Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater

We took the undyed, naturally brownish-gray color of black sheep wool and combined it with a bit of white wool to get this distinctive, heathered color. This is a traditional cable-knit crewneck sweater that is a classic of Irish style and culture. Slip it over a collared shirt for a casual look and to take off the chill. Rib-knit finish at neck, cuffs, and hem. Pure wool. Hand wash or dry clean. Ireland. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (325 reviews)
5 stars
244
4 stars
55
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
7
300 of 325(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Review 1 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too long,
January 29, 2015
By: TxDave
from West Texas Mountains
"6 feet tall and ordered the large. This sweater is easily 3 inches longer than any other sweater I own. It actually covers my butt. I am long-legged so if you have a long torso or are taller the length may not be an issue for you.
Other than that I loved this sweater and would have kept it if it fit."
Review 2 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A better than expected purchase,
January 27, 2015
By: DMccracken
from Aberdeen NC
"I don't typically wear pull-over sweaters. In fact I think this is the only one that I own. I'm more a shirt and vest kind of guy. However I liked the look of this one in the photograph on line so I took a chance. I like the natural un-dyed wool--color and texture. I've owned it for about 3 weeks, worn it three times. The first time that I wore it was on a trip to see my grandchildren. It was comfortable on a 3 hour drive and my daughter gave it compliments."
Review 3 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Breezy,
January 27, 2015
By: STRO
from Colorado
"To many spaces between fabric. Has looks but is impractical for winter warmth."
Review 4 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always wanted one,
January 27, 2015
By: Texecomer
from Austin, TX
"Heavy sweater, very warm. The weave is open so you would need a wind blocker for blustery days. Very pleased with the purchase of this sweater."
Review 5 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice!,
January 27, 2015
By: DocDonR
from Indiana
"This is a great sweater! With a long sleeve t-shirt underneath or a collared shirt it swings both ways."
Review 6 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good job Orvis!,
January 23, 2015
By: MatthewB
from Anchorage, AK
"I just received my sweater; in less than a 5 days I might mention. I'm very impressed with the material and quality of this sweater. The wool itself is beautiful. I was a little concerned due to the reviews that said there was a "Barn yard" odor, leading some to go so far as returning theirs. It smells like natural lanolin. In no way does it smell dirty.The stitching is very nice, and this is a heavy sweater. Some of the stitching is more open, but over all this sweater is, tightly knit, true to size, and very warm. Not to mention made in Ireland, credit is due for that one."
Review 7 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice sweater,
January 23, 2015
By: Makepeace
from Long Island NY
"It's a heavy knit in a somewhat coarse wool. Nicely made. Good value. Ideal for informal wear on cold days. Very satisfied."
Review 8 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greta fit and good looking,
January 22, 2015
By: COTraveler1K
from Denver, CO
"This is a nautical sweater that fit well. The color was great. It looked better than the pictures on the web. The fit was great. It rue to size. I did feel that neck was tight but it was not an issue that would make me want to return it. I am very happy and have worn it a bunch already."
Review 9 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Winter Sweater,
January 22, 2015
By: Charlie1965
from Oxford, Pa
"A first class product. Warm, comfortable and good looking. I would highly recommend it."
Review 10 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is cool.,
January 21, 2015
By: hirosiAK
from AK Japan
"This item is cool.
But Seam is large. The other side can be seen. Whether this is normal?
"
Review 11 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly the Sweater I Was Hoping For,
January 20, 2015
By: RhettKU
from Denver, CO
"This is a great chunky sweater, and it looks great on! The only concern you should have is the fit of the sweater. I'm 6'2'' and the arms are still kind of long on me. The theory I have is that the sweater is cut for being active in it. Layering is going to be key for this sweater."
Review 12 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
January 20, 2015
By: Dromos
from Brooklyn, NY
"Like the construction, which manages to be warm but still light. Great charcoal gray color. Will wear often."
Review 13 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
high quality, great fit,
January 20, 2015
By: markabauer
from Boulder, CO
"This sweater is made from high quality wool and it is very well-made. Fit was true to the sizing chart. A great sweater for cold weather. Highly recommended."
Review 14 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
January 18, 2015
By: WoodlandRasta
from Boulder, CO
"The high quality you expect from an Orvis product delivered again."
Review 15 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful sweater!!!!!!!,
January 15, 2015
By: JasonB
from Boston
"I love this sweater!!!!!! Rugged with a touch of class!!!"
Review 16 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Father-in-law loved it,
January 15, 2015
By: thejimmyjam9000
from Vancouver, BC
"I bought this as a christmas present. He's been wearing it non-stop since. It's great outside. It's hearty. It smells like a sheep (which he couldn't get enough of) so you know it likely has a lot of the lanolin left in the wool. The collar is tight and fits close to the neck, which is great if you like that. The wool is stiff, so I'd avoid it if you don't like scratchy wool."
Review 17 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A seriously good sweater,
January 12, 2015
By: Cheviotman
from Salisbury
"This is a great chunky sweater for cold days. The wool and knit are real quality. It seems very well put together and the sizing is spot on - a sensible length too. The natural colour gives it a very traditional look. Goes very well with jeans. If you find wool itchy you'll need to wear a thick shirt underneath it."
Review 18 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally ...,
January 10, 2015
By: PopFish
from Charlottesville, VA
"The perfect sweater that I've always been looking for! An Irish style beauty that can't be found elsewhere."
Review 19 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
built for taller leaner,
January 9, 2015
By: Paky
"I'm a short, budgy guy but most large size sweaters fit me relatively well. this one was very long on me so I returned it."
Review 20 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natural Color Sheep Irish Sweater,
January 9, 2015
By: AEINORA
from Kingston,NY Catskill Country
"I purchased four of these sweaters total as Christmas gifts for myself and other family members. I love the Natural Color and being a 'small' woman I was delighted with the Men's small! Obveously they haven't been washed yet but I am sure they will come through with flying colors. We all love the sweater --own many other Irish Knit sweaters so we really do have something to compare this one too! If you have had any doubts--cast them to the wind and get one before they are all gone for the season!"