Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack

A mid-size chest pack for the angler who likes the freedom of fly fishing without a vest. Two compartments, lots of interior pockets, and a key clip for storage. Perforated foam and ergonomically shaped neck pad ensures comfort and an adjustable neck strap detaches for easy removal of pack. Net loop and two removable and adjustable waist straps (regular and large) for perfect fit. Durable Hypalon patch for zinger attachment with magnetic tool anchor to keep tools from moving around. Convenient padded forcep pocket on back panel. Removable foam fly patch attaches to top of pack or inside front pocket. Front pocket opens wide for easy access. Front mesh pocket designed to fit tippet spool. Fly-fishing chest pack in aurora, digital camo.Dimensions: 8½"H x 6½"W x 4½"D. Capacity: 234 cu. in. Weight: 1 lb. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.612 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
46 of 49(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Digi-Cam Day Pack,
November 22, 2014
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased this pack for day trips to local ponds and streams. It carries more gear than a lanyard, without the added bulk and weight of a fully loaded vest. Very useful design and quality construction, the vest holds all the necessary tools, a couple of small fly boxes, floatant, leaders and tippets needed for a day on the water. One notable design feature are the magnets sewn into the sides and back, which hold tools secure and keep them from jiggling around – very nice. I did feel the weight of the pack around my neck the first hour of use, but that feeling later dissipated. Highly recommended."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack,
November 16, 2014
By: UncleBoof
"Great size. Love the fact it comes with straps to switch from a chest pack to a hip pack. Very happy with purchase"
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost perfect,
September 28, 2014
By: Grayzie1
from Sydney, Australia
"I researched and researched, and finally decided on this pack, it fits everything I need ( and probably a few things I dont!) for a day on the water, 3 slimline fly boxes, 2 small standard leaf boxes, tools, forceps, leader and flotant etc. etc. it's extremely comfortable fully loaded and fits very well with heaps of adjustment, the only thing I would add, would be some loops to attach a tippet post or leader straightener sort of thing. Love the magnetic tool holder on the sides, no more swinging jingling nippers!! All in all a fantastic piece of kit at a great price, attaches very easily to the Safe Passage System Pack I purchased to go along with."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good but sling is better,
September 24, 2014
By: DDPPNN
from NorCal
"Weighing in atr only 2lbs full loaded this pack slung around my neck was uncomfortable, and caused my neck to strain. The lay out of the pack and functionality was great but the weight around my next was no good. I swapped it out for the sling version and could not be happier."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
July 26, 2014
By: jeannielucky
from Texas
"Our son wanted this product to go with the back pack we had gotten for him at Christmas. This was exactly what he wanted for his birthday. I love the color too."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it more than my fishpond vest !,
April 23, 2014
By: Fishguru44
from State College, PA
"I bought this chest pack as something to throw on when walking or biking to my fishing holes deep in the woods figuring it would be lighter than a vest. I now find myself wearing it all the time instead of my vest. Awesome product Orvis.. They knocked this one out of the park."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT,
April 3, 2014
By: JLflyfishers2
from MIichagan
"I got this pack in got to say I have not used it yet but have put all my gear in it and everything fits very nice. the one thing I would like to say about the pack is the belt I'm a big man 48' waste and the belt fit around me with room to spare that don't happen to often also you can not beet the service from Orvis"
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection,
March 10, 2014
By: Gsp26
from Riverside, Pa
"Great size and function, holds everything you need with style."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Chest Pack,
January 15, 2014
By: BigDogLuvr
from Kennesaw, GA
"Well made chest pack. Replaced my vest for this much lighter, and simpler chest pack. Plenty of storage for a day on the water. Attachment point for net on back. Not sure I will ever use a vest again."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
December 13, 2013
By: harty7
"Only reason I gave it four stars is because I havent been able to use it and test it out yet. It looks great though and has plenty of room. Cant wait to get out on the river with it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 Bears,
December 5, 2013
By: Dryfly69
from North Carolina
"Now I understand the three bears. Not to large ,not to small , Just right."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
November 23, 2013
By: FLgatorgirl
from Florida
"Just the right amount of space. Not too much, not to little. Lots of pockets, fold down fly space, net loop, pretty strong magnetic holders and soft neck strap. What makes it even better is you can use it as a vest pack or a sling pack. Makes a great gift or just keep it for yourself. Oh heck, get two!!"
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what a fly fisherman needs,
November 7, 2013
By: Redenstein
from Seaforth, Ontario
"This chest pack is great it's got lots of pockets and is not to big and bulky"
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small and enough...,
October 22, 2013
By: Gpetike
from Hungary, Budapest
"SAFE PASSAGE VERTICAL CHEST and the SAFE PASSAGE SYSTEM PACK together is a really professional and comfortable bag for your day fishing. I recommend this product!"
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect pack!,
October 3, 2013
By: hblegend13
"I absolutely love my new Safe Passage Vertical Chest Pack! Looks good, very comfortable shoulder strap, and built very rugged. Definitely a must have. Get you one, stuff that sucker full and go catch a fish!"
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good pack for packing light,
October 3, 2013
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I used the pack for stream fishing in Maine. It is light and the magnetic tool anchor is great. The tools don't tangle with my line. Not a choice for a trip that requires a lot of fly boxes, but good for fishing a stream that requires a smaller fly selection."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
360 service,
September 28, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Atlanta
"This product is perfect if you hive the need for a 'possibles bag' it multipurpose that is small if you need small BUT not too small to be useful. And carry optionS , are PLENTIFUL.
BUT the REAL secret of Orvis is their unmatched customer service. I ordered in online in the Orvis store. It was shipped promptly s a prepaid lbrReturn label 4. ORVIS IS A top 2 or two ompsnu . Summary
Quality 100%
Speed of order 50%
"
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
September 20, 2013
By: 4g63rc
from Marion In.
"This chest pack gives you lots of freedom, stays out of the way due to the neck and waist bands. Plenty of room for all the basics.Almost forget its there.Good price, well engineered."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent Pack,
September 19, 2013
By: FeatherChucker
from Raleigh, NC
"Decent pack for small streams. The pack holds one fly box, tippet and some other various things. It's definitely not what I'd want to use for bass fishing or a long day on the water. It's perfect for small mountain streams or short days on the water. For the price it's hard to find better."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Vertical Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great!,
September 9, 2013
By: HankMW
"I really enjoy the look and size of the pack! The only draw back is that there aren't any places to hook on extra things like tippet spool holders. You can get creative with the clips, but no designated spots. Overall, I would buy it again."