Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line

Fishing for bass requires the ability to get big flies in tight places. This bass fly line has a compact head and short front taper to turn over the big deer hair poppers and sliders with ease. Drive flies into tight, heavy cover, under branches and back in holes where large bass lurk. Cast into the wind with less effort. Works great with heavy nymph rigs at short to medium distances.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 24(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Review 1 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
June 14, 2014
By: CWL14
from South Deerfield, MA
"Excellent bass line. Purchased the 5 wt for panfish and smallmouths that are typically on the smaller side. This line handles large flies very well. Doesn't curl, shoots extremely well."
Review 2 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
June 12, 2014
By: Cntryboy
from Jacksonville, FL
"I am new to fly fishing, and am still learning the in's and out's. I am able to cast fairly well, and the bass flies turn over very well. First day out, caught 4 small bass. I plan on getting more of this for my 5 wt."
Review 3 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fly line I've used,
April 29, 2014
By: mwrose777
from Texas
"I have used several brands of fly lines on my 6wt rod (TFO) and this Orvis line is by far the best I've used (cortland, basspro/white river, RIO, and Scientific Anglers). It loads up great, allows me to turn over large bass flies, and casting into a stiff wind is easier than ever before. Line memory is almost non existent. You won't be disappointed."
Review 4 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fly line yet,
April 14, 2014
By: stretch123
from Okeechobee, Florida
"I am very pleased with this fly line. It is the slickest and best shooting line I have used and floats very well. Will be replacing my other lines with this brand soon."
Review 5 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good upgrade,
January 13, 2014
By: Fishergramps
"I just received this line and have tried casting. It really allows me to cast the big bass flies well. I had to change out the line that was on the Encounter Series rod I recently purchased. I realize that this was an inexpensive outfit, but the rod and reel were fine. The line, however, was of very poor quality and would not lay out flat when casting because of memory of the reel. This new line really makes a difference and I now have what I need for fishing the ponds and creeks around my house. Thanks."
Review 6 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good line....,
January 5, 2014
By: POAlover
from Richland Center, WI
"My son has used Orvis' fly line before but just received this line for Christmas so can't really judge the longevity of it. He is definitely an Orvis fan though!"
Review 7 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A great bass and pike line,
November 4, 2013
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"Super line for your freshwater game fish. It feels a bit heavier like it is perhaps 1/2 weight higher than marked. It seems to cast farther than my other lines of equal weight and similar WF design."
Review 8 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
September 29, 2013
By: antlers
"I have been using Orvis lines exclusively since 1993 and have liked them all. The hydros is just the latest advance in lines. I will be using the 6 wt with my Orvis superfine rod."
Review 9 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Bass,
June 24, 2013
By: Mostwantedbear8
from Stamford, CT
"Used this up at my lake house in Maine for small and large mouth bass...enough tough enough for the random pike I catch. Excellent for whipping out those heavy poppers into tight spots. Definitely would recommend this line!"
Review 10 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
90ft with large popper,
June 17, 2013
By: Southpaw
from Atlanta, Georgia
"The first day I fished it from the canoe and it would punch in to the cover well at 40ft. Happy with that, but then I was messing around on a water level dock and wanted to see how far it would cast a large popper...I shot the whole line and 7ft leader. I had to come in and read the line length just to see if it was a short line or something. Great line."
Review 11 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bass,
February 25, 2013
By: icemnn
from Michigan
"if you are a serious largemouth or smallmouth bass fishermen you need this line it flips large deer hair flies with ease. You can easily tell the difference when using this line while bass fishing over a plan weight foward line."
Review 12 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worked great for me.,
November 5, 2012
By: Zeddediah
from Dallas, tX
""You can't "learn how to cast correctly" in a month!"
Of course you can. Then again, I've been fly fishing for 35+ years and have been told I can't cast worth a hill-o'-beans.
"
Review 13 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
casting popper flying!,
September 11, 2012
By: STBflyer
from Rockville, MD
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I used large size popper with this line. Surly it made popper fly far and targeted the spot I want! I have 8wt line and I am going to purchase 6wt line!!"
Review 14 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beginners,
September 3, 2012
By: PortalCreek
from Missouri River, Craig, MT
"You can't "learn how to cast correctly" in a month!"
Review 15 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Warm Water Line,
August 17, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"The slicker coating and refined tapers on this Hydros line compared to the Wonderline allows you to punch out long casts, in wind, with heavy bass bugs with ease. I use an Access 10' 7-wt with this bass line (up-lined to 8-wt.) and it shoots wonderfully. Good stuff!"
Review 16 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very nice line,
August 2, 2012
By: Gasconade
from SouthWest Missouri
"This line was purchased to fish for smallmouth bass on a 6wt rig. The line worked to perfection. It is smooth casting and slick. It is a tough line that will probably last for years."
Review 17 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line, even for a beginner,
July 30, 2012
By: UrbanFlyFish
"I have only been fly fishing for a month now, but I do go often and have learned to cast correctly. The line has definitely improved my casting distance and accuracy. The line casts smoothly and loads easily making it great for a beginner going after some warmwater fish."
Review 18 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Bass line,
July 11, 2012
By: CWL14
from Greenfield, MA
"I'll preface this review by saying I just purchased Wonderline Gen3 Bass line on sale. It is an excellent fly line so Im sure the Hydros is that much better. I picked up 10wt and overloaded my T3 9 wt and it casts awesome. Great float and has enabled me to get great distance with both poppers and big streamers.
Caught my first smallmouths on the fly with it! Highly recommend this line for warmwater fishing!"
Review 19 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fly Line,
May 16, 2012
By: whipfinish
from Indianapolis,IN
"After having issues with the Sharkskin line purchased from another source, my local Orvis Guide recommended the Orvis Hydros Bass line for throwing large deer hair poppers. Great selection! Not only does the line shoot farther but it strips well and does not have any memory issues in colder water. I'd recommend the Orvis line for any smallmouth fishermen."
Review 20 for Hydros Bass/Warmwater Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bass Fly Line,
March 29, 2012
By: BKATZ
from Chicago, IL.
"This line turns over ever bass fly I own. Big deer hair divers, poppers, marabou streamers, everything! I would reccomend this line to anyone who pond hops for bass. It's color also helps in darker stained water to indicate a strike where you may not be able to see. Great addition to my 6wt access setup."