Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts

Rugged, pure cotton sailcloth canvas makes these cargo shorts for men breathable and comfortable; our exclusive Surfwash process gives them a broken-in look and feel, perfect for summertime exploration. Slash front pockets; flap-secured rear pockets. Roomy flap-closed bellows cargo pockets. Contrasting interior waistband with drawstring for a custom fit. Jumping-trout button-front closure. Casual cargo shorts for men in pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-44. 9" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 38(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Review 1 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made,
July 14, 2014
By: garyd1026
from long island ny
"the best made cargo shorts i have ever worn and i wear them all the time...."
Review 2 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The sail cloth shorts I just purchased turn out to,
July 11, 2014
By: Rullie
from Henderson,NV
"The sail cloth shorts I just purchased turn out to be of better quality then I expected. Goes to show that you get your money's worth with Orvis!!!"
Review 3 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well-designed and comfy cargo shorts!,
July 9, 2014
By: Icedogs
from Alexandria, VA
"Great material--sailcloth! Fit and finish are quality and stylish (as far as style goes with casual clothing). The pockets and buttons are very easy to access and use--strong ergonomics."
Review 4 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surf Washed Cargo Shorts,
July 9, 2014
By: Skywarrior
from Hutchinson Island, Florida
"Received a pair of surf washed sailcloth shorts as a gift. ( Wife knows anything from Orvis is always welcomed.) Over the years have gone through many pairs of shorts. None even come close to the quality, feel, fit and comfort of these. The material is unique. Lightweight yet extremely durable. Great looking and certainly the best shorts I have ever owned hands down. Don't think twice, buy yourself a pair... you'll be very happy you did."
Review 5 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surf washed Cargo Short,
June 17, 2014
By: Ben61
"Second pair because they're such great shorts. Look nice, high quality you expect from Orvis, great fit too..."
Review 6 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shorts to sail,
June 13, 2014
By: rolling1onriver
from Germantown, TN
"My husband loves these shorts. They are expensive looking with a casual, light feel. Can dress up!!"
Review 7 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Could be better,
June 10, 2014
By: Johnny41
"Nice lightweight, but apparently durable material. Cargo pockets are adequate; would be improved if an extra inside pocket was added for a cell phone. Should be offered in waist sizes such as 35 or 37 inches, though the drawstring partially compensates. Current version is overpriced when compared with other similar Orvis products."
Review 8 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Details,
May 28, 2014
By: LarryLightfingers
from Putney, VT
"These shorts have a great feel when I'm wearing them plus I keep finding more little details about the way they were made that make me say, "Yup---these are from Orvis.""
Review 9 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts Review,
March 16, 2014
By: jjordan703
"The Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Short is one of Orvis' best new summer items to own! The Surfwashed fabric design is discretely higher-end for that less formal day that may blend into the evening. Count on Orvis for their classic and unique outer-ware design."
Review 10 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i need to wear them for a bit but so far so good!,
March 11, 2014
By: Greenfeez
from Salem Oregon
"I need to wear them for a bit so get the real feeling for them...I wish they were just a bit longer ...but i do like the leather accents and the thick material."
Review 11 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
March 11, 2014
By: rayGL
from Arlington, VA
"EXCELLENT quality and durability, and with great styling. Very comfortable."
Review 12 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts to last a lifetime,
February 19, 2014
By: ColC
from NSW - Australia
"Absolutely the finest shorts ever purchased. A little pricey, but who remembers the cost 10/12 years down the track. [An older pair of sailcloth shorts have lasted 12 years to date]. The product features have exceeded my expectations - quality and appearance are first class."
Review 13 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Cargo Shorts,
February 18, 2014
By: hschaffer
from Castle Rock, CO
"Fit, fabric and overall quality make
this product have no competition...
"
Review 14 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
great....BUT incorrectly sized,
January 31, 2014
By: ma2c
from CA
"Great Shorts, but way too small. ALL of my pants and shorts are size 34, but these sized 34 shorts were more like a 32, and they were out of the larger size, so I ordered something different. 3-stars only because of the size problems."
Review 15 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique,
August 19, 2013
By: chrispy
from Cape Cod
"Just ordered my second pair. About two and a half years after the first pair. I wear them constantly even through the winter here on Cape Cod.
Unique look, great fit, well made. The old pair has now become my painters shorts."
Review 16 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buttons Butons,
August 9, 2013
By: Kawin
from Spokane, WA
"Well made, draw string allows to be worn with out belt. The rear pockets buttons must be for fashion, because function is not good. They catch on everything, car seats, purse straps in a crowd, vines in the forrest. I leave my pockets unbutton and that seems to fix the problem."
Review 17 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SSS: Sexy Sailcloth Shorts,
July 12, 2013
By: MrOrvisian
from Hollywood Hills, California
"If you have nice racehorse legs, you need these shorts. They are great! They are a medium length and this is a good fit. Some shorts fit like an NBA player from the 80s, while others droop like a delinquent skateboarder. For the price, you are getting a top notch pair of shorts that will make you a total class act!"
Review 18 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cargo Shorts,
July 2, 2013
By: Zipman
"Excellent cargo shorts, sizing is correct, material is sturdy, have used them for sporting clay shooting,at the beach and hiking. I can determine from the short period of time that I have had them that they will last for long time."
Review 19 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Quality,
June 27, 2013
By: Daytona
"My second favorite cargo shorts !
Right after my trusted Orvis Zambezi twill cargo shorts. Comfortable and strong. And goodlooking
"
Review 20 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Washable...,
June 24, 2013
By: pepeee
"These well constructed pants are not inexpensive but are advertised as "washable" however, the first time I washed them the leather bled and stained the fabric... I still wear them but some care needs to be given the first time you wash them."