Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line

The best line for fishing in fast or deep water. Orvis-exclusive 15' super-high-density front taper with a sink rate of 5½" to 6½" per second. Floating belly and rear taper allow for mending and line management for perfect presentation down in the water column.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Review 1 for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect 4 weight sinktip,
April 15, 2015
By: Chiedus
from Chicgo, IL
"The 4 weight sink tip worked flawlessly getting flies down to the trout in the streams of southern Wisconsin. The floating section was very easy to mend to keep in straight contact with the fly and allow it to stay deep, catch and land/release a 27 inch, 5lb steelhead. Will use /purchase again."
Review 2 for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
top shelf quality,
February 18, 2015
By: rakman
from windy wyoming
"I have lived with the mantra of "a poor man can only afford to buy something only once", and I don't keep up with the Jones's. My research of products and money keep going to Orvis items. Using the Class V sink tip was different than floaters. But with a little practice and patience I am now getting to the big Browns and Rainbows in my favorite tailwaters and lakes."
Review 3 for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast Sinker,
February 17, 2015
By: RovingFlyFisher
from Siesta Key, FL
"Had this line set up on my new Recon & Access 9 wt outfit and works great in the fast tides in Siesta Key Bay. Needed to get deep in the water column with the cooler weather and did the job. 5-10 sec count & over the grass flats for the tempting retrieve."
Review 4 for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line for streamers,
February 4, 2015
By: ChasVT
from Winooski, VT
"Great presentation and casting performance. I partnered this line with a Clearwater 9-wt for heavy streamers, and it's been great so far. Highly recommended."
Review 5 for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sink tip flyline,
February 3, 2015
By: Rainyfish
from Palm Bay, FL
"the 8 wt hydros class V sink tip flyline Is great to cast. the line has a very slick finish making casting a breeze. this is the first hydros line that I have used, but I will be getting more of them as my other lines need replacing"
Review 6 for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 20, 2015
By: FishBum13
from Pennsylvania
"I was able to purchase this line at a sale price through Orvis. I love it and i love that they make things like this more affordable throughout the year.
The product is as good as Rio or AirFlo sink tips. Thank You.
"
Review 7 for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 20, 2015
By: GeoD
"Works really well for me. Shoots and rolls out nicely."
Review 8 for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Class V Sink Tip Line,
June 12, 2014
By: justflyfishing
from Upstate NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use this line for casting big streamers to cruising lake trout and salmon in my local lakes. It turns over big flies with ease and has the proper sink rate to get my flies in the strike zone. Coupled with a helios switch rod this is a pleasure for all day casting. Could not be more happy with this product."
Review 9 for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Satisfied,
February 21, 2014
By: Civello
from Green Lane, PA
"I fish for Shad on the Delaware River in PA. This line is excellent when the fish are higher in the water column. I was using a 7 weight, however just purchased a 9 weight and also purchased this line for my new 9 weight. I highly recommend this line due to the ease of casting."
Review 10 for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not a sinking tip,
October 19, 2012
By: JohnJon
from Grand Lake Stream, ME
"The tip portion of this line does not sink. It is intermediate at best. It is supposed to be denser than the back portion yet a leader breaks the surface of the water faster and sinks quicker. This is a real suprise for an Orvis product. Line was returned w/o any troubles. Reccomend a full sinking "depth charge" for faster water."
Review 11 for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
To much memory,
May 18, 2012
By: WoolyB
from Weston CT
"A decent line. However to much memory. Must stretch the line before every fishing trip or it coils."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hydros Class V Sink Tip Line
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1