Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Sling Pack

Cast and fish with total freedom. Our most popular pack allows the angler to wear it over one shoulder completely out of the way, but still have quick and easy access to all your gear. Large main compartment can hold multiple fly boxes, tippet spools and accessories. Plier sheath is designed to accommodate your favorite fishing plier with a secure attachment point for the safety lanyard. Forcep sheath on the shoulder strap for immediate access. Magnetic anchor in the forcep pocket securely holds tool in place. Zinger attachment point with magnetic anchor keeps tools from swinging around. Fly-drying foam patches inside. Adjustable shoulder strap and girth strap included. Fly-fishing packs in cloudburst, digital camo. Weight: 1 lb. Imported.Dimensions: 15"H x 9"W x 3½"D. Capacity: 472 cu. in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.624 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (295 reviews)
5 stars
212
4 stars
66
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
3
283 of 295(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best wading pack you can find,
March 12, 2012
By: SAOLakeErie
from Lake Erie PA, OH, and NY
"The Safe Passage Sling Pack is super comfortable, easy to access, and packs in all your fly-fishing essentials. This Sling pack gives you back the freedom of motion you lost by filling that flak jacket you called a fishing vest full of stuff you can never find again! As a fly fishing guide on Lake Erie's "Steelhead Alley," I need access to my terminal tackle quickly while standing in the river, I need the freedom to move and not feel weighed down, and I also need to carry enough gear to supply 2 or 3 anglers each day. The bonus about this pack? If you like to swing flies and cast two handed rods, this pack will not disrupt your casting—it carries extra tips, spools, fly boxes, and leaders, yet still has enough room for a beverage of your choice! Do I really need to say more?
-Greg Senyo
Owner/Outfitter, Steelhead Alley Outfitters, Ohio
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional sling pack,
August 15, 2014
By: chickey191
from San Diego, CA
"I used a sling style bag way back in the 80's - one I got at the FFF Conclave. Very rudimentary, but worked well unless you lost your balance and everything could easily float away. The sling pack holds the same amount of stuff and I know eventually I will figure out the best way to set it up. I have a tendency to carry more fly boxes and "stuff" than necessary and this pack holds them well. I wish the interior pockets were different as they aren't really much good for holding anything that isn't relatively flat. Perhaps another divider (on velcro so you could adjust) would make it close to perfect. Haven't figured out a good way to carry my net without it drooping behind me and staying in the water, but will work that out. Like the bag. construction is great, comfortable and as I said, functional. Got it on sale which made it even better."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for,
August 9, 2014
By: Tmq2
from Commerce, MI
"I was looking for a light weight back pack type carrier for my tackle. I don't fly fish but needed something for my spinning gear for hike in sites. This works perfectly."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits my needs perfectly,
August 1, 2014
By: JonasK
from Sweden
"I looked for a west or bag to have something that makes my fishing easy. This bag really fits my needs perfectly, enough space for all i need and really comfortable to carry.
Highly recommended.
"
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Best out there But....,
July 26, 2014
By: xnykid
from Kansas, Missouri
"Hey Orvis! yes this sling is the best of the slings out there today but you could totally and I mean totally eliminate the competition if you would just make the following few changes. First this sling needs to go over my Left shoulder and swing around my Right hip. Why, Because as a Right handed guy I LIKE to put my fly rod under my Left arm when I want to tie on a fly or what ever. Rod is in my right hand and I stick it under my left arm and right arm/hand is free to work. Come on you guys.... you know I am right, I watch your videos, you do it the same as me! Now, Keep the tippet and nippers on the side that they are currently so they come into view First when I bring the sling around my right hip. Currently it is harder to get at them and due to the position they are in and the fact that I have to bring the sling aalllll the way around to even see them. And here is the debatable but I think best design: the Hemostats on the front strap can be mounted handles down! yea, thats right, You already have that magnet in place and it will keep the hemos in place even if you didn't have a strap but I like the strap so leave it too but if the hemos are gripped by the handle and pulled down in a natural motion (off the magnet that is holding them) that would just Kick IT!!!! I am not the only one of your customers talking about this bag being the best out there but still needing some tweaking so getty up! I will personally buy 8 bags and give them to all my fishing buddies if you will make them for right handed guys."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack,
July 23, 2014
By: kzoo1
from Kalamazoo, MI
"This is my third season with this pack. I can honestly say since switching from a vest, I have not wanted to go back to the vest. This pack works great while wading or in a canoe or drift boat.
I can't say anything bad about the sling pack, it carries all I need and then some. I feel very organized on the river and can find everything I need very easily. If you are ready to try a pack for fishing, I don't think you can go wrong with this pack.
"
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe passage sling pack,
July 18, 2014
By: ScottMcc
from Jacksonville, FL
"I purchased for use in saltwater. Makes a great bonefish pack. Very comfortable . I would recommend this one or the one slightly bigger"
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Back Pack,
July 10, 2014
By: RIckC
from Colorado City, Colorado
"This is an awesome bag, it's not to big, just the right size! It is very well made, not cheap like some of the other Companies. Love it...."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great light weight pack,
July 5, 2014
By: MBOB
from FLAGSTAFF
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a great light weight
pack, can carry 2 large fly boxes (really all you need if you have fished that area before) and a water bottle. It is so light you really forget you have this on!
"
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
200 days on the south holston,
June 15, 2014
By: livestoflyfish
from somewhere on the South Holston River
"I fish with this pack 3-4 days a week on the south holston. I love the convenience of a smaller sling. I would move the hemostat pocket to the back so when you bring the pack around to your front for access it is located near your tippet rings. Other than that it is great!"
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good deal,
June 10, 2014
By: Nysaag
"I needed a small pack to keep the fishing gear together and this fit the bill. Handy little guy."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sling It!,
May 30, 2014
By: SCFlyFisherman
from Greenville, SC
"I must say that before I purchased this sling pack I was contemplating the waist pack, but I am very pleased with my decision to go this route. I am not a seasoned veteran, but I very much like how this pack stays out my way while I fish. I like to be a minimalist when it comes to carrying gear and this pack gets the job done!"
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
May 10, 2014
By: FishTrish
from Texas
"Purchased the womens version of this sling pack. PERFECT for a day on the river. It packs my lunch, and fits everything a nicely equiped vest will fit. The straps adjust to bulky vs light weight clothing. Positioned on my back it is completely out of the , hey! No more tangles on my vest! When changing flies I turn it to the front and use the little tray. Its just perfect!"
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thoughtfully and thoroughly designed,
May 8, 2014
By: WVFishHead
from West Virginia
"I bought this for my 16-year old son. It is very well-designed, a very efficient piece of gear. It will carry all the basics you need for small-stream fishing. The details such as a hidden magnet located below the zinger attach point that keeps your nippers from swinging are the niceties that set this pack apart from others I've looked at. Well Done, Orvis, well done."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it,
May 3, 2014
By: kommanderk
from Catskills NY
"I had been a "vest man" for a long time. The Sling Pack gives me more freedom of movement and keeps the weight behind me. Glad I switched."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
April 29, 2014
By: rosskm
from Blacksburg, VA
"I loved how this pack was easily assessable but completely out of the way while fishing."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love This Pack!,
April 22, 2014
By: Ghost22
from Clinton Twp. MI
"I will start off by saying i am not a minimulist type of flsherman. I do not do well with small packs even on days im only out for a few hours.
This pack is very well thought out and comfotable. I do not use it for my main pack anymore as i have switched to the Gale force sling.
To be honest, i like the setup of this pack better than the gale force.
That being said i use the gale force sling as my main pack because of 2 reasons.
1. My pack always gets wet and this Sling pack is not waterproof what so ever. Believe me on that i have gotten it wet many times.
2. There is more room in the gale force sling for a wading jacket etc.
If this pack was water proof like the gale force i would have stuck with it.
If you are looking for a comfortable pack and being waterproof is not an issue, then buy this pack. you will love it!"
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality Pack,
April 14, 2014
By: PolskaFisher
from New York
"Was in the market for a some type of pack. I wanted one that was well constructed, not too big, lightweight & comfortable to wear while on the water. I found it with the S.P. Sling Pack. I've been out a few times with it & I forget that I have it on. It holds all my gear with room to spare. I really like this pack."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very satisfied,
April 8, 2014
By: keenan
from Illinois
"I really like this bag, It is easy to put on, and it fits well. Easy to get into , I find that it has all the room I need. The bag is very well made. Their is one thing I would like to see and that is more information on your web site about all of the details about this bag, I think it would be more helpful to your new customers."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
no more vest,
April 2, 2014
By: nwahog
from Fayetteville AR
"I have worn a vest up to this point. A friend of mine suggested a pack instead of my old orvis vest. I got this on sale and I am thrilled with it. Everything stayed dry and i did get the pack very wet! Comfortable and easy to access while in the river!"