Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap

Shed the rain and shield your face from the sun with our waxed-cotton ball cap. Features a vintage-style label over the brim and an embroidered Orvis logo at the back. Waxed-cotton ball cap in olive. One size fits most. Pure cotton. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
42 of 44(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Review 1 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice, very nice,
April 13, 2015
By: Vadims
from East Sussex
"Good quality cap, one size, comfortable, vintage....."
Review 2 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality item,
April 1, 2015
By: Nick95
from Maine
"Great hat, waterproof, good looks, and a decent price"
Review 3 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Field Hat,
March 15, 2015
By: Taylor90
from Virginia
"Great field had, I wore it working the farm in the rain for hours and never got wet. One aside, the Orvis lettering on the front tag is red. When the hat got wet, as intended, the red lettering ran and stained the white cloth slightly pink. Doesn't bother me because I got it to keep my head dry not as a fashion accessory but it may bother some."
Review 4 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good all rounder,
January 27, 2015
By: Bytheriv4r
"Purchased cap as replacement. Great all rounder for use in all seasons. Good sizing and appropriate colour."
Review 5 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift!,
January 20, 2015
By: Melbelle
from Northwest Arkansas
"I recently purchased this for my husbands birthday, not too long after getting him the heritage field coat. He loves the rugged look and the wax cloth exterior that keeps water from soaking into the hat. It's a great looking hat that he can wear any season."
Review 6 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favourite cap,
December 29, 2014
By: gforcegerry
from Suffolk, UK
"Love this cap. It is warm insofar as it is waxed and therefore doesn't breath too well but it is shower proof which is a bonus. I use it for autumn winter and spring. Great shape and has velcro closure which is so much better than the metal buckles,most of whwhich fail. So good I bought another one."
Review 7 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat!,
August 25, 2014
By: Nylartep
from Southern California
"Hello, I really love this hat, it's very sturdy and most importantly it brought me fishing luck! :)
The reason I didn't give it a 5 was because it gets hot in the sun and doesn't have a lot of ventilation. I bet that would be a plus in the rain as the hat appears to be waterproof."
Review 8 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fully functional hat,
August 11, 2014
By: Drap
"The waxed-cloth cap I purchased is both comfortable and functional insofar as it is effective in shading sun and repelling rain."
Review 9 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality cap,
August 4, 2014
By: WilliamRS
from Ohio
"Fits great and has that classic look I wanted. I need more like these."
Review 10 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best hat i ve had in ten years,
May 14, 2014
By: huntswithbird66
from Threeforks, MT
"its hard to find a hat that feels right this is a great hat sturdy well built"
Review 11 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waxed cap,
March 24, 2014
By: Crazyfishman
from Arizona
"Good quality, nice vintage design, needs to be offered in more colors"
Review 12 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat,
March 7, 2014
By: CFHends
from Sudbury, ON
"A gentleman's version of a ball cap. Great hat for all situations. I appreciate the shallow fit.
Since I am unable to discuss the country of origin of the product (but one could easily guess what it is), I will say that I would have paid more for a hat made in a country closer to where make my home.
This being said, it's a great hat."
Review 13 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice hat with Orvis style,
March 6, 2014
By: Gregory10
from Cary, NC
"This hat fits very well and is not one of those that have an akward fit such as an oversized bill or bulky crown. Very nice for someone who does not want to wear the traditional sports ball cap at the age of 45."
Review 14 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great , quality made hat,
March 4, 2014
By: Clarke1287
"Very comfortable, holds up well. Keeps head dry during rain"
Review 15 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome hat,
February 10, 2014
By: robert1164
from wv
"i got this hat and it is everything it is
suppose to be and it fits great
"
Review 16 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE GREATEST BALL CAP EVER !,
January 8, 2014
By: souz72
from NC
"the waxed canvas adds elements of warmth, rain-proofing, but is also very subtly elegant.
this ball cap can be worn anywhere from a fishing hole to an exclusive golf club !
since having purchased the first, i've bought several more for friends and family members who were drooling over my husband's new ball cap !"
Review 17 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the hat!,
December 10, 2013
By: Jobento
from San Pedro, CA
"This is my 2nd order. Both orders were for 2 hats. Love the low profile and fabric. This hat is comfortable and warm. Gave 1 away and I want 1 spare and 1 more for a gift."
Review 18 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Cap,
November 29, 2013
By: cleboflies
"This hat is a little more than what I usually pay for any ball cap, but it is well worth the money. Looks great, fits great, and built to last. Highly reccomended!"
Review 19 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat Material,
October 17, 2013
By: tpain
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"Like the hat a lot, but it didn't fit me well. Because I have a long head that's not wide it is very hard to find well fit hats. Gave this one to my brother and it fits him great."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vintage Waxed-Cotton Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
October 15, 2013
By: hardworkeroutside
from Whiteville, TN
"This hat is wonderful, thick material. It will keep my head warm and dry this winter."