Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Access Clear Intermediate

Completely clear, slow sinking (1.25-2.0 ips) fly line designed for stealthy presentations in clear water to skittish fish. An ideal clear intermediate sinking fly line for stillwater or to get the fly down just below the wave action to stay tight to the fly. Small diameter line cuts through the air for optimized casting performance. A must have line for the serious lake fly angler.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access Clear Intermediate
Review 1 for Access Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased,
August 1, 2014
By: Gwyatt
from Tulsa, Ok
"I have been using the access intermediate fly line for some time and recently obtained a 7n wt rod, so I had to the 7wt, access intermediate line. I used it today, it worked just as I expected it to. i had recently read about how to to take the memory out of the line when you first receive, i followed the directions and line performed perfectly."
Review 2 for Access Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slick,
June 19, 2014
By: Pain
from E Longmeadow, MA
"This line is fast through the rod and goes like heck. I"m using it on the flats of Monomoy on the Cape where stealth is an issue. Line is really invisible and reacts well. It does however end up with tangles in the basket because of the softness. But other traits out weigh tangles."
Review 3 for Access Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth casting,
May 27, 2014
By: FishonaFly
from Washington
"Used for lake fishing and found that it was easy to cast from the float tube. Coiling up on retrieve some what at first but the next day it was fine."
Review 4 for Access Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliable Line,
April 29, 2014
By: dchristo88
from West Kelowna, BC
"amazing quality and a good price. Great line for trying to land a spooked fish like rainbow trout in still waters."
Review 5 for Access Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well marked,
February 4, 2014
By: RMab
from Glendora, CA
"Line is well marked and comes with a loop for attaching a leader.
Tried it out in swimming pool and
it sinks per the specs...
"
Review 6 for Access Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warmwater only,
August 7, 2013
By: andy123456
"Same here bought it without knowing it is a warmwater fly line.
Casts well in warm weather conditions though."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceOctober 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding this product. In order to make the line completely clear, the Access Clear Intermediate line is constructed with a monofilament core. Because monofilament cores are stiffer than braided cores, lines built in this manner tend to have more memory. In order to get this memory out of the line in cooler water or weather, stretch the line an arm's length at a time before fishing and the memory will be greatly reduced. Again, we appreciate your feedback. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceAugust 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding this product. In order to make the line completely clear, the Access Clear Intermediate line is constructed with a monofilament core. Because monofilament cores are stiffer than braided cores, lines built in this manner tend to have more memory. In order to get this memory out of the line in cooler water or weather, stretch the line an arm's length at a time before fishing and the memory will be greatly reduced. Again, we appreciate your feedback. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products.
Review 7 for Access Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Be wary,
May 21, 2013
By: SearunCuttGuy
from Oregon Coast
"Bought this line to chase searun cutts.This line takes a long time casting each day to get the memory out of it. I'm using an Access mid arbor reel. If it's the least bit chilly out then it will just lay there in spool size coils and tangle up. However, if its warm (over 70) and once the memory is out it does cast beautifully. I'll rate it a 2 instead of 1 for this reason. It should advertised as a warm water line. I have other Orvis lines and reels and love them."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Access Clear Intermediate
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1