Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater

Get warmth without unnecessary bulk in a classic rib-knit turtleneck sweater that's perfect at sea or ashore. Expertly knitted in Fall River, Massachusetts, where long-idle clothing factories are returning to life, this turtleneck pullover sweater wears well on its own or paired with your favorite sport coat. Traditional allover Shaker rib knit. Pure cotton. Washable. Made in USA.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (160 reviews)
5 stars
114
4 stars
26
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
4
145 of 160(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Review 1 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best,
March 11, 2014
By: AlbertK
from Palisades Center Mall, West Nyack NY
"I could not find 100%cotton knit turtleneck sweater anywhere else. Not on line and not in any store. Thank you."
Review 2 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice sweater,
March 10, 2014
By: jjomaha
from Nebraska
"I've looked at it on-line, thought about, looked at it again – even went to order it, but held off because I thought it wouldn't be all I had hoped it to be. Finally, this February I pulled the trigger and now I kick myself for not doing it earlier. Love this sweater. it's roomy, soft and comfortable – I have the same feeling towards it that I have to my favorite tennis shoes and my 20 year old car. Not only does it fit me it fits my life. Kudos..."
Review 3 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the wait,
February 26, 2014
By: CODreamer
from Castle Rock CO
"After 2+ months of delays, the sweater finally arrived. I am happy to report that the fit is perfect and the material is very comfortable. Color is as depicted online. I ordered a Medium and for my build it is perfect. No excess material in the mid section and sleeves are a good length too. I wear a 34-35 sleeve in dress shirts."
Review 4 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality purchase,
February 26, 2014
By: None12345
"This sweater is easy to wear, slips easily over the head. Provides warmth without too much bulk.
Another plus: made in the USA.
"
Review 5 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'll join the chorus....,
February 17, 2014
By: defuelie
from Northern Virginia
"This sweater is everything it says it is. It is mid weight, fits well as expected, and can be worn 2-3 times before needing cleaning to refresh. Granted, it does have a more open weave than the shaker, but a white compression shirt beneath is invisible, and makes this an overall cold weather sweater. Buy it."
Review 6 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good looking sweater,
February 8, 2014
By: olderguysrule
from Minnesota
"I've been looking at this sweater for some time now and finally made the purchase. Had it for a month now. Worn it a number of times. Seems to be holding up well. It does look real good. I'd say the size may be a bit smaller as compared to other orvis sweaters I've purchased. That is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I like them loose and or baggy and this one fits a bit more snug as compared to other Orvis sweaters. Yes, I'd recommend this sweater, just remember the size may be a bit snug."
Review 7 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater,
February 3, 2014
By: Racer96
from Scottsdale AZ
"This item is perfect for cool evenings/days or as a layer under a light jacket. Warm yet lightweight."
Review 8 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what he wanted,
January 16, 2014
By: LL17
from Upper Midwest
"I bought this for my son-in-law for Christmas because it was on his "want list". He took it right out of the box and put it on, really liked it!
It fit well, and looked very good on him. He was very pleased."
Review 9 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the Wait,
January 15, 2014
By: VolinOxford
from Germantown, TN
"This sweater is everything it's advertised as. Fit is generous without being baggy, it's warm, and it fits under a sport coat without feeling like I've just slipped into a strait jacket. Typical of the excellent Orvis quality I've come to expect"
Review 10 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater,
January 12, 2014
By: BlackstoneMN
from Des Moines
"This is probably one of the finest sweaters I've worn in some time. Even though it's cotton, it is very warm when worn under my wool duffel coat. It fits well, looks great and is very comfortable during some bitterly cold days."
Review 11 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shipping dificulties,
January 6, 2014
By: Basnight
from Newport News VA
"I ordered the sweater on/about 3 Dec 13 and was informed shipping would be within a few days. Later informed that it would be back ordered and shipped 7 Jan 14.
By changing color from blue to white and paying for overnight delivery I did receive it Christmas Eve.
The product I give 5 stars. Your running of the shop....1 star."
Review 12 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift and product!,
January 6, 2014
By: Bell57
from Bowling Green, OH
"The Submariner's Pullover Sweater is a huge hit with our Cincinnati son-in-law. Thank you for keeping us informed about its shipment."
Review 13 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
returned product,
December 12, 2013
By: jameseasy
from Barrington IL
"Size was way to big, returned via UPS 11/27; haven't yet received a credit for the purchase."
Review 14 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and warm,
December 4, 2013
By: RustyNJ
from New Jersey
"We've had an unusually warm Fall here in the northeast, so I've only had one occasion to wear my new cotton submariner's pullover sweater. But I can tell from that one wearing that this sweater will become a staple of my outdoor wardrobe once the colder weather hits. It's soft, warm, and fits well. (I usually take a large in sweaters, and this sweater in large fit well, contrary to the experience of some other purchasers.) Underneath a
shearling jacket, this is the perfect sweater, and without that scratchy feel of wool against the skin.
"
Review 15 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice!,
November 26, 2013
By: sgoregon
from Portland, OR
"As my Dad was born in Fall River, MA, I was interested to learn that these sweaters were being made there, and that Orvis was showcasing the talent endemic to the city. As a kid in the 60's, I remember traveling to Fall River with my folks and learning that it had a rich, textile milling history. Subsequently, one heard that the city had fallen on lean times in this regard, and that many mills had closed. Well, to paraphrase the little girl in the movie Poltergeist, "Mommy, they're b-a-c-k!"
This a beautiful sweater. Since I just received Orvis' Shaker Knit turtleneck a few days back, let me offer some differences between the two: this Submariner's sweater is a bit looser weave than the Shaker Knit; not flimsy or airy in any sense, just looser. It also appears that the sleeves of the Shaker Knit are appx. 3/4" longer than this Submariner sweater. Other than that, their general fit and size are very similar. Both are BEAUTIFUL sweaters, and Cream and Navy are not available in the Shaker Knit turtleneck line. Very, very happy with the sweater and can't wait to wear it with my G2 leather jacket."
Review 16 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Comfortable!,
November 19, 2013
By: SuburbanDC
"Very comfortable and soft sweater.
Looser weave than expected, so you need to wear a color matching layer underneath or it is very obvious.
Neck is not too tight, body & sleeve length is appropriate to size.
A day or two of beard growth causes pilling on the inside of the neck."
Review 17 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Sweater,
November 19, 2013
By: SuburbanDC
"Great outer layer of a cool or non windy day. The neck is a tight crew neck, but doesn't choke with a collared shirt on under neath.
Size and sleeve length is exactly as expected.
I am very pleased with the purchase."
Review 18 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater,
November 19, 2013
By: SAFRFONLE
from Nottingham
"Been looking for one of these for a while, and finally found one. Not quite the direct replacement, but I still look like shaft. Good fit and great quality."
Review 19 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality Sweater,
November 14, 2013
By: Jaque
from Boston, MA
"The sweater is good; however I would suggest sizing down since these run large and are very chunky unlike the photo shows them. The shaker knit appears and feels to be of good quality."
Review 20 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and sophistication,
October 30, 2013
By: thornhill62
from sausalito,ca
"Beautiful, tightly woven turtleneck. Wonderfully rakish look with a double breasted blue blazer or a leather jacket. Does run large. I'm between a large and extra large. The large fits like an extra large. Unless you're an ectomorph order one size down. Great look and very good value."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.