Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack

A small chest pack for the angler who targets his quarry with minimum and focused gear. Perfect for the small-stream brook trout angler or the spring creek angler. Two compartments, lots of interior pockets, and a key clip for storage. Perforated foam and ergonomically shaped neck pad ensure comfort and an adjustable neck strap detaches for easy removal of pack. Net loop and two removable and adjustable waist straps (regular and large) for perfect fit. Durable Hypalon patch for zinger attachment with magnetic tool anchor to keep tools from moving around. Convenient padded forceps pocket on back panel. Removable foam fly patch attaches to top of pack or inside front pocket. Front pocket opens wide for easy access. Fishing chest packs in slate blue. Dimensions: 8½"H x 6½"W x 2½"D. Capacity: 140 cu. in. Weight: 10.5 oz. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 27(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Choice for my son,
May 19, 2015
By: Pattyflo
from Pocono Manor, PA
"This chest pack was just what I was looking for for my son who has taken up fly fishing and loves it but doesn't want to cart around a lot of equiipment. Thanks, Orvis!"
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great go to,
May 14, 2015
By: skate78
from Kansas
"Loved the size of this pack. Great for a day trip and easy to wear. Nice storage compartments."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
May 12, 2015
By: saltylady2
from Germanton, North Carolina
"Better than expected! This Safe Passage Micro Chest Pack is well made and just the right size for me. I wanted a small pack that would hold all the essentials, but not too big to get in the way of fishing. Perfect pack!"
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just the right size!,
May 9, 2015
By: BioProf
from New York
"Perfect for a few hours on the stream. I use it as a spare pack in my car's trunk along with a favorite rod and reel ready for that special opportunity to cast for that special trout."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice little pack,
May 6, 2015
By: Slimslam
from Grants Pass, Oregon
"If looking to downsize from vest this is good one. Light and comfortable holds just enough stuff for day on the river."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lighten Your load,
April 16, 2015
By: Flyfishalabama
from Birmingham, AL
"The microchest pack is great for situations in which you know what you will need fly and equipment-wise. I wish it had a more convenient tippet holder however"
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect for a day trip,
April 8, 2015
By: RadarDrew
from Rapid City, SD
"This isn't a bad little pack. It's big enough to hold flies, tippet and even an 8oz bottle of water. I just put what I expect to use for the day inside and don't have to worry about the bulk of a vest or larger pack."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chest Pack,
March 31, 2015
By: Ken10
"I like lots of tools.Pack only has like 4 spots to hang my zingers. Needs more rings to attach zingers to."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Pack for the Minimalist,
March 24, 2015
By: KKfly
from Spring City, PA
"I recently purchased this pack as I'm trying to slim down on my equipment. I already have the safe passage sling pack which is excellent as well. Sturdy construction, pockets are easily accessible very comfortable to wear."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy Chest Pack,
January 23, 2015
By: PFFTU
"This small chest pack is just what I was looking for. It holds everything you really need for a few hours fishing. The waist strap is comfortable and a small net carries easily. If you're tired of carrying all that stuff you don't really need in a full vest, try this chest pack."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helpful,
December 17, 2014
By: Flegacki
from Ann Arbor, Michigan
"This is a convenient and practical way to carry flies and small tools while fishing."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small pack, big potential.....,
December 5, 2014
By: DBFJr
from Granby, CT
"With a little planning, the Micro holds everything you need for chasing trout or pan fish. The compact profile lets you slip through brushy stream banks without aggravation..... and into the spots others do not fish. A minimalist's dream!"
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lightweight purchase,
December 5, 2014
By: DWin1
from Boston -> White Mountains
"I like carrying a light chest pack and then a backpack with the rest of my gear that I don't need constant access to. This pack is great for a few tippet spools, a fly box and some loose flies in the front pocket, snips, etc. Would recommend for anyone looking to minimize distractions and have a comfortable setup on their chest."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than I anticipated,
October 24, 2014
By: caddis44
from NY
"Have not used my vest while fishing since I acquired this chest pack. It has enough room for several fly boxes, tippet material, extra leaders, floatant, candy bar. Even the magnets, which I initially thought made little sense, are helpful."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice,
September 16, 2014
By: troutmom
"I purchased this product for my son to use while fishing. He already had a bigger pack but this was very convenient on shorter trips. Works great and has a lot of room for how compact it is."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Chest Pack,
October 25, 2013
By: VtDrifter
from Luxembourg
"Picked this up at the Orvis shop in Chicago last Feb and have been using it all year including a one week fishing trip. It's a top quality bag that has enough room to take everything you need for a day's fishing and it doesn't get in the way when fishing. Only two negative points are:
The magnet for the forceps holster is too weak to hold them in place when bending over to revive a fish (splash!)
If you stick the fly patch on top of the pack then expect to lose flies
The first is resolved with the addition of a zinger and the second by putting the patch inside the first pocket so no big deal. Overall I would say this is the ideal chest pack for the person who takes the minimalist approach to fly fishing."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great!,
May 22, 2013
By: SirTroutzor
from Detroit, MI
"Picked this up at my local Orvis to replace my original cheap chest pack. The quality of the Orvis pack is outstanding. This pack is just big enough for a couple hours on the stream or lake. I like to go backcountry and it is just the right size to toss into my backpack or daypack.
My take:
+Magnetic tool catch
+Forcep/plier sheath
+Spare waist belt included
+Fly-bench
+Good materials, good zippers
+Small and out of the way.
-Magnetic tool catches sit at a downward angle, doesn't always catch larger heavier tools like forceps.
-Limited space for fly boxes. Medium sized double sided is about the max.
-Only holds a couple spools of tippet.
-No room for extras like a landing glove, sunblock, bugspray, etc.
"
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 30, 2012
By: rjhfish
from Woodstock GA
"Have used it several times. Works better than anticipated on stream."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
December 28, 2012
By: Katie15
from Snohomish, Wa
"Chest pack was made of quality materials, every pocket has a great purpose! I was hoping I could use as a sling pack too so it wouldn't get in the way when I'm spey casting but it swings around and is difficult to use for anything but a chest pack. But you can't find a better chest pack!"
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Useful Purchase,
October 18, 2012
By: AustinB
"I purchased the fully loaded version, which completed my collection of supplies. The supplies are all of great quality and easy to use.
The bag itself is just the right size for what I needed, It fits all of the fully loaded supplies plus a cellphone and mini wallet (just for ID and liscense). Basically anything you need for a morning/afternoon of fishing. Anything past that, you will probably need a backpack to accompany it."