Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Navy Polka-Dot Dress

A refined shirtdress of lightweight rayon challis showcases crisp white polka dots against a classic navy blue background. Point collar, short sleeves, and button-front placket. Swingy A-line skirt falls from a full stretch waist with tie belt. In navy/white. Rayon. Dry clean. Imported.Regular sizes 4-20; about 32" long from waistline.Petite sizes 4-16; about 29" long from waistline.
Average Customer Rating:
4.07 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
41
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
5
95 of 114(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Review 1 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this dress!,
June 30, 2014
By: mrscanter
"I loved the classic look of this dress when it first came out, but the original price was a bit more than I could pay. I waited for a long time to be able to purchase it, and I am not disappointed! The rayon is soft, flowing, cool, and (as another reviewer pointed out) it actually does wash nicely in cold water if you hang it to dry (dry cleaning is also a bit much for my budget). The style is classic, with appropriate but comfortable coverage for warm weather. I was afraid the tied waist might look a little chunky on me, but it was surprisingly slimming. The elastic is a clever design. I am short-waisted and can sometimes wear a petite, but I ordered a regular for just a bit of blousing over the waistline. It fits beautifully, but if you have a longer torso it might not sit quite right. The skirt is long, full, and flowing: very feminine, and just right for many occasions without being too vintagey. And it has pockets - thank you, Orvis! In short, this is one of the most flattering, classic, comfortable dresses I have ever owned. I would love too see it in more colors and patterns (with a slightly lower price point?) in the near future. A+!"
Review 2 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I Wanted to Like It,
May 3, 2014
By: Galadriel
from Austin, TX
"This dress is really quite old fashioned. It isn't just retro, it's the real thing I wore in the '50s. Maybe if I were younger it would look cute, but on me it just looks out of date."
Review 3 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy, Chic, Classic,
April 24, 2014
By: Suburbanrealtor
from West Chester, PA
"Really nice, classic dress. Slip it on,add a few accessories and you're out the door. Stylish for work with a pair of heels, comfortable for lunch date with flats. Navy with white dots never goes out of style. Fits well, looks great. A great addition to my Spring/Summer wardrobe. A great "go to" basic."
Review 4 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful shirt dress,
April 1, 2014
By: shopper212
"This is a beautiful fitting shirt dress made of a soft material that falls nicely all around."
Review 5 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Wearable!,
March 7, 2014
By: 1REDD
from Sacramento
"I have always liked polka dots and also a good looking shirtwaist dress. When I saw the combination I had to have it. I bought a Petite M, the fit is perfect, even the skirt length.The fabric is soft and comfortable.And the skirt has pockets! I gave the dress 4 stars instead of 5 because I thought the sleeves were a bit short."
Review 6 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
March 6, 2014
By: Marcieann
"I love the material of this dress. The fit is perfect and looks so nice."
Review 7 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
check previous reviews closely,
March 6, 2014
By: momladyND
from ND
"Everything about the dress was great..color, style, fabric. However, as reviewed by others, it was short waisted. This made it totally unacceptable, as there was no way to remedy the situation.
Had to send it back."
Review 8 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Any time any where,
March 4, 2014
By: Bossywoman2
from Wisconsin
"I am very pleased with this dress. Polka dots seem to be on every thing these days, and I liked the crisp clean look of the white dots on dark navy blue. My favorite feature of this dress is the soft, silky feel of the fabric. I found it to be a little small, and ordered it one size larger. I also am pleased with its versatility, from office to dinner or church, this dress can take me any where.."
Review 9 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Try to wash it,
February 24, 2014
By: Atti
from CA
"I've found all of Orvis dry-clean only dresses to be washable. But, in cold water, and hang to dry. If there's a chance the colors will run, add a handful of salt."
Review 10 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Flattering on!,
February 18, 2014
By: grannyof17
from Huntington, UT
"I bought this for my friend's daughter who will be living in England for the next 18 months. The dress fit her absolutely Beautifully! Most flattering on her! She is 19 and has about a perfect figure! The drape of the dress complimented her curves in a most attractive way! (Wish I could have one for me but my body is too lumpy.)"
Review 11 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
runs small,
February 17, 2014
By: Baileyb
"Dress is pretty to look at, but runs small --- ordered my normal size and it was uncomfortable in arms, etc. I returned the dress.
Orvis products are usually good purchases. I wish they would sell more "made in the USA."
"
Review 12 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
polka dot dress,
February 4, 2014
By: GammaLouise
from Canada
"i just rec'd this dress...love it ..I am 66 with curvier bottom and thighs.. this dress makes me look much thinner so I am very happy but it is a tad short in the waist. I will keep it because I tried it with a different belt and it disquises that issue.."
Review 13 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
February 3, 2014
By: Jollygood
"I'm a little on the long-waisted side, and this dress, while pretty and flowing, was decidedly short-waisted. When I tried it on, the waist rode at the bottom of my rib cage, and so it went back to Orvis."
Review 14 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
reviews are correct,
January 20, 2014
By: Grandma50
from Chicago
"This dress is in fact quite short-waisted but otherwise a lovely fabric."
Review 15 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice classic summer dress,
January 17, 2014
By: Maki
from Springfield, NJ
"This is a beautiful summer dress. I'm size 8 but I bought size 10 and it fits very well. It has somewhat high waist but my waist is high and it fits. I guess for women with low waist it wouldn't fit that well. The fabric is pleasant and it doesn't wrinkle. The dress it little bit long and I would probable shorten the skirt for few inches. It will be nice outfit for summer for going to work."
Review 16 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All Season Dress,
January 15, 2014
By: Jan12
from Lakeland, FL.
"I found this dress perfect for year
round wear in Florida, because of our weather.
"
Review 17 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Dress,
January 9, 2014
By: NeedWomensSizing
from Auburn, WA
"I loved this dress, but it is short-waisted, at least the one I received was. Soooo, I had to return it, but wish otherwise - it is well made, and wrinkles fall right out of it."
Review 18 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Go to Dress,
January 9, 2014
By: 1p2j3o4h5j
from on line
"It is the perfect dress for most any activity. Good for dinner with appropriate jewelry. Good for giving tours at the museum. Great for traveling, if you want to look good when you leave and when you get there. You should make it in 4 more colors.
Oh yes, the best part, it is extremely comfortable .
"
Review 19 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Material....3 Season Dress,
January 9, 2014
By: TKR1
from Lebanon OH
"Dress it up or dress it down...the perfect dress to wear over three Seasons - material has a great draping quality - airy and light yet a substantial design that flatters most figures."
Review 20 for Navy Polka-Dot Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely dress,
January 7, 2014
By: GretaG
"This is a lovely dress: however, it is short waisted as other reviewers noted. I am 5'8" and the waistline did not work for me unfortunately."