Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater

We took the undyed, naturally brownish-gray color of black sheep wool and combined it with a bit of white wool to get this distinctive, heathered color. This is a traditional cable-knit crewneck sweater that is a classic of Irish style and culture. Slip it over a collared shirt for a casual look and to take off the chill. Rib-knit finish at neck, cuffs, and hem. Pure wool. Hand wash or dry clean. Ireland. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (364 reviews)
5 stars
276
4 stars
59
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
8
338 of 364(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Review 1 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for cold Patagonian days,
April 5, 2015
By: PatagoniaBakerLodge
from Patagonia, Chile
"This one has been on my wishlist for a long time. Finally I decided to order one since a friend was traveling from the US and could bring it to the Baker river in the Aysen región in Chilean Patagonia.
I have a lot of Orvis Clothing, shirts, pants and jackets and I have sort of figured out the sizing. I am 6,1 and find that Medium is the size that fits me best. So I ordered the sewater in M size, fitted me perfect. It is a pure wool sweater so expect it not to be silky smoth. Great buy. I
"
Review 2 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Fisherman Knit,
March 31, 2015
By: NWGeezer
from Albany, OR
"This is a really well-made sweater from Ireland. I like the darker wool and the tight knit. Fits to size and is very warm for the weight. An additional feature is that the wool is not "oily" as I've experienced with other sweaters from Ireland."
Review 3 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warmth,
March 30, 2015
By: moisin
"On a cool fall or spring day or evening this has become my ever-present outer coat."
Review 4 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Itchy, smelly, but beautiful,
March 21, 2015
By: Mike93754
from Seattle, WA
"The sweater arrived and, I will say, smelled a bit. Like the sheep from which the wool came. But a trip to the dry cleaner should fix that, I hope. And I've never owned an Irish woot sweater, but I can see what people man when they've commented that this is a little itchy, but I'm chalking that up to the fact that it's wool. So I'll just make sure and wear a long-sleeve t-shirt under it and that shouldn't be a problem, either. But it fits great, looks great and is exactly how I hoped it would look. I love it."
Review 5 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater,
March 5, 2015
By: boxlock
from UK Midland Counties
"This is a warm sweater with a good neck line. it comes a little small but not unduely so. Very comfortable to wear.
I consider this good value for money.
"
Review 6 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cosy!,
February 26, 2015
By: PenguinPaul
from South of England UK
"This is a delight to wear. It feels warm and comfortable and the fit is true to size. Other than the joy of wearing it, I am very pleased that it works with different colours in my Orvis wardrobe. It has become a favourite of mine in just a week!"
Review 7 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black sheep sweater the real McCoy,
February 20, 2015
By: paperez
from Toulouse, France
"I have more sweaters than I can count, they all endup going to charity, not this one, it is comfortable, real, yes The Real McCoy, I wonder if my boys will be interested in inheriting this article.
The idea of a sweater made with blackheep wool and the color changes that you experience as the day goes from cloudy to sunny is truly amazing. Five starts for this one.
"
Review 8 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Sweater,
February 17, 2015
By: SteveMemphisTN
from Memphis, TN
"This is exactly what I was looking for - a 100% wool sweater that was heavy enough to wear without a coat but breathable enough to wear comfortably inside. It looks and feels great, and I plan to purchase another soon."
Review 9 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
REALLY rough!,
February 13, 2015
By: JetC615
"First, this sweater is very beautiful. Sadly though, the texture is much rougher than I expected. Of course I knew that it was 100% wool but I have sweaters that are 100% wool that are not nearly as rough. It's a shame because I really, really loved this sweater! But I had to return it because of the itchiness. Even with a thick tee shirt underneath it was still too coarse."
Review 10 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality,
February 12, 2015
By: Nicky2014
"Worth the price and feels great to wear. beautiful sweater."
Review 11 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Sweater!,
February 12, 2015
By: BiggyDDS
from Columbus, Ohio
"I really like the sweater. Well made, warm. Looks good with a shirt and tie, or t-shirt and jeans. Definitely worth the money!"
Review 12 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great heavy warm sweater,
February 12, 2015
By: WarmAtLast
from Portsmouth, NH
"Living in New Hampshire I need heavy all wool sweaters ( which are hard to find ). This one is super warm and a great color. Lots of compliments."
Review 13 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Irish Sweater,
February 11, 2015
By: JimmyBob
from Chicago, IL area
"Have several Irish made sweaters & this one is among the very best. Really like the natural "black sheep" wool color, style & warmth. What's not to like."
Review 14 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My best outdoor sweater,
February 11, 2015
By: Chip48
from Portland OR
"I bought this sweater last fall at the Orvis store in Lake Oswego OR. I love it. Just bought two more on-line to give to others."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son loves it,
February 11, 2015
By: Librarylib
from Grayslake, IL
"I bought this sweater as a gift for my adult son. He has a slender build and varies from a size small to a medium. We chose the small this time, as the fit says it's on the generous side. He says it fits well without being snug, and he loves the color as well as the style and weight of the sweater. Altogether a favorite gift!"
Review 16 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good buy,
February 9, 2015
By: GJ47
from Wimborne Minster
"Very warm and comfortable from the moment I put it on. Slightly disappointed that the "weave" seems a bit loose but on the whole I am pleased with the sweater."
Review 17 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking sweater,
February 9, 2015
By: wfciii
from Chestnut Hill, MA
"I love this sweater! It looks great and is warm. I have several similar ones, but this is becoming my favorite."
Review 18 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweater drawer star,
February 6, 2015
By: preacst
from Tennessee, United States
"This one will keep you warm and toasty. The color is a wonderful mix; blends with many garments. Will not be a black sheep in your sweater drawer."
Review 19 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm and attractive,
February 5, 2015
By: Cornellian
from Upstate NY
"The first one arrived with loose threads - not what I expected from Orvis. But the exchange went smoothly. I am surprised at the loose weave of the sweater, but it seems well made and my husband says it is very warm."
Review 20 for Black Sheep Irish Fisherman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in my collection,
February 4, 2015
By: Grits101
from Hudson, OH
"I have about 16 sweaters; this is the best. The color can be worn with almost anything. The armholes are cut high -- like a dress cashmere so it fits under my lightweight jacket -- no bunching in the armpits. I have short arms (33" in a dress shirt) and this sweater is made so the cuffs turn easily."