Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Sling Pack

Cast and fish with total freedom. Our most popular pack allows the angler to wear it over one shoulder completely out of the way, but still have quick and easy access to all your gear. Large main compartment can hold multiple fly boxes, tippet spools and accessories. Plier sheath is designed to accommodate your favorite fishing plier with a secure attachment point for the safety lanyard. Forcep sheath on the shoulder strap for immediate access. Magnetic anchor in the forcep pocket securely holds tool in place. Zinger attachment point with magnetic anchor keeps tools from swinging around. Fly-drying foam patches inside. Adjustable shoulder strap and girth strap included. Fly-fishing packs in cloudburst, digital camo. Weight: 1 lb. Imported.Dimensions: 15"H x 9"W x 3½"D. Capacity: 472 cu. in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (276 reviews)
5 stars
195
4 stars
64
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
3
264 of 276(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best wading pack you can find,
March 12, 2012
By: SAOLakeErie
from Lake Erie PA, OH, and NY
"The Safe Passage Sling Pack is super comfortable, easy to access, and packs in all your fly-fishing essentials. This Sling pack gives you back the freedom of motion you lost by filling that flak jacket you called a fishing vest full of stuff you can never find again! As a fly fishing guide on Lake Erie's "Steelhead Alley," I need access to my terminal tackle quickly while standing in the river, I need the freedom to move and not feel weighed down, and I also need to carry enough gear to supply 2 or 3 anglers each day. The bonus about this pack? If you like to swing flies and cast two handed rods, this pack will not disrupt your casting—it carries extra tips, spools, fly boxes, and leaders, yet still has enough room for a beverage of your choice! Do I really need to say more?
-Greg Senyo
Owner/Outfitter, Steelhead Alley Outfitters, Ohio
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality Pack,
April 14, 2014
By: PolskaFisher
from New York
"Was in the market for a some type of pack. I wanted one that was well constructed, not too big, lightweight & comfortable to wear while on the water. I found it with the S.P. Sling Pack. I've been out a few times with it & I forget that I have it on. It holds all my gear with room to spare. I really like this pack."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very satisfied,
April 8, 2014
By: keenan
from Illinois
"I really like this bag, It is easy to put on, and it fits well. Easy to get into , I find that it has all the room I need. The bag is very well made. Their is one thing I would like to see and that is more information on your web site about all of the details about this bag, I think it would be more helpful to your new customers."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
no more vest,
April 2, 2014
By: nwahog
from Fayetteville AR
"I have worn a vest up to this point. A friend of mine suggested a pack instead of my old orvis vest. I got this on sale and I am thrilled with it. Everything stayed dry and i did get the pack very wet! Comfortable and easy to access while in the river!"
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A two thumbs up product,
March 28, 2014
By: Nightrunr31
from Upstate NY
"I purchased this sling pack to ditch the Fishpond Arroyo hip/chest pack that I have been using for some time now. This sling pack holds a lot more items and the comfort level is down right comfortable. I love the idea where they designed the two spots to secure the hemostats. Adjustments are easy and has more than enough room for my needs( way more capacity than my old hip/chest pack). The materials used and craftsmanship are high in quality and I can see this pack lasting me a very long time. Thank You Orvis for producing a product that will make my time on the water more enjoyable."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great... Almost perfect,
March 19, 2014
By: Indybio72
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I love this pack. It does practically everything I need it to do. There are a few points that would make it perfect though. The foam patch position is pretty bad in my mind. When you put it on, it covers the zippers and makes it hard to get into the pack. I have sewed a piece of velcro to the front of the pack and stuck the foam patch there. It works much much better (see photo). Also I wish it had a few more pockets inside. I hope Orvis reads these reviews and works on these problems... All and all this is the best pack I have ever used."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid purchase,
March 17, 2014
By: mntbum
from Wyoming
"Good quality and very practical for my style of use. Easy to get to everything and it's very organized."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 11, 2014
By: Hexchaser
from Fall River, CA
"my son bought me the Guide Sling Pack for Xmas. I decided the temptation to fill it up was too great so traded it in on smaller Safe Passage pack. Love it!!! can carry everything I need for a day of fishing and have room to spare. Hang my net from safety ring which hangs comfortably out of way until needed.
Could use a few smaller pockets inside but just fine as is.
"
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pack,
March 3, 2014
By: wfdeacon
from North Carolina
"I love this pack. Had it 3-4 years. I don't fly fish, but I love wading in a local river or two and hiking in to a lake in the Uwharries. When I go fishing, I like to be THERE and not where it is noisy. So, this is very convenient and allows me use of my hands when fishing and when hiking in. It also forced me to pack essentials. I throw in a water bottle, a water filter, and a meal bar or two as well. My friends are usually a little jealous."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
February 22, 2014
By: Rollo222
from Naples , Fl
"Purchased the sling pack because i needed ton replace old pack that I have been using . So far the Orvis sling pack has worked well for me.
Simple design and easy access to all
flies , etc . I may purchase the larger pack as to carry my camera .
"
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack,
February 12, 2014
By: RCF10
from Soon to be Rogers, AR
"I love the Safe Passage Sling Pack. However, today I returned it. Let me explain: I'm 66 years old and have been an avid traditional bass fisherman for years. I am retiring in 4 months and moving to a place that has multiple species of fresh water fish. So...I've decided to take up a new challenge and learn to fly fish. Due to bad knees I decided after I received the pack that I needed to rethink my choice. Therefore, I decided to get a fishing life (flotation) vest that has multiple pockets for storage. I'm a good swimmer but if I fall I now have some flotation. I really liked the pack and I think it would have worked really well if only I was younger and stronger."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, excellent customer service,
February 6, 2014
By: LBuilder1985
from Spartanburg, SC
"Great product for cutting out a vest and other gear. I can store everything I need for a full day on the water in this thing no problem. It is light and very comfortable. As always, Orvis provided incredibly fast shipping as well."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
February 4, 2014
By: JTPadge
"It is comfortable and gives me good access to my gear. My vest and chest pack have been retired."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A few details away from awesome,
February 2, 2014
By: Nathaniel
from Newburyport, MA
"I am a long time fan of shoulder bags instead of fishing vests, and hoped this would be an improvement over the simple bags I've used in the past. It is!
The fit is 100% better than most packs and naturally sits on the back without swinging. The comfort and stability alone is a great upgrade.
A number of commenters have wished for a "right hand pack". If you can wade through rapids, clamber over rocks, and fish around trees and brush, I think most of us can probably use this pack even if right handed.
There is a legitimate challenge in getting a net to hang out of the way and still be able to reach it. Having owned 3 or 4 different hip/shoulder bags, I think it's a problem of the type, not this particular bag. If Orvis could demonstrate or design a good way to hold the net upside down (handle down) in a spot where it could still be reached, it would be a huge improvement.
Other details that should be changed on the next model:
1) Explain the 3 random belt straps that come with the bag.
2) have a waist belt that can be adjusted with one hand.
3) Add more and more and more flat pockets inside the two large pockets. This is my biggest problem- there should be more options to hold leaders, shot, licenses, indicators, spare floatant, etc. rather than dumping them all in the bottom of two pockets with reels and fly boxes.
4) mount the fly pad on the outside of the pocket.
This bag is one design upgrade away from awesome, and the asymmetrical fit is an improvement to the genre that has been a long time coming!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack,
January 25, 2014
By: PCRyan
from Park City, UT
"Really like pack as it has everything that I like about vests and hip packs, without any of the features/bugs of each.
Don't have the time to read through 100+ reviews, so someone may have already pointed this out, but Orvis may want to post some new product pictures. The dude in the two pictures has it on upside down and slung over the wrong shoulder. The bottom image "sling pack instructions" actually shows the proper way to wear the pack. If you wear it like the chump in the pictures, you will be dragging your net on the ground and the skinny, not padded, part of the strap will be on your shoulder while on your back."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful prroduct,
January 13, 2014
By: Teoclis
from Atlanta, GA
"Truly a wonderful product. Very ergonomic and efficient. My only issue I have, is that I am a slender build, and I cant get to to fit as snug as I'd want it to. Other than that minor issue, its everything I'd ask for in a sling pack, Highly recommend"
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect pack,
January 13, 2014
By: DaveC51
from Ontario Canada
"The safe passage sling pack is the ideal pack with design features made by fisherman for fisherman. Meets my needs as a fisherman who likes apack that does not interfer with my fishing....simply swing it to my back and hardly know its even there. Great pack Orvis !!!"
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sling Pack,
January 2, 2014
By: TroutbumMI
from West Michigan
"Sling packs are the way to go if you are looking for something that is easy to carry, stays out of the way, and is easily accessible. The Safe Passage sling pack is perfect for wading and has plenty of space."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Christmas Gift,
December 25, 2013
By: larissa
from Elkhorn, WI
"My husband was eyeing this sling for fly fishing for awhile. It was a Christmas gift.
The quality and functionality of the sling met all his expectations.
"
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One great bag!,
December 23, 2013
By: Chromehunting
from IL
"I started a few years ago with the original green pack and have proceeded to purchase a digital, blue and purple for my girls. Each of them preferred a different color than my old bag. I will say the quality is great and the room to pack is perfect. I would get a new bag myself but my old one still works and is too salty to retire."