Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Power Taper

Feel your cast and improve your timing and line speed with this slightly overweighted fly line. Built one half-size heavier than our standard trout fly line to load rods quickly, easily generating high line speeds and helping to turn over bushy terrestrials and big flies easily and accurately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Power Taper
Review 1 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value and Performance,
March 20, 2014
By: Crowbait
from Loysville, PA
"The slick surface and "Power Taper" allow longer casts with precise placement requiring less power from the rod. Great choice of line for beginner to seasoned fishers. You will not be disappointed."
Review 2 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Much better than the competitors!,
August 10, 2013
By: Gesj
from Central NJ
"Had previously been using a 4 Weight DT from a competitor for small stream trout. I bought the hydros in 5 weight to overline my 4 weight rod for bass on hot summer days. What a difference in the hydros! Incredibly smooth action which loads very easily and great for punching out big flies and poppers. Money well spent."
Review 3 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Power Taper on a fast rod,
July 29, 2013
By: Otter11
from Nebraska
"I was using a regular line on a competitor's rod and was ready to sell the entire package. This was a very fast rod and I was have a tough time feeling it load. I put on the Hydros Power Taper and it's like buying a whole new rod! I can't recommend this line enough for fast action rods!"
Review 4 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
April 6, 2013
By: sffisherman
from San Francisco
"Very slick easy casting line. Shoots through the guides. I ordered this line spooled on to an Access reel in 6wt and it really casts easily."
Review 5 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my go to line.,
February 21, 2013
By: heo9542
from San Diego, CA
"You can cast heavy flies a mile with this line. There is also no doubt when this line loads the rod. This is my number one bass line."
Review 6 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Taper,
October 19, 2012
By: JohnJon
from Grand Lake Stream, ME
"Have used this power Taper all season with a Helois rod. This combination is unbeatable. Made this purchase as a back-up."
Review 7 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios Powertaper,
September 5, 2012
By: WiscoSkip
from Milwaukee, WI
"I paired this line to compliment my Helios 905 Tip flex. What I didn't realize is that I basically ended up purchasing a new rod! This line is phenomonal with the powerful tip flex Helios, it loads, shoots, and casts absolutely beautiful. The accuracy imparted in my casting by the marriage of the rod and line is really something else. Personally they should rename this model of the Hydros line the Helios Line. This line has become the new standard on my Helios rods!"
Review 8 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect weight,
August 4, 2012
By: Rigs
"What an excelent line, after trying other 'named' lines this line turned out to be the perfect weight and length for my rod. The new coating made it fly through the rod rings. Excellent at short or long distance.
A++++
"
Review 9 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great flyline!,
July 3, 2012
By: SVGuy
from Afton, WY
"I have used Wonderlines since they first became available, but this line seems to surpass the qualities of all the others. I purchased this line in 6 weight for my boat rod because I use large dry flies, large weighted nymphs, and fish muddlers barely subsurface a lot. It turns them all over beautifully, the tip stays afloat extremely well, and so far I haven't discovered any stress marks in the line, despite some pretty serious use. Thanks for an excellent product!"
Review 10 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
June 4, 2012
By: Dfwtroutguy
from Dallas, TX
"Been looking for a great line for my fastest 5 wt., and this is the best I've found to load it at shorter distances without over-lining. The bright yellow color is not my favorite and I'd like to see it offered in a more subtle color, but not a big enough deal to knock a star off of this great line. It handles every cast I need for trout very well, even in close and delicate."
Review 11 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Power taper,
May 22, 2012
By: Gumby26
from Wisconsin
"Put the 8 weight power taper on my 8 weight rod. The line floats well and casts like a bullet. Turned over my clouser type patterns, bass poppers and even some medium size pike streamers very well. Was also surprised at the ability to mend with this line. This is the best casting line I have used."
Review 12 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for!,
March 22, 2012
By: kzoo1
"I picked up this line for my Access 906-4 tip flex rod. I was contemplating going with a 7 wt line, but with the availability of Power Taper (1/2 weight heavier) I didn't need to go to such a drastic difference. I haven't tried this on the stream yet, but on the lake I was amazed at the feel and casting ability of this line. It has almost no memory, and shoots like a dream! I can't wait to get out on the river to start targeting the difficult to reach trout. I highly recommend picking this up if you are using a tip-flex rod, and would like to get more distance out of your casts."
Review 13 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
February 29, 2012
By: BadCaster
from Idaho
"WF5F Powertaper, can't say anything but good about it! Floats like a cork, shoots like a rifle, carries and turns over big bugs and nymph rigs without any effort whatsoever. My only comment is the line does hold a memory coil in the cold more than the old Powertaper. You have to make sure you straighten out the firsts 40 - 50 feet before you start casting. Even with a Hydros Large Arbor reel, you want to make sure you stretch the memory coils out of this line before you start fishing. Of course, taking the time to straighten out your line instead of wading right in and flailing about is good stream observation time!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hydros Power Taper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line, big improvement!,
January 28, 2012
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I recently had the opportunity to try out this line on my 4 weight and it is really, really nice. Shoots like a charm and the slightly heavier weight really helps for either fast actions rods or casting in close quarters allowing for easier loading of the rod at short distances. You're not going to be disappointed with this new series of line. Thanks Orvis."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.