Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros 3D Depth Charge

Get down fast with this integrated 30' sink head deep sinking fly line that will deliver your fly quickly into the feeding zone with minimal belly. Excellent for fishing deep in hard-running tides. Braided multifilament core provides performance over a wide range of water temps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Review 1 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goto Line,
October 22, 2014
By: woozyboy
from Flagstaff, AZ
"I love my Hydros 3D Depth Charge line. I have had a few over the years and recently had this one loaded up by Orvis with the backing on a ClearWater LA reel. When ever I am fishing the surf zone this is my goto line. It get's the flies down to the fish quick and is tough as nails. If i had to go with one line this would be it!"
Review 2 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mid Arbor meets the challenge,
October 16, 2014
By: Greenal
from Pittsburg, NH
"I just purchased the Mid Arbor 3 reel and had the 3D sinking line spun into it. Fished Northern New England and was delighted. Landlocked Salmon and Rainbow trout fought hard, but the drag system was smooth and well balanced for the conditions. I like to get down too this time of year and the Orvis sinking line was easy to cast and got down to the fish. Recommend to anyone."
Review 3 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for Getting Down,
October 13, 2014
By: OnTheRiseFlyFishing
from Southeast PA
"I use this line to drop unweighted muskie flies as well as to get down when I am lake fishing. The line shoots like a dream with minimal bulk and good texture to help maintain grip when double hauling."
Review 4 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sink tip line,
September 18, 2014
By: BigAl1945
from Auburn,ME
"Used this line in labrador in very fast
water. It casts like a dream and gets down in current. I have a depth charge now in 5,6,& 7 wt and could not be happier. It even handles a
sinking polyleader in 7 wt without much hinging.
"
Review 5 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sinking line I have used,
June 11, 2014
By: TenaciousP
from NJ
"I have the 350gr for my 9wt. I tried the 300gr, it cast well but I worried it would get beat-up by wind on a cast with a large un-weighted fly. I use this when I want to fish any further under the surface than a heavy fly and floating line. My use so far has been for Stripers in small channels. It is very easy to cast. If the wind is down, you can cast to the backing. The running line portion of this flyline is a bit noisy through the guides, but it shoots like a dream. The line sinks fast, true to the chart on the website. It has held up to saltwater so far without a problem."
Review 6 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
performs well,
May 31, 2014
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I fish for stripers off the rocks and need a line that sinks fast and can be cast in less than ideal conditions. I bought the 350 grain for my 9wt. It casts well and sinks fast. Caught some stripers on my first trip, so it performs the way i need it to. It did cut into my finger as i stripped the fly in. Bought a finger gaurd and would recommend the same for anyone buying this line."
Review 7 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent lake line,
May 22, 2014
By: LuisL
from Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I originally bought the 300 gr. version of this line to use on my 8-wt. Access rod in deeper Colorado stillwater, but really put it to the test in a smaller mountain lake in southern Utah. It was absolutely a difference-maker when it came to reaching splake hanging out near 20-25' in depth. A friend had good luck using another brand of intermediate sinking line to catch the cutthroats and tiger trout suspended in the upper and middle depths, but simply couldn't hook into the splake because of how long he would have to sit around waiting for his line to get low. The Hydros 3D Depth Charge on my reel had no trouble getting down quickly and allowing fast retrieves using Clouser minnows and wooly buggers. I did have some issues with tangles, but bear in mind that I was stripping into a lap basket in a float tube. With a little more space, I think the issue goes away. Overall, this line is an excellent casting, deep running winner for lake fishing."
Review 8 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charge up your surf fishing,
May 9, 2014
By: woozyboy
from Flagstaff, AZ
"Great product and is this stuff tough! Gets the fly down where you need it fast, just watch out that you don't get your line looped around structure down below, that is when I really discovered how strong it is and had to cut the line free. So feel assured the loop to loop connectors are bomber!"
Review 9 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Has its Uses,
April 30, 2014
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"I dislike fishing sinking lines from the start, but I've found this line to be useful when shad fishing for fish that are 20+ feet deep in the river. It has also served me well for slinging out over dredged channels in saltwater looking for fish down below the drop off. I haven't had any issues with it knotting up on me, but I use a stripping basket in the salt and let it coil on the boat deck in the river. It has more memory than a warm water floating line, for sure, but nothing like a mono-core T-series."
Review 10 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Well shoot...,
March 16, 2014
By: Spinnukur
from Reno, NV
"Not sure what to say. It's a great line for about the first ten minutes or so then it just knots up all the time. Every guy in our group that fish's Pyramid with the Hydros has the same issue.
Furthermore, what's disconcerting is that the local Orvis store as well as online customer service state they've never heard of the issue...right.
According to some of the old timers in the group, the old Hydros line was perfect then Orvis went and mucked it up by releasing a lesser quality yet more expensive Hydros product."
Review 11 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Fly Line Performance,
February 26, 2014
By: nakstm1
from Ibaragi, JP
"Although I thought that this sink-line was probably heavy feeling at first, it will very much easy to treat if it gets used to casting. This #8 Line also matches my #7 Access Rod.
I have been experienced very good fly fishing as Sinking style.
"
Review 12 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Giant Tarpon will break this line.,
November 8, 2013
By: kzin
from houston, texas
"I fished this line for giant Tarpon in Costa Rica, and it broke on me three times. I finally switched to another line, even though the replacement line was heavier than I needed. To be fair, Orvis replaced the line after I returned.
I chatted online with an Orvis fishing expert, and he could not or would not rate the strength of the depth charge line, arguing that the leader will break before the line will. After I informed him of my experience, he expressed surprise, stating that he had only broken one Orvis line, and he was only aware of three other customers who had broken lines. He seemed reassured by this; I was not.
The line has performed well in all other respects, but when other companies rate the strength of their big game lines at 60 and 70 pounds, I think Orvis is making a serious mistake by ignoring this issue."
Review 13 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good line,
December 4, 2012
By: icemnn
from Michigan
"I have both the 250 and 300g. They both work good but the 300g is a little heavy to use on my 8 wt. I use 300 for fast moving rivers, the 250 works great on lakes and ponds gets down but easier to cast from a float tube"
Review 14 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Depth Charge Does it Great,
August 19, 2012
By: BaxterGuide
from Portland, Maine
"I used the 300 grain on my trip to a lodge in Labrador. It did what it was designed to do get, the fly down to big Lake Trout. All I can say is the manager couldn't believe the big lakers I landed. One was the biggest Laker caught at the lodge with a fly rod since opening. I used another brand last year, Orvis Depth Charge is far superior. Get it it works awesome!"
Review 15 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Throw your old ones away!,
February 13, 2012
By: chawk
from Traverse City, MI
"Unbelievable performance. Fished them for three weeks in Argentina. Shoot great, minimal tangles in running line..just great sink tips"
Review 16 for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
big fish getter,
January 16, 2012
By: campdirector
from colorado and new mexico
"3D Depth Charged used on still water via kick boat, caught big trout.
Gets line down fast, streamers stay down where the fish are. Go bold, fish heavy line to catch big ones.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hydros 3D Depth Charge
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5