Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Trout Lines

The most versatile weight-forward classic trout fly-line taper we offer, now in the new Hydros configuration. This fly line incorporates five new technological advances including:
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
48 of 54(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Trout Lines
Review 1 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth!,
January 23, 2015
By: klobe24
"Great line. I had a mid-grade line on my rod and didn't really think upgrading would make that much difference, but does it ever. Love it!"
Review 2 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good quality line,
January 21, 2015
By: Vadims
from Hastings
"Very good line, I will recommend this type line for beginners(DT). Can say that working well in cold water as well, welded loops, good memory."
Review 3 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice line,
January 21, 2015
By: MrSwede
"Got this line a few weeks back and it feels very nice"
Review 4 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product,
January 20, 2015
By: beardgar
from Clarksville, Fl
"Picks up and lays well. Loop on the end of the line is a real advantage."
Review 5 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 20, 2015
By: GeoD
"Once I got the memory worked out it did a nice job."
Review 6 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly line,
January 17, 2015
By: Flatlander46
from Fritch Tx.
"I have bought several Orvis fly lines over the years and believe they are as good as it gets. I bought the Hydros line when it first came out and it has preformed great. Have no doubt this new line will be just as good come April."
Review 7 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Line,
January 13, 2015
By: Jerrya
"The casting qualities of the line are extremely good although the noise of the line through the guides takes a little getting use to. Great attention to detail; recyclable reel, line ident, tight leader loop etc."
Review 8 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomonal Fly Line,
January 11, 2015
By: swimcoach
from Houston, TX
"I love it! Casts like a dream. I put it on my "old" fly rod, and couldn't believe how much better it performed. I am waiting for the Recon to come out, and it's going to go on one of those!"
Review 9 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small streams favorite,
January 9, 2015
By: Vadims
from Hastings
"One of the best DT floating lines, easy cast, can use people without huge fly casting experience. my experience say that theses lines better working on small streams and rivers, with short rod this will be best outfit for good price!"
Review 10 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Line,
January 6, 2015
By: Zircon123
from Scottish Borders.
"Just received and used Hydros floating line and it's a cracker. Casts well but more importantly for me lies high and straight in the water. First class product. Now look forward to using my new 3d line."
Review 11 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth line,
January 6, 2015
By: Ralph6
from east coaast
"Always liked this line and it was on sale. Will be perfect for my Orvis Battenkill II reel."
Review 12 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Presentations,
December 31, 2014
By: NZer
from Hawkes Bay, NZ
"Love the subdued olive color which helps in not spooking our wild browns and rainbows. Very slick and castable line which aids in good presentations to sighted fish. Have used the 4wt. DT and have added 5 wt. DT."
Review 13 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cold weather,
December 8, 2014
By: JackLN
from Avon CT
"I bought some 8 wt Hydros Steelhead line earlier this year for a trip to the Salmon river in NY. I can't come up with any superlatives about that line, but also no negatives, so I purchased the 3 wt Trout DT line for my Access 3wt rod. I went out on Dec. 7th in CT with an air temp. of 33 degrees & a water temp. of 39 degrees, and was impressed with the lines cold weather properties. It remained slick and subtle for the couple of hours I spent on the water. NOTE: Although the gear performed well, I didn't land a fish."
Review 14 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New fly lines from Orvis,
November 13, 2014
By: FlyHobo56
from Western USA
"Orvis has stepped it up,across the board and is back in the game .
This new fly line exceeds the competitors' offerings by a long shot. These new lines shoot smoothly , seem more durable , seem honest in weight and don't seem to follow the over-lined trend that has me shying away from the other brands latlely .
"
Review 15 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hydrosDT 5wt line,
October 21, 2014
By: Ajp2004
"Have had the line in the past and casts and performs very well."
Review 16 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super line,
September 28, 2014
By: Baxterman
from Santa Fe ,NM
"After fishing a couple times with hydros WF I was very impressed with the overall line proformance.
The line color is just what I needed especially on overcast days.
You won't go wrong using this product
"
Review 17 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice line,
September 26, 2014
By: Trico
from stanhope,nj
"I bought the double taper hydros line in several sizes for use on an old fenwick fiberglass rod that I have not used in many years and also for use with my 1980's orvis superfine western rod. On both of these the lines have worked very well. What fun to use these rods again. I would recommend the DT line to breathe new life into that rod that you have not used in awhile!"
Review 18 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bright, Light and Right,
August 29, 2014
By: FinnyTribe
"The yellow Hydros line is really bright. It's easy and a pleasure to see on the water. It casts well and floats well. An excellent fly line!"
Review 19 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line,
August 13, 2014
By: MarkYakFish
from Farmington, Ct.
"I had a old glass rod I bought when I was a kid and wanted to put new line on. The salesman at the Avon Ct. store recommended this to me. Have to say it casts perfectly. Love the way it feels. Another fine product from Orvis."
Review 20 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Line!,
August 10, 2014
By: BHole
"This line is awesome, great action! The welded loop makes changing leaders a breeze."