Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Superfine

An excellent fly line choice for spring creeks, slow moving, and clear water situations where stealth and technical expertise are at a premium. Even the color is designed with stealth in mind. Specially designed weight-forward taper loads rods at short distances but still affords delicate presentations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.906 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 32(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Superfine
Review 1 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line!,
July 16, 2014
By: YooperInChicago
"Got this line for my small stream rod, a 7'6" 4 weight. this line casts line a dream. You'll put those dries right where you want them. As always Orvis products exceed my expectations!"
Review 2 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
July 10, 2014
By: AlfromIowa
from North Liberty, IA
"If you are a fly fisherman you will love this line. Does everything you want and it's light in weight and very strong."
Review 3 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2nd Orvis purchase,
July 3, 2014
By: twizdedquill
from West Springfield, MA
"Although the shipping cost seemed out of scope for a package of fly line, the line itself was everything I expected. The line casts very smoothly and is quite supple, allowing for smooth roll casts. Would have given it 5 stars except for shipping charge."
Review 4 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful light casting line,
June 6, 2014
By: CarusoJeep29
from Lake George Outlets, NY
"Wow! Just wow! Perfection at the top if your rod!!"
Review 5 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros Superfine,
May 19, 2014
By: Michi
"Great line for dry flies and nymphs as well. Helps land smooth casts at any distance."
Review 6 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for Glass,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I use this one for my Superfine Glass 4wt and also for my Penn´s Creek 4 wt bamboo rod. It shoots nicely and accurately.
For the glass rod it works better compared to my Hydros 3D Trout WF 4 wt line and this one doesn´t make a noise at all.
Good line, good colour, good taper. Floats well. I treat the line tip from time to time with Muciline.
"
Review 7 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line!,
May 5, 2014
By: breamfest
from clinton, MS
"I have all my reels that go with my glass rods spooled with this line. It loads great and lays out like a whisper."
Review 8 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cant wait,
March 11, 2014
By: nb2001
"Can't wait to try my new line. So far seems way slicker than my SA line"
Review 9 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
January 15, 2014
By: SGimshewicz
"This is a great fly line that is very slick and allows you to easily shoot distances when you cannot perform a full cast. It works flawless with dries, nymphs and streamers. I am using it in 4 weight and highly recommend it as an overall good trout fly line."
Review 10 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased,
January 14, 2014
By: billbish
from plymouth meeting,Pa
"As usual,Orvis continues to exceed my expectations"
Review 11 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly line,
November 26, 2013
By: Gruntf15e
from Georgia
"I looked and looked for a good 1 wt fly line and after reading many reviews, I settled on the Orvis.
After receiving the line and installing it on my reel, I am very happy with the line. It is definitely what I was looking for!
"
Review 12 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Fly Line,
September 14, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I have used the Orvis Hydros Superfine lines in WF4-, 5- and 6-weights since its introduction. It loads my Superfine and Orvis bamboo rods beautifully on the shorter casts that I often employ on Virginia’s smaller streams, yet can really lay out longer casts on open New England Lakes. Fantastic..!"
Review 13 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Follow Up,
September 10, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"I purchased this line back in April and it has performed well all season.
Perhaps the highlight of that performance was this past weekend when I won the Pa Casting Competition in Carlisle Pa. I competed in the angler division and won 1st.
My score was the 2nd highest in the tournament which was comprised of an amateur (angler) devision and an expert division which included many casting instructors from across the area.
while many of the competitor choose lines know for their distance I choose a line that I knew I could be accurate with.
THIS, is that line. I tied the other two top competitors for the highest score in accuracy. I also scored an 80' cast down the lane for distance.
All the competition stuff aside. this line fishes far above the rest and is my favorite fishing line. It's performance is unmatched and the boys in Manchester have dialed in yet another piece of my equipment that makes me one with the fly.
try it for yourself and feel the connection."
Review 14 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
September 10, 2013
By: stokes
from Staten Island,NY
"I had an inferior brand on my 2wt Clearwater and was thinking I'd never get the hang of a light rig.Well this line did the trick,has me casting like I know what I'm doing! Short delicate casts are a breeze now,line mends very easilly as well."
Review 15 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Under Whelming,
August 27, 2013
By: FrDaddy
"I was very excited to receive this line and loaded it right away as we are heading to Gunnison CO in a week. The wind was light and variable and I tested it on three different rods, slow, medium, and fast action. I then compared it directly to my old Wonderline and a competitors line just to see. Its skinny, and a cool color, but it did not give me the distance, accuracy, or the feel I expect from a premium Orvis product. Over all, under whelming."
Review 16 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Precise Presentation,
July 23, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"This is the best line I have found for my full flex rods. The taper design performs great at close range as well as long. This line roll casts well and has allowed me to realize the full potential of my 7'9" Far and Fine. This line allows my rod to live up to it's name!"
Review 17 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly line,
May 23, 2013
By: fishinbob
"excelant fly line for light rod 1-2 lb for 5'6" fly pole"
Review 18 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for spring Steelhead!,
April 8, 2013
By: hikerted1
from Grand Rapids, MI
"This line casts great and color doesn't spook wary fish"
Review 19 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wnderful Line,
January 31, 2013
By: habusan
from Virginia
"First fishing was excellent. The line performed as advertised. I must wait to see how it does in the hot weather."
Review 20 for Hydros Superfine
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Line,
January 21, 2013
By: RReese
from NW Arkansas
"For slower and softer rods this line is awesome. This line shoots and turns over well on all my 3 and 4 wt rods , my longest rod is 8 ft. I like short light rods that are med. to slow action and this line is ideal for them. R Reese"