Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Trout Lines

The most versatile weight-forward classic trout fly-line taper we offer, now in the new Hydros configuration. This fly line incorporates five new technological advances including:
Average Customer Rating:
4.457 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
29 of 35(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Trout Lines
Review 1 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bright, Light and Right,
August 29, 2014
By: FinnyTribe
"The yellow Hydros line is really bright. It's easy and a pleasure to see on the water. It casts well and floats well. An excellent fly line!"
Review 2 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line,
August 13, 2014
By: MarkYakFish
from Farmington, Ct.
"I had a old glass rod I bought when I was a kid and wanted to put new line on. The salesman at the Avon Ct. store recommended this to me. Have to say it casts perfectly. Love the way it feels. Another fine product from Orvis."
Review 3 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Line!,
August 10, 2014
By: BHole
"This line is awesome, great action! The welded loop makes changing leaders a breeze."
Review 4 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best floating line out there!,
August 7, 2014
By: MBOB
from FLAGSTAFF
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I would give this floating double taper line a 6 star rating if I could just because how slick it is!!! I believe this is the best floating line out there at this time. Performs well all day, mends better than any line ever made and is at a great price. The line shoots well through the guides and actually can cast further than you want at times. Great engineering, value and quality."
Review 5 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Impressed,
July 14, 2014
By: LPORT
"I've fished this line for over a month now and I'm not impressed. The tip doesn't float very well and it has a sticky feel to it. I clean and dress it regularly but that only works for a little while."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
June 14, 2014
By: CWL14
from South Deerfield, MA
"I put this on my TFO 5 wt with an encounter reel and I feel like I purchased a new rod. This line is super slick, casts extremely well. I am very impressed with the new Orvis Hydros line. Superior to previous generations."
Review 7 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flies Through the Guides,
June 12, 2014
By: Timbonz
from New York State, Vermont, NJ, Penn Trout Rivers
"Best float line available for casting distance, durability and ease."
Review 8 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
slickest line ever,
May 5, 2014
By: Bullhead
from Islesboro, ME
"Orvis cleaned and lubed my old Hardy Lightweight.....it 's like having a new 50 year old reel. Love it.
Installing backing and a new Hydros line were the perfect complement.
Thanks for still being a fishing tackle
source. Been shopping with Orvis for forty years and I hope will for another 40.
"
Review 9 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great "the one" line,
April 30, 2014
By: washingtonflyfisher
"Longish front taper, longer belly, longish rear taper. The line is a mend line, distance line in one with out a short stub of a front taper. It still remains light at the 30ft mark allowing a mid flex rod a faster lighter feeling in tight spooky situations. but with a tip flex rod will find hard to reach fish with distance."
Review 10 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
April 17, 2014
By: geoker59
from Stoddartsville, PA
"5W line fishes great, excellent casting and easy to see."
Review 11 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy it!,
March 24, 2014
By: OntarioFlyOutfitters
from Rochester, NY
"A very slick line that is great for roll casts or distance casting. The line floats well for perfect mending and spot on drifts. A great value for any angler. Buy it!"
Review 12 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awsome,
March 15, 2014
By: TRAA
from Colorado
"Hands down the best line i have fished with, smooooth casting, I am switching all my line to Hydros"
Review 13 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
not an expert.,
March 13, 2014
By: denmac
from Thorntown, Indiana
"I'm not an expert on fly lines but the Orvis Hydros Trout line that came on my new Mirage reel works really well for me. It glides through the eyes easily and the revised taper diameters with a slightly larger head gives me the distance when I need it."
Review 14 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros Trout Lines - Worth the $,
January 7, 2014
By: JillsArtStudio
from Pasadena, CA.
"You never go wrong with an Orvis fly line. Quality product that delivers and if you maintain the line, it will provide years of service.
The Hydros product line offers the next level of performance as technology in the sport matures.
Good Stuff!"
Review 15 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
November 21, 2013
By: NZer
from Hawkes Bay, NZ
"Purchased this line for the new season. Within two weeks of use the welded loop had started to crack. Tried to save the loop with super glue and other materials but did not work. In a month cut off the loop and nail knotted the leader. Working fine now. Like color of double taper and casts well, disappointed on initial quality."
Review 16 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
October 16, 2013
By: BBfly
from Waynesboro, VA
"The line is as easy to cast as any I have used. I have caught more fish because I feel I can cast to the spot that is my target . Maybe it's a confid ence thing, but thanks."
Review 17 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Fly Line,
September 15, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I have used the Orvis Hydros line in WF5-F weight since its introduction. It loads my Frequent Flyer travel rod beautifully, it is accurate and durable. Pretty much maintenance free after a couple of years of use."
Review 18 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ever,
August 26, 2013
By: skaggs
from Tulsa ok
"I blive this is the best line I have used. strong and reliable."
Review 19 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best WF out there,
February 20, 2013
By: duckgun
from Texas
"I only use Orvis fly lines on all my reels. There are the best quality,most durable, highest floating, best casting lines available. 3M makes a comparable line, but the welded loop end on the Orvis puts it over the top and makes it my line of choice every time. I will buy no other."
Review 20 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice flyline,
December 6, 2012
By: Rick516
from Raleigh NC
"I have used the hydros flyline with several other reels and like it a lot. I thought my casts were longer and smoother. I actually changed my lines to the hydros on two of my reels."