Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts

Rugged, pure cotton sailcloth canvas makes these cargo shorts for men breathable and comfortable; our exclusive Surfwash process gives them a broken-in look and feel, perfect for summertime exploration. Slash front pockets; flap-secured rear pockets. Roomy flap-closed bellows cargo pockets. Contrasting interior waistband with drawstring for a custom fit. Jumping-trout button-front closure. Casual cargo shorts for men in pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-44. 9" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.422 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1
39 of 45(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Review 1 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sailcloth Cargo Shorts,
August 18, 2014
By: jtallerico
"I like the quality of the shorts. They fit well and I love the pocket stitching. The rope ties seem rather useless but other than that, an overall great quality product."
Review 2 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these summer shorts,
August 18, 2014
By: Stmimo
from Roanoke ,Virginia
"I now own SIX pair of these shorts . The fit and finish exceed my expectations. Sizing is accurate. Wish they were offered in 33 sized wast. Also, they don't hang down to my ankles ."
Review 3 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent !,
August 12, 2014
By: DrGus
from Rhode Island
"nice looking, very well made casual shorts - great for walking"
Review 4 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shorts,
August 5, 2014
By: KenRe
from Albuquerque
"There many reasons to like these shorts. The material is sturdy and still comfortable. The fit was accurate. The only objection I had with them were the two contrasting triangular tabs on either side of the front pockets. What is the story with them? Other than this personal aesthetic issue, I thought they great shorts!"
Review 5 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
greatest shorts ever,
August 4, 2014
By: theritz
from Toronto
"great fit and love the colour. I have had these before and they never seem to wear out."
Review 6 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good, but overcomplicated,
July 24, 2014
By: robola
from Grand Junction, Colorado
"I basically like these shorts but find the overall design and detailing to be a bit fussy. The nonfunctional little leather triangles serve no purpose and one is already coming unstitched, The drawstring is of dubious value, though perhaps it has some utility in the absence of a belt but has to be dealt with everytime the shorts are worn."
Review 7 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too thin, Too flimsy,
July 21, 2014
By: Tomberra
from Texas Dallas
"This is nowhere near sail cloth. I expected a thick, stiff, material like a real sail. This is NOT sail cloth."
Review 8 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made,
July 14, 2014
By: garyd1026
from long island ny
"the best made cargo shorts i have ever worn and i wear them all the time...."
Review 9 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The sail cloth shorts I just purchased turn out to,
July 11, 2014
By: Rullie
from Henderson,NV
"The sail cloth shorts I just purchased turn out to be of better quality then I expected. Goes to show that you get your money's worth with Orvis!!!"
Review 10 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well-designed and comfy cargo shorts!,
July 9, 2014
By: Icedogs
from Alexandria, VA
"Great material--sailcloth! Fit and finish are quality and stylish (as far as style goes with casual clothing). The pockets and buttons are very easy to access and use--strong ergonomics."
Review 11 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surf Washed Cargo Shorts,
July 9, 2014
By: Skywarrior
from Hutchinson Island, Florida
"Received a pair of surf washed sailcloth shorts as a gift. ( Wife knows anything from Orvis is always welcomed.) Over the years have gone through many pairs of shorts. None even come close to the quality, feel, fit and comfort of these. The material is unique. Lightweight yet extremely durable. Great looking and certainly the best shorts I have ever owned hands down. Don't think twice, buy yourself a pair... you'll be very happy you did."
Review 12 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surf washed Cargo Short,
June 17, 2014
By: Ben61
"Second pair because they're such great shorts. Look nice, high quality you expect from Orvis, great fit too..."
Review 13 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shorts to sail,
June 13, 2014
By: rolling1onriver
from Germantown, TN
"My husband loves these shorts. They are expensive looking with a casual, light feel. Can dress up!!"
Review 14 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Could be better,
June 10, 2014
By: Johnny41
"Nice lightweight, but apparently durable material. Cargo pockets are adequate; would be improved if an extra inside pocket was added for a cell phone. Should be offered in waist sizes such as 35 or 37 inches, though the drawstring partially compensates. Current version is overpriced when compared with other similar Orvis products."
Review 15 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Details,
May 28, 2014
By: LarryLightfingers
from Putney, VT
"These shorts have a great feel when I'm wearing them plus I keep finding more little details about the way they were made that make me say, "Yup---these are from Orvis.""
Review 16 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts Review,
March 16, 2014
By: jjordan703
"The Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Short is one of Orvis' best new summer items to own! The Surfwashed fabric design is discretely higher-end for that less formal day that may blend into the evening. Count on Orvis for their classic and unique outer-ware design."
Review 17 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i need to wear them for a bit but so far so good!,
March 11, 2014
By: Greenfeez
from Salem Oregon
"I need to wear them for a bit so get the real feeling for them...I wish they were just a bit longer ...but i do like the leather accents and the thick material."
Review 18 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
March 11, 2014
By: rayGL
from Arlington, VA
"EXCELLENT quality and durability, and with great styling. Very comfortable."
Review 19 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts to last a lifetime,
February 19, 2014
By: ColC
from NSW - Australia
"Absolutely the finest shorts ever purchased. A little pricey, but who remembers the cost 10/12 years down the track. [An older pair of sailcloth shorts have lasted 12 years to date]. The product features have exceeded my expectations - quality and appearance are first class."
Review 20 for Surfwashed Sailcloth Cargo Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Cargo Shorts,
February 18, 2014
By: hschaffer
from Castle Rock, CO
"Fit, fabric and overall quality make
this product have no competition...
"