Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Superfine

An excellent fly line choice for spring creeks, slow moving, and clear water situations where stealth and technical expertise are at a premium. Even the color is designed with stealth in mind. Specially designed weight-forward taper loads rods at short distances but still affords delicate presentations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.907 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 of 43(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Superfine
Review 1 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent line,
January 14, 2015
By: paul16
"Having just bought a superfine touch rod,this line was obtained to match it.I have used it once when grayling fishing and was deeply impressed with its smoothness, castability and most importantly its ability to present weighted and unweighted flies with a very high degree of precision. It floats high on the surface and lifts off with a minimum of disturbance. Strongly recommended."
Review 2 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice light line,
January 10, 2015
By: Fred818
"Can't wait to throw it at some brooks in the spring"
Review 3 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Presentation,
January 8, 2015
By: Happyfisherman6
from N Ireland
"I never thought that I would be as happy with a fly line as I am with this one.As it was a WF2 I wasn't expecting it to cast too far and I was wrong.This line casts where you want it to go and with a soft delicate landing that surprised me and not the fish.It is very fluid like through the eyes of my rod and lands nice and straight in the water.Top marks ORVIS for a really fine product."
Review 4 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice line but a bit heavy,
December 17, 2014
By: sfario
from Montana
"This WF1F shows all the quality that the Hydros fly line is noted for--however, when I weighed the first 30 ft it showed 75 gr. That's 15 gr over the standard of 60 gr for a weight 1 fly line. To be honest, it did feel a bit lighter than my DT2F fly line when cast in the yard so I'm keeping it"
Review 5 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
December 15, 2014
By: TheFrog
from Newville, pa.
"I bought this line in 3 different weights and they cast perfectly. No effort on long casts, did exactly what Orvis stated it would do. I am very pleased"
Review 6 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great on Superfine Glass,
November 30, 2014
By: WNCFlyGuy
from Asheville, NC
"Have this on an old Battenkill II disc drag on my 4 wt Superfine Glass rod. Perfect pairing! Cast great, tracks well, lands soft. This is my go-to small water setup and is just a joy to fish. Roll casts great w/ 2 small nymphs or can drop a # 22 parachute Adams on a dime. Love it!"
Review 7 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smoooooth!!!!!!!!!!,
November 24, 2014
By: Fish4tom
from Walla Walla Washington
"What a difference this fly line has made in my ability to cast (softly and with accuracy!!!"
Review 8 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
November 3, 2014
By: Wildshooter
from Arkansas
"Very pleased with the line. Works great with my new Orvis 5 weight."
Review 9 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice line,
September 15, 2014
By: GVSIL
"I've only used it a few times so far, but the line seems to work as advertised."
Review 10 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product, good service,
July 29, 2014
By: Harvey1949
from Nitro, West Virginia
"I was looking for a superfine line to refit my old hardy brothers flyweight real. This line really does the trick. In addition, the service provided me by you guys at the fishing department was superlative."
Review 11 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line!,
July 16, 2014
By: YooperInChicago
"Got this line for my small stream rod, a 7'6" 4 weight. this line casts line a dream. You'll put those dries right where you want them. As always Orvis products exceed my expectations!"
Review 12 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
July 10, 2014
By: AlfromIowa
from North Liberty, IA
"If you are a fly fisherman you will love this line. Does everything you want and it's light in weight and very strong."
Review 13 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2nd Orvis purchase,
July 3, 2014
By: twizdedquill
from West Springfield, MA
"Although the shipping cost seemed out of scope for a package of fly line, the line itself was everything I expected. The line casts very smoothly and is quite supple, allowing for smooth roll casts. Would have given it 5 stars except for shipping charge."
Review 14 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful light casting line,
June 6, 2014
By: CarusoJeep29
from Lake George Outlets, NY
"Wow! Just wow! Perfection at the top if your rod!!"
Review 15 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros Superfine,
May 19, 2014
By: Michi
"Great line for dry flies and nymphs as well. Helps land smooth casts at any distance."
Review 16 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for Glass,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I use this one for my Superfine Glass 4wt and also for my Penn´s Creek 4 wt bamboo rod. It shoots nicely and accurately.
For the glass rod it works better compared to my Hydros 3D Trout WF 4 wt line and this one doesn´t make a noise at all.
Good line, good colour, good taper. Floats well. I treat the line tip from time to time with Muciline.
"
Review 17 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line!,
May 5, 2014
By: breamfest
from clinton, MS
"I have all my reels that go with my glass rods spooled with this line. It loads great and lays out like a whisper."
Review 18 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cant wait,
March 11, 2014
By: nb2001
"Can't wait to try my new line. So far seems way slicker than my SA line"
Review 19 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
January 15, 2014
By: SGimshewicz
"This is a great fly line that is very slick and allows you to easily shoot distances when you cannot perform a full cast. It works flawless with dries, nymphs and streamers. I am using it in 4 weight and highly recommend it as an overall good trout fly line."
Review 20 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased,
January 14, 2014
By: billbish
from plymouth meeting,Pa
"As usual,Orvis continues to exceed my expectations"