Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Crown Knit Aviator Hat

A knit version of the iconic aviator hat. Wool knit outside with warm rabbit-fur lower lining inside for warmth in even the most extreme temperatures. Quilted crown lining. Earflaps drop down and tie underneath the chin. In olive multi. Wool and rabbit fur. Dry clean. Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞).
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Review 1 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully Warm,
December 17, 2013
By: JFWR
from Arlington, VA
"Love it!
The hat seems to be really well made.
The rabbit fur is super soft.
And I agree with some of the other reviews that it runs a bit large (a XXL is a little big for my 7 7/8 head). That being said, the next smaller size may be too small -- I'll most happily keep this one.
And from a "fashion" perspective, the young people in my family have offered nothing but complements. Go for it."
Review 2 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm Hat,
December 14, 2013
By: bpoppre
from Scottsdale, AZ
"I bought this hat for my husband. I had my doubts about it's "fashion" but it is really a good looking hat. It will keep him warm while he star gazes in the early morning hours."
Review 3 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bunny hat,
February 13, 2013
By: kunekune
from norfolk
"i love this hat it , it is really warm and looks great . really good for freezing norfolk"
Review 4 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hats off to Orvis, another great hat,
January 22, 2013
By: Moorswalker
from Staffordshire
"This Crown Knit Aviator hat delivers practical warmth colour and style.It is soft and very comfotrable especially in high winds and feels totally secure maintaining a warm barrier against the cold."
Review 5 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ridiculously warm and comfortable,
January 9, 2013
By: jrToe
from Sevierville, TN
"I bought this hat because I didn't want to shell out $110 for the leather version in the store. Although I liked the hat's color pattern on-line, it looks far better in person. The wool-knit cap is extremely well constructed and has a heathered look to it. The quilted cap fits well and the rabbit fur is extremely comfortable and warm. Well worth the cabbage paid."
Review 6 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Take a chance,
November 3, 2012
By: Sysygy
from Massachusetts
"I thought this hat looked really great in the picture but ordered with a little trepidation. I thought my wife would not like it. The hat is really good. Nice material, comfortable and warm. It turns out my wife loves it. I bought it for the purpose of hiking on very cold days,but I am going to be wearing it a lot more than that."
Review 7 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Wisconsin Winter Hat Ever,
February 23, 2012
By: Beauchamp
from Eau Claire, WI
"My brother loves his new hat. It is "him" according to his family and
friends. Super warm, colorful, and
fits like a glove!
"
Review 8 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
funny, but warm, hat,
February 15, 2012
By: farmboyx
from southern mid-michigan
"great hat and very warm as needed; not to be worn by the faint of heart as most will look like dorks in it!"
Review 9 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great super warm funky hat,
January 14, 2012
By: usedtofish
"Terrific - fits very comfortably on a large head and super warm. Looks great too"
Review 10 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for cold weather and stylish looking,
January 5, 2012
By: beachhousejeff
from Southern California
"This hat is very comfortable and warm. It is fur on the inside along with a silk like lining. Size fits perfect."
Review 11 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets all expectations.,
January 4, 2012
By: RoseofAlabama
from North Alabama
"This hat was purchased as a gift. It is very warm and comfortable, albeit a little weird. Highly recommended if you have a quirky personality. The cat likes it, too!"
Review 12 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Cold Weather Hat,
December 30, 2011
By: MacJ
from Three Rivers, TX
"Great cold weather gear. I highly recommend it to anyone who is out in the weather hunting, working, or going from place to place. Well made and durable."
Review 13 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aviator Hat,
October 27, 2011
By: JohnMav
from Scwenksville, PA
"I was excited to receive this hat in the mail, and when it arrived, it went right on my head. It fit well, felt warm, and I knew I would be OK for those days when shoveling snow in the driveway left my head freezing. Then the family came home, and laughed for some time before demanding I not wear the hat. For function - great. For fashion - if I were 20 years old, I could pull it off. But at 55, I succumbed to the bequests of my loved ones! My head will freeze this winter, but they won't be laughing at me!"
Review 14 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm but huge,
January 8, 2011
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Overall great hat. Took it skiing and my head/ears were never cold. Only drawback, the size of this hat is huge and I have a rather big done, i.e. hat size 73/4 to 7 5/8. I wish it fit a little more snug. But right now there is a ton of room in this thing, so any wind tends to blow it around quite a bit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You can wear anything in the cold on your head,
December 20, 2010
By: Vounteer
from Washington, DC and Florida
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This hat is very warm, especially when the wind is blowing. Although I don't usually wear a hat, I made an exception in this case because of the need to walk outdoors in the early morning here in the northeast."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Crown Knit Aviator Hat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1