Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Battenkill® Log Carrier

Restock the wood box on cold winter days with a rugged log carrier built from our famous Battenkill® canvas—a rugged 18-oz. pure cotton fabric—and durable oil-tanned leather. Pure cotton canvas and genuine leather. Spot clean. Imported. 19¾"H x 30"L x 39½"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Review 1 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded expectations,
January 17, 2014
By: FarmSusie
"My husband is very pleased with the battenkill log carrier. It makes bringing in the wood much easier. The carrier is well made and appears it will last many years. Once again Orvis does not disappoint!"
Review 2 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Log Carrier,
December 18, 2013
By: JL212
"We love this log carrier and use it all the time to haul wood in from the woodshed. It's sturdy and we've had it for years. We actually bought this one as a gift for a young couple with a fireplace in their new home."
Review 3 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
December 6, 2013
By: tcarr72
"Well made, functional and rugged but looks very nice. Little spendy, but worth it w/their warranty."
Review 4 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great to Haul your logs,
November 24, 2013
By: Begull
from Sautee, Ga
"The log carrier is the perfect size for either a man or a woman. It is attractive next to the fireplace and very compact and useful, as well as very light."
Review 5 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical Wood Carrier for those Cold Winter Night,
November 18, 2013
By: JiminHouston
from Houston, TX
"Although I have yet to load this item up with firewood and haul it indoors, I am sure it will see a lot of service by my daughter, who will be moving to England shortly. Her boyfriend has been stocking up on wood to keep away the seasonal chill."
Review 6 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd time around,
October 21, 2013
By: Bever
from NW Arkansas
"This is the second one of these we've purchased. The 1st one lasted 10 years. Use it every day in the winter. Can't do without it!"
Review 7 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's up to the Task,
January 3, 2013
By: MiamiAl
from Cardigan Junction, MN
"Sturdy handles. Classy look. "Ears" that open out to handle larger logs for larger fireplaces. Ample. Now I need the stand. An excellent purchase well worth the money."
Review 8 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made,
December 29, 2012
By: Bluemom
"heavy duty and well-made. Looks like it will be around for a while!"
Review 9 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift,
December 28, 2012
By: Snowleopard47
from Austin TX
"A very practical and useful carrier. No more scratched and scraped hands and arms! Plus it allows me to bring in more wood in one haul than I can carry in my arms. Makes life a great deal easier."
Review 10 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seond one bought for son,
December 28, 2012
By: MOMANDDAD
"We have had one of these carrriers for years and years. It is faded and looks well loved and used, but still works perfectly. Our son and his wife bought a home with a fireplace this past summer. The carrier seemed the perfect gift for them. A tradition in our family."
Review 11 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Log Carrier,
December 28, 2012
By: CLEB
"The Log Carrier is always a big hit....They are well-made and last for years.....We have been married for 52 years and I think this is only the 3rd one we have had! Worth every cent. It has a great grip and makes hauling firewood very comfortable..."
Review 12 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Log carrier,
December 28, 2012
By: justjan
from San Anttonio, Tx
"This log carrier is so sturdy and handy. It is especially wonderful if you are a woman and need to bring in logs for the fire. Guys will love it because it is so efficient whether you need several logs or just a few. Great for owners of fire pits and fireplaces. I had it monogramed and it looks amazing."
Review 13 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Log Carrier,
December 26, 2012
By: levs
"This was a great item, but not exactly what we were looking for. We had had a similar item, but the ends were enclosed in order to keep loose barks, chips, etc. from falling out while transporting logs from outside to the fireplace."
Review 14 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product Needs Improvement,
December 20, 2012
By: Will2Be
"A great product, but the ends need to be added and closed up, as all the debris from the firewood being carried does not fall out on the hearth. Make bag a larger size -perhaps a small and large size.,"
Review 15 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't do withouot...,
December 10, 2012
By: Emery
from San Diego County, Ca.
"I bought this as a gift for my brother. My husband has now graduated to the leather version after years and years with this "starter"! I don't know how we ever got along without it...especially me. Such a clever idea and so much better then beach towels (don't ask!!"
Review 16 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
December 9, 2012
By: theDirtyDuck
from Shreveport, LA
"This is a very functional accessory for getting firewood next to the hearth. Classy looking and well-made."
Review 17 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have log carrier,
November 19, 2012
By: Baldwin
from Troy MI
"Get your firewood into the house w/o hurting your back! This log carrier is a must have if you burn. It's the perfect size with large handles that are easy to find, easy to grab, easy to carry into the home and easy to set down with a load of logs. The material is strong and large enough to keep the lose bark and wood chips off your floors. Great product!"
Review 18 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but could be excellent,
January 15, 2012
By: Bwanamakuba
from Manchester UK
"Just the right size to make carrying the wood an acceptable weight but you get in a decent amount. Handles are wide enough to be comfortable when full. It could be improved with a bit of a lip at either end as shorter logs can fall off so it didn't get full marks. Like all Orvis stuff I expect it to last a very long time."
Review 19 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eureka!,
January 1, 2012
By: Francesco
from Millbrook N.Y.
"great product strong durable good looking I imagine it will show little signs of wear over time."
Review 20 for Battenkill® Log Carrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loved the original,
December 29, 2011
By: crossword
"Great nexessary product. We have owned one for 14 years. We purchased this new version of the product as a gift. The original carrier has enclosed ends, thus, less mess and wood fragments are carried into the house."