Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack

A small chest pack for the angler who targets his quarry with minimum and focused gear. Perfect for the small-stream brook trout angler or the spring creek angler. Two compartments, lots of interior pockets, and a key clip for storage. Perforated foam and ergonomically shaped neck pad ensure comfort and an adjustable neck strap detaches for easy removal of pack. Net loop and two removable and adjustable waist straps (regular and large) for perfect fit. Durable Hypalon patch for zinger attachment with magnetic tool anchor to keep tools from moving around. Convenient padded forceps pocket on back panel. Removable foam fly patch attaches to top of pack or inside front pocket. Front pocket opens wide for easy access. Fishing chest packs in slate blue. Dimensions: 8½"H x 6½"W x 2½"D. Capacity: 140 cu. in. Weight: 10.5 oz. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice,
September 16, 2014
By: troutmom
"I purchased this product for my son to use while fishing. He already had a bigger pack but this was very convenient on shorter trips. Works great and has a lot of room for how compact it is."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Chest Pack,
October 25, 2013
By: VtDrifter
from Luxembourg
"Picked this up at the Orvis shop in Chicago last Feb and have been using it all year including a one week fishing trip. It's a top quality bag that has enough room to take everything you need for a day's fishing and it doesn't get in the way when fishing. Only two negative points are:
The magnet for the forceps holster is too weak to hold them in place when bending over to revive a fish (splash!)
If you stick the fly patch on top of the pack then expect to lose flies
The first is resolved with the addition of a zinger and the second by putting the patch inside the first pocket so no big deal. Overall I would say this is the ideal chest pack for the person who takes the minimalist approach to fly fishing."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great!,
May 22, 2013
By: SirTroutzor
from Detroit, MI
"Picked this up at my local Orvis to replace my original cheap chest pack. The quality of the Orvis pack is outstanding. This pack is just big enough for a couple hours on the stream or lake. I like to go backcountry and it is just the right size to toss into my backpack or daypack.
My take:
+Magnetic tool catch
+Forcep/plier sheath
+Spare waist belt included
+Fly-bench
+Good materials, good zippers
+Small and out of the way.
-Magnetic tool catches sit at a downward angle, doesn't always catch larger heavier tools like forceps.
-Limited space for fly boxes. Medium sized double sided is about the max.
-Only holds a couple spools of tippet.
-No room for extras like a landing glove, sunblock, bugspray, etc.
"
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 30, 2012
By: rjhfish
from Woodstock GA
"Have used it several times. Works better than anticipated on stream."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
December 28, 2012
By: Katie15
from Snohomish, Wa
"Chest pack was made of quality materials, every pocket has a great purpose! I was hoping I could use as a sling pack too so it wouldn't get in the way when I'm spey casting but it swings around and is difficult to use for anything but a chest pack. But you can't find a better chest pack!"
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Useful Purchase,
October 18, 2012
By: AustinB
"I purchased the fully loaded version, which completed my collection of supplies. The supplies are all of great quality and easy to use.
The bag itself is just the right size for what I needed, It fits all of the fully loaded supplies plus a cellphone and mini wallet (just for ID and liscense). Basically anything you need for a morning/afternoon of fishing. Anything past that, you will probably need a backpack to accompany it."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great Fly Bag,
October 9, 2012
By: BiggBeniii
from WPB, Fla
"I you are looking for a Fly Bag that is not too big and to use as a day bag, this one is the one. I use it three ways; as a small bag for in the boat, as a bag hooked directly to my waders, and as a bag hooked to my auto inflatable life vest. And of course at it is sold with the shoulder/neck straps. (I put two snaps on the back of the bag by the releasable straps, install the other side of the snaps to my waders near the straps and did the same on my auto inflatable life vest. I can fit all in need to a single day or the weekend. Great size bag."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolute Top-Notch,
September 10, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"This is the best small chest pack I have found on the market. Great design, not too much space but just enough. Perfect. Even has a waist belt for wide or small waists. Could not ask for more!! 6 Stars!!"
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
August 22, 2012
By: Fishvol
from Tennessee
"I was looking for a small chest pack that had enough room for a day on the water. This is it. Plenty of room for a fly box and other essentials. The loop for my net was also what I was looking for. The magnets on the sides to keep my nipper and pliers out of my way were a nice surprise."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Pack,
February 16, 2012
By: Bean01
from Greensboro, NC
"I used this pack this week and it was perfect. I have used fly fishing vests for a couple of years now and they have become too restrictive with casting especially when it's cold out and you're wearing a lot of clothing. Plus, I got tired of all the "clanging" noises from my accessories.
The pack does not restrict movement at all and it stores everything you need. I only wish the outer pocket was a tad bit larger, but not a big deal. I definitly would recommend this and glad I purchased it. Can't wait to use it again."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
top gear,
January 12, 2012
By: beefstoo
from High Peak Derbyshire
"This product was everything I expected from Orvis. Good quality and perfect for the job. It is the best bag /pack I have had for small river use with just enough space and features to keep it small but still ample for my needs. If it could have one improvment it would be a spare fly patch for a simple change over from dry to wet and nymphs."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size,
September 3, 2011
By: Mike2011
from Panama City, FL
"This chest pack is the perfect size to hold everything you need for quick, on the go fishing. I keep it under my back seat. Its really light and also keeps my cell phone out of my pocket, and out of the water when I step in a deeper than expected hole."