Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Trout Lines

The most versatile weight-forward trout taper we offer, now in the new Hydros configuration. This fly line incorporates five new technological advances including:
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
56 of 62(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Trout Lines
Review 1 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very supple, great casting,
July 14, 2015
By: Andrew1974
from Devon
"A very comfortable line to cast with low memory, a great purchase"
Review 2 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros Trout Line,
June 29, 2015
By: kewlers
from West Sussex
"Used once and very impressed so far. Loads quickly and easily and shoots smoothly. Floats high on the water. Welded loop and line details stamp are excellent finishing touches. All good!"
Review 3 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good line for a team of flies on a loch.,
April 3, 2015
By: BilloftheAllan
from Scotland
"Bought to replace an earlier version of this line,which was fairly worn out after a great deal of use. Pleased that the performance is just as good. Head section of the line needed a little gentle stretching prior to use, then I was very happy with it. Nice distribution of weight, suits my casting action. No memory problems. A good line to send a team out on a Scottish loch ( exactly what I bought it for. As usual the service from the Orvis people was first class. Website needs a bit of fine tuning."
Review 4 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good fly line,
March 29, 2015
By: Maoloop
from Como - Italy
"I am a fly casting instructor and this fly line is perfect for Tlt. Italian style school!
Dt Is only in olive colour and this is not maximum but I love it very much.
"
Review 5 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good stuff,
February 16, 2015
By: Maplesugar23
"Good quality line, loads nicely on my 6wt, low memory. I like the line ID feature too."
Review 6 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Improved Casting,
February 6, 2015
By: fishtoad81286
"Helped me improve my accuracy and length of casting. Will buy again!"
Review 7 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Match,
January 27, 2015
By: TROUTADDICT
from Overland Park, KS
"This line is a perfect match for my rod and reel. For the price it out preforms lines that are way more expensive and over rated. I can, have, and will out fish anybody on the river or stream. I have 20 and 30 fish days using Orvis products. I have been fly fishing for over 50 years."
Review 8 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth!,
January 23, 2015
By: klobe24
"Great line. I had a mid-grade line on my rod and didn't really think upgrading would make that much difference, but does it ever. Love it!"
Review 9 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good quality line,
January 21, 2015
By: Vadims
from Hastings
"Very good line, I will recommend this type line for beginners(DT). Can say that working well in cold water as well, welded loops, good memory."
Review 10 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice line,
January 21, 2015
By: MrSwede
"Got this line a few weeks back and it feels very nice"
Review 11 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product,
January 20, 2015
By: beardgar
from Clarksville, Fl
"Picks up and lays well. Loop on the end of the line is a real advantage."
Review 12 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 20, 2015
By: GeoD
"Once I got the memory worked out it did a nice job."
Review 13 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly line,
January 17, 2015
By: Flatlander46
from Fritch Tx.
"I have bought several Orvis fly lines over the years and believe they are as good as it gets. I bought the Hydros line when it first came out and it has preformed great. Have no doubt this new line will be just as good come April."
Review 14 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Line,
January 13, 2015
By: Jerrya
"The casting qualities of the line are extremely good although the noise of the line through the guides takes a little getting use to. Great attention to detail; recyclable reel, line ident, tight leader loop etc."
Review 15 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomonal Fly Line,
January 11, 2015
By: swimcoach
from Houston, TX
"I love it! Casts like a dream. I put it on my "old" fly rod, and couldn't believe how much better it performed. I am waiting for the Recon to come out, and it's going to go on one of those!"
Review 16 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small streams favorite,
January 9, 2015
By: Vadims
from Hastings
"One of the best DT floating lines, easy cast, can use people without huge fly casting experience. my experience say that theses lines better working on small streams and rivers, with short rod this will be best outfit for good price!"
Review 17 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Line,
January 6, 2015
By: Zircon123
from Scottish Borders.
"Just received and used Hydros floating line and it's a cracker. Casts well but more importantly for me lies high and straight in the water. First class product. Now look forward to using my new 3d line."
Review 18 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth line,
January 6, 2015
By: Ralph6
from east coaast
"Always liked this line and it was on sale. Will be perfect for my Orvis Battenkill II reel."
Review 19 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Presentations,
December 31, 2014
By: NZer
from Hawkes Bay, NZ
"Love the subdued olive color which helps in not spooking our wild browns and rainbows. Very slick and castable line which aids in good presentations to sighted fish. Have used the 4wt. DT and have added 5 wt. DT."
Review 20 for Hydros Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cold weather,
December 8, 2014
By: JackLN
from Avon CT
"I bought some 8 wt Hydros Steelhead line earlier this year for a trip to the Salmon river in NY. I can't come up with any superlatives about that line, but also no negatives, so I purchased the 3 wt Trout DT line for my Access 3wt rod. I went out on Dec. 7th in CT with an air temp. of 33 degrees & a water temp. of 39 degrees, and was impressed with the lines cold weather properties. It remained slick and subtle for the couple of hours I spent on the water. NOTE: Although the gear performed well, I didn't land a fish."