Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack

The Safe Passage Trout and Flats Pack is the perfect fly-fishing waist pack for the angler who fishes small streams or wades the flats. Gear stays out of the way and the weight is carried on the belt. Two compartments, lots of interior pockets, and a key clip for storage. Padded waist belt. Durable Hypalon patches for zinger attachment with magnetic tool anchor to keep tools secure. Convenient padded forceps pocket on back panel. Removable foam fly patches attach to top of pack or inside of front pocket. Front pocket opens wide for easy access to boxes. Keeper hardware for excess webbing. Comes with adjustable ergonomic neck strap for optional use as a chest pack or hip pack. In cloudburst, digital camo. 12"L x 6½"W x 4½"D; 351 cu. in. Weight: 1 lb. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bag!,
November 20, 2014
By: Nolezone
from North Carolina
"Very convenient and comfortable system to keep all your fly fishing needs close. Waist strap would be fine but neck strap (when adjusted) really makes the fit like a shirt! Pockets great and hold plenty for a couple hour wade or more. Felt for common or switched out flies is very convenient. Without neck strap it can be spun around and worn on the hips nicely. It's very nice looking too!"
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Oak,
November 19, 2014
By: Dewjr
from Parkville, MD
"This product was perfect for light fishing. The zipper was a little stiff when the large pouch was full. I would only recommend three medium fly boxes. I really liked the weight of the bag. I was fishing for approximately 9 hours a day and no back or shoulder pain."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sized pack!,
November 19, 2014
By: Fredy
from Hackettstown, NJ
"Just big enough for the essentials but not too big to be cumbersome. Wish it also had a shorter shoulder strap to wear as a chest pack too. It was on sale too, great score!"
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hiking companion,
November 12, 2014
By: GeorgieCO33
from Aspen, CO
"Great purchase, tonnes of room (3 fly boxes) and compartments, comfy to hike and access everything!"
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A bit wide, but good size,
November 11, 2014
By: JasonLF
from SF Bay Area, CA
"I'm a smaller guy with a 30" waist and this bag covers my entire lower back. Because of this width, it's a bit hard to wear on my hip with it stuffed with contents because it is wide.
The reinforced areas for pin retractors and the built in magnet for forceps are nice touches."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and versatile,
November 7, 2014
By: Ithacatrout
from Ithaca, Ny
"Very happy with the functionality and simplicity of this bag. It sits very comfortable on my waist, holds enough gear for the day. I love the magnetic tool keepers to keep sway and rattling down when I am hiking. The pockets open nicely without feeling like everything will fall out into the water."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
October 28, 2014
By: Skidad8
from North NJ
"Wanted an "after work" set up. This pack delivers. Easy on/off set up either on lower back or side sling. Main large compartment can accommodate sufficient gear for an hour or so on the stream.
Front pocket zips down and can serve as work bench as needed. . Really appreciate the side magnets for keeping things neat and out of the way. Challenge is that that it can hold so much it is hard not to overload. Very satisfied with the pack. Will use more than I expected.
"
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout pack..,
October 28, 2014
By: Beardown
from Orvis site
"Great product. High quality and design is great. The only suggestion is ..Where is the beer holder?."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pack out there!,
October 27, 2014
By: BigKahuna7
"I've used everything - vests, lanyards, and packs. This Orvis pack is by far not only the best pack I've used, but the most comfortable and appealing. I got the camo one, and I love the look of it. Orvis has a winner with this one!"
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
October 27, 2014
By: TXflyfishing13
from Lubbock,TX
"This is a great product at a fantastic price, would recommend to any fly fisherman."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
June 24, 2013
By: ATLFlyGuy
"Purchased this Pack to compliment my Safe Passage Day Pack. It's the perfect size to hold several fly boxes and all the neccessary gear for a day streamside."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I wanted,
September 6, 2011
By: FGebber
"Perfect size. Had a fishpond that was too larger and heavy. This pack holds all that I Can (and should) take while wading."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MUCH less than Perfect,
June 25, 2011
By: A111
from Va
"The pack looks great. Lots of room and well made. The problem with this pack and most of what Orvis offers is the skinny width belt. It is most uncomfortable, cutting into your back. It appears that they recognize this as the sides immediately near the pack are wide and padded but the back portion belt is only 1.5 inches wide. Also, the buckles do not stay in place very well once fastened. They need some "gripper" features to keep it from slipping. And the little clips to hold the tag ends is nice but pretty much useless unless your waist is the exact size which will enable them to be slipped into the pockets toward the sides/front. And lastly, while the neck strap is well made, it is not comfortable IMO. If you can wear a neck strap like this your better off with a vest. The biggest problem with this pack could be fixed with a back strap belt that would be at least 3 to 4 inches wide, padded with some filler to give more support....sort of a combo pack back support belt. I'll only conclude that I would not have purchased this product if I would have woren it once for several hours. It looks good in the store but it's just plain uncomfortable. To make it even worse, I got two of them and she don't like her's either!"
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More fly patches,
March 2, 2011
By: lhotse
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Nicely constructed but expensive waist pack. Nice lining with inside pockets. The "details" implies ( by using the plural) "removable foam fly patcheS" that at least two patches are included, but only one was included. Two would be nice, since there are two hook and loop attachment patches on the item."