Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Salmon/Steelhead

Designed to handle the unique demands of salmon and steelhead fishing. Super-long belly fly line body and rear taper (57' in an 8-wt.) provide a perfect platform for easy long-distance mending, roll casting, and single-hand Spey casting. Braided multifilament core will stay supple in cold, late-season conditions. Compact front taper will turn over bigger flies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Salmon/Steelhead
Review 1 for Hydros Salmon/Steelhead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent quality,
January 15, 2014
By: reelaffair
from isle lamotte
"very smooth , well applied to real and very flexible."
Review 2 for Hydros Salmon/Steelhead
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
used once,
March 28, 2013
By: Gannon
from Oregon
"I have yet to test the mettle of this product on a large fish. But feels great casting."
Review 3 for Hydros Salmon/Steelhead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Sockeye,
February 15, 2013
By: Brewmaster
"Used an 8W for red flipping on the Kenai last year. Only line in 5 years to last the whole trip. 100+ hookups and only signs of stress are small cuts in the loop coating from the leader. Bought another as a backup for this year. We'll see if it'll make it through a second season!"
Review 4 for Hydros Salmon/Steelhead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome control,
January 5, 2013
By: Steelhead13
"I recently purchased this line for Great Lakes steelhead. It has proven itself in all conditions from weather below zero. This line loads the rod perfectly and I can perform casts from a basic cast all the way to single-hand Spey casts. Great all around fly line. Thanks Orvis and keep up the good work!"
Review 5 for Hydros Salmon/Steelhead
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good,
December 28, 2012
By: Yukimoto
from Tokyo, JAPAN
"The fly line of ORVIS is not readily available in Japan.
I used a fly line of ORVIS for the first time, and it was an excellent fly line.
"
Review 6 for Hydros Salmon/Steelhead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line,
December 15, 2012
By: Fishmaster
from Monroe, NY
"Purchased the Hydros flyline and worked great for Salmon and Steelhead. Stays soft in cold weather"
Review 7 for Hydros Salmon/Steelhead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 18, 2012
By: Jekyll
from Salmon River, NY
"Caught over 350 Chinook salmon on this in rocky waters. It held up great! I like the subdued color of the line compared to the high-visibility line most other guys use."
Review 8 for Hydros Salmon/Steelhead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all around salmon line,
October 5, 2012
By: BigGamer
from Olympia, Washington
"Tried several but this line is my favorite line for salmon. They should have called this the all around salmon line, great in salt or fresh. Line is slick and makes long casts (105' and longer belly helps cast large flies). Wish it had a loop at both ends for easy change out (I had to add a loop connector) and no need for writting weight on line (guys have figured other ways to ID lines). BTW Steelhead are Salmon, and I catch many. Get this line and an Orvis large arbor and you can too."
Review 9 for Hydros Salmon/Steelhead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Line,
March 14, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"This line casts like silk. I used this line while fishing for Steelhead on the Klamath River in California and the Rogue River in Oregon with three-nymph rigs that felt like they weighed 5-pounds. This line turned the flies over and casted with such ease. Every time I had to cast the flies 50 feet into a run, I was amazed with the performance of this line. The Wonderline rocked, but this one takes performance line to a new level!"