Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts

Rugged, pure cotton sailcloth canvas makes these cargo shorts for men breathable and comfortable; our exclusive Surfwash process gives them a broken-in look and feel, perfect for summertime exploration. Slash front pockets; flap-secured rear pockets. Roomy flap-closed bellows cargo pockets. Contrasting interior waistband with drawstring for a custom fit. Jumping-trout button-front closure. Casual cargo shorts for men in pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-44. 9" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 30(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Review 1 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts Review,
March 16, 2014
By: jjordan703
"The Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Short is one of Orvis' best new summer items to own! The Surfwashed fabric design is discretely higher-end for that less formal day that may blend into the evening. Count on Orvis for their classic and unique outer-ware design."
Review 2 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i need to wear them for a bit but so far so good!,
March 11, 2014
By: Greenfeez
from Salem Oregon
"I need to wear them for a bit so get the real feeling for them...I wish they were just a bit longer ...but i do like the leather accents and the thick material."
Review 3 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
March 11, 2014
By: rayGL
from Arlington, VA
"EXCELLENT quality and durability, and with great styling. Very comfortable."
Review 4 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts to last a lifetime,
February 19, 2014
By: ColC
from NSW - Australia
"Absolutely the finest shorts ever purchased. A little pricey, but who remembers the cost 10/12 years down the track. [An older pair of sailcloth shorts have lasted 12 years to date]. The product features have exceeded my expectations - quality and appearance are first class."
Review 5 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Cargo Shorts,
February 18, 2014
By: hschaffer
from Castle Rock, CO
"Fit, fabric and overall quality make
this product have no competition...
"
Review 6 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
great....BUT incorrectly sized,
January 31, 2014
By: ma2c
from CA
"Great Shorts, but way too small. ALL of my pants and shorts are size 34, but these sized 34 shorts were more like a 32, and they were out of the larger size, so I ordered something different. 3-stars only because of the size problems."
Review 7 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique,
August 19, 2013
By: chrispy
from Cape Cod
"Just ordered my second pair. About two and a half years after the first pair. I wear them constantly even through the winter here on Cape Cod.
Unique look, great fit, well made. The old pair has now become my painters shorts."
Review 8 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buttons Butons,
August 9, 2013
By: Kawin
from Spokane, WA
"Well made, draw string allows to be worn with out belt. The rear pockets buttons must be for fashion, because function is not good. They catch on everything, car seats, purse straps in a crowd, vines in the forrest. I leave my pockets unbutton and that seems to fix the problem."
Review 9 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SSS: Sexy Sailcloth Shorts,
July 12, 2013
By: MrOrvisian
from Hollywood Hills, California
"If you have nice racehorse legs, you need these shorts. They are great! They are a medium length and this is a good fit. Some shorts fit like an NBA player from the 80s, while others droop like a delinquent skateboarder. For the price, you are getting a top notch pair of shorts that will make you a total class act!"
Review 10 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cargo Shorts,
July 2, 2013
By: Zipman
"Excellent cargo shorts, sizing is correct, material is sturdy, have used them for sporting clay shooting,at the beach and hiking. I can determine from the short period of time that I have had them that they will last for long time."
Review 11 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Quality,
June 27, 2013
By: Daytona
"My second favorite cargo shorts !
Right after my trusted Orvis Zambezi twill cargo shorts. Comfortable and strong. And goodlooking
"
Review 12 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Washable...,
June 24, 2013
By: pepeee
"These well constructed pants are not inexpensive but are advertised as "washable" however, the first time I washed them the leather bled and stained the fabric... I still wear them but some care needs to be given the first time you wash them."
Review 13 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Cargo Shorts,
June 7, 2013
By: MidwestDude
from Iowa
"As other reviewers have stated, high quality cargo shorts..i.e material is heavier high quality, the brass buttons are heavy high quality. Pockets are decent size. The drawstring on the inside waist is nice. I think the length is great for a cargo short. Good comforatble fit (and I'm kind of picky). I ordered the Desert Tan- the color is better in person than in the photo. (probably a touch darker in person than viewing online, in my opinion) Giving it 5 stars as this is a high quality,comfortable fitting and nice looking cargo short. These might be my favorite pair on own. (And at almost $100, I would expect it to be 5 stars)"
Review 14 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Job!!!,
April 30, 2013
By: Funky
from Indianapolis, In
"These are the best and greatest cargo shorts that I have ever seen or owned. Highest quality in material and workmanship (as I have come to expect from every one of my Orvis purchases."
Review 15 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice,
April 6, 2013
By: astrobird
from MD
"I am a size 33 so the drawstring is a must when wearing without a belt.
Good quality and nice design.
"
Review 16 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
March 11, 2013
By: 34dodge
from muskegon, mi
"a great product that fit great with super delivery , thank you"
Review 17 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
substantial shorts,
July 11, 2012
By: Ge0rgesch
from snyder, ny
"well made and comfortable. Why an inner drawstring is included is a puzzle."
Review 18 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
July 9, 2012
By: JazzDoc
from State College, PA
"First, let me say that these shorts are very well made, scream quality and they're very attractive. They fit perfectly.
Unfortunately, after we washed them for the first time (according exactly to the instructions on the tag), the brown dye from the leather pocket tabs had leached onto the cloth. This did NOT happen to the Desert Tan pair, only the Bone pair, and I am sending them back to Orvis for exchange.
I also have no idea what the drawcord is for inside the shorts.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shorts, beware the rear pocket fasteners,
July 2, 2012
By: CGDGCDGuy
from Windsor, CA
"Love the shorts. Very comfortable, size is right on.
My only complaint is the metal fasteners on the rear pockets. They stand far out and catch on my leather bucket seats of my car every time I get in leaving a nice big gash in the leather. Bummer. I leave the pockets unfastened now."
Review 20 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and sturdy,
May 7, 2012
By: MtLaurelBob
"Picked these shorts from the Orvis catalogue. I was looking for a comfortable fit for everyday wear with enough utility to take on a hiking trip with my son. Great fit, lots of pockets, what's not to love?"