Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack

The Safe Passage Trout and Flats Pack is the perfect fly-fishing waist pack for the angler who fishes small streams or wades the flats. Gear stays out of the way and the weight is carried on the belt. Two compartments, lots of interior pockets, and a key clip for storage. Padded waist belt. Durable Hypalon patches for zinger attachment with magnetic tool anchor to keep tools secure. Convenient padded forceps pocket on back panel. Removable foam fly patches attach to top of pack or inside of front pocket. Front pocket opens wide for easy access to boxes. Keeper hardware for excess webbing. Comes with adjustable ergonomic neck strap for optional use as a chest pack or hip pack. In cloudburst, digital camo. 12"L x 6½"W x 4½"D; 351 cu. in. Weight: 1 lb. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great pack for the price,
January 30, 2015
By: cwhtx
"Only have taken this out twice so far, but bags seems to be a great size to get everything you need with you. I would love to see a water bottle holder on the belt and some extra loops/D-rings for attaching tippet spools and other items, but overall very happy. The newer version of this pack looks like it has some of those features, but the price that I got this pack at makes it a better value. Highly recommend snagging this bag for a pack that is comfortable to wear and perfect size for getting everything you need in when on the water. Big enough to pack some bars to eat, but not really big enough for an entire day on the water as far as fitting enough food as well."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfied with this pack,
January 26, 2015
By: David0601
from Chesapeake, Ohio
"I've only had my pack a few weeks but its been out on the water twice now. After putting everything in it and fishing for 2 days straight I sometimes forgot I was wearing it. Very well made and has plenty of room for some serious gear. Orvis has done it again."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
January 7, 2015
By: wolfriverwayne
from Antigo, WI
"For any fly fisher this pack is a perfect blend of great value and functionality. Vests can so often put undue stress on the shoulders and cause pain in between the shoulder blades. A pack like this one immediately cures this problem.
There will be plenty of space for flies, tippet material, all the extras we so often carry. I highly recommend this pack.
"
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Passage Flat Pack,
January 6, 2015
By: SpartanHurdler
from East Lansing, MI
"I absolutely love this pack, I recently bought a sling back from Simms and I found it a hassle to work with. You can load up this pack with all of your fly fishing essentials in a nice and easy caring form. And when you want some thing all you have to do is turn it 180o to get it. Very satisfied with this purchase!"
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More Than Expected!,
December 23, 2014
By: RMilam
from Lincoln, Al
"Received product on time. Very satisfied with this purchase. The Safe Passage pack is even more spacious than I expected. Plenty of space for my fly boxes, tools and more. GREAT job Orvis! I will return.
- Tight Lines!
"
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent pack,
December 17, 2014
By: RandyRigatti4
from State College, PA
"This pack is an excellent way to pack everything lightly. I expected it to be a little bigger, however, it is perfect sized for a day out on the stream without any restricted movement. Plenty of storage and loops for tool retractors, tippet spools and more. Materials are heavy duty and buckles are solid. I highly recommend this to any fisherman who wants a good looking, light, comforable, and useful wastepack for fishing."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly-fishing waist pack,
December 15, 2014
By: MACANADA
from Kernersville, NC
"Excellent quality. Just the right size and very light weight. Several pockets and plenty of room."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits nicely,
December 14, 2014
By: hojodo
from Cincinnati, OH
"The waste pack fits nicely. It has a very nice flat top with area for holding flies that is very convenient. I fished 7 hours yesterday for steelhead in Ohio. It was quite nice. Three fish too."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waist pack,
December 12, 2014
By: Bushieee
"The pack is the perfect size to keep the necessities while on the river. Made with high quality material."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Waist Pack,
December 1, 2014
By: Ncwildtrout
"This pack will suite my needs perfectly. It's a nice size that should do well for day trips (room for small sandwich and a few flies, tippet, etc..) I also like the adjustability of the straps which provide several options for how to wear the pack."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bag!,
November 20, 2014
By: Nolezone
from North Carolina
"Very convenient and comfortable system to keep all your fly fishing needs close. Waist strap would be fine but neck strap (when adjusted) really makes the fit like a shirt! Pockets great and hold plenty for a couple hour wade or more. Felt for common or switched out flies is very convenient. Without neck strap it can be spun around and worn on the hips nicely. It's very nice looking too!"
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Oak,
November 19, 2014
By: Dewjr
from Parkville, MD
"This product was perfect for light fishing. The zipper was a little stiff when the large pouch was full. I would only recommend three medium fly boxes. I really liked the weight of the bag. I was fishing for approximately 9 hours a day and no back or shoulder pain."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sized pack!,
November 19, 2014
By: Fredy
from Hackettstown, NJ
"Just big enough for the essentials but not too big to be cumbersome. Wish it also had a shorter shoulder strap to wear as a chest pack too. It was on sale too, great score!"
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hiking companion,
November 12, 2014
By: GeorgieCO33
from Aspen, CO
"Great purchase, tonnes of room (3 fly boxes) and compartments, comfy to hike and access everything!"
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A bit wide, but good size,
November 11, 2014
By: JasonLF
from SF Bay Area, CA
"I'm a smaller guy with a 30" waist and this bag covers my entire lower back. Because of this width, it's a bit hard to wear on my hip with it stuffed with contents because it is wide.
The reinforced areas for pin retractors and the built in magnet for forceps are nice touches."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and versatile,
November 7, 2014
By: Ithacatrout
from Ithaca, Ny
"Very happy with the functionality and simplicity of this bag. It sits very comfortable on my waist, holds enough gear for the day. I love the magnetic tool keepers to keep sway and rattling down when I am hiking. The pockets open nicely without feeling like everything will fall out into the water."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
October 28, 2014
By: Skidad8
from North NJ
"Wanted an "after work" set up. This pack delivers. Easy on/off set up either on lower back or side sling. Main large compartment can accommodate sufficient gear for an hour or so on the stream.
Front pocket zips down and can serve as work bench as needed. . Really appreciate the side magnets for keeping things neat and out of the way. Challenge is that that it can hold so much it is hard not to overload. Very satisfied with the pack. Will use more than I expected.
"
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout pack..,
October 28, 2014
By: Beardown
from Orvis site
"Great product. High quality and design is great. The only suggestion is ..Where is the beer holder?."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pack out there!,
October 27, 2014
By: BigKahuna7
"I've used everything - vests, lanyards, and packs. This Orvis pack is by far not only the best pack I've used, but the most comfortable and appealing. I got the camo one, and I love the look of it. Orvis has a winner with this one!"
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
October 27, 2014
By: TXflyfishing13
from Lubbock,TX
"This is a great product at a fantastic price, would recommend to any fly fisherman."