Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Sling Pack

Cast and fish with total freedom. Our most popular pack allows the angler to wear it over one shoulder completely out of the way, but still have quick and easy access to all your gear. Large main compartment can hold multiple fly boxes, tippet spools and accessories. Plier sheath is designed to accommodate your favorite fishing plier with a secure attachment point for the safety lanyard. Forcep sheath on the shoulder strap for immediate access. Magnetic anchor in the forcep pocket securely holds tool in place. Zinger attachment point with magnetic anchor keeps tools from swinging around. Fly-drying foam patches inside. Adjustable shoulder strap and girth strap included. Fly-fishing packs in cloudburst, digital camo. Weight: 1 lb. Imported.Dimensions: 15"H x 9"W x 3½"D. Capacity: 472 cu. in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (315 reviews)
5 stars
230
4 stars
68
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
3
303 of 315(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best wading pack you can find,
March 12, 2012
By: SAOLakeErie
from Lake Erie PA, OH, and NY
"The Safe Passage Sling Pack is super comfortable, easy to access, and packs in all your fly-fishing essentials. This Sling pack gives you back the freedom of motion you lost by filling that flak jacket you called a fishing vest full of stuff you can never find again! As a fly fishing guide on Lake Erie's "Steelhead Alley," I need access to my terminal tackle quickly while standing in the river, I need the freedom to move and not feel weighed down, and I also need to carry enough gear to supply 2 or 3 anglers each day. The bonus about this pack? If you like to swing flies and cast two handed rods, this pack will not disrupt your casting—it carries extra tips, spools, fly boxes, and leaders, yet still has enough room for a beverage of your choice! Do I really need to say more?
-Greg Senyo
Owner/Outfitter, Steelhead Alley Outfitters, Ohio
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Time to replace my old Sling Pack,
December 17, 2014
By: Frankthesurf
from Llanarmon Yn Ial, Near the River Dee, North Wales
"I wanted to replace my old Orvis Slingpack for no other reason that I was bored with it!
After searching around I finally replaced it with the later version!
Now I have 2!
My lad can have the old one although to him its more like a rucksack as he's only 7 years old.
Great product and the best pack around.
"
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small but perfectly formed...,
December 16, 2014
By: HatchMatcher
from London
"While the pack was slightly smaller than I anticipated, however it is very comfortable and really well designed. A nice surprise was the fly pad inside the outer pocket - really practical and the forceps pockets are great. Best of all it is so easy to rotate it round to the front to get access to everything then pop it back out of the way."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice pack for the price.,
December 12, 2014
By: Miemar
"Well built, lots of pockets for convenient storage."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag, great size,
December 7, 2014
By: gforcegerry
from Suffolk, UK
"The most comfortable bag I have. Great on the river or on the flats, much better than bumbags and better balanced than backpacks. Makes you think about what you pack which is a benefit as it saves from packing needless stuff which you carry all day and don't use."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything you need, nothing you don't,
November 30, 2014
By: WNCFlyGuy
from Asheville, NC
"Love this little pack for short, day hike fishing on small water. Perfect when you don't need to lug every piece o gear you have. Light & sturdy; a minimalists dream pack. Feels less restrictive than a traditional vest. 5 stars."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
POSITIVE AND PRACTICAL,
November 14, 2014
By: GWRGWYR
from South Wales
"A simple and practical solution to angling on the move which keeps essentials easily to hand with room to spare for a few additions. Can be modified and tailored to personal preferences and keeps waterside .life clutter free."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sling Pack,
November 13, 2014
By: PaulWilkinsFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"Fantastic product. Enough room for a days fishing and then some. Easily swung over the shoulder for easy access to your items and when it's over the back, I've never had an issue casting."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack,
November 3, 2014
By: Lloydj
from Edmonton Alberta
"Lots of storage with this pack, just the right size and fits nicely in my truck for stopping at the river after work."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack,
November 3, 2014
By: MammaG
"Purchased this pack for my son, a new fly fisherman, and it is perfect!"
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and Comfort,
October 30, 2014
By: CanadianFlyFisher
from Whitby, Ontario, Canada
"I was looking for a bag to replace my backpack that would be small enough for bushwhacking, yet large enough to carry what I needed.
After reviewing many sling bags from many different suppliers, as well as talking to various, well trusted, people, I decided on the SafePassage, and I'm glad I did.
Opening the box, the first thing you see and feel is the quality of the material used in construction. It is thick and very durable, and able to stand up to anything you can throw at it.
The front fly pocket is just the right size to keep a collection of easy access go-to fly patterns. There are also pockets and clips for any accessories you may need for your day.
The main pocket is more than enough to accommodate 2 or 3 fly boxes as well as leaders and some split shot and strike indicators, or if need be, a couple of soft drinks and some stream side snacks! The handy elastic topped pouches in the main pocket helps keep everything nicely organized.
I would 100% recommend this to anyone. It is light weight (depending on how much you put in it of course), very durable, and looks good to boot. I have used this for several trips now, and hardly notice it on my back when casting or walking from spot to spot."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Last Pack You Will Need!,
October 28, 2014
By: Salmobilly
"Great quality. Enough room for everything I need for a couple of days on the stream. Durable and comfortable. Should consider a left handed model."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Too Good to Pass Up,
October 28, 2014
By: Mike0125
"I love this pack for two reasons. First, because it was offered through an Orvis social media promotion, at a price that was too good to pass up. Secondly, since I only had one of the more cumbersome chest packs, I wanted something that was a little more unobtrusive. This pack fits the bill. Carefully thought out features and placement of compartments allows me to easily manage all my tackle, while nicely staying out of the way while I'm fishing. Kudo's to Orvis for their forward thinking on social media and more importantly, the product at hand."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ditched the vest and couldnt be happier,
October 27, 2014
By: JasonM
from Australia
"I was finding my bulky vest was affecting my casting so decided to switch to the sling pack hoping it would make things easier and boy was I right. Not only was it much lighter but I had completed freedom for my casting arm to track close to the body and my casting on the water really improved.
I also made my own tippet spool retainer and tenders and let me free up room inside the pack for the other essentials.
Definitely wont be going back to the vest."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and functional,
October 27, 2014
By: ZenMoose
from Colorado
"I really like the design of this sling pack. It fits close to the body which helps from getting caught up in the willows. Zippers are top quality, can be open and closed with one hand. Even the smaller Safe Passage has enough room for a couple of fly boxes, a rain jacket, and a water bottle. I bought on for myself and then another for my son-in law."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
October 27, 2014
By: YinzerRob
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This little sling is not only comfortable but it fits everything I had in my vest with room to spare!"
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really enjoying this pack,
October 27, 2014
By: hazzard03
from Waynesville, NC
"I had been eyeing this product for awhile and finally pulled the trigger. So glad I did, love this pack and Orvis has done an incredible job helping guide me as I pick up this sport. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect pack,
October 27, 2014
By: DaveFromSC
from Tega Cay, SC
"I absolutely love this pack. I have one for my freshwater gear, another for my saltwater gear, and I just bought another for my son. It holds just the right amount of gear for a day on the water and keeps everything well organized. I love how it is completely out of the way while fishing, but easily swings to the front when needed. Great design, well made and very comfortable to wear."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, handy,
October 27, 2014
By: Wulffman
from Batavia, IL, USA
"I've had a chest pack, waist pack and a vest and I have found that I prefer this sling the best. The sling stays in place on my back, and slides easily to the front when tying on new flies and tippet. It doesnt get hot like a vest or get in the way like a chest pack. I like the size of this sling too, I think the larger one would be comparable to a back pack and would be a little too big to slide to the front, but thats just a guess."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
October 10, 2014
By: dd1974
from Cape Town South Africa
"Great quality bag - excellent detailing
bought the tippet spool holder as an accessory for the bag
"