Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack

A mid-size chest pack for the angler who likes the freedom of fly fishing without a vest. Two compartments, lots of interior pockets, and a key clip for storage. Perforated foam and ergonomically shaped neck pad ensures comfort and an adjustable neck strap detaches for easy removal of pack. Net loop and two removable and adjustable waist straps (regular and large) for perfect fit. Durable Hypalon patch for zinger attachment with magnetic tool anchor to keep tools from moving around. Convenient padded forcep pocket on back panel. Removable foam fly patch attaches to top of pack or inside front pocket. Front pocket opens wide for easy access. Front mesh pocket designed to fit tippet spool. Fly-fishing chest pack in aurora, digital camo.Dimensions: 8½"H x 6½"W x 4½"D. Capacity: 234 cu. in. Weight: 1 lb. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.635 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
60 of 63(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Completing my equipment.,
December 9, 2014
By: Roeve55
from RUSSIKON, Switzerland
"Looks good and handy. Just right for a day out on a small creek."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the right size,
December 8, 2014
By: olivebugger
"The size is perfect to take just what you need for the day.."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little pack,
December 8, 2014
By: FishinDave
from Chicago, IL
"A great value for the money! Very versatile little pack that keeps things organized and light."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS PACK,
December 8, 2014
By: jerand
from Idaho
"This chest pack is the absolute BEST fishing pack that I have owned! Well thought out for all of the pockets and storage locations, makes it very easy to customize my gear where I need it most."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great For Fishing a Few Holes,
December 8, 2014
By: tuckduck
from Cullowhee, NC
"This is part of my 'emergency' fishing kit that I use frequently. As I drive around WNC, I see a section of water I want to fish...break out the emergency kit."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
December 8, 2014
By: Nathan29550
from York, SC
"Bought it a week ago and I've already used it twice. All my gear is easily accessible and it fits perfectly woth the day pack."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
right size,
December 7, 2014
By: appalachianflies
from Sylva, NC
"I got this as a second pack for some small stream fishing in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. It is the right size for a day trip. Has plenty of room for all accessories. The magnets are nice for keeping tools from flopping around. This pack is a good compliment to my Orvis Guide Sling Pack."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I ever wanted,
December 6, 2014
By: FishingAgendaOnutube
from Jefferson City's Capital Idea TV
"this thing is perfect and won't get wet like my side saddle bag. everything I need right there on my chest. Perfect!"
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
December 6, 2014
By: jwsnma
from Western Massachusetts
"Great little pack for those after work stops. Carries all I need too get on the streams and rivers in my area."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice pack,
December 6, 2014
By: bmacsi
from Manheim, PA
"This pack has lots of useful space. I attached mine to a Safe Passage backpack for a little extra room. I'm now ready to head out for a day or the water no matter what the weather and I'm always a sucker for digi camo."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I was looking for.,
December 5, 2014
By: Barton59
from Lexington, KY
"Gave this 4 stars because I haven't used it on the water yet. With that said it seems to be everything I was looking for in a small chest bag. I got this with the intent of using it when I will either be very close to my car, or backpacking and carrying minimal fly gear.
The large pocket was actually bigger than I thought which was a nice surprise. Overall it seems well put together and a great little product!"
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect Minimalist Pack,
December 3, 2014
By: HSUFly
"Just enough room to fit the essentials and is well balanced with a net clipped on. Wish there was a better spot to attach zingers."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 2 cents,
December 3, 2014
By: TheDonoftheRonde
from Oregon
"Great little chest pack!Key word little.Would absolutely recommend with one of the backpacks. I got the safe passage and it is the best combination you can get for a day on the river. Loved the plier spot and the magnets on the side. Comfortable allllll day long"
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Digi-Cam Day Pack,
November 22, 2014
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased this pack for day trips to local ponds and streams. It carries more gear than a lanyard, without the added bulk and weight of a fully loaded vest. Very useful design and quality construction, the vest holds all the necessary tools, a couple of small fly boxes, floatant, leaders and tippets needed for a day on the water. One notable design feature are the magnets sewn into the sides and back, which hold tools secure and keep them from jiggling around – very nice. I did feel the weight of the pack around my neck the first hour of use, but that feeling later dissipated. Highly recommended."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack,
November 16, 2014
By: UncleBoof
"Great size. Love the fact it comes with straps to switch from a chest pack to a hip pack. Very happy with purchase"
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost perfect,
September 28, 2014
By: Grayzie1
from Sydney, Australia
"I researched and researched, and finally decided on this pack, it fits everything I need ( and probably a few things I dont!) for a day on the water, 3 slimline fly boxes, 2 small standard leaf boxes, tools, forceps, leader and flotant etc. etc. it's extremely comfortable fully loaded and fits very well with heaps of adjustment, the only thing I would add, would be some loops to attach a tippet post or leader straightener sort of thing. Love the magnetic tool holder on the sides, no more swinging jingling nippers!! All in all a fantastic piece of kit at a great price, attaches very easily to the Safe Passage System Pack I purchased to go along with."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good but sling is better,
September 24, 2014
By: DDPPNN
from NorCal
"Weighing in atr only 2lbs full loaded this pack slung around my neck was uncomfortable, and caused my neck to strain. The lay out of the pack and functionality was great but the weight around my next was no good. I swapped it out for the sling version and could not be happier."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
July 26, 2014
By: jeannielucky
from Texas
"Our son wanted this product to go with the back pack we had gotten for him at Christmas. This was exactly what he wanted for his birthday. I love the color too."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it more than my fishpond vest !,
April 23, 2014
By: Fishguru44
from State College, PA
"I bought this chest pack as something to throw on when walking or biking to my fishing holes deep in the woods figuring it would be lighter than a vest. I now find myself wearing it all the time instead of my vest. Awesome product Orvis.. They knocked this one out of the park."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT,
April 3, 2014
By: JLflyfishers2
from MIichagan
"I got this pack in got to say I have not used it yet but have put all my gear in it and everything fits very nice. the one thing I would like to say about the pack is the belt I'm a big man 48' waste and the belt fit around me with room to spare that don't happen to often also you can not beet the service from Orvis"