Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater

Get warmth without unnecessary bulk in a classic rib-knit turtleneck sweater that's perfect at sea or ashore. Expertly knitted in Fall River, Massachusetts, where long-idle clothing factories are returning to life, this turtleneck pullover sweater wears well on its own or paired with your favorite sport coat. Traditional allover Shaker rib knit. Pure cotton. Washable. Made in USA.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.527 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (167 reviews)
5 stars
121
4 stars
26
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
4
152 of 167(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Review 1 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Looking!,
August 5, 2014
By: pilgrim
from Colorado Rocky Mountain streams
"Orvis is one of the few outlets for good looking turtle neck sweaters.
This one not only looks good, it feels good to wear. Add a leather jacket and you have a rugged, classic look. Easily one of my favorites.
"
Review 2 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one of my best puchases,
July 21, 2014
By: przemek
from Poland, Europe
"The sweater looks great and fits me perfectly. I do hope will serve me long."
Review 3 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish and functional,
July 17, 2014
By: herdbird
from Charlotte, NC
"This stylish and functional sweater may prove too warm for summer but is ideal for the rest of the year."
Review 4 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent sweater,
July 16, 2014
By: Curmedgeon
from Youngstown, Ohio
"When I tried on the sweater, I was pleased both at how well it fit and how good it looks on me. While I won't be wearing the sweater until the weather cools, I almost look forward to late autumn and winter. And I love summer -- even when it reaches the high 80s and is humid."
Review 5 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater Great Price,
July 14, 2014
By: cib68
from n.e. ohio
"I have the navy version and it served me well during the brutal winter.
It worked well as a layer under the Barbour Beaufort and under other jackets.
Very warm and for cotton and super comfortable. Don't like the binding effect of most turtle necks but this one is great.
When it went on sale it was a no brainier to pick of the white pullover. Great sale price. Good sweater for many occassions.
"
Review 6 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT SWEATER,
July 2, 2014
By: dutchmafia
from Michigan
"Hard to find this quality, nice fit , looking forward to cold weather because I'll be toasty in this sweater!"
Review 7 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the summer,
June 19, 2014
By: KCee
from N W Texas
"I recently purchased this sweater and it fits well, looks great, as well as keeping the chill away on cool, summer nights when I'm in Canada. I've gotten several complements on its appearance. Good job Orvis."
Review 8 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best,
March 11, 2014
By: AlbertK
from Palisades Center Mall, West Nyack NY
"I could not find 100%cotton knit turtleneck sweater anywhere else. Not on line and not in any store. Thank you."
Review 9 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice sweater,
March 10, 2014
By: jjomaha
from Nebraska
"I've looked at it on-line, thought about, looked at it again – even went to order it, but held off because I thought it wouldn't be all I had hoped it to be. Finally, this February I pulled the trigger and now I kick myself for not doing it earlier. Love this sweater. it's roomy, soft and comfortable – I have the same feeling towards it that I have to my favorite tennis shoes and my 20 year old car. Not only does it fit me it fits my life. Kudos..."
Review 10 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the wait,
February 26, 2014
By: CODreamer
from Castle Rock CO
"After 2+ months of delays, the sweater finally arrived. I am happy to report that the fit is perfect and the material is very comfortable. Color is as depicted online. I ordered a Medium and for my build it is perfect. No excess material in the mid section and sleeves are a good length too. I wear a 34-35 sleeve in dress shirts."
Review 11 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality purchase,
February 26, 2014
By: None12345
"This sweater is easy to wear, slips easily over the head. Provides warmth without too much bulk.
Another plus: made in the USA.
"
Review 12 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'll join the chorus....,
February 17, 2014
By: defuelie
from Northern Virginia
"This sweater is everything it says it is. It is mid weight, fits well as expected, and can be worn 2-3 times before needing cleaning to refresh. Granted, it does have a more open weave than the shaker, but a white compression shirt beneath is invisible, and makes this an overall cold weather sweater. Buy it."
Review 13 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good looking sweater,
February 8, 2014
By: olderguysrule
from Minnesota
"I've been looking at this sweater for some time now and finally made the purchase. Had it for a month now. Worn it a number of times. Seems to be holding up well. It does look real good. I'd say the size may be a bit smaller as compared to other orvis sweaters I've purchased. That is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I like them loose and or baggy and this one fits a bit more snug as compared to other Orvis sweaters. Yes, I'd recommend this sweater, just remember the size may be a bit snug."
Review 14 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater,
February 3, 2014
By: Racer96
from Scottsdale AZ
"This item is perfect for cool evenings/days or as a layer under a light jacket. Warm yet lightweight."
Review 15 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what he wanted,
January 16, 2014
By: LL17
from Upper Midwest
"I bought this for my son-in-law for Christmas because it was on his "want list". He took it right out of the box and put it on, really liked it!
It fit well, and looked very good on him. He was very pleased."
Review 16 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the Wait,
January 15, 2014
By: VolinOxford
from Germantown, TN
"This sweater is everything it's advertised as. Fit is generous without being baggy, it's warm, and it fits under a sport coat without feeling like I've just slipped into a strait jacket. Typical of the excellent Orvis quality I've come to expect"
Review 17 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater,
January 12, 2014
By: BlackstoneMN
from Des Moines
"This is probably one of the finest sweaters I've worn in some time. Even though it's cotton, it is very warm when worn under my wool duffel coat. It fits well, looks great and is very comfortable during some bitterly cold days."
Review 18 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shipping dificulties,
January 6, 2014
By: Basnight
from Newport News VA
"I ordered the sweater on/about 3 Dec 13 and was informed shipping would be within a few days. Later informed that it would be back ordered and shipped 7 Jan 14.
By changing color from blue to white and paying for overnight delivery I did receive it Christmas Eve.
The product I give 5 stars. Your running of the shop....1 star."
Review 19 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift and product!,
January 6, 2014
By: Bell57
from Bowling Green, OH
"The Submariner's Pullover Sweater is a huge hit with our Cincinnati son-in-law. Thank you for keeping us informed about its shipment."
Review 20 for Cotton Submariner's Pullover Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
returned product,
December 12, 2013
By: jameseasy
from Barrington IL
"Size was way to big, returned via UPS 11/27; haven't yet received a credit for the purchase."