Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Easy-Mend

The extra-long head creates a nymphing fly line that excels at mending and managing the drift at long distances. The orange-tip version acts as a strike indicator to help detect subtle takes when high-stick or Czech nymphing. Great roll-casting ability and can be used with single-hand Spey casts.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Easy-Mend
Review 1 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Line EVER,
August 8, 2014
By: Brooksido
from San Antonio, TX
"I bought this for my uncle and he sent it home with me to spool up for him. Before leaving for my Wyoming trip, I asked him if he cared if broke it in for him. By the time I returned, I told him he wasn't getting it back! Casts beautifully...excellent mending. Our "trout season" here in Texas is about Nov. through April...looking forward to using this line in the Fall!"
Review 2 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line to go with a great rod!,
August 5, 2014
By: brookie48
from UP of MIchigan
"Put it on my Access reel and Access rod. Really lays out and easy to mend and cast. It was a "reel" deal!"
Review 3 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice line,
August 5, 2014
By: Kjack
from Little Rock, AR
"using on a Helios 2 switch rod , 7wt and 11' length. This line make the rod come to life on the lake and river. No problems and lots of fish. I catch and release and have seen a lot of beautiful fish these past few weeks.
Thanks ORVIS, a product that works and works well.
"
Review 4 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 30, 2014
By: LittleRio33
from west michigan
"This line performs as advertised. Very slick and easy to mend. orange tip is a pretty cool feature as well especially in low light."
Review 5 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good in larger line sizes,
May 19, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"Pros: Good taper, excellent for nymphing with my WINSTON LT 6 wt. Also: For me it is the best line for my slightly too fast HELIOS MID FLEX 6 wt rod.
Cons: Sensitive against wrong cleaning (the first line I cleaned with a wet microfiber cloth and the coating came off, it was an early version of that line taper made 6 years ago). The new version floats very well and can be cleaned with all normal methods applied"
Review 6 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Mend Fly Line,
March 14, 2014
By: Mickle
from Georgia
"I loaded this line on my 4wt / 10' rod and have found it to work great. It casts well and lives up to it's name --- easy mend."
Review 7 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mistake in my previous review,
September 12, 2013
By: carping
"my apologies - thought the line was sinking, but it is not the line.
I'm using a new fluorocarbon leader for carp, which as it turns out is heavy enough to sink the tip of the fly line. Wow. With a mono leader the tip does not sink.. so the line is fine, it was user error. Sorry..
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice line but sinks,
September 10, 2013
By: carping
"the orange tip on this line acts like a sink tip - fishing in stillwater, after a minute or so the first foot or so of line hangs straight down in the water.
Other than that, the line handles and shoots well, rollcasts nicely, and manages well with heavy flies.
I'm going to cut off the sinking section and install a new loop..
"
Review 9 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 13, 2013
By: Oldbum
from Syracuse,NY
"Bought this on sale for an Access III reel.Orvis spooled it up and the line works flawlessly.Like the orange tip.Spot on Orvis."
Review 10 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Buy,
August 11, 2013
By: Anonymous
"I bought this item on sale, and it has performed well. I have only been out once on a small local stream and it does exactly what it is advertised to do. The strike indicator tip is a nice feature."
Review 11 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good line poor packaging,
October 30, 2012
By: BrownD
"I usually save my lines back on the shipping spool at the WMD of the season. The one provided is pressured paper and almost impossible to rewind.
The line itself works well and the orange marking is excellent for tracking in streams.
"
Review 12 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great flyline,
October 18, 2012
By: lars1999
from colorado
"I just bought the Hydros Easy-Mend flyline and could not be more pleased (especially since it was on sale!). Great line at a great price= great value."
Review 13 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very easy mending line,
September 19, 2012
By: Stroker
from Henry's Fork, ID.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I nymph fish every day on the Henry's Fork Snake River, ID. I have the line on the new Clearwater reel. I would suggest this line for novice, and beginners. to me I was over mending and hooking up at the tip of the rod."
Review 14 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice line,
September 7, 2012
By: Peddler
from North Carolina
"I bought this to replace an old bass taper. I wanted the Hydros Bass but was talked into this line at an Orvis corporate store. The longer front taper and head really doesn't do as well with bulky flies as a true bass line but during my test I can honestly say the line shoots very well and, in the short time I tested it, seemed to float higher than any line I've used thus far. The orange tip was VERY visible in the water at long distances. If I needed a line like this for trout fishing in lighter line weights I would really consider it. It seems to live up to its hype and Orvis customer service for swapping it out for the line I should have bought in the first place was second to none. Easy, polite and painless. Give Jackie in CS a raise!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
found it,
August 29, 2012
By: snakee
from missoula, mt
"Thanks to the orange tip can always quickly locate my line and fly on long drifts and casts, if I look away."
Review 16 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 21, 2012
By: Olejohan
from Roros; Norway
"I got this line last week. I have used it on my Helios 8' 4'' #3, and i am delighted. The line performed excellent, and loaded the rod perfectly, it is slick,shoots very well, and it is accurate. I liked the orange tip very much as it worked as a strike indicator perfectly. If I could wish, I would have liked the orange part to be two foot longer. By fishing in fast current i lost the sight of the orange tip when the cast exxelled 18meters. I was dry fly fishing for big trout and grayling, and on that trip I landet about 25 graylings and 5 trouts of aproximatly 2,5 pounds each. I am very happy with my purchase of bouth the rod and the line."
Review 17 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Deal at theSale Price,
August 17, 2012
By: ultraroger
from Topsfield Ma
"Went fishing with my new 5wt easy mend line and loved how it worked. My casts were easier to make and I got the extra distance without any extra effort. Thanks Orvis"
Review 18 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Welded loop issue,
June 12, 2012
By: JerryinNJ
from New Jersey
"After only a handful of uses, the welded loop is separating at the weld. I will be returning the line for replacement.
Otherwise, I use and like the indicator tip feature (bright orange floating tip) which eliminates the need for an add-on strike indicator in many nymphing situations.
"
Review 19 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros Lines,
April 6, 2012
By: FishingFox
from Payson Arizona
"I just bought my 3rd Hydros line.
They cast like a dream. Without any effort I added 15 feet to my Bonefish casting. That followed my experience with a 6 wt. float, and then a 5 wt. with the indicator tip.
My first day with the new line I caught a 22" Rainbow on the San Juan with "Buba" from Fishheads.
The next day two 21" in the improved area above kiddy hole.
Next it's Northern Pike with the 8 wt. and then a Bonefish trip! I'm looking forward to using all the new lines
The lines are a great improvement.
"
Review 20 for Hydros Easy-Mend
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grant fly line,
February 22, 2012
By: Flatlander46
from Fritch Tx.
"Tried this new line out in my yard, 40+ft. with little effort. Can't wait to get to Colorado for the summer."