Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt

Shrug off cold weather with a handsome western-style cowhide suede shirt that feels great against the skin thanks to a soft, warm Sherpa-fleece lining. Although this shirt has the rugged look and build of a jacket, its cut and fit are reminiscent of a favorite winter flannel shirt. Two flap-closed chest pockets. Straight yoke. Button cuffs. Side vents assure an easy fit when you're active. Western suede shirt in light brown. Genuine sueded cowhide body with acrylic/polyester lining. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: XL(46-48). About 30" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Review 1 for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
odd looking shirt on,
November 6, 2012
By: AngelG
"The shirt looked fine in photos but on my husband the pockets are too prominent and obviously fake looking. It is also very heavy and not as warm as a wool sweater. Lastly, the fit is very boxy adding 10 to 15 pounds. Sorry to say the shirt went back."
Review 2 for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Very Pleasant Surprise,
October 12, 2012
By: Skeetshooter
from Sheffield, MA
"Sometimes I have ordered a product based upon the picture and discription, and when it arrives I am satisfied, but not overjoyed. However, this product far exceeded my expectations; not only for great looks, but also for the high quality of craftsmanship. I literally wear it almost all of the time, both inside and outside. I've received great comments from friends, and strangers. A great buy; it happens sometimes!"
Review 3 for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt is Perfect!!!,
August 17, 2012
By: HomerSvenson
from Benton Harbor, Michigan
"I am enjoying my Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt!!! It fits great and it looks great. I cannot wait for cooler Fall weather! I gave it 4 stars because, like others who purchased and reviewed this product, I think the manufacturer would have done better if they had used a more substantial real sherpa."
Review 4 for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Substantial,
August 13, 2012
By: colemanjan
"This is a very hefty lined suede shirt. bit too heavy for moderate climate use"
Review 5 for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product and fit,
August 10, 2012
By: GMcK
from Alberta
"I see this as more of a light jacket that I can wear fall, winter and spring.
Very nice suede, soft and wearable.
I highly recommend this product.
"
Review 6 for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like it,
January 31, 2012
By: edkim01
"I think its a great shirt jacket, its pretty warm and in my opinion looks great. I purchased an x-large and it fits perfectly. With other Orvis products I seem to be in between x-large and large."
Review 7 for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent coat,
December 31, 2011
By: DBCIII
from Georgia
"It is a little heavier than I was expecting but a very comfortable fit. I am complimented on it every time it is worn in public. Wishing it had 2 side pockets is the only reason it didn't receive 5 stars. It has become my go-to shirt /jacket. Thanks Orvis."
Review 8 for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic Shirt-Jac,
December 29, 2011
By: DrJay12
from Bedford, New York
"Very Good Looking, and Classic Sueded Shirt-Jac!! Real Cowhide Exterior! Warm, Substantial, and goes with just about anything in today's fashion world.
Only thing I'd change would be the Interior, which for the price should be genuine Shearling, and Not the Acrylic Fleece that it's currently made with. Otherwise a 5-Star Product...."
Review 9 for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Should have listened to the other review,
December 27, 2011
By: Redtriowner
from Wendy, Mammoth Lakes, CA
"I bought this as a gift for my husband for Christmas. I had read the other reviews and was hoping the "scarecrow" comments were off base but they were not. The quality of the suede is nice but it's really more like a casual jacked than a shirt. The white faux sheerling stands out too much for my taste. Unfortunately I will be returning it for another item."
Review 10 for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great cover!!!,
October 5, 2011
By: vkendal
from Washington, DC
"I was a little skeptical at first, but am very happy I ordered this product. It is a little heavier than I thought it would be, but that is just fine. The quality is excellent, as usual with Orvis, and serves as a very good alternative to a leather jacket on a cool fall/spring day or evening.
Of course, it is not to be confused as a dressy leather suede piece, but if you are looking for something to keep you warm over your favorite T, then you will be very pleased. It does shed a little bit on your shirt, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. All in all though, it is a very different piece that you are sure to receive compliments on, as I have on numerous occasions."
Review 11 for Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Real disappointment,
February 14, 2011
By: Nutmegcowboy
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"1)Exposed sherpa borders make one look like a clown;
2)no shape; looks like you're in a box;3)All suede clothing should have snaps, not buttons because friction is too much strain on material and buttons.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 1, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and let him know we were sorry to hear he wasn't happy with his purchase for the Scully Sherpa-Suede Shirt . We thanked him for his honest feedback. We are always striving to improve the products we offer and learn a great deal from our customers; we have forwarded his comment on to our product developers, who will take it into consideration in future product refinements.