Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Superfine

An excellent fly line choice for spring creeks, slow moving, and clear water situations where stealth and technical expertise are at a premium. Even the color is designed with stealth in mind. Specially designed weight-forward taper loads rods at short distances but still affords delicate presentations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 40(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Superfine
Review 1 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice line but a bit heavy,
December 17, 2014
By: sfario
from Montana
"This WF1F shows all the quality that the Hydros fly line is noted for--however, when I weighed the first 30 ft it showed 75 gr. That's 15 gr over the standard of 60 gr for a weight 1 fly line. To be honest, it did feel a bit lighter than my DT2F fly line when cast in the yard so I'm keeping it"
Review 2 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
December 15, 2014
By: TheFrog
from Newville, pa.
"I bought this line in 3 different weights and they cast perfectly. No effort on long casts, did exactly what Orvis stated it would do. I am very pleased"
Review 3 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great on Superfine Glass,
November 30, 2014
By: WNCFlyGuy
from Asheville, NC
"Have this on an old Battenkill II disc drag on my 4 wt Superfine Glass rod. Perfect pairing! Cast great, tracks well, lands soft. This is my go-to small water setup and is just a joy to fish. Roll casts great w/ 2 small nymphs or can drop a # 22 parachute Adams on a dime. Love it!"
Review 4 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smoooooth!!!!!!!!!!,
November 24, 2014
By: Fish4tom
from Walla Walla Washington
"What a difference this fly line has made in my ability to cast (softly and with accuracy!!!"
Review 5 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
November 3, 2014
By: Wildshooter
from Arkansas
"Very pleased with the line. Works great with my new Orvis 5 weight."
Review 6 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice line,
September 15, 2014
By: GVSIL
"I've only used it a few times so far, but the line seems to work as advertised."
Review 7 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product, good service,
July 29, 2014
By: Harvey1949
from Nitro, West Virginia
"I was looking for a superfine line to refit my old hardy brothers flyweight real. This line really does the trick. In addition, the service provided me by you guys at the fishing department was superlative."
Review 8 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line!,
July 16, 2014
By: YooperInChicago
"Got this line for my small stream rod, a 7'6" 4 weight. this line casts line a dream. You'll put those dries right where you want them. As always Orvis products exceed my expectations!"
Review 9 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
July 10, 2014
By: AlfromIowa
from North Liberty, IA
"If you are a fly fisherman you will love this line. Does everything you want and it's light in weight and very strong."
Review 10 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2nd Orvis purchase,
July 3, 2014
By: twizdedquill
from West Springfield, MA
"Although the shipping cost seemed out of scope for a package of fly line, the line itself was everything I expected. The line casts very smoothly and is quite supple, allowing for smooth roll casts. Would have given it 5 stars except for shipping charge."
Review 11 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful light casting line,
June 6, 2014
By: CarusoJeep29
from Lake George Outlets, NY
"Wow! Just wow! Perfection at the top if your rod!!"
Review 12 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros Superfine,
May 19, 2014
By: Michi
"Great line for dry flies and nymphs as well. Helps land smooth casts at any distance."
Review 13 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for Glass,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I use this one for my Superfine Glass 4wt and also for my Penn´s Creek 4 wt bamboo rod. It shoots nicely and accurately.
For the glass rod it works better compared to my Hydros 3D Trout WF 4 wt line and this one doesn´t make a noise at all.
Good line, good colour, good taper. Floats well. I treat the line tip from time to time with Muciline.
"
Review 14 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line!,
May 5, 2014
By: breamfest
from clinton, MS
"I have all my reels that go with my glass rods spooled with this line. It loads great and lays out like a whisper."
Review 15 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cant wait,
March 11, 2014
By: nb2001
"Can't wait to try my new line. So far seems way slicker than my SA line"
Review 16 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
January 15, 2014
By: SGimshewicz
"This is a great fly line that is very slick and allows you to easily shoot distances when you cannot perform a full cast. It works flawless with dries, nymphs and streamers. I am using it in 4 weight and highly recommend it as an overall good trout fly line."
Review 17 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased,
January 14, 2014
By: billbish
from plymouth meeting,Pa
"As usual,Orvis continues to exceed my expectations"
Review 18 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly line,
November 26, 2013
By: Gruntf15e
from Georgia
"I looked and looked for a good 1 wt fly line and after reading many reviews, I settled on the Orvis.
After receiving the line and installing it on my reel, I am very happy with the line. It is definitely what I was looking for!
"
Review 19 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Fly Line,
September 14, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I have used the Orvis Hydros Superfine lines in WF4-, 5- and 6-weights since its introduction. It loads my Superfine and Orvis bamboo rods beautifully on the shorter casts that I often employ on Virginia’s smaller streams, yet can really lay out longer casts on open New England Lakes. Fantastic..!"
Review 20 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Follow Up,
September 10, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"I purchased this line back in April and it has performed well all season.
Perhaps the highlight of that performance was this past weekend when I won the Pa Casting Competition in Carlisle Pa. I competed in the angler division and won 1st.
My score was the 2nd highest in the tournament which was comprised of an amateur (angler) devision and an expert division which included many casting instructors from across the area.
while many of the competitor choose lines know for their distance I choose a line that I knew I could be accurate with.
THIS, is that line. I tied the other two top competitors for the highest score in accuracy. I also scored an 80' cast down the lane for distance.
All the competition stuff aside. this line fishes far above the rest and is my favorite fishing line. It's performance is unmatched and the boys in Manchester have dialed in yet another piece of my equipment that makes me one with the fly.
try it for yourself and feel the connection."