Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Sling Pack

Cast and fish with total freedom. Our most popular pack allows the angler to wear it over one shoulder completely out of the way, but still have quick and easy access to all your gear. Large main compartment can hold multiple fly boxes, tippet spools and accessories. Plier sheath is designed to accommodate your favorite fishing plier with a secure attachment point for the safety lanyard. Forcep sheath on the shoulder strap for immediate access. Magnetic anchor in the forcep pocket securely holds tool in place. Zinger attachment point with magnetic anchor keeps tools from swinging around. Fly-drying foam patches inside. Adjustable shoulder strap and girth strap included. Fly-fishing packs in cloudburst, digital camo. Weight: 1 lb. Imported.Dimensions: 15"H x 9"W x 3½"D. Capacity: 472 cu. in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (310 reviews)
5 stars
226
4 stars
67
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
3
298 of 310(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best wading pack you can find,
March 12, 2012
By: SAOLakeErie
from Lake Erie PA, OH, and NY
"The Safe Passage Sling Pack is super comfortable, easy to access, and packs in all your fly-fishing essentials. This Sling pack gives you back the freedom of motion you lost by filling that flak jacket you called a fishing vest full of stuff you can never find again! As a fly fishing guide on Lake Erie's "Steelhead Alley," I need access to my terminal tackle quickly while standing in the river, I need the freedom to move and not feel weighed down, and I also need to carry enough gear to supply 2 or 3 anglers each day. The bonus about this pack? If you like to swing flies and cast two handed rods, this pack will not disrupt your casting—it carries extra tips, spools, fly boxes, and leaders, yet still has enough room for a beverage of your choice! Do I really need to say more?
-Greg Senyo
Owner/Outfitter, Steelhead Alley Outfitters, Ohio
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
POSITIVE AND PRACTICAL,
November 14, 2014
By: GWRGWYR
from South Wales
"A simple and practical solution to angling on the move which keeps essentials easily to hand with room to spare for a few additions. Can be modified and tailored to personal preferences and keeps waterside .life clutter free."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sling Pack,
November 13, 2014
By: PaulWilkinsFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"Fantastic product. Enough room for a days fishing and then some. Easily swung over the shoulder for easy access to your items and when it's over the back, I've never had an issue casting."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack,
November 3, 2014
By: Lloydj
from Edmonton Alberta
"Lots of storage with this pack, just the right size and fits nicely in my truck for stopping at the river after work."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack,
November 3, 2014
By: MammaG
"Purchased this pack for my son, a new fly fisherman, and it is perfect!"
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and Comfort,
October 30, 2014
By: CanadianFlyFisher
from Whitby, Ontario, Canada
"I was looking for a bag to replace my backpack that would be small enough for bushwhacking, yet large enough to carry what I needed.
After reviewing many sling bags from many different suppliers, as well as talking to various, well trusted, people, I decided on the SafePassage, and I'm glad I did.
Opening the box, the first thing you see and feel is the quality of the material used in construction. It is thick and very durable, and able to stand up to anything you can throw at it.
The front fly pocket is just the right size to keep a collection of easy access go-to fly patterns. There are also pockets and clips for any accessories you may need for your day.
The main pocket is more than enough to accommodate 2 or 3 fly boxes as well as leaders and some split shot and strike indicators, or if need be, a couple of soft drinks and some stream side snacks! The handy elastic topped pouches in the main pocket helps keep everything nicely organized.
I would 100% recommend this to anyone. It is light weight (depending on how much you put in it of course), very durable, and looks good to boot. I have used this for several trips now, and hardly notice it on my back when casting or walking from spot to spot."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Last Pack You Will Need!,
October 28, 2014
By: Salmobilly
"Great quality. Enough room for everything I need for a couple of days on the stream. Durable and comfortable. Should consider a left handed model."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Too Good to Pass Up,
October 28, 2014
By: Mike0125
"I love this pack for two reasons. First, because it was offered through an Orvis social media promotion, at a price that was too good to pass up. Secondly, since I only had one of the more cumbersome chest packs, I wanted something that was a little more unobtrusive. This pack fits the bill. Carefully thought out features and placement of compartments allows me to easily manage all my tackle, while nicely staying out of the way while I'm fishing. Kudo's to Orvis for their forward thinking on social media and more importantly, the product at hand."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ditched the vest and couldnt be happier,
October 27, 2014
By: JasonM
from Australia
"I was finding my bulky vest was affecting my casting so decided to switch to the sling pack hoping it would make things easier and boy was I right. Not only was it much lighter but I had completed freedom for my casting arm to track close to the body and my casting on the water really improved.
I also made my own tippet spool retainer and tenders and let me free up room inside the pack for the other essentials.
Definitely wont be going back to the vest."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and functional,
October 27, 2014
By: ZenMoose
from Colorado
"I really like the design of this sling pack. It fits close to the body which helps from getting caught up in the willows. Zippers are top quality, can be open and closed with one hand. Even the smaller Safe Passage has enough room for a couple of fly boxes, a rain jacket, and a water bottle. I bought on for myself and then another for my son-in law."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
October 27, 2014
By: YinzerRob
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This little sling is not only comfortable but it fits everything I had in my vest with room to spare!"
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really enjoying this pack,
October 27, 2014
By: hazzard03
from Waynesville, NC
"I had been eyeing this product for awhile and finally pulled the trigger. So glad I did, love this pack and Orvis has done an incredible job helping guide me as I pick up this sport. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect pack,
October 27, 2014
By: DaveFromSC
from Tega Cay, SC
"I absolutely love this pack. I have one for my freshwater gear, another for my saltwater gear, and I just bought another for my son. It holds just the right amount of gear for a day on the water and keeps everything well organized. I love how it is completely out of the way while fishing, but easily swings to the front when needed. Great design, well made and very comfortable to wear."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, handy,
October 27, 2014
By: Wulffman
from Batavia, IL, USA
"I've had a chest pack, waist pack and a vest and I have found that I prefer this sling the best. The sling stays in place on my back, and slides easily to the front when tying on new flies and tippet. It doesnt get hot like a vest or get in the way like a chest pack. I like the size of this sling too, I think the larger one would be comparable to a back pack and would be a little too big to slide to the front, but thats just a guess."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
October 10, 2014
By: dd1974
from Cape Town South Africa
"Great quality bag - excellent detailing
bought the tippet spool holder as an accessory for the bag
"
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Sling Pack,
October 2, 2014
By: GSGAR
from Lima, OH
"I recently purchased this as an alternative to using a vest. I wish I'd made the switch ages ago. If you're anything like me, I had a tendency to carry everything but the kitchen sink in my vest, making it bulky, cumbersome. and hot to wear. Now, I have ample room for everything I need for a day on the river, only it's all in a comfortable, fully functional sling pack that doesn't slide or shift while wading or casting. If I had to recommend one thing every fisherman should have, it would be this."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional sling pack,
August 15, 2014
By: chickey191
from San Diego, CA
"I used a sling style bag way back in the 80's - one I got at the FFF Conclave. Very rudimentary, but worked well unless you lost your balance and everything could easily float away. The sling pack holds the same amount of stuff and I know eventually I will figure out the best way to set it up. I have a tendency to carry more fly boxes and "stuff" than necessary and this pack holds them well. I wish the interior pockets were different as they aren't really much good for holding anything that isn't relatively flat. Perhaps another divider (on velcro so you could adjust) would make it close to perfect. Haven't figured out a good way to carry my net without it drooping behind me and staying in the water, but will work that out. Like the bag. construction is great, comfortable and as I said, functional. Got it on sale which made it even better."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for,
August 9, 2014
By: Tmq2
from Commerce, MI
"I was looking for a light weight back pack type carrier for my tackle. I don't fly fish but needed something for my spinning gear for hike in sites. This works perfectly."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits my needs perfectly,
August 1, 2014
By: JonasK
from Sweden
"I looked for a west or bag to have something that makes my fishing easy. This bag really fits my needs perfectly, enough space for all i need and really comfortable to carry.
Highly recommended.
"
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Best out there But....,
July 26, 2014
By: xnykid
from Kansas, Missouri
"Hey Orvis! yes this sling is the best of the slings out there today but you could totally and I mean totally eliminate the competition if you would just make the following few changes. First this sling needs to go over my Left shoulder and swing around my Right hip. Why, Because as a Right handed guy I LIKE to put my fly rod under my Left arm when I want to tie on a fly or what ever. Rod is in my right hand and I stick it under my left arm and right arm/hand is free to work. Come on you guys.... you know I am right, I watch your videos, you do it the same as me! Now, Keep the tippet and nippers on the side that they are currently so they come into view First when I bring the sling around my right hip. Currently it is harder to get at them and due to the position they are in and the fact that I have to bring the sling aalllll the way around to even see them. And here is the debatable but I think best design: the Hemostats on the front strap can be mounted handles down! yea, thats right, You already have that magnet in place and it will keep the hemos in place even if you didn't have a strap but I like the strap so leave it too but if the hemos are gripped by the handle and pulled down in a natural motion (off the magnet that is holding them) that would just Kick IT!!!! I am not the only one of your customers talking about this bag being the best out there but still needing some tweaking so getty up! I will personally buy 8 bags and give them to all my fishing buddies if you will make them for right handed guys."