Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Pewter Candlesticks

Meticulous reproductions of cherished antiques, these cast-pewter candlesticks are a lovely accent with our festive candles at the holidays or with taper candles throughout the year. Decorative pewter candlesticks in pewter. Hand wash.
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pewter Candlesticks
Review 1 for Pewter Candlesticks
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice quality but not as appeared in ad.,
February 11, 2014
By: Gail43
from Indianapolis, IN
"These candlesticks are of good quality but arrived looking very black in color and not as anticipated being pewter. I cleaned them, removing some of the black tarnish. They look a little better but would hesitate in purchasing them again."
Review 2 for Pewter Candlesticks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 28, 2012
By: CAchristmas
"larger than I expected, right out of dickens, classic look"
Review 3 for Pewter Candlesticks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
super fun purchase,
December 3, 2012
By: GGramma
from Prineville, OR
"These candles are just beautiful and are displayed in my home in antique candle holders. I don't light them but store them to be used the following year during the month of December. I have purchased 3 sets with 1 given as a gift. Can't say enough good things about them."
Review 4 for Pewter Candlesticks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Beautiful,
December 24, 2011
By: CoffeeShopGirl
from Jackson, WY
"Even nicer than portrayed in the picture. Good size and sturdy ."
Review 5 for Pewter Candlesticks
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dissapointed,
December 10, 2011
By: pewtercandles
from Staten Island, N Y
"The product came as black as coal, I have many pieces of pewter and never did I see any like this."
Review 6 for Pewter Candlesticks
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dark color,
November 13, 2011
By: Pritch
from Indianapolis, IN
"The pewter was such a dark color, I wasn't expecting that. Pewter I've seen in retail stores is more to the silver shade, than to black. It seems more silver in the picture. It seems a good weight though, and the shape was exactly as expected."
Review 7 for Pewter Candlesticks
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sorry Not Recommended,
December 18, 2010
By: Emma
from Deering, NH
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"When I first saw these three reproduction candlesticks advertised in this year's catalog, I was excited as I had always hoped Orvis would recreate the antique candlesticks pictured. I already have the candles and the entire family loved them. I decided to wait until my Christmas shopping was almost done before deciding to choose one to purchase this year. When I went online I discovered all three were on sale. I realized this was either the bargain of the year or there was a problem with these candlesticks. Sadly, there is a problem.
Made in Thailand, the shapes are correctly reproduced, but sadly lacking in the authenticity required for long lasting enjoyment as a future heirloom.
I am mildly surprised that Orvis who takes such care with all their fishing rods and equipment wouldn't realize that these candlesticks fall into the same category. People would rather pay more for a future antique made by American craftsmen than a "cheap" reproduction that doesn't really make the cut.
I realize that the product I want would probably cost more than the original price as advertised by Orvis, but I am willing to save my pennies as the originals really are quite beautiful. No need to "antique" a new piece as new pewter made by a real craftsman is a thing of beauty all by itself.
Orvis, please redo this product as I am sure you had many requests in previous years. But, find a nationally recognized American craftsman with a background in crafting early American antique pewter. The overall results will be so much better."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 19, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and let her know we were disappointed to hear she wasn't happy with the Pewter Candlesticks. We thanked her for her honest feedback—we are always striving to improve the products we offer and learn a great deal from our customers; we have forwarded her comments on to our product developers, who will take it into consideration in future product refinements. Please remember: Orvis will happily exchange or refund your purchase if any item does not meet your expectations. 
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pewter Candlesticks
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1