Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater

We took the undyed, naturally brownish-gray color of black sheep wool and combined it with a bit of white wool to get this distinctive, heathered color. This is a traditional cable-knit crewneck sweater that is a classic of Irish style and culture. Slip it over a collared shirt for a casual look and to take off the chill. Rib-knit finish at neck, cuffs, and hem. Pure wool. Hand wash or dry clean. Ireland. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.589 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (226 reviews)
5 stars
169
4 stars
37
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
6
206 of 226(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Review 1 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as expected,
November 15, 2014
By: SandfordC
"This sweater exactly fits both me and the catalogue description. A staple wardrobe item for the winter"
Review 2 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old Fashioned Natural Quality,
November 10, 2014
By: Bugs99
from Colorado
"Fine, fine quality yarn, un-washed, un-treated with chemical strippers, full of lanolin, smells like a farm. I have not received a new product made this way in decades. Will be cherished forever. SIze is generous."
Review 3 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
November 7, 2014
By: jbt3
from Bristol, RI
"I was sure that this sweater was going to be itchy....I was wrong!! The feel is great as well as the fit."
Review 4 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater I have ever owned,
November 5, 2014
By: TheWataugaWonder
from Boone, NC
"I purchased my Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater because I hate heavy, bulky, uncomfortable winter coats. My Orvis sweater was promptly delivered and just in time for the first snow of the season. Temperatures dropped below thirty and with my sweater, and a quilted vest over it, I was warm and comfortable. This April, when trout season opens up here in the mountains of Western North Carolina, with snow usually still on the ground, I will donn my Or is sweater, my waders, pick up my sacred Orvis fly-rod and fish my favorite stretch of the Watauga River."
Review 5 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and sturdy,
November 4, 2014
By: WGAF
from Chicago,IL.
"I like this sweater very much. Typically Irish sweaters are very warm but this one seems to be warmer than most. My only disappointment(if it is a disappoimtment) is the color. I thought it was going to be more like a graybut I am very happy with it."
Review 6 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Low Quality Knitting,
November 2, 2014
By: TNRB
from Philadelphia, Pa
"This machine knitted sweater has numerous flaws which appear to be holes caused by dropped knots. This gives a peculiar visual effect when worn over a lighter piece of clothing."
Review 7 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and beautiful,
October 27, 2014
By: Locksley
from Hendersonville, NC
"I've never had a sweater as good as this one. It is extremely warm and needed since we live in the Blue Ridge mountains. The look can be used if dressing up or down; and the color goes with any outfit.. It doesn't overheat and the light weight makes me forget that I'm even wearing a sweater."
Review 8 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cold?!?! What cold?,
October 26, 2014
By: RayItUp
from Germany
"I recently moved to Germany where the winds howl and the rains pour. I wear this sweater a lot. It is very well constructed. It's also beautiful - so they say.
I would recommend this to anyone wanting a sweater that will last a long time, keep you warm and dry, and look incredible.
It's not itchy either.
I'm 5'11" and 200 pounds. I have a 44" inch chest. The large fits me fine and I can wear a t-shirt or light button-up underneath."
Review 9 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprise !,
October 23, 2014
By: Macopeland
from WA. State
"Excellent craftsmanship , beautiful artistic knit."
Review 10 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish, great fit,
October 23, 2014
By: Urpalal
from Houston, TX
"Comfortable and warm which is helpful while traveling to cooler climes. Solid, quality product."
Review 11 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hold Your Nose,
October 23, 2014
By: Dewarman
from Bergen County, NJ
"The sweater was very handsome. However, it smelled like a barn and the odor would not go away after several days of airing. I had to return it and I had wanted this sweater for several years."
Review 12 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Even Washes Well in the North Pacific,
October 19, 2014
By: Bawannaconga
from Los Angeles
"I love this sweater, and have taken it on two Alaskan bear hunts. On the second trip, I took it off as the weather heated up in the afternoon and tied it around my waist on a coastal return from a stalk. Apparently I lost in on the beach. We found it three days later in the surf. I hung it on a scrub alder and let the rain rinse it out; the sun dry it out; and then shook it to get remaining sand out of it. I wore it on the plane rides home to Los Angeles!"
Review 13 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made,
October 14, 2014
By: big10red
from Madison, WI
"This sweater is well made, warm, and handsome. Another great purchase from Orvis."
Review 14 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
October 6, 2014
By: Scrabble
from Canada
"I purchased this sweater for myself and its as good as I hoped it would be, fits great and my wife liked it also. I live in Canada and it is almost cold enough to start wearing it."
Review 15 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great sweater,
October 5, 2014
By: longarm
from vail, colorado
"warm, versatile, well made. perfect fall/winter layer."
Review 16 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charming wooly!,
September 19, 2014
By: Bored
from Hampshire
"An XXL size in most Orvis items I've purchased has meant too much material in the waist area. I ordered an XXL sweater presuming that it would be slightly large for me and therefore loose, roomy and not to fitted, which is what I was hoping for. The XXL in this sweater is true to size and fits snuggly and although not as roomy as I'd hoped for, given previous sizing on other items, it is a keeper! Fairly heavy in weight, a lovely rustic feel to it and it smells like a sheep... I like the fact that it's not a tight knit and although it is a bit scratchy, a thin T shirt or normal shirt can be worn underneath. It looks perfect under a tweed jacket or coat and will definitely be welcome when the temperatures drop. It may stretch a little with wear, but that will only add to its charm."
Review 17 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful jumper,
September 17, 2014
By: Mirpem
"This is a beautiful, thick, cosy jumper. Perfect for walks on chilly autumn days."
Review 18 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real wooly jumper!,
September 13, 2014
By: Bored
from Hampshire
"An XXL size in most Orvis items I've purchased has meant too much material in the waist area. I ordered an XXL sweater presuming that it would be slightly large for me and therefore loose, roomy and not to fitted, which is what I was hoping for. The XXL in this sweater is true to size and fits snuggly and although not as roomy as I'd hoped for, given previous sizing on other items, it is a keeper! Fairly heavy in weight, a lovely rustic feel to it and it smells like a sheep... I like the fact that it's not a tight knit and although it is a bit scratchy, a thin T shirt or normal shirt can be worn underneath. It looks perfect under a tweed jacket or coat and will definitely be welcome when the temperatures drop. It may stretch a little with wear, but that will only add to its charm."
Review 19 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product; reasonable price,
January 26, 2014
By: Tellico
from Chattanooga,Tn
"This is a great fitting, easy wearing sweater. It looks great whether dressed up or down."
Review 20 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meh.,
January 22, 2014
By: Saponifi3d
"The style of the sweater is good, however it's a bit scratchy and also it's not very thick, the weaving itself actually has holes large enough that you can easily see through it. Meaning, wind will go straight through and chill you to the bone."