Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Standard Chest Pack

Our largest and most versatile fishing chest pack, the new Safe Passage Standard Chest pack offers three compartments, lots of interior pockets, and a key clip for storage and organization of your gear. Perforated foam and ergonomically shaped neck pad ensures comfort. Adjustable neck strap detaches for easy removal of pack. Net loop and two removable and adjustable waist straps (regular and large) for perfect fit. Durable Hypalon patch for zinger attachment with magnetic tool anchor to keep tools up against pack. Convenient padded forcep pocket on back panel. Removable foam fly patch attaches to top of pack or inside front pocket. Front pocket opens wide for easy access. Two front pockets designed to hold tippet spools. Back panel hand warmer for cold weather fishing. Fishing chest pack in cloudburst. Imported.Dimensions: 11"H x 8½"W x 4½D". Capacity: 420 cu. in. Weight: 1.4 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Standard Chest Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Standard Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality, Tons of Space,
December 8, 2014
By: creativityasaweapon
from Wausau, WI
"I purchased this to try something other than a vest. For some reason, I'm the type that carries every fly box onto the water with me (even though I'll only open one), and the vest was getting bulky!
The design of the bag overall is very thoughtful. Although our water is hard in WI this time of year, this seems like exactly what I was looking for!
My only complaint is that the straps are made for very tall people. Even at the smallest adjustment, the bag hung by my belt.My father, who is a larger man than I, also found this pack to hang too low for comfort. To remedy this, I used the small padded strap for my neck and one of the webbing straps to go around my waist.
While this isn't a deal breaker, it's something to be aware of.
Overall, I'm very happy with the pack and can't wait to get on the water!
"
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Standard Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good price , good product,
December 7, 2014
By: vernonstwhiz
from Sacramento, California
"I like my new chest Pack and plan to use it for salt water fishing in hot weather. It looks perfect for the job.
I have to say that a diagram with some images of the assembled item would have been nice. It comes with two sets of straps but doesn't show how they are used. The diagram and some labels could have also helped to show how the compartments and pouches are to be used.
"
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Standard Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product,
November 14, 2014
By: flyfish42
from West Yortkshire
"I boughit this vest pack after reading other reviews and now use it exclusively without needing to use a wading vest. I find it large enough to hold all I need with me on the river, and I find it easier to organize all my bits and pieces. My one small criticism would be that the neck strap an feel a little uncomfortable after several hours fishing - no big deal but I feel sure the Orvis designers can tweak this feature to improve the design."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Standard Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best birthday present ever! (Part 2),
March 27, 2013
By: IvorTheTiger
from Johannesburg, South Africa
"Got this with the Safe Passage Anglers Daypack for my birthday this year. I went into more detail about the two reviewing that, so all I will say on this is... Perfection!"
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Standard Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice pack,
June 5, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"This is the one to have if out for a few hours it will carry all you need , on the days when a f]ull pack ]is too large , recommended"
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Standard Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
again , Orvis comes through with quality.,
September 8, 2011
By: goldenbum
from central coast, ca.
"I recently purchased a chest pack from another company and I wasn't satisfied with the quality. So I sent it back and went to Orvis's consistent quality products and ordered the standard chest pack. Great pack , materials, stiching, design and all the little bells and whistles that are incorporated into this pack make it a " standard " Orvis quality product."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Standard Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for what I was looking for!,
August 28, 2011
By: WYfisher
"It will hold just the right amount of fly boxes, leaders and needed stream side tools. I plan to use it more as a fanny pack than a chest pack and it will work great attached to the Orvis backpack when I ride into the WY wilderness. The material is very tough. Not sure yet how the tool material is going to hold up with safety pin type connectors on the retracting spools. Great buy!!"
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Standard Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All the features you need but room for improvement,
June 27, 2011
By: Seth1
from Minnesota
"This pack has plenty of storage room, plenty of pockets and cubby holes to store stuff, and plenty of internal velcro space to attach things. The handwarmer and hemostat pockets are clever and there is very little to catch your fly line. If there is one complaint about this pack it is that the neck padding could be larger and more comfortable.
Overall, a very good pack that I intend to use for a long time."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Standard Chest Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really like this pack,
June 14, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I purchased this along with a Safe Passage day pack for hiking trips. I have been so happy with this set up. As someone who has used the heck out of the Safe Passage Sling pack I was a bit hesitant to try a chest pack without the ability to sling it over to the back. After using this a couple times, I'm pleasantly surprised how comfortable and convenient it is. It hangs just right to be both easy to access and out of the way when wading waist deep water. The storage is more than adequate for all my fishing accessories. I also appreciate the heck out of the net attachment on the back of the neck strap. It's the perfect place to hang a net and, like many others have mentioned, the one down side of the sling pack.
This pack attaches very securely to the day pack. I would highly recommend any fisherman take a look at this by itself for a standard outing, or as a pair with the Day Pack for the hiking fisherman."