Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Ocean Point Anorak

Bring along a lightweight, hooded anorak jacket for men and ensure that your day isn't ruined by a surprise rain shower. Water resistant and breathable, this jacket's ripstop-nylon fabric keeps the breeze at bay, too. Men's hooded anorak raincoat in red, navy, green, orange, royal blue. Nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 30½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.774 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
3
24 of 31(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ocean Point Anorak
Review 1 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product!,
July 19, 2012
By: UGAfootball
from GA
"Look good and stay dry in this great Orvis product"
Review 2 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with this,
May 15, 2012
By: Lazzy
from London UK
"After seeing some of the earlier reviews I hesitated to buying this product. Having taken the plung I am very pleased with this anorak it keeps me dry, it packs away easily and equally important my wife said to me "that looks nice"."
Review 3 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Item,
May 11, 2012
By: Carlomagno
from Washington DC
"Practical, classic, sports / travel raingear, with matching bag that allows transport in panier bags or hiking knapsack. Ultra-lightweight and comfortable, but seems hardy despite the warnings that it's not made for everyday use."
Review 4 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice,
May 2, 2012
By: Boswell
from Wisconsin
"Light weight and effective in keeping some dampness and the breeze at bay."
Review 5 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Light Weight and Compact,
April 30, 2012
By: Bullawk
from Bettendorf, IA
"This product is good to tuck into your backpack or keep in your vehicle for chance encounters with percipitation. It is mostly waterproof but will leak some around the seams."
Review 6 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Flawed but workable...,
March 29, 2012
By: fozziebear
from Portland, OR
"This anorak is indeed waterproof, but it's also very thin. That makes it pakcable, and that's good, but it just does not seem substantial. Also, because it has no lining at all, it "sweats" in the rain. I bought it to keep in the handlebar bag of my bike, and I think it's workable for that duty. But I'm not very impressed; it does not seem to be of the quality I've come to expect from Orvis."
Review 7 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Anorak,
March 6, 2012
By: TheGoalie
from Charleston, WV
"Great Anorak for the spring rains. Lightweight and good material. This will be the new "go to" on rainy days."
Review 8 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing Quality,
March 2, 2012
By: Techno
from Reading, UK
"I ordered this jacket to replace a similar (cheaper) waterproof nylon version. This was despite several other reviews commenting on the quality. Thinking that Orvis quality is pretty good, I ordered it anyway. Unfortunately, the quality does not justify the price and on finding that the material had a hole in it next to one of the fastners, I returned it for a refund. I love Orvis products, but this anorak is not up to the standard we have come to expect."
Review 9 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice styling and fit,
February 20, 2012
By: hanshan
from Cincinnati, OH
"I really liked the style and fit of this anorak. However, I didn't like the material. It was nylon but felt insubstantial. And it was noisy--a crinkling, almost papery sound."
Review 10 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Practical and Good Looking,
February 1, 2012
By: DogsRBest
from Roland, AR
"The Anorak jacket certainly fits the bill when it comes to being lightweight, easy to pack and carry, and repel wind and rain. I'm pleased with the purchase, but believe it is not worth the original price. Luckily, I purchased the jacket on sale...otherwise, I would have returned it."
Review 11 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Right on!,
January 14, 2012
By: drmarty
from Texas
"As described, appears well constructed and size appropriate"
Review 12 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed,
January 12, 2012
By: emrho
from Edenton, North Carolina
"We expect outstanding quality when we shop at Orvis. Unfortunately we were disappointed with this jacket and will be returning it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Unsure,
January 6, 2012
By: supershopped
from Auburn, ca
"The fit is good. The portability is great. My concern is that it be breathable. I am planning on taking it to Spain this summer and we will see how it does. The quality seems very good."
Review 14 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Travel,
December 29, 2011
By: NRWPineLake
from Pepper Pike, Ohio
"I bought the Ocean Point Anorak for a trip to Bolivia and Peru. I needed something water resistant, light weight, and compact. This fit the bill perfectly. It is comfortable, practical, looks great, the hood is a perfect size,and it comes with a small stuff sack, so I could clip it to the outside of my backpack when hiking the islands of Lake Titcaca and the mountains of Machu Picchu."
Review 15 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ONLY 1 FLAW,
December 28, 2011
By: Don10
from swamps of Jersey
"...for me, performed as advertised - as a stowable rain jacket. I am a commuter to NYC every day. This anorak was packable, light, and TOTALLY waterproof. Performed as well as my old Marmot that was amost twice the price. It is not an everyday rain jacket and should not be expected to be that. Only flaw is that two drawstrings are plain cotton and get saturated in the rain. Should be nylon or waxed cotton. Other than that have had it for over a year and am totally satified with fit form and function"
Review 16 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Look and practicality,
December 15, 2011
By: ggutiz
from Florida
"The color is vibrant and smooth. Worn it already and has proven it's worth. Water sheds off easily and blocks out the crisp wind."
Review 17 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great jacket,
October 8, 2011
By: nnathan
from Portland, OR
"The quality and design of this jacket is superb. Size Medium was simply too large. I am not sure if size Small was ever produced, but if it wasn't they should strongly consider producing these in Smalls."
Review 18 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Anorak,
October 5, 2011
By: Qualitybuff
"I ordered this Anorak in Red a couple of months ago and have been very happy with it. Like some of the other reviewers have mentioned, it's not a heavy duty raincoat, but it's definitely a good value for a lightweight packable nylon rain jacket.
The detailing is typical Orvis - very articulated stitching, placket and zipper, buttons at sleeves - and gives the jacket a nice look. The shade of red (dark and not too bright) is very much to my liking. It's cut very full (I'm a regular size 43/ large) and layers easily over a fleece or thick sweater.
My sinlge comment would be that the waist drawstring was unecessary - I simply snipped the string and pulled it out."
Review 19 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
terrible service,
September 27, 2011
By: Samu
"The coat itself was fine, until the button came off after less than two months. After a major ordeal returning the coat to the store, I was to have another shipped to me. I wanted royal blue, like the original I had purchased earlier in the summer. When the replacement arrived it was a horrendous bright blue, not the old royal blue and not what was on the website. They claim to be looking for the old, original royal blue for me, but I have not gotten answers about when or if it will come. Service is generally poor."
Review 20 for Ocean Point Anorak
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
September 14, 2011
By: WhiteHat
"Snap pulled through the fabric the first time I tried to adjust the cuff."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamSeptember 30, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review—these hard-working folks are always striving to improve our products, and comments such as these help guide that process. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any purchase; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis items