Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Fall River Flannel Shirt

Pull on a soft layer of pure cotton flannel warm enough to wear all winter underneath a sweater or sweatshirt. Crafted in Fall River, Massachusetts—once home to a thriving garment industry—where vacant factories are gradually returning to life. This men's cotton flannel shirt is perfect for the arrival of colder weather in New England, thanks to the soft-brushed flannel and casual styling. Spread collar. Adjustable cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Made in USA.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44).
Average Customer Rating:
3.529 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
11 of 17(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Review 1 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made in the USA,
February 1, 2013
By: Gedaliah
from Ithaca NY
"This shirt is first-rate and appealing because it was made in New England from a very nice. soft cotton fabric.
Made in the USA is best for American workers and manufacturers."
Review 2 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
December 29, 2012
By: BuckeyeBob
from South Carolina
"This shirt is perfect - true to size - soft and made extrmely well. Looks like a million bucks."
Review 3 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sizing a bit off,
October 31, 2012
By: Mendoman
"It's a beautiful fabric, but the cut appears different than other Orvis shirts. The sleeves are too full and too long, but the chest dimension appropriate for the designated size range."
Review 4 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Passable,
May 26, 2012
By: delrew
from Halifax, NS, Canada
"The quality of the fabric is very nice, soft hand, pleasure to wear. But as was noted by others, it is not the flannel that most would expect. The product description is misleading in that regard (..and I wouldn't want "to wear (it) all winter under a sweater " either .. at least not without giving it the occasional wash!!) I found that the back of the collar wrinkles quite easily and tends to loose shape; front part of collar is fine. Overall fit/size is consistent with Orvis-brand shirts. Colour is as shown. Very pricey product though, but got mine at sale price. I would recommend it to a friend, provided that he'd get the reduced sale price, too."
Review 5 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice, but not flannel,
May 18, 2012
By: essdawg
from Janesville, WI
"This shirt is wonderfully made, very comfortable and looks great. It is not flannel. My fabric expert tells me that it's twill. It is a lightweight, long sleeved business casual shirt. i wore it to a nephew's college graduation. I like it a lot but was envisioning something warmer and more rugged."
Review 6 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Flannel shirt??,
May 15, 2012
By: Woody123
from Fairfax, VA
"I thought I was purchasing a winter weight flannel shirt. What I received was a summer weight shirt. Not the soft flannel that I was led to believe it would be."
Review 7 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Shirt,
May 15, 2012
By: MinnesotaDoug
from Minneapolis, MN
"Shirt looks even better in person than in the catalogue. Had complements first time I wore it."
Review 8 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Shirt, not quite Flannel,
April 11, 2012
By: WoodwardBound
from Pennsylvania / Maine
"This shirt was a great buy and the colors are wonderful. However, it is not a typical flannel and feels more like a dress-cotton shirt. Somewhat like a hybrid between the two in feel and weight. Wonderful shirt, description isn't quite right though."
Review 9 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Beautiful shirt but sleeves too long,
March 15, 2012
By: kimina
"Purchased shirt in blue/khaki, size small. It is a great looking shirt. My wife loved it. However, the sleeves are way too long - 1-2" longer than all my other long sleeve shirts. Have to return it."
Review 10 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First impressions,
December 1, 2011
By: sfoERIC
from SF Bay Area, CA
"I just received this shrit via UPS. The weight and texture of this shirt would certainly qualify as a light flannel, not the tradtional beefy/heavyweight can that most folks associate with the term "flannel."
There was a prior post regarding how the pattern across the shirt does not align properly when buttoned and I can confirm this is true in my case. Whether it is due to the construction of the shirt and/or the use of different bolts of fabric during the actual construction of the shirts I cannot say.
In addition, the picture online seems to have a much deeper appearance than the actual garment itself.
I'll let you know how it fits after first wash as opposed to direct out of the plastic wrap which it ships in.
Overall I am looking forward to wearing this shirt!"
Review 11 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
NOT Flannel, Misleading Description,
October 31, 2011
By: Danventure
"To reiterate, this is definitely not flannel. I purchased the navy check color and though it's soft, the material is not as warm or soft as flannel. Other issues with this shirt include a very wide collar opening (because when you leave the top button unbuttoned there is a larger opening than regular collared shirts). My only other complaint is the shirt pocket is too far down, it just looks a little dorky. Overall, the material is a nice soft cotton, the shirt looks good to the eye, but the design needs work. It fits larger than other brands, so not a fitted look. Overall, a nice shirt for casual wear, but do not expect flannel."
Review 12 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shirt but not flannel,
October 23, 2011
By: crawdaddy
from MD
"This is definitely not a flannel shirt, and the pattern does not line up across the front when the shirt is buttoned. Now, the complaints are out of the way. It is a nice soft fabric, very comfortable, nice color and pattern. The fit is generous. If you are looking for a classic, warm, flannel shirt, look elsewhere. If you want a nice looking comfortable shirt that feels like a lighter weight oxford cloth that is made in America, then this could be perfect for you."
Review 13 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
comfortable as an old friend,
January 31, 2011
By: oracle
from the south
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The shirt is of beautiful cotton cloth with rich color. I found it odd that two of the reviews referred to the cloth as stiff fabric, because the shirt I received was soft and comfortable when I first put it on as if I had wore it and washed it many times. It was the same wonderful Orvis quality I always expect and I wasn't disappionted."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
January 3, 2011
By: jrt1
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I was disappointed by two things in this shirt. One, the fabric was not the the traditional, soft cotton I expect from a flannel shirt, it had almost the same feel as a traditional men's cotton oxford shirt. Two, the plaid did not match up across the front. All-in-all, the shirt was well-made except for the things I mentioned here and I hope Orvis continues to offer items made-in-America."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 11, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize that this shirt was not as expected. We have sent these comments to our product specialists to consider when they review this item. We love hearing from our customers and appreciate the time they take to offer suggestions to us. We gladly refunded this cusotmer for this purchase-you may return any item, at any time.
Review 15 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not what was expected,
December 31, 2010
By: Lennny
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I expected it to feel like a traditional,soft flannel shirt. Instead, it felt like a typical man's cotton dress shirt. It will be returned. My other purchase from Orvis was fine."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 9, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize this shirt did not meet expectations. We did cheerfully offer an exchange or a full refund for this item. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business!
Review 16 for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 31, 2010
By: QQQQ
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great shirt, made in USA. Orvis should have a larger American made Collection."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Fall River Flannel Shirt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1