be wearing this for decades!
Thank you, Orvis!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.