Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat

Our customer-favorite cotton-blend ripstop weave makes this versatile travel jacket lightweight, breathable, and remarkably durable, too. Well suited to outerwear or sport-coat duty, our UV- and stain-resistant jacket is half lined in lightweight cotton, and features an indispensable interior travel-pocket system that includes an eyeglasses pocket with cleaning cloth, as well as pockets for cell phone, passport, and plane tickets. Four outside pleated pockets, two with secure button closure. Functional epaulets. Adjustable cuffs. Lightweight travel jacket in olive. Cotton/nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 31½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.515 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
20 of 33(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Review 1 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time Out,
March 3, 2014
By: BotchB
from Deryshire UK
"Wore this jacket on a trip to Marrakech instead of my old faithful Rhinohide. Glad I did - lighter and cooler in the heat and very comfortable to wear. It also looks a little smarter in the evenings in a restaurant.
None of the problems mentioned in other reviews surfaced and it came out of hasty fold into overhead locker looking fine. And all those pockets! To my surprize I didn't miss my Rhinohide for a moment.
Now - do I wear it to the USA in April on my next trip??"
Review 2 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Weight,
February 16, 2014
By: Perrysburger
from Perrysburg, Ohio
"I purchased this for travel in the spring when weather can be warm, cool, wet and dry all on the same day. I am very pleased with the weight."
Review 3 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style with a pocket for everything.,
February 13, 2014
By: DeltaDon
from Jackson, TN
"This travel jacket has an attractive casual style, including lapels. But, it has the ruggedness and room for a day's hiking in the wilderness. Talk about comfort, whether you're getting off an airplane or out of a fishing boat, you'll look as sharp as when the day began. Of course, that's expected with any ORVIS men's clothing item."
Review 4 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent 'layer',
February 4, 2014
By: korgri
from NYC
"Very light weight, useful for it's interesting array of pockets.
kudos, kudos
"
Review 5 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very good but...,
February 2, 2014
By: Suntanjim
from Australia
"Nicely designed but badly made. Two buttons fell off over the first three days of use. I'm patiently waiting for the rest of the buttons to go, perhaps with the falling leaves of Autumn?"
Review 6 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So So,
January 16, 2014
By: Camaron
from Evanston, IL
"This jacket was stylish and comfortable, but not too practical. It didn't have buttons to close up to the neck. The epaulets were unnecessary. Fit was good. Price too high for what I got. Otherwise I would have kept it."
Review 7 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
very disappointed,
January 16, 2014
By: drgottjr
from New England
"The jacket in the box looked nothing like the jacket in the photograph.
The material did not feel like cotton.
There were loose threads and missed areas in the stitching at the ends of the sleeves."
Review 8 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the ticket!,
January 15, 2014
By: Paisleygrace
from San Diego, CA
"My son requested a jacket for Christmas and I chose this one after searching for several days online. I made a great choice! He loves it! It is well made and has a great fit. The fabric is of good quality and the cut of the jacket is perfect."
Review 9 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did a good purchase,
January 13, 2014
By: domesticgodess
from El Paso,Texas
"I got this jacket for my husband
he loves the jacket,fit him real well
"
Review 10 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
olive color,
October 21, 2013
By: aijump
"There is a little diffrent bettwen my coat and the picture."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
needs to say blazer cut,
October 8, 2013
By: BushViper
"The quality is not an issue the fit was well enough but they need to say it's a blazer style not field style coat."
Review 12 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
September 17, 2013
By: Orvisfan13
from Mission Viejo, CA
"Liked the jacket but didn't fit correctly; too long and too tight in the shoulders.
Returned."
Review 13 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tried them all,
September 3, 2013
By: Ohm299
from Portland, OR.
"I wanted a travel jacket that would fit like a blazer, have plenty of pockets plus security pockets, stand up to rain and stains, and look equally appropriate out doors and in a museum. I tried on jackets from all the major catalogs and this jacket comes closest to meeting all my criteria. I especially like the cuffs that can be adjusted between two buttons and the 2 zippered interior pockets and one Velcro enclosure. Would have liked to see Velcro on the exterior larger pockets as well as bellowed lower exterior pockets. Fabric will provide good protection from moderate rain. Fit and construction are very good. No problem with epaulets as described by other reviewers."
Review 14 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit, fragile button,
August 17, 2013
By: mrtravel
from Montreal, Canada
"The X-Large size fits me like a glove. I am 6'2 and the sleeves are perfect in length.
However, I hope that this jacket/sport coat t will hold together. When I tried it for the first time, the top button flew off. I has been recovered and my wife sewed it. This is a bit disappointing for the price
"
Review 15 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Terrific jacket,
July 3, 2013
By: TeddyBoy
from Chesham United Kingdom
"I have always coveted Orvis gear, and often scanned the website for sales. Well my luck came in with the Bush Coat my fist purchase - staff were very helpful and sourced a Medium for me. It arrived today 24 hours later!
It a lightweight number with lots of useful pockets. The fit is perfect (I'm a 40 long). One minor gripe the epoulettes seem to be unaligned with the shoulder.
And for a true safari jacket it would be 3 or more buttons. But this is a great jacket one to be worn for all manner of occasions/activities all year round."
Review 16 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Travel Coat,
May 3, 2013
By: Maac
from Chicago
"...great coat, but I will try to add a third button and button hole to make it less of a sports coat and more of a bush coat."
Review 17 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Field coat,
March 19, 2013
By: Weebe
from Alabama
"The coat fits well.some might consider it a trim fit compared to the Zambezi twill jacket. Comfortable fit.
One "flaw": Epaulets are placed too far back on the shoulders."
Review 18 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Jacket - One Flaw,
March 19, 2013
By: TenderMittens
from Birmingham, AL
"First, I want to say that I love the way this jacket looks and fits. I have received many compliments. My issue is that on the first day I wore it, 20 minutes in, the stitching on the button loop on the shoulder came loose and the button fell off. Fortunately, I found the button and sewed the button-loop back. For $275.00, I expect better workmenship. If you want it, by all means buy this jacket. I would so again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket, european style cut,
February 4, 2013
By: rc3spencer
from Baltimore
"This is my favorite jacket, cut like a blazer, light enough for spring. Add a heavy sweater underneath and you have warmth for winter plus you keep mobility. I have a 43 chest, and M fit perfect, if you understand it's a slimmer fit."
Review 20 for Ripstop Cotton-Blend Bush Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Regrets,
January 22, 2013
By: redland
"I was a little worried reading some of the less than complimentary reviews but came to realise that this said more about the reviewer than the product itself.
It is without doubt an excellent jacket, practical, functional, and exactly as you describe on your website.
Well done Orvis, and thank you.
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.