Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap

Shed the rain and shield your face from the sun with our waxed-cotton ball cap. Features a vintage-style label over the brim and an embroidered Orvis logo at the back. Waxed-cotton ball cap in olive. One size fits most. Pure cotton. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
33 of 35(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Review 1 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat!,
August 25, 2014
By: Nylartep
from Southern California
"Hello, I really love this hat, it's very sturdy and most importantly it brought me fishing luck! :)
The reason I didn't give it a 5 was because it gets hot in the sun and doesn't have a lot of ventilation. I bet that would be a plus in the rain as the hat appears to be waterproof."
Review 2 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fully functional hat,
August 11, 2014
By: Drap
"The waxed-cloth cap I purchased is both comfortable and functional insofar as it is effective in shading sun and repelling rain."
Review 3 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality cap,
August 4, 2014
By: WilliamRS
from Ohio
"Fits great and has that classic look I wanted. I need more like these."
Review 4 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best hat i ve had in ten years,
May 14, 2014
By: huntswithbird66
from Threeforks, MT
"its hard to find a hat that feels right this is a great hat sturdy well built"
Review 5 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waxed cap,
March 24, 2014
By: Crazyfishman
from Arizona
"Good quality, nice vintage design, needs to be offered in more colors"
Review 6 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat,
March 7, 2014
By: CFHends
from Sudbury, ON
"A gentleman's version of a ball cap. Great hat for all situations. I appreciate the shallow fit.
Since I am unable to discuss the country of origin of the product (but one could easily guess what it is), I will say that I would have paid more for a hat made in a country closer to where make my home.
This being said, it's a great hat."
Review 7 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice hat with Orvis style,
March 6, 2014
By: Gregory10
from Cary, NC
"This hat fits very well and is not one of those that have an akward fit such as an oversized bill or bulky crown. Very nice for someone who does not want to wear the traditional sports ball cap at the age of 45."
Review 8 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great , quality made hat,
March 4, 2014
By: Clarke1287
"Very comfortable, holds up well. Keeps head dry during rain"
Review 9 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome hat,
February 10, 2014
By: robert1164
from wv
"i got this hat and it is everything it is
suppose to be and it fits great
"
Review 10 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE GREATEST BALL CAP EVER !,
January 8, 2014
By: souz72
from NC
"the waxed canvas adds elements of warmth, rain-proofing, but is also very subtly elegant.
this ball cap can be worn anywhere from a fishing hole to an exclusive golf club !
since having purchased the first, i've bought several more for friends and family members who were drooling over my husband's new ball cap !"
Review 11 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the hat!,
December 10, 2013
By: Jobento
from San Pedro, CA
"This is my 2nd order. Both orders were for 2 hats. Love the low profile and fabric. This hat is comfortable and warm. Gave 1 away and I want 1 spare and 1 more for a gift."
Review 12 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Cap,
November 29, 2013
By: cleboflies
"This hat is a little more than what I usually pay for any ball cap, but it is well worth the money. Looks great, fits great, and built to last. Highly reccomended!"
Review 13 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat Material,
October 17, 2013
By: tpain
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"Like the hat a lot, but it didn't fit me well. Because I have a long head that's not wide it is very hard to find well fit hats. Gave this one to my brother and it fits him great."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
October 15, 2013
By: hardworkeroutside
from Whiteville, TN
"This hat is wonderful, thick material. It will keep my head warm and dry this winter."
Review 15 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
waxed cap,
September 26, 2013
By: morri
from AB55 5AW
"stylish ,comfortable and in general very practical."
Review 16 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My two essentials,
September 3, 2013
By: Belv
from Australia or OK - USA
"I use s this cap when I am out and about with my Hungarian Viszla. It may be hiking, biking, fishing or camping whatever the activity the two essentials are my dog and my cap. I particularly like the way the wax fabric ensures the cap is durable in any condition and my dog knows whenever I put this cap on its time for adventure."
Review 17 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ball cap for fishing,
August 5, 2013
By: Forestj
from Red Bluff , CA
"This wax embedded ball cap is great. The rain sheds right off the cap and doesn't interfere with fly casting."
Review 18 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I got caught in a deluge fishing the Citico Creek in Tennessee. The hat kept rain off my face and kept my head dry. It looks great and does not have the smell of some other waxed cotton products. Great hat!"
Review 19 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Get ahead - get a hat!,
June 4, 2013
By: griFFo
from Staffordshire, England
"This is a great cap. The quality is excellent, the fit is perfect and it looks superb! It ticks all the boxes."
Review 20 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality hat,
April 22, 2013
By: Nottoway
from Richmond, Va
"this is a quality hat that fits as good as it looks."