Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater

We took the undyed, naturally brownish-gray color of black sheep wool and combined it with a bit of white wool to get this distinctive, heathered color. This is a traditional cable-knit crewneck sweater that is a classic of Irish style and culture. Slip it over a collared shirt for a casual look and to take off the chill. Rib-knit finish at neck, cuffs, and hem. Pure wool. Hand wash or dry clean. Ireland. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.592 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (218 reviews)
5 stars
163
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
6
199 of 218(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Review 1 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cold?!?! What cold?,
October 26, 2014
By: RayItUp
from Germany
"I recently moved to Germany where the winds howl and the rains pour. I wear this sweater a lot. It is very well constructed. It's also beautiful - so they say.
I would recommend this to anyone wanting a sweater that will last a long time, keep you warm and dry, and look incredible.
It's not itchy either.
I'm 5'11" and 200 pounds. I have a 44" inch chest. The large fits me fine and I can wear a t-shirt or light button-up underneath."
Review 2 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprise !,
October 23, 2014
By: Macopeland
from WA. State
"Excellent craftsmanship , beautiful artistic knit."
Review 3 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish, great fit,
October 23, 2014
By: Urpalal
from Houston, TX
"Comfortable and warm which is helpful while traveling to cooler climes. Solid, quality product."
Review 4 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hold Your Nose,
October 23, 2014
By: Dewarman
from Bergen County, NJ
"The sweater was very handsome. However, it smelled like a barn and the odor would not go away after several days of airing. I had to return it and I had wanted this sweater for several years."
Review 5 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Even Washes Well in the North Pacific,
October 19, 2014
By: Bawannaconga
from Los Angeles
"I love this sweater, and have taken it on two Alaskan bear hunts. On the second trip, I took it off as the weather heated up in the afternoon and tied it around my waist on a coastal return from a stalk. Apparently I lost in on the beach. We found it three days later in the surf. I hung it on a scrub alder and let the rain rinse it out; the sun dry it out; and then shook it to get remaining sand out of it. I wore it on the plane rides home to Los Angeles!"
Review 6 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made,
October 14, 2014
By: big10red
from Madison, WI
"This sweater is well made, warm, and handsome. Another great purchase from Orvis."
Review 7 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
October 6, 2014
By: Scrabble
from Canada
"I purchased this sweater for myself and its as good as I hoped it would be, fits great and my wife liked it also. I live in Canada and it is almost cold enough to start wearing it."
Review 8 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great sweater,
October 5, 2014
By: longarm
from vail, colorado
"warm, versatile, well made. perfect fall/winter layer."
Review 9 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charming wooly!,
September 19, 2014
By: Bored
from Hampshire
"An XXL size in most Orvis items I've purchased has meant too much material in the waist area. I ordered an XXL sweater presuming that it would be slightly large for me and therefore loose, roomy and not to fitted, which is what I was hoping for. The XXL in this sweater is true to size and fits snuggly and although not as roomy as I'd hoped for, given previous sizing on other items, it is a keeper! Fairly heavy in weight, a lovely rustic feel to it and it smells like a sheep... I like the fact that it's not a tight knit and although it is a bit scratchy, a thin T shirt or normal shirt can be worn underneath. It looks perfect under a tweed jacket or coat and will definitely be welcome when the temperatures drop. It may stretch a little with wear, but that will only add to its charm."
Review 10 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful jumper,
September 17, 2014
By: Mirpem
"This is a beautiful, thick, cosy jumper. Perfect for walks on chilly autumn days."
Review 11 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real wooly jumper!,
September 13, 2014
By: Bored
from Hampshire
"An XXL size in most Orvis items I've purchased has meant too much material in the waist area. I ordered an XXL sweater presuming that it would be slightly large for me and therefore loose, roomy and not to fitted, which is what I was hoping for. The XXL in this sweater is true to size and fits snuggly and although not as roomy as I'd hoped for, given previous sizing on other items, it is a keeper! Fairly heavy in weight, a lovely rustic feel to it and it smells like a sheep... I like the fact that it's not a tight knit and although it is a bit scratchy, a thin T shirt or normal shirt can be worn underneath. It looks perfect under a tweed jacket or coat and will definitely be welcome when the temperatures drop. It may stretch a little with wear, but that will only add to its charm."
Review 12 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product; reasonable price,
January 26, 2014
By: Tellico
from Chattanooga,Tn
"This is a great fitting, easy wearing sweater. It looks great whether dressed up or down."
Review 13 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meh.,
January 22, 2014
By: Saponifi3d
"The style of the sweater is good, however it's a bit scratchy and also it's not very thick, the weaving itself actually has holes large enough that you can easily see through it. Meaning, wind will go straight through and chill you to the bone."
Review 14 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic look,
January 16, 2014
By: Rick6a
from St. Louis, MO
"This classic sweater has a look and feel of above average quality I have come to expect from Orvis."
Review 15 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Men's Fisherrman Sweater,
January 16, 2014
By: 12166
from San Jose, Ca
"It was a hit. Perfect fit. Looks wonderful and cozy. Hard to get it off him!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Quality,
January 16, 2014
By: Clive
from Oklahoma City
"I've purchased sweaters from Orvis before, but this is the best ever. The fit is excellent and the quality of construction is superb."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT sweater,
January 16, 2014
By: peglyweg
from MN
"Beautiful! Warm! Very High Quality!
I would have expected to pay much more. My husband loves it and I love looking at him in it.
"
Review 18 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A little too authentic,
January 16, 2014
By: Notahipster
from NY, NY
"Comfy and warm. A little too authentic in that it doesn't fit like most sweaters, a little big around the arms and in certain areas you could like it to be more fitting. Definitely feels handmade. Wear with a mustache or beard to complete the look."
Review 19 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loves it !,
January 16, 2014
By: fran45140
"This sweater was excellent in quality. It was just the correct weight that it wasn't too hot, nor too cold to feel comfortable in . The fact it came from a country with a quality reputation in sweater wear was the reason for the purchase. The price was very good also- not too high in price and not too cheap. Would buy again a product from this country."
Review 20 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great sweater!,
January 15, 2014
By: MarylandShopper
from Baltimore, MD
"I got this as a gift for my husband for Christmas (he requested it!). It is such a nice quality addition to his wardrobe. He likes it a lot and looks great in it! The fit is true to size. This is a warm sweater! It is wool so he always wears something underneath so it won't be itchy. This is a great color and a classic sweater that he will be able to wear for years to come. Highly recommend!"