Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper

We took the naturally, undyed brownish-grey colour of black sheep wool and combined it with a bit of white wool to get this distinctive, heathered colour. This is a traditional cable-knit crewneck jumper that is a classic of Irish style and culture. Slip it over a collared shirt for a casual look and to take off the chill. Rib-knit finish at neck, cuffs, and hem. In brown/grey. Pure wool. Hand wash or dry clean. Ireland. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.598 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (209 reviews)
5 stars
156
4 stars
35
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
5
191 of 209(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Review 1 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charming wooly!,
September 19, 2014
By: Bored
from Hampshire
"An XXL size in most Orvis items I've purchased has meant too much material in the waist area. I ordered an XXL sweater presuming that it would be slightly large for me and therefore loose, roomy and not to fitted, which is what I was hoping for. The XXL in this sweater is true to size and fits snuggly and although not as roomy as I'd hoped for, given previous sizing on other items, it is a keeper! Fairly heavy in weight, a lovely rustic feel to it and it smells like a sheep... I like the fact that it's not a tight knit and although it is a bit scratchy, a thin T shirt or normal shirt can be worn underneath. It looks perfect under a tweed jacket or coat and will definitely be welcome when the temperatures drop. It may stretch a little with wear, but that will only add to its charm."
Review 2 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful jumper,
September 17, 2014
By: Mirpem
"This is a beautiful, thick, cosy jumper. Perfect for walks on chilly autumn days."
Review 3 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real wooly jumper!,
September 13, 2014
By: Bored
from Hampshire
"An XXL size in most Orvis items I've purchased has meant too much material in the waist area. I ordered an XXL sweater presuming that it would be slightly large for me and therefore loose, roomy and not to fitted, which is what I was hoping for. The XXL in this sweater is true to size and fits snuggly and although not as roomy as I'd hoped for, given previous sizing on other items, it is a keeper! Fairly heavy in weight, a lovely rustic feel to it and it smells like a sheep... I like the fact that it's not a tight knit and although it is a bit scratchy, a thin T shirt or normal shirt can be worn underneath. It looks perfect under a tweed jacket or coat and will definitely be welcome when the temperatures drop. It may stretch a little with wear, but that will only add to its charm."
Review 4 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product; reasonable price,
January 26, 2014
By: Tellico
from Chattanooga,Tn
"This is a great fitting, easy wearing sweater. It looks great whether dressed up or down."
Review 5 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meh.,
January 22, 2014
By: Saponifi3d
"The style of the sweater is good, however it's a bit scratchy and also it's not very thick, the weaving itself actually has holes large enough that you can easily see through it. Meaning, wind will go straight through and chill you to the bone."
Review 6 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic look,
January 16, 2014
By: Rick6a
from St. Louis, MO
"This classic sweater has a look and feel of above average quality I have come to expect from Orvis."
Review 7 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Men's Fisherrman Sweater,
January 16, 2014
By: 12166
from San Jose, Ca
"It was a hit. Perfect fit. Looks wonderful and cozy. Hard to get it off him!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Quality,
January 16, 2014
By: Clive
from Oklahoma City
"I've purchased sweaters from Orvis before, but this is the best ever. The fit is excellent and the quality of construction is superb."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT sweater,
January 16, 2014
By: peglyweg
from MN
"Beautiful! Warm! Very High Quality!
I would have expected to pay much more. My husband loves it and I love looking at him in it.
"
Review 10 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A little too authentic,
January 16, 2014
By: Notahipster
from NY, NY
"Comfy and warm. A little too authentic in that it doesn't fit like most sweaters, a little big around the arms and in certain areas you could like it to be more fitting. Definitely feels handmade. Wear with a mustache or beard to complete the look."
Review 11 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loves it !,
January 16, 2014
By: fran45140
"This sweater was excellent in quality. It was just the correct weight that it wasn't too hot, nor too cold to feel comfortable in . The fact it came from a country with a quality reputation in sweater wear was the reason for the purchase. The price was very good also- not too high in price and not too cheap. Would buy again a product from this country."
Review 12 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great sweater!,
January 15, 2014
By: MarylandShopper
from Baltimore, MD
"I got this as a gift for my husband for Christmas (he requested it!). It is such a nice quality addition to his wardrobe. He likes it a lot and looks great in it! The fit is true to size. This is a warm sweater! It is wool so he always wears something underneath so it won't be itchy. This is a great color and a classic sweater that he will be able to wear for years to come. Highly recommend!"
Review 13 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 15, 2014
By: Peach12
"I bought this for my husband and he loves it! Super warm are the wool is such a cool color"
Review 14 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Beautiful Sweater,
January 15, 2014
By: JAMJR
from San Antonio, TX
"The sweater is really a beauty. It is soft, unique and beautiful. I have an off white sweater that is the same style, but this one is a wonderfully soft grey that makes this sweater a great addition to my wardrobe. It complements many of the winter clothes that I own and it feels so good and looks great. The fit is perfect and I have received many compilments on the sweater every time I wear it. I would recommend Orvis to my friends"
Review 15 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater,
January 15, 2014
By: mgan
from Park Ridge, IL
"I bought this for my husband for Christmas , he loved it. So did my son and my son-in-law so next Christmas they will both get this sweater."
Review 16 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Sweter,
January 15, 2014
By: HighSchoolHarry
from Milford OH
"Looks great and exceptional fit for my XXL person. Lots of positive comments and questions... unique being a black sheep wool sweater. Very pleased with sweater and the ease of ordering, fast shipping, etc. Highly recommend."
Review 17 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful sweater,
January 15, 2014
By: Englishsettermom
from Houston, Tx
"I purchased this sweater as a Christmas gift for my son. He loves it. The medium was true to size. As a knitter, I can say the construction of the sweater is excellent and the stitches are just beautiful. I was concerned the sweater might be itchy because it is pure wool but it was quite soft and he wears it next to his skin with no problems. The color is not a true black but a dark heathered shade that shows some browns when in the sunlight. I am very pleased with the purchase and would highly recommend it to those looking for a very warm sweater."
Review 18 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Heavy sweater,
January 15, 2014
By: Loyalshoppertoo
from Maryland
"This is a fine sweater for outdoors and cold weather. It did not suit my husband who was looking for something to wear indoors over a shirt. I would recommend it to an avid outdoorsman, but not to anyone I know personally. We happily found several other Orvis sweaters that filled our needs."
Review 19 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
January 3, 2014
By: Sue1946
from Stevenson, WA
"Beautiful, warm, comfortable sweater, my husband's favorite Christmas gift. You can still find quality clothing through Orvis."
Review 20 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman Jumper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Sweater for a Lifetime!,
December 30, 2013
By: browngirlcorbin
from Indianapolis, IN
"This sweater will be a wardrobe staple for a long time to come. Excellent quality that is just really hard to find these days. Exceptionally warm and very well made. Very satisfied!"