Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack

A mid-size chest pack for the angler who likes the freedom of fly fishing without a vest. Two compartments, lots of interior pockets, and a key clip for storage. Perforated foam and ergonomically shaped neck pad ensures comfort and an adjustable neck strap detaches for easy removal of pack. Net loop and two removable and adjustable waist straps (regular and large) for perfect fit. Durable Hypalon patch for zinger attachment with magnetic tool anchor to keep tools from moving around. Convenient padded forcep pocket on back panel. Removable foam fly patch attaches to top of pack or inside front pocket. Front pocket opens wide for easy access. Front mesh pocket designed to fit tippet spool. Fly-fishing chest pack in aurora, digital camo.Dimensions: 8½"H x 6½"W x 4½"D. Capacity: 234 cu. in. Weight: 1 lb. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
41 of 43(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it more than my fishpond vest !,
April 23, 2014
By: Fishguru44
from State College, PA
"I bought this chest pack as something to throw on when walking or biking to my fishing holes deep in the woods figuring it would be lighter than a vest. I now find myself wearing it all the time instead of my vest. Awesome product Orvis.. They knocked this one out of the park."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT,
April 3, 2014
By: JLflyfishers2
from MIichagan
"I got this pack in got to say I have not used it yet but have put all my gear in it and everything fits very nice. the one thing I would like to say about the pack is the belt I'm a big man 48' waste and the belt fit around me with room to spare that don't happen to often also you can not beet the service from Orvis"
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection,
March 10, 2014
By: Gsp26
from Riverside, Pa
"Great size and function, holds everything you need with style."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Chest Pack,
January 15, 2014
By: BigDogLuvr
from Kennesaw, GA
"Well made chest pack. Replaced my vest for this much lighter, and simpler chest pack. Plenty of storage for a day on the water. Attachment point for net on back. Not sure I will ever use a vest again."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
December 13, 2013
By: harty7
"Only reason I gave it four stars is because I havent been able to use it and test it out yet. It looks great though and has plenty of room. Cant wait to get out on the river with it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 Bears,
December 5, 2013
By: Dryfly69
from North Carolina
"Now I understand the three bears. Not to large ,not to small , Just right."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
November 23, 2013
By: FLgatorgirl
from Florida
"Just the right amount of space. Not too much, not to little. Lots of pockets, fold down fly space, net loop, pretty strong magnetic holders and soft neck strap. What makes it even better is you can use it as a vest pack or a sling pack. Makes a great gift or just keep it for yourself. Oh heck, get two!!"
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what a fly fisherman needs,
November 7, 2013
By: Redenstein
from Seaforth, Ontario
"This chest pack is great it's got lots of pockets and is not to big and bulky"
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small and enough...,
October 22, 2013
By: Gpetike
from Hungary, Budapest
"SAFE PASSAGE VERTICAL CHEST and the SAFE PASSAGE SYSTEM PACK together is a really professional and comfortable bag for your day fishing. I recommend this product!"
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect pack!,
October 3, 2013
By: hblegend13
"I absolutely love my new Safe Passage Vertical Chest Pack! Looks good, very comfortable shoulder strap, and built very rugged. Definitely a must have. Get you one, stuff that sucker full and go catch a fish!"
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good pack for packing light,
October 3, 2013
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I used the pack for stream fishing in Maine. It is light and the magnetic tool anchor is great. The tools don't tangle with my line. Not a choice for a trip that requires a lot of fly boxes, but good for fishing a stream that requires a smaller fly selection."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
360 service,
September 28, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Atlanta
"This product is perfect if you hive the need for a 'possibles bag' it multipurpose that is small if you need small BUT not too small to be useful. And carry optionS , are PLENTIFUL.
BUT the REAL secret of Orvis is their unmatched customer service. I ordered in online in the Orvis store. It was shipped promptly s a prepaid lbrReturn label 4. ORVIS IS A top 2 or two ompsnu . Summary
Quality 100%
Speed of order 50%
"
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
September 20, 2013
By: 4g63rc
from Marion In.
"This chest pack gives you lots of freedom, stays out of the way due to the neck and waist bands. Plenty of room for all the basics.Almost forget its there.Good price, well engineered."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent Pack,
September 19, 2013
By: FeatherChucker
from Raleigh, NC
"Decent pack for small streams. The pack holds one fly box, tippet and some other various things. It's definitely not what I'd want to use for bass fishing or a long day on the water. It's perfect for small mountain streams or short days on the water. For the price it's hard to find better."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great!,
September 9, 2013
By: HankMW
"I really enjoy the look and size of the pack! The only draw back is that there aren't any places to hook on extra things like tippet spool holders. You can get creative with the clips, but no designated spots. Overall, I would buy it again."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
August 29, 2013
By: fisherking101
from Chesterfield, VA
"This pack is ideal for the true fly fisherman/woman. There are pockets to organize all the "tools of the trade" and then some."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Chest Pack,
August 6, 2013
By: Jking
from Atlanta, GA
"This chest pack is very light weight and comfortable. It has plent of storage, and room for large fly boxes plus more. It also has several smaller compartments to keep the smaller tools organized. I purchased this with the system pack, and it makes a great combo for all day fishing."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Chest Pack,
July 10, 2013
By: OdinM
from Saratoga, CA
"This is the perfectly sized chest pack for a day on small water. It encourages me to focus on what I need and to leave the kitchen sink at home."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I should've bought this sooner,
July 8, 2013
By: FishinginPA
"Just the right size to hold the fly boxes that I use, with a few other necessities. Small enough to not get in the way all the time."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 14, 2013
By: savagefly
"As always with Orvis products, my expectations were high, but were still exceeded by far. I got this as a fathers day present and when it came in the mail, I was amazed by its good looking color and perfect size for any kind of fishing. Great chest pack and my dad is thoroughly thrilled with it (I gave it to him early). As always, great job to Orvis."