Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater

We took the undyed, naturally brownish-gray color of black sheep wool and combined it with a bit of white wool to get this distinctive, heathered color. This is a traditional cable-knit crewneck sweater that is a classic of Irish style and culture. Slip it over a collared shirt for a casual look and to take off the chill. Rib-knit finish at neck, cuffs, and hem. Pure wool. Hand wash or dry clean. Ireland. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (275 reviews)
5 stars
206
4 stars
46
3 stars
13
2 stars
4
1 star
6
254 of 275(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Review 1 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome sweater! Great quality and comfort,
December 19, 2014
By: Outdoorsmanlyman
"This is one of the best sweaters I have. It is warm and fits great, It seems to run a little big by a half size or so. The wool is very good quality. Thick and nicely woven. The colar,cuffs, and waistband are tight to keep in place, but not uncomfortably so. I would highly recommend, and would indeed purchase again."
Review 2 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 18, 2014
By: BoulderSilo
from Colorado
"This is a classic wool sweater. I do recommend it."
Review 3 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 18, 2014
By: WhiteBarnGarage
from MO
"As I thought this is a great sweater for the price!"
Review 4 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality,
December 18, 2014
By: jcoleman471
"Fantastic sweater. Materials and fit are top notch."
Review 5 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 18, 2014
By: BakersIsland
from Palermo,Maine
"You really can't smell the farm! Another outstanding ORVIS item.
Works well under my new Hampshire Lambskin Leather Vest.
Every one wants to know where I purchased them. I love to promote Orvis fine clothing.
"
Review 6 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 17, 2014
By: Trapper52
"The sweater is a wee bit scratchy. I am not particularly sensitive but next time I wear it, I will wear a turtle neck underneath."
Review 7 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 16, 2014
By: Greko
"Great purchase... Really warm... But a little scratchy at the neck!"
Review 8 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not solid,
December 16, 2014
By: timreviewsky
from 92211
"The weave is not as thick as it looks and if you wear white underneath it shows through. Also if you are sensitive to wool this won't work for you."
Review 9 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Authentic,
December 16, 2014
By: MSilk
from Up-State New York
"Very pleased with the quality of this product. The touch and smell lends ones imagination to the hillside of Ireland. If you like wool products, I suggest that you consider this one.
Happy shopping..."
Review 10 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Christmas present,
December 16, 2014
By: MassK
from Alabama
"This sweater was cozy and warm, perfect for the colder weather where our recipient lives."
Review 11 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmest sweater I own,
December 16, 2014
By: Mxyzptlk
from New York City, NY
"This sweater is very warm, handome, and of good quality. I like layering it under my Barbour jacket as the combination has been keeping me both warm and weatherproof this winter.
It is a bit itchy, though I'm sure that will likely pass with time."
Review 12 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NICE THICK SWEATER,
December 16, 2014
By: GITANC
"Bought this for my husband to wear to his very cold office. It is a nice thick sweater, but also looks professional."
Review 13 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice sweater,
December 16, 2014
By: JackBauer
"This sweater is very good. The material is soft and wonderful.This was the first thing I bought from orvis and I liked it very much!"
Review 14 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 15, 2014
By: Clancyboy
"Nice sweater I returned for larger size . I felt the men's large was a little tight."
Review 15 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Quality!,
December 15, 2014
By: Sailor23
from Blue Hill, ME
"Purchased this sweater to wear sailing during the cold seasons. I love the quality. I can wear it instead of a jacket on damp cold days but it is not too warm to wear indoors either. I no longer have to put jackets on and off when going from the deck to the cabin."
Review 16 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this sweater,
December 15, 2014
By: Chow15
"Very comfortable on them cold days.
Love the color and softness of this sweater.
"
Review 17 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 15, 2014
By: Ollie828
"This one's a winner! I wish it came in different colors too like black or dark green so I could order more than one"
Review 18 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional value,
December 15, 2014
By: Jamesdg
"I searched for similar sweaters, but found nothing that stood out from the rest until I saw this one. I get compliments every time its worn."
Review 19 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort,
December 15, 2014
By: highwheeler50
from Atlantic City,NJ
"This Sweater is extremely warm and comfortable... soft to the touch.."
Review 20 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice sweater,
December 15, 2014
By: GoBlue1
from Ann Arbor, MI
"Seems to be well made. I like the dark color, it appears to be in between dark charcoal and dark chocolate. The sizing is a bit generous, but the wool is stretchy and springy so it doesn't feel baggy. Warm and comfortable."