Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Tri-Pack

A large capacity pack for the all-day angler. Fully adjustable fly-fishing backpack and dual front chest pack compartments to handle all your gear for a full day on the water. Perforated foam shoulder straps ensure comfort and breathability. Durable Hypalon patch for zinger attachment with magnetic tool anchor to keep tools secure. Convenient padded forcep pocket on back of chest packs. Fly drying patch on top of right chest pack. Front pocket of chest pack opens wide for easy access. Two front stretch mesh pockets. Breathable air mesh on the padded back panels of chest pack and backpack for ventilation. Backpack is hydration bladder compatible. Lots of interior pockets in chest pack and backpack for organization and storage of your gear. Easy-access side mesh pockets on backpack. Backpack in willow green. Dimensions: Front pockets: 12½"H x 5½"W x 4"D. 275 cu. in. each. Backpack: 13¾"H x 12¾"W x 6½"D. 1,140 cu. in. Weight: 2.5 lbs. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great pack,
August 25, 2014
By: doug98
from Montana
"I haven't tried it yet but it looks like a quality product. I would suggest some additions/changes for the next production run. I would like a hanger for the hydration bag. If you used one, it would just lie in a lump in the bottom of the bag. I'm a size Medium, but it looks like this could accomodate a much larger person. I don't know how you'd make the straps shorter without making it too small for you big guys, but I've got yards of straps hanging down after adjusting it for me. Additional d-rings would be good. One for bear spray and a couple for a rod-tube. Minor complaints, though..."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent pack,
August 23, 2014
By: CTsprey
from Guilford, CT
"I just used this pack for an 8 hour day on the river. It was terrific. It fit so well that it hardly seemed I was carrying any weight. Yet it had several fly boxes, a hydration bladder, lunch, and rainwear, and fishing tackle. There is enough room for the essentials. The 2 front pockets provide convenient access for flies, tippet and tools. I highly recommend it."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Initial impressions,
August 19, 2014
By: rwseif
from Everett. WA
"I haven't had a chance to get this out on the river yet butfrom trying it on and adjusting the straps I am impressed with the layout and quality. I like the combination of the back pack with the vest functions.I am looking forward to getting on the water soon to wring it out there."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Pack,
August 18, 2014
By: huntfish0230
from Alabama
"Plenty of room for all the accessories you need on the river. Great for wading and keeping all your stuff handy and not being uncomfortable with straps around your neck, etc.. Only thing that could improve it is if it had some loops on the front for attaching accessories. The magnets are a great added touch to keep nippers, etc.. from dangling. Catching it on sale made the pack a steal for the quality it is."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
useful pack,
August 14, 2014
By: notassmartastrout
from St Paul mn
"I am finding uses for this other than fishing, it also works well for hiking when the hydration kit is added. Well padded and comfortable."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good alternative,
August 11, 2014
By: Kyon
from Colorado
"Hot summer days in Colorado and hikes to streams in steep hills can indicate a need for an alternative to a full tackle vest or back pack.
This pack provides enough room for rain coat and lunch. Side pockets are handy for water bottles and a small water bladder can fit in the pack, perhaps at cost of additional items but still handy.
Front pockets can hold several fly boxes and internal sleeves can hold leaders, pliers, etc.
Comfortable, convenient pack.
"
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect fit for two locations,
August 5, 2014
By: flotillathehun
from san juan mountains--colorado
"at 65 we strive to travel light when we hike and fish at altitude. this pack fits our bill perfectly....light weight, handy and excellent storage"
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for travel,
July 30, 2014
By: FLGAWV
"I bought this more for a travel back and not for use while wading. The pack is excellent for wading. My gear is easy to reach and the weight is well balanced. I am very glad I bought."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack for Birding,
January 8, 2013
By: BigBrother
from Southern Shore
"Yes, I know that the Tri-Pack is designed for anglers/fly fishing but it also makes a GREAT pack for birding.
The back pack is large enough to hold rain gear, snacks, water and a birding book as well as a decent camera. The front chest packs are great for the new larger smart phones as well as good quality point and shoot camera and many additional items. These items are held secure and are easily accessible without having to remove the pack, but I especially like the fact that having the large front chest pack compartments helps keep the load comfortable and well balanced no matter where you are hiking.
I agree that the addition of external D-rings would be helpful but, as is, the pack is great for long birding trips on wooded trails or along the shore.
I appreciate the thought that went into designing this light weight and durable pack."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best pack ever,
June 5, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"this is a very handy bag, you can get at the front pockets while on the stream , will carry every thing you need for a days fishing"
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Don't Think a Fisher Tested This Product.,
April 15, 2012
By: Calvillo
from Portland, OR
"Well built, like the bladder compatibility, and comfortable, but....
Where are the D rings you can hook things like floatant, etc, to?
The pockets need to be designed with more than fly boxes in mind.
There are patches w/holes to pin your retractors/zingers to but they're on the outside of the pockets (left & right) so you're always feeling for tools you can't see . IMO they should be on the inner exterior of the pockets, so you're reaching to your chest, not out toward an armpit.
With a little more thought, Orvis could have hit a grand slam w/ this. A clear pocket that holds a fishing license on the back or on one of the front pockets (where the patches for retractors/zingers are). Absence of D rings are a fundamental oversight. A place to strap on a rod tube while hiking would be simple to do.
I'm probably going to try the pack again to see if it's just not being used to the gear, but at this point I'm pretty sure I'm going back to my Simms vest."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
April 14, 2012
By: twardtrout
from Saratoga springs ny
"The safe passage tri pack is very versatile had lots of room to carry every thing you need on the steam thought it was very comfortable to wear"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tri Pack,
April 6, 2012
By: fishndogs
from Montana
"This review is based on 30 days of fishing with the Tri Pack in a variety of conditions. First, this is a great pack that carries what you need for a full day of fishing. The pack is well organized and the ability to carry a water bladder is a bonus. The only negative comment that I have with this pack is that the upper chest strap buckle is not well secured to the strap. I lost the buckle during the third day of use, found it and then lost it again a week later. I would suggest that the buckles be sewn into the straps rather than as an add on. I ended up tying the chest strap together to make that work. I'll be asking Orvis for a replacement buckle and then trying to figure out a more permanent solution."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the flats,
January 20, 2012
By: colemanjan
"Intelligently designed combo back pack.
Really handy on a long day on foot on the flats chasing Bones!!
"
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picky Husband Perfect,
November 23, 2011
By: Groatcake
from Erie, PA
"My hubby is exceptionally picky about all his fishing gear. Almost nothing but Orvis will do. So when I caught him eyeing this pack at a nearby store, I knew it would be perfect for Christmas. And the shipping was a big help too!"
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
August 6, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I've been struggling with finding a product that would meet my needs. I want a pack with enough storage for a full day of hiking and fishing, have front pockets for convenient access to the essentials, an attachment in the back for a net, not overly bulky and comfortable. I finally found it.
This pack adjusts to the body with its cinch down straps to prevent flopping around. It's a bit overkill if you're just out for 2-3 hours of fishing in one area, but if you're going to be hiking and fishing all day, this pack is really great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe passare Tri pack.,
July 12, 2011
By: iflysw
from Rhode Island
"Just what i needed for the day hike to my favorite fishing location. Plenty of room in the back pack for rain gear with a lunch. Front zipper pockets large enough for a few fly boxes."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
June 23, 2011
By: Fankle
"This bit of kit opens up a whole new freedom to my fishing. I can go for a day out and know I have everything I need to handle anything a day on Scottish waters can throw at me. Well designed and very comfortable. Thank you."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Good!,
May 30, 2011
By: huntforlife
"Excellent! What more can you say or expect from Orvis. Alot of people think of expensive when they think of Orvis, I once did but if you one time give them a chance theres truely a difference in the quality.
P.S. I'm not getting paid for this advertisement!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safe Passage® Tri-Pack
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1