Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag

The most practical, well-designed fly-tier's kit bag available. Upgraded to be 15% lighter. Have what you need for a specific hatch or baitfish at your fingertips. Two thread tubes designed to hold seven spools each of Orvis thread. New tool wrap comes with 14 slots for tools 16"L x 7¼"W. Six clear and zippered removable materials pouches (14¼"L x 9"W). Shoulder strap. Fly-tying materials bag is 19½"L x 11"H x 4"W; 858 cu. in. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very roomy,
November 22, 2014
By: HookedMarlin
from New Jersey
"This bag is quite roomy and holds a ton of material. I like the clear plastic sheets so that you can see what is inside without having to unzip the departments. The picture is deceiving as it makes the bag seem smaller.
It is pricey, but it does have many departments both square and rectangular in shape that permit you to group materials together. The outside of the bag is well made and appears to last a long time.
It also comes with a sling for carrying tools. It is helpful, however, I have found that the tools shift and even fall out of the elastic holder. Still a nice additional feature."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good storage capacity,
September 21, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"This is the best thought-out fly tying material storage bag on the market. Although not shaped as the FISHPOND Tomahawk bag, it is much better divided whereas the former product is vasting space. I can store more material in here in a way that allows me to see all the materials easier compared to the other product. The clear bags are all well-sewn. The plastic tubes for spools are ok but the end cap could fit a bit tighter.
Especially I like the tool pouch.
I did write a first (now retracted) review in which I disliked the fact the largest WHITING saddle hackle bags are difficult to store inside. After having used this fly tying bag for some months now, I have changed my mind and found a solution for that: I bought the ORVIS Safe Passage Wader Tote, put all large WHITING hackle bags in their. It also holds my DYNA-KING Ultimate Indexer vise, a lamp, the Orvis fly tying bag and more, all in one large bag.
I would like to see ORVIS making an additional Safe Passage Large Hackle bag, a medium sized extra bag for more materials and a vise pouch in that same blue colour."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Fly Tying Bag,
June 22, 2013
By: Troutaholic
"Best bag of this type that I've seen. Looks to be durable."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bag for Travel,
May 19, 2013
By: Dave41
from Round Rock, TX
"I purchased the original version of this bag years ago and it's been very good. Some of the changes made on the current version make it perfect. Clear sleeves, they used to be smoke colored and difficult to see through.
Although it doesn't hold all my materials it does have plenty of room for more than enough material for a trip!
"
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid purchase for those looking to consolodate,
May 11, 2013
By: PTinPA
from Harrisburg, PA
"I've had this product for 1 week and am thus far very pleased! It is larger than I anticipated, which is good. My tying repitoir consists of the following: 2 full hackle capes, 2 pheasant tails, 1 full pheasant hide, package of peacock feathers, 1 Hungarian partridge skin, 2 packages of long rooster saddle, 6 packages of dubbing + a hare's mask, 20 spools (thread/wire), 2 deer tails, 3 swatches of fur, various foam "cards," assorted chennile and various accessories (fly head cement ect). All that to say, I could easily double my supply and somehow find room for it all in this bag, albeit a little more disorganized than present.
One small critique is that the caps on the spool cylinders are very loose and often come disloged unintentionally, although no buyers remorse elicited there.
In summary, this is an excellent product for those looking to consolidate/organize there materials. Size/capacit was not an issue for me. Another spool cylinder would be nice, but finding room for extra thread in other compartments was no problem. Caps on spool cylinders are loose, but no big deal."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my new bag.,
November 19, 2012
By: pbolea56
from Adam @ Williamsville,Eastern Hills Mall
"I was complaining to my Orvis store manager that I needed to find a way to bring my vice and fly tying materials on fishing vacations.
It seems like whenever I'm out of town fishing I find myself buying a fly that I would normally tie myself.
He showed me this bag and it was love at first sight.
I loaded the bag with my materials and it organized everything perfect.
One small improvment Ovis should correct is the tube caps on the spool supply tubes fall off because there is'nt anything to hold them on. Small issue.
Everthing travels nicely even the vice and base.
"
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what the doctor ordered,
August 3, 2012
By: Yourwaterguy
from Santa Rosa, CA
"Needed a new way to store my fly tying materials and also wanted it to be portable. This case is the answer. Plenty of variety of ways and places to store things. Very well made and designed. I am impressed. This bag holds lots of items and it is very visible, easy access. Took me one evening to sort and label and place my items in the bag... all while I watched the Olympics."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Organization has made me a better tyer!,
April 23, 2012
By: Ghillie67
from Vestal, NY
"Been fly fishing/tying for 30 yrs & guiding for 5. I ramped up guiding this past yr to include streamside tying to match the hatch, give tying classes, etc. I am strictly ORVIS, and this is BY FAR THE BEST item I have purchased to date. Organized for success - room for notes, sturdy, weatherproof, easy to go."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jury is still out, not sure I would recommend,
February 4, 2012
By: Willard53
from Salt Lake City, UT
"When I received my bag, a couple of the plastic storage sleeves were bunched up, slid to the binding of the bag. Maybe once the bag is full, this won't be a problem, but first concern is that it might still fold and crease material. Maybe a Velcro strap at the top to keep sleeves flat? Also probably not a problem if always carried or stored flat."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bag,
December 31, 2011
By: Proflyfisher
"This bag is perfect for when you take a fly tying class and you are tired of holding stuff in bins or plastic bags that keep opening and messing up your materials. This bag is great for taking on trips or classes or any where. It has pages with zip bags and it is partially Velcro so you can rearrange the pages. It will be the last bag you will never need to buy. The price it is sold on Orvis for is fair compared to the money will take to get new hackles and materials. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to a friend."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Bag!,
December 27, 2011
By: keither
from Washougal, WA
"This is a must have for tying flies on the go. One thing that would be nice is if one or two pockets were big enough to fit the Orvis fly tying bible. It's a great reference book and I'm a little suprised Orvis didn't account for its size. Other than that, the bag is very usefull and well made."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great idea,
March 24, 2011
By: Highdesertfly
from Walker River, Nevada
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have always stored my necks and feathers in plastic bags in drawers and some in old cigar boxes. Some of my stuff is 40 yrs. old. I purchased this because I always have to rummage through the piles to look for what I want to use. This bag makes things very neat and organized. You can see very good through the clear plastic of each compartment and I don't rip off feathers etc.... when I am going through the pages of materials. The other compartments are great for your vise and other tools and tying stuff. It is built very sturdy and has excellent zippers and liners. The compactness of the bag is great and I will now take it with me on trips when I go to some "away from home" places. It is a little pricey but you do pay for quality. Recommended !!!!"
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Fly Tier's Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great storage bag.,
February 12, 2011
By: Laddermed
from Brunswick, Ga
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just received the fly tier's kit bag and it will serve me well I'm sure. I've seen other bags and this one is actually bigger than it looks in the photos. I have a lot of fly tying materials and just placed it in the bag and still had room for other items. I was also able to put my vise into both pouches on the front of this bag which will make it a true travel bag. Way to go ORVIS on this bag."