Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Superfine

An excellent fly line choice for spring creeks, slow moving, and clear water situations where stealth and technical expertise are at a premium. Even the color is designed with stealth in mind. Specially designed weight-forward taper loads rods at short distances but still affords delicate presentations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.92 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Superfine
Review 1 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cant wait,
March 11, 2014
By: nb2001
"Can't wait to try my new line. So far seems way slicker than my SA line"
Review 2 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
January 15, 2014
By: SGimshewicz
"This is a great fly line that is very slick and allows you to easily shoot distances when you cannot perform a full cast. It works flawless with dries, nymphs and streamers. I am using it in 4 weight and highly recommend it as an overall good trout fly line."
Review 3 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased,
January 14, 2014
By: billbish
from plymouth meeting,Pa
"As usual,Orvis continues to exceed my expectations"
Review 4 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly line,
November 26, 2013
By: Gruntf15e
from Georgia
"I looked and looked for a good 1 wt fly line and after reading many reviews, I settled on the Orvis.
After receiving the line and installing it on my reel, I am very happy with the line. It is definitely what I was looking for!
"
Review 5 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Fly Line,
September 14, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I have used the Orvis Hydros Superfine lines in WF4-, 5- and 6-weights since its introduction. It loads my Superfine and Orvis bamboo rods beautifully on the shorter casts that I often employ on Virginia’s smaller streams, yet can really lay out longer casts on open New England Lakes. Fantastic..!"
Review 6 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Follow Up,
September 10, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"I purchased this line back in April and it has performed well all season.
Perhaps the highlight of that performance was this past weekend when I won the Pa Casting Competition in Carlisle Pa. I competed in the angler division and won 1st.
My score was the 2nd highest in the tournament which was comprised of an amateur (angler) devision and an expert division which included many casting instructors from across the area.
while many of the competitor choose lines know for their distance I choose a line that I knew I could be accurate with.
THIS, is that line. I tied the other two top competitors for the highest score in accuracy. I also scored an 80' cast down the lane for distance.
All the competition stuff aside. this line fishes far above the rest and is my favorite fishing line. It's performance is unmatched and the boys in Manchester have dialed in yet another piece of my equipment that makes me one with the fly.
try it for yourself and feel the connection."
Review 7 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
September 10, 2013
By: stokes
from Staten Island,NY
"I had an inferior brand on my 2wt Clearwater and was thinking I'd never get the hang of a light rig.Well this line did the trick,has me casting like I know what I'm doing! Short delicate casts are a breeze now,line mends very easilly as well."
Review 8 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Under Whelming,
August 27, 2013
By: FrDaddy
"I was very excited to receive this line and loaded it right away as we are heading to Gunnison CO in a week. The wind was light and variable and I tested it on three different rods, slow, medium, and fast action. I then compared it directly to my old Wonderline and a competitors line just to see. Its skinny, and a cool color, but it did not give me the distance, accuracy, or the feel I expect from a premium Orvis product. Over all, under whelming."
Review 9 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Precise Presentation,
July 23, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"This is the best line I have found for my full flex rods. The taper design performs great at close range as well as long. This line roll casts well and has allowed me to realize the full potential of my 7'9" Far and Fine. This line allows my rod to live up to it's name!"
Review 10 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly line,
May 23, 2013
By: fishinbob
"excelant fly line for light rod 1-2 lb for 5'6" fly pole"
Review 11 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for spring Steelhead!,
April 8, 2013
By: hikerted1
from Grand Rapids, MI
"This line casts great and color doesn't spook wary fish"
Review 12 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wnderful Line,
January 31, 2013
By: habusan
from Virginia
"First fishing was excellent. The line performed as advertised. I must wait to see how it does in the hot weather."
Review 13 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Line,
January 21, 2013
By: RReese
from NW Arkansas
"For slower and softer rods this line is awesome. This line shoots and turns over well on all my 3 and 4 wt rods , my longest rod is 8 ft. I like short light rods that are med. to slow action and this line is ideal for them. R Reese"
Review 14 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly line fits,
January 10, 2013
By: flyfish63
from Bend, OR
"the Super Fine Line fits the Trout Bum series like a glove - with the 2wt it doesn't overpower it at all"
Review 15 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine is the best!,
December 31, 2012
By: noviceflyguy
from eastern PA
"Hydros Superfine is the perfect line for small stream presentations. Some of my favorite trout spots require a subtle cast and I feel like this line does it better than any other. It's super slick and the willow color makes this line even better. The Orvis ID is also a great feature when removing and storing lines. When every cast can mean the difference between spooking trout or not, this line is the one to use."
Review 16 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rod saver!,
November 1, 2012
By: NJMP
from Gales Ferry, Ct
"I bought this Superfine wf4f to use with my Trout Bum 7.5' 4 weight. A perfect match as is the wf5f Superfine with my 8' Trout Bum. The rod not only loads up close, as designed, but can make much longer and accurate casts than anticipated. The good news does not end there. Other 4 weight rods of mine, that were problematical in matching with other 4 weight lines, load perfectly with the Superfine wf4f line. The line is a rod saver, allowing me to get the full potential from rods on whcih I had previously almost given up. This line also gives testament to benefits of pairing Orvis rods to Orvis lines for optimun performance. Highest recommendation!"
Review 17 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Such a Smooth casting Line,
September 26, 2012
By: captjim
from Middletown, DE
"I just recently purchased a 2 weight line for my Superfine 2 weight rod and CFO I reel. What an excellent combinations. The line casts so smoothly and balances extremely well with the rod. The shorter weight forward head allows me to get unbelievably long casts with this 2 weight rod. I am going to switch over to this line for my 3 and 4 weight Hydros rods as well"
Review 18 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sneak Attack,
September 13, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"I got this line to help hunt trout in the mountains. It works great. From the color to the great shape of the line and to the new improved coatings on it to make it slicker. I love this line and would tell anybody to get one."
Review 19 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine 2wt,
September 10, 2012
By: OregonTroutBum
from Oregon
"I recently purchased a 2 wt rod and needed some help deciding what reel and line to use for it. The Fly guys at the Bend store are so knowledgable and friendly, they helped me decide on the Access reel, and strung it up with backing for me, but they were out of the Superfine fly line....Ty K ordered it from their store and had it quick shipped and I had it before I even needed to fish it!
The line is incredibly easy to cast and has a great feel to it. I had cast my 2 wt with a different line and the response and feel with the Hydros Superfine is remarkable! I am so glad I asked Ty K at the Bend store about which line to use...catching 14" cutts on the Hydros Superfine is incredible and the price can't be beat."
Review 20 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Line,
August 26, 2012
By: jmb8785
from Maryland
"I bought the 4wt line for my 4wt Superfine Touch rod and it works like a charm. Loads the rod perfectly, casts perfectly. The only thing I don't like is the packaging. When I was putting the line on the reel the cardboard separated and it caused a birds nest. Other than that LOVE it. You will not regret getting this line."