Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Powertaper

Feel your cast and improve your timing and line speed with this weight forward fly line. Built one half-size heavier than our standard trout line to load rods quickly, easily generating high line speeds and helping to turn over bushy terrestrials and big flies easily and accurately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Powertaper
Review 1 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis=Great,
March 2, 2015
By: FishermanRob
from Harrisburg, PA
"Anything you can buy at Orvis is great and this is too"
Review 2 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great deal!,
January 24, 2015
By: Lecure
from Amsterdam, The Netherlands
"Great line for fast action rods, for long distances on windy days."
Review 3 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleased with Purchase,
December 30, 2014
By: MTFFisher
"Great match with a fast action rod....definitely helps with feeling the rod loading on shorter casts."
Review 4 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly line,
December 23, 2014
By: JeffCru
from Minden, NV
"This fly line looks fantastic. Had it spooled on my Orvis reel at the Orvis store. No charge for the spooling, and the backing is provided courtesy of Orvis. You can't beat that!"
Review 5 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros Power Taper,
December 16, 2014
By: Eastfly
from New England
"I found this line rolled out well and without the hinging or kick associated with some other brands. The line ID tattoo is a real plus in my book. One less thing to deal with when you have multiple lines at the ready. The line has been deployed in cold water conditions and I have had zero issues."
Review 6 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 20, 2014
By: BryceA
from Kirkland, WA
"Bought this for my 9'6" 6wt fast action rod. Nice upgrade over my worn generic brand line. Loads nicely and shoots superbly. I also prefer the muted yellow color over common bright green lines. 4 stars only because I cannot comment on long-term use."
Review 7 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3rd one,
September 1, 2014
By: waynej
from live in wisconsin fish here and western rivers
"used them on the original Helios and on my new Helios 2 they make loading the rod a dream. Float well and cast long."
Review 8 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
April 25, 2014
By: CM22
"this line was recommended by my Orvis fly shop to use with my fast action rod.The line casts very well, However the tip does not float. Treating the tip with the recommended floatant did not remedy this problem.
i will need to puchase another fly line.
I do not recommend this line.
"
Review 9 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Takes MPH off the wind.,
April 18, 2014
By: DMILLER
from Sweet Home, OR
"Has helped me with distance and accuracy as I learn to cast well. Wind is not as big a problem for me anymore."
Review 10 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value and Performance,
March 20, 2014
By: Crowbait
from Loysville, PA
"The slick surface and "Power Taper" allow longer casts with precise placement requiring less power from the rod. Great choice of line for beginner to seasoned fishers. You will not be disappointed."
Review 11 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Much better than the competitors!,
August 10, 2013
By: Gesj
from Central NJ
"Had previously been using a 4 Weight DT from a competitor for small stream trout. I bought the hydros in 5 weight to overline my 4 weight rod for bass on hot summer days. What a difference in the hydros! Incredibly smooth action which loads very easily and great for punching out big flies and poppers. Money well spent."
Review 12 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Power Taper on a fast rod,
July 29, 2013
By: Otter11
from Nebraska
"I was using a regular line on a competitor's rod and was ready to sell the entire package. This was a very fast rod and I was have a tough time feeling it load. I put on the Hydros Power Taper and it's like buying a whole new rod! I can't recommend this line enough for fast action rods!"
Review 13 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
April 6, 2013
By: sffisherman
from San Francisco
"Very slick easy casting line. Shoots through the guides. I ordered this line spooled on to an Access reel in 6wt and it really casts easily."
Review 14 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my go to line.,
February 21, 2013
By: heo9542
from San Diego, CA
"You can cast heavy flies a mile with this line. There is also no doubt when this line loads the rod. This is my number one bass line."
Review 15 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Taper,
October 19, 2012
By: JohnJon
from Grand Lake Stream, ME
"Have used this power Taper all season with a Helois rod. This combination is unbeatable. Made this purchase as a back-up."
Review 16 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios Powertaper,
September 5, 2012
By: WiscoSkip
from Milwaukee, WI
"I paired this line to compliment my Helios 905 Tip flex. What I didn't realize is that I basically ended up purchasing a new rod! This line is phenomonal with the powerful tip flex Helios, it loads, shoots, and casts absolutely beautiful. The accuracy imparted in my casting by the marriage of the rod and line is really something else. Personally they should rename this model of the Hydros line the Helios Line. This line has become the new standard on my Helios rods!"
Review 17 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect weight,
August 4, 2012
By: Rigs
"What an excelent line, after trying other 'named' lines this line turned out to be the perfect weight and length for my rod. The new coating made it fly through the rod rings. Excellent at short or long distance.
A++++
"
Review 18 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great flyline!,
July 3, 2012
By: SVGuy
from Afton, WY
"I have used Wonderlines since they first became available, but this line seems to surpass the qualities of all the others. I purchased this line in 6 weight for my boat rod because I use large dry flies, large weighted nymphs, and fish muddlers barely subsurface a lot. It turns them all over beautifully, the tip stays afloat extremely well, and so far I haven't discovered any stress marks in the line, despite some pretty serious use. Thanks for an excellent product!"
Review 19 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
June 4, 2012
By: Dfwtroutguy
from Dallas, TX
"Been looking for a great line for my fastest 5 wt., and this is the best I've found to load it at shorter distances without over-lining. The bright yellow color is not my favorite and I'd like to see it offered in a more subtle color, but not a big enough deal to knock a star off of this great line. It handles every cast I need for trout very well, even in close and delicate."
Review 20 for Hydros Powertaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Power taper,
May 22, 2012
By: Gumby26
from Wisconsin
"Put the 8 weight power taper on my 8 weight rod. The line floats well and casts like a bullet. Turned over my clouser type patterns, bass poppers and even some medium size pike streamers very well. Was also surprised at the ability to mend with this line. This is the best casting line I have used."