Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Trout Lines

The most versatile weight-forward classic trout fly-line taper we offer, now in the new Hydros configuration. This fly line incorporates five new technological advances including:
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 24(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Trout Lines
Review 1 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
April 17, 2014
By: geoker59
from Stoddartsville, PA
"5W line fishes great, excellent casting and easy to see."
Review 2 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy it!,
March 24, 2014
By: OntarioFlyOutfitters
from Rochester, NY
"A very slick line that is great for roll casts or distance casting. The line floats well for perfect mending and spot on drifts. A great value for any angler. Buy it!"
Review 3 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awsome,
March 15, 2014
By: TRAA
from Colorado
"Hands down the best line i have fished with, smooooth casting, I am switching all my line to Hydros"
Review 4 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
not an expert.,
March 13, 2014
By: denmac
from Thorntown, Indiana
"I'm not an expert on fly lines but the Orvis Hydros Trout line that came on my new Mirage reel works really well for me. It glides through the eyes easily and the revised taper diameters with a slightly larger head gives me the distance when I need it."
Review 5 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros Trout Lines - Worth the $,
January 7, 2014
By: JillsArtStudio
from Pasadena, CA.
"You never go wrong with an Orvis fly line. Quality product that delivers and if you maintain the line, it will provide years of service.
The Hydros product line offers the next level of performance as technology in the sport matures.
Good Stuff!"
Review 6 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
November 21, 2013
By: NZer
from Hawkes Bay, NZ
"Purchased this line for the new season. Within two weeks of use the welded loop had started to crack. Tried to save the loop with super glue and other materials but did not work. In a month cut off the loop and nail knotted the leader. Working fine now. Like color of double taper and casts well, disappointed on initial quality."
Review 7 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
October 16, 2013
By: BBfly
from Waynesboro, VA
"The line is as easy to cast as any I have used. I have caught more fish because I feel I can cast to the spot that is my target . Maybe it's a confid ence thing, but thanks."
Review 8 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Fly Line,
September 15, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I have used the Orvis Hydros line in WF5-F weight since its introduction. It loads my Frequent Flyer travel rod beautifully, it is accurate and durable. Pretty much maintenance free after a couple of years of use."
Review 9 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ever,
August 26, 2013
By: skaggs
from Tulsa ok
"I blive this is the best line I have used. strong and reliable."
Review 10 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best WF out there,
February 20, 2013
By: duckgun
from Texas
"I only use Orvis fly lines on all my reels. There are the best quality,most durable, highest floating, best casting lines available. 3M makes a comparable line, but the welded loop end on the Orvis puts it over the top and makes it my line of choice every time. I will buy no other."
Review 11 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice flyline,
December 6, 2012
By: Rick516
from Raleigh NC
"I have used the hydros flyline with several other reels and like it a lot. I thought my casts were longer and smoother. I actually changed my lines to the hydros on two of my reels."
Review 12 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
6wt. DT,
October 8, 2012
By: Competitionfly
from Rockland county, NY
"I am both a fly fisherman and a serious competition caster. I like the imprint description on the line. It makes it easy to identify. In accuracy fly casting. We cast to 30" rings that are spaced from 25' out to 75'. The line didn't perform to my expectations for competition purposes, however it is a fine casting fishing line."
Review 13 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all-purpose line,
August 27, 2012
By: BHague
from Kansas
"I've been using Orvis line for years and still prefer it over other brands. The Hydros Trout WF lines are exceptionally easy to cast and perform well in a range of conditions. I particularly like the molded-in leader loop and the imprinted information on the head end. Bottom line: Orvis gets it."
Review 14 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice line.,
August 19, 2012
By: CERMA
from Medellín - Colombia
"I was able to verify what the advertising says. The line has high buoyancy and glides nicely through the rings."
Review 15 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great line, but difficult to spool on a reel,
August 18, 2012
By: Ozarkflyfisher
from Branson, MO
"The line itself is fantastic! So far it has floated high enough and been slick enough to compare to other brands at this price point. The line ID is a major plus!~ The only major downfall is that the flimsy cardboard spool allows for the line coils to get very crossed up, thus preventing an easy load to reel or spool. I do appreciate the eco-friendly packaging, but not when it hinders the ability for a quick load onto a reel. I give this line a B+ just for sub-par packaging."
Review 16 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as good as advertised,
August 5, 2012
By: DTJTDT
"Gummed up after 1/2 day of fishing hard, had to be cleaned and lubricated often, a bit lumpy and definitely not shooting as far as I expected."
Review 17 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not impressed,
June 17, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"Let me start off by saying that I've had a really rough time with Orvis' lines, from the Wonderline, to this Hydros. As another person has said, when stripping line back.....it suddenly feels, "dry". I couldn't get a smooth retrieve in because it kept feeling tacky on my fingers, even within the first week of use. I had to keep wetting my hand constantly when using this line. The loop failed in less than 15 outtings, letting water into the core, turning my floating line into sink-tip. By then I had to return it and was done with purchasing line from Orvis. I think I will stick with everything else though, since the line is really the only bad thing I've used from Orvis. On a positive side note, the customer service has been quick and they have all tried to help me as much as they possibly could. I was tempted to try the new 3D line, but I knew better, and went with the company they got the idea from and I am so happy that I'm switching every outfit I have to that line."
Review 18 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SLICK SLICK SLICK,
June 1, 2012
By: A111
from Va
"I did not like the feeling of this line when it was first spooled. Seemed rough and felt uncomfortable BUT then I started to use it and I think it is the best line I have ever had. This line really seems to just jump out of the guides. Super distance with ease. Very flexible to the point of being, what I'll call "limber to the n'th degree" There may be some who don't like the way it performs but as for me, it's perfect! And it looks like they have dropped the price from a few months back as well."
Review 19 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
does not slide smoothly on skin,
May 25, 2012
By: FlyfishingIreland
from IRELAND
"can I get my old line back?
The new line does not allow on to strip line in smoothly.
By the 2nd pull the line is dry and The line grips on your skin .... So your flys do not have a smooth gluide.
"
Review 20 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great line worst spool,
May 1, 2012
By: Dhicks
from Western, NY
"Great line floats high, slick casting. Ordering another weight when they change line spool. Tied on fly line to backing started loading on spool, until the flimsy line spool fell apart. Spent hour untangling birds nest of line. Cheesy carboard eco-friendly spool is the worst. Nice line all in all."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.