Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Quilted Work Jacket

Thoroughly washed down and broken in, our jacket has the look, feel, and heft of your favorite vintage chore coat. Pure cotton poplin breathes remarkably well, while the high-lofting polyester insulation holds warmth against your body. Reinforced elbow patches; abrasion-resistant twill tape on the snap-front placket, cuffs, and pocket edges. Four outside pockets. Two interior pockets. In light olive. Pure cotton body. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52) ; about 31½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
44 of 50(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quilted Work Jacket
Review 1 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Work Jacket,
July 22, 2015
By: NWGeezer
from Albany, OR
"I've been through more than my share of barn jackets and chore coats, and this is the best by far. Rugged construction, soft hand to the fabric, and simple snap front closures. Beefy enough for cooler temperatures and sized large enough for layering. The sleeves are a trifle long but roll up nicely if needed. This will become a frequent outdoor companion."
Review 2 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice piece for cool days,
June 11, 2015
By: Parksy
from Lima, NY
"I did wear the jacket some very cool mornings recently 40s, and it worked out fine, I am 6'2" 220lbs and the XXL does the job, good sleeve length and torso length. just enough room for a sweater underneath when needed. I suppose this would work as a first layer as well, under another jacket."
Review 3 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
May 5, 2015
By: IanLeyden
"Great jacket. Very comfortable cotton feel throughout. Perfect for cooler weather but not a full on winter jacket. I'm 6'3 205lbs and it's a really nice fit. Overall great jacket."
Review 4 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NICE,
April 2, 2015
By: denmac
from Thorntown, Indiana
"Love this new jacket. The fit is great and just perfect for a chilly spring morning out on the deck with a cup of coffee. I've had lots of compliments on it and even had a person at a local café ask where he could get it. It's really a great jacket to have around for chores."
Review 5 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for layering or casual,
March 31, 2015
By: Kody
from Colton NY
"Got this on sale and wear it often for layering or casual wear. This will be an all season jacket for me and am glad that I purchased. As usual, Orvis hit it right on this one!"
Review 6 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome jacket!,
March 30, 2015
By: sheamich
"Great jacket for out in the woods, out with friends or just walking down to the corner store. A little on the big side (like all Orvis overwear / shirts), but I ordered a SMALL and it fits (i'm 5'8 and 145 soaking wet)."
Review 7 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sizing Too Small,
March 24, 2015
By: REBHALL
from Mt.Sterling , KY
"Great looking jacket , but is cut too
small and sleeves were too short .
Would reorder if 3XL tall were
available .
"
Review 8 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, lightweight, mild weather jacket.,
March 13, 2015
By: leaman
from Indiana
"Really nice jacket. The quality is great--constructed really well. I'm 6' 1", 145, (I'm pretty lanky,) I ordered the medium and this jacket is cut a little wider than what I was hoping, but I still think it looks great. It is great for more mild weather, somewhere in the above freezing to 60 sort of range. It is a little darker than what the photo lets on (a little more gray and olive-colored,) but still looks great. I've gotten quite a few compliments on it. I haven't had any issues with buttons the way some other reviews have mentioned, so maybe they fixed the issue, plus it came with an extra button as well. It also doesn't have a lining which makes it a little awkward to take on and off depending on what kind of shirt you're wearing. But I'm very happy with this jacket. Glad I bought it."
Review 9 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable Casual,
February 18, 2015
By: karlop
from Orchard Park NY
"Soft right out of the box. Nice fit. Not too tight, not to loose. I am always caught between regular and tall sizes but this regular fit perfectly including sleeve length. Weather has to warm up a bit to wear it outside for any length of time. Currently minus 10."
Review 10 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
whistle while u work jacket,
February 9, 2015
By: jrnumex
from clovis,numex
"as with most things i get no "torture test: accomplished for 90 days prior to posting a review.. Out of bx fits good to size, looks great. already warmer days in southwest so not even wearing but glad i bought."
Review 11 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Lightweight jacket,
February 5, 2015
By: JohnandTeri121
from Big Bear Lake, CA
"This jacket is exactly as shown. It has a quilted pattern in light cotton. It is sized typically American so Large will be a Large with just enough room for a fleece underneath and not too big to wear under a heavier jacket. The snaps seem to have been problematic in the past, but the snaps on this coat fasten well and work flawlessly. There are also several extra snaps included. This is exactly the type of product we all expect from Orvis; well made, stylish and functional. If only I could have found it in a small for my wife everything would have perfect."
Review 12 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a jacket!,
January 30, 2015
By: TNOrvisfan
from Germantown, TN
"This is a great all-around quilted jacket for the field or for casual wear."
Review 13 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
January 22, 2015
By: Diana49
from Yorktown, NY
"Bought this for my son's birthday. It was shipped fast and my son loves it. It is more attractive than the picture. I would buy it again"
Review 14 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quilted Work Jacket,
January 20, 2015
By: TARANSOME
from Wisconsin
"The Quilted Work Jacket is comfortable, warm and nicely styled. What it is not is an easy to slip on/off jacket-at least not for a big man. I have an XXL which is quite comfortable when I have it on and well sized. However, putting it on and taking it off over a flannel shirt or sweatshirt is a bit of a trick.
I wish it had raglan sleeves and that the arms were lined in a fabric such as the Foul-Weather Lined Sweater has-which by the way is one of my favorites. I think that would be a significant improvement.
Overall, though I like the jacket."
Review 15 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT JACKET,
January 12, 2015
By: GARYLOWE1964
from SCOTLAND
"Bought this jacket for wearing at weekends looks great . Great fit xl size . Not to heavy for wearing , as i dont like a heavy jacket . Well made very happy ."
Review 16 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great work coat,
January 7, 2015
By: Chumartin
from Forth Worth, TX
"Very warm. Made a big difference to my son when he was working the job."
Review 17 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
casual comfort,
December 31, 2014
By: ChefBulle
from bloomingdale NJ
"Break-in comfort right out of the box! I look forward to years of further break-in and comfort. The quality to me appears as though it will last. I purchased 1 size larger to accomodate a sweatshirt layer - fit is perfect! Extra snaps included addresses other reviews - I hope to never use!"
Review 18 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Common Sense,
December 21, 2014
By: Parauno
from Culpeper, VA
"My wife was so impressed with the simplicity, utility and style of my jacket that she asked that I purchase her one. I have done just that for a Christmas present. I could not agree more with her assessment of the jacket. Worth every penny!"
Review 19 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dough Boy Size,
November 14, 2014
By: BraccoBella
from Denver CO
"This is a large size for the body style of the WWII Dough Boy... or the man with a sizable belly!
No drawstring, etc.
Not for the triangular shaped, fit body style.
"
Review 20 for Quilted Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
work jacket,
November 13, 2014
By: Woodster
from Norfolk england
"I was looking for a jacket for those late summer evenings when the sun goes down,the work jacket is ideal keeping the evening chill away but not heavy,Even as we get into early winter this jacket keeps the wind outand at the same time looks good.."