Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket

Wear a rugged, all-weather jacket designed to withstand the rigors of all your outdoor adventures. Taylor Supply crafts this heirloom-quality waxed pure cotton jacket in America, including a full complement of features: shawl collar with soft wool lining, four outside pockets (two with flap closure), adjustable waist and back straps, button front closure, and adjustable gusseted cuffs. Fully lined and lightly insulated. Wool cuff and pocket-flap linings. In brown. Runs small—order one size larger than your jacket size. Approximately 29" long in size large. Waxed pure cotton body; 98% cotton/2% polyester lining. Wipe clean with damp sponge. USA. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
14 of 18(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Review 1 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
absolutely great jacket,
May 28, 2012
By: qualitylvr
"this jacket is made very well and of very high quality..brown is best color which is almost a very dark greenish brown..fit is more snug than most orvis jackets and not so "boxy"..i usually wear a medium and purchased a medium but no room for sweater under..jacket has nice medium lining"
Review 2 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice jacket,
May 6, 2012
By: joesmoe
from NYC
"Great looking jacket. I find myself wearing it all the time.
Two caveats: (1) I'm a large typically but I had to order this in an XL in order for it to fit properly, (2) the wool shawl collar picks up a little more lint that is ideal.
Regardless, one of the best purchases I've made with Orvis."
Review 3 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well-made waxed jacket,
March 28, 2012
By: meso
from Los Angeles, CA
"Construction on this jacket is top-notch, and it's medium weight, lined but not insulated. The fit is slim and flattering if you have a normal build. If you are used to mall brands you will have to size up. I have a chest size 44 and a L fits me perfectly. Taylor Supply are getting better each year!"
Review 4 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket. Made in NY,
March 26, 2012
By: YoungCastles
from BROOKLYN
"This jacket is my first TS purchase and will not be my last. The quality is top notch and it feels like armor when you put it on. It's a no frills jacket: Great fabric, sold construction, and great fit. Not too slim, and not boxy. I think a lot of people who purchased this jacket and complained about the sizing should maybe actually spend a little more time climbing hills. Kudos, Taylor Supply."
Review 5 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
retro waxed cotton classic,
March 22, 2012
By: waxwing57
from London
"I liked this jacket so much I bought the model in Navy as well.
Oddly the brown jacket which I've worn almost every day for the last 8 months is 300 gms heavier? Why I have no idea?
I love all the pockets, especially the inside 2"
Review 6 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A Case of having standard sizes,
January 5, 2012
By: DissapointedBob
"Fantastic jacket ordered to my usual size -- only to find that not only did the jacket not fit -- but failed to fit by a huge amount. This was dissapointing as a shearling jacket I'd purchased from Orvis -- fitted perfectly. Orvis need to get their sizes across their full range standardised."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fall jacket,
December 2, 2011
By: TAYLORSUPPLYFAN
from NYC
"I had been searching for a good looking fall jacket for literally years. I decided to spring for this jacket because it was the exact look i wanted with the collar up, rugged, yet simple. It is probably the best purchase I have ever made. I get compliments on it almost everytime i wear it. This isnt a winter jacket though. You would definitely have to throw on a sweater if it was freezing out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, well made jacket,
August 25, 2011
By: LewisReader
from World Traveler
"I was looking for another wax-cotton jacket. I have a Belstaff and have had Barbour in the past. The Hill Climber is as good as any I have had. If there is one complaint it is that I feel it fits big. The description says it runs small but I found it to be the opposite. But if you know your measurements then you should be fine. This is the kind of jacket you will have for a long, long time. It will get better with age and absolutely functions as it should. Feels great on does it's job. Makes me want to sell something to get another!"
Review 9 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taylor Supply Hill Climber,
March 30, 2011
By: 6CMT
from Montana
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Hill Climber jacket is sturdy and classic - it looks good and wears hard. The wool-lined collar nicely seals out the weather and the waxed cotton makes brushing off dirt and mud easy.
The jacket is flannel lined, but it is not insulated. For warmth, I'll add a down vest or heavy sweater.
I am a 38 and the size med fit my shoulders perfectly."
Review 10 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth $500,
February 10, 2011
By: Pappy43
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This jacket is definately not up to par with Barbour. It is small for its size with an XL fitting like a L. This is the second jacket I've returned to Orvis and placing another order seems arduous at best. They can't place an order until they receive back my return item, at which point they then have to refund part of my original purchase then send a gift card for the remainder (which was part of a gift). So instead of placing my new order when they receive the return, I have to wait to receive the gift card in the mail, then contact them again and go through the whole process of placing a special order for a Barbour jacket. They should be able to transfer the funds to the new order with minimal hassle to the customer."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamFebruary 23, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket didn't fit as expected. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases. We also let our customer know our customer service agents will be happy to assist in exchange orders and would be able to apply his gift card after issued, to a new order. We wouldn’t have to wait until our customers receive the actual gift card. We apologized for this issue he experienced in his exchange process.
Review 11 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lightweight,
January 31, 2011
By: District
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Purchase decision made primarily on styling....and after receiving yesterday I have no problems with either the size (I like the slim fit and ordered my normal jacket size) or quality.
My concern after wearing the jacket today in DC on a 32 degree day....it's very lightweight. I agree with another reviewer that the product description implies that it's more of a mid weight...but it's definitely light."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamFebruary 9, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer, apologized that the item did not meet expectations, and offered a full refund or an exchange. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 12 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Be Careful,
January 4, 2011
By: DJGuy
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Sizing is definitely a problem, at least one size bigger is called for. This is not a warm coat in cold weather but it looks like it should be. A bit pricy for a light weight."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 11, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize this item's sizing did not meet his expectations. We appreciate this feedback and our product specialists will review the sizing issues for this item. We did gladly offer to exchange or refund this purchase. We want every customer to be completely satisfied with every Orvis product.
Review 13 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Buy Direct from Store,
December 29, 2010
By: Orvis11
from iowa
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Very disappointed in this coat! I received it as a Christmas gift, on my request, and when I opened it Christmas Day I was very disappointed for two reasons. The need for the coat was for a cold weather use, but the wool lining feature is misleading, this coat is thinner than my Barbour Bedale and Beaufort. Secondly, the one size up was not enough, I would have needed to go up 2 sizes.
My biggest disappointment is I had to pay the shipping both ways (actually my wife did) to find this out.
I purchase alot from Orvis, but this has been the biggest disappointment in 20 years. Buy from a store after seeing the actual coat,. especially for this price"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 9, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize this jacket did not meet his expectations. We appreciate the feedback since we are constantly working to make our items fit better and we have let our product specialists know of these sizing concerns. We did gladly process a refund for this customer and took care of expenses incurred to return the jacket.
Review 14 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket,
November 9, 2010
By: SANTE
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fits beautifully, perfect material, can be worn casual or going out occasions. You definitely need to order a size larger that you normally would."
Review 15 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased,
October 5, 2010
By: CDM75
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I don’t buy clothes on impulse, so I checked around a lot before I bought this. First of all, when I put it on it felt right on me. The detailing is fantastic. The collar turns up and the cuffs turn back to a finished soft wool for a neat look. The roomy pockets inside and out are a great bonus. I’m 5’ 10”, weigh 185 and the large is a good fit. If I wanted to wear bulk underneath, like a heavy sweater, I might need an extra large."
Review 16 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well-Crafted Jacket,
September 29, 2010
By: SC23
from East Coast
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my first purchase from Orvis and was drawn to the store because of the US Patent Collection. I prefer a slimmer fit on my clothing so I ordered my normal size (Medium) which fit perfectly. I am about 6'1" and 185lbs. and the medium allows for just enough room for layering. The brown waxed cotton outer is very rugged looking and the flannel lining inside provides the right amount of warmth. The price is somewhat steep, but I think this jacket will last for quite some time, so I think it is worth the money. Overall, I am very happy with the jacket and will look to Orvis in the future for more products made in the U.S.A."
Review 17 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Taylor supply hill climber jacket,
September 17, 2010
By: bleecker
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I have purchased many items from Orvis over the years, and for the most part regardless of the price, have been happy with the quality. Now we come to the ''Taylor supply hill climber jacket''. The workmanship and overall quality of this jacket is not even close to standards one comes to expect from Orvis. The sizing is all off as well. XXL is not 50-52. Yes, we know this jacket runs small. But this runs more like a large.I will pay top dollar for an item that is well thought out and special.Also,'' Taylor Supply'' is a local company for me '' Brooklyn NY.'' I want to support those close to me. Not this time however."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamSeptember 27, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the issue with the sizing. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback about our clothing—we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our fit.
Review 18 for Taylor Supply® Hill Climber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
way more than i expected,
August 31, 2010
By: seattle1
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This jacket is everything I always hoped for. I've been searching (with help from my husband) for JUST the right one for him. This is it."