Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat

This fleece lined winter hat is ultralight, packable, and has highly water-resistant plush fleece lining and fleece-lined ear flaps with a hook-and-loop closure. Stowaway face mask with a nylon outer face and a soft, looped interior. Exterior drawcord adjustment. Magnetic closure holds brim to crown. Fleece lined winter hat in black. Shell: nylon. Lining: 100% polyester. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(7⅛), L(7⅜), XL(7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.492 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
2
61 of 63(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Review 1 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis mad bomber hat,
December 13, 2014
By: Rtb7
"It is the. Perfect hat for a Chicago winter. Thei face shield is what sold me. It is great."
Review 2 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm hat,
December 13, 2014
By: Mainiac
from Dixmont, ME
"This is a great hat. It functions as advertised. It is easy to adust and wear. I would recommend it to anyone who spends time outdoor in the cold."
Review 3 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 9, 2014
By: TIARA
from MASSAPEQUA. NEW YORK
"THIS HAT IS WARM AND SOFT, NOT STIFF AND COARSE.IT ALSO CAN BE FOLDED INTO ONES POCKET."
Review 4 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Going back for more,
December 2, 2014
By: NYhomemaker
from NY, NY
"I purchased this hat for my 15 year old son after he found it in an Orvis catalogue. He loves its warmth and flexibility. I had only to show it to my husband once before he responded, "Now I want one!" He's stopping by the Orvis store near his office today to pick up a larger size for himself. A definite good buy!"
Review 5 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
winter hat,
October 23, 2014
By: JADAIR
from Las Vegas
"Bought this for my husband who was very pleased with the quality and lightweight materials. Will be a very comfortable and warm hat for the winter"
Review 6 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A "must-have" for this climate,
April 19, 2014
By: gauto
from chicago, IllinoisG
"The cap far exceeds all of the caps of my lifetime combined. I wish I'd seen it sooner;especially for the Winter that just ended. Bravo Orvis!"
Review 7 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
March 2, 2014
By: gman4302
from Clarkston, MI
"It's lite weight and very warm. Perfect for single digit temperatures."
Review 8 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm,
March 1, 2014
By: gman4302
from Clarkston, MI
"Great hat, fits well and very warm. Perfect for the worst winter in Michigan in years."
Review 9 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
lightweight cap,
February 25, 2014
By: RONALD1970
from OREGON
"NOT sure yet how warm this will be-it is small on my head-medium size. Fits O.K. but not as much cover as other caps. Maybe too soon to tell how warm it will really be in colder weather. I recommend it with reservations."
Review 10 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm Dome,
February 25, 2014
By: digamigo
from Modesto, CA
"This hat intended to keep the dome warm has some very cool features including a hideaway face mask that disappears into an ear flap pocket. The hat is wonderfully light and perfectly warm. It even has an elastic drawstring to snug it up to the heads complete satisfaction."
Review 11 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect for Dog Walking in a New Hampshire Winter.,
February 12, 2014
By: SwedefromNH
from Amherst, NH
"Excellent product but get a size larger than you would normally. Weatherproof and has a built in face mask which is a clever design."
Review 12 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best winter hat ever.....,
February 10, 2014
By: KeithDickson
"In the polar vortex this winter that was NYC, this hat performed flawlessly. Light, windproof, VERY warm, and easy to stow and carry. I can only think of one slight downside, it gets a little too warm in cold temperatures.....If you can call that a negative."
Review 13 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warmest hat ever,
January 30, 2014
By: tomdot
from South Louisiana
"hat is evtremely warm and wind proof.
The only negative is the velco closure could be longer."
Review 14 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad buy,
January 22, 2014
By: filbert1
from NYC
"An inferior product. The band under the chin is too short so it is uncomfortable to connect. The material inside the shell sweats and soon is wet, and in cold weather that it the last thing one needs.
The band wrapped in the pocket which is meant to cover nose and mouth in high winds is also short and not wide enough.
I kept my balaclava just in case, and this coming weekend in very cold weather I will wear it rather than this product. I regret buying this hat but having worn it twice I cannot return it."
Review 15 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Hat,
January 3, 2014
By: Onward
"The moment I tried on this hat I knew it was for me. The softer than believable insulation and convenient face mask makes this hat comfortable and warm. This hat earned 5 stars when tested during a recent snow storm with bone chilling-winds. During two hours of shoveling snow my head stayed warm without getting sweaty wet and somehow the face mask kept my nose from running. The snap up brim is an added bonus. With this hat my head is ready for more cold weather activities!"
Review 16 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No other hat can compare,
January 1, 2014
By: deardeer
from Arlington Heights, IL
"This is an extremely wonderful hat that nothing can compare. It makes my hubby very happy when he receives it and he never want to take it off!"
Review 17 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing,
December 25, 2013
By: Skiking
from Ohio
"I wear 7 5/8 hat which is XL. I ordered XL . This is a very small tight fit XL. And, the brim which is supposed to be able to be turned down ; cannot be worn that way because it covers the eyes completely"
Review 18 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 11, 2013
By: Docr
from Middletown, OH
"Very warm and comfortable hat. I wish I would have this when I was a letter carrier."
Review 19 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect winter headgear,
October 30, 2013
By: nijs
"Weighs virtually nothing; can be squeezed into a tiny ball and placed into any pocket; very snug (medium size fits me perfectly - smallish head and bald!); feels warm and protective; excellent face cover flap, if required. Very well designed, with good quality material - the lining is very soft and thermal (no wool -too itchy for me). For me, a truly excellent buy.l"
Review 20 for The Ultimate Cold-Weather Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good product, bad sizing,
October 28, 2013
By: wp4444
from Raleigh, NC
"The product seemed to be as advertised and exactly what I wanted, until I tried it on. The sizing is smaller than what is noted on the sizing chart. As an XL should have worked for me, but did not, and as an XXL was not available, the item was returned."