Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot

A familiar sight in the Australian outback, this double-gore pull-on boot for men is rugged, warm and waterproof. Easy to get on and off with double elastic gore and front and back pull-on tabs. Shearling-lined sock liner for incredible warmth and comfort. Molded polyurethane outsole with lug tread. The perfect everyday winter boot. Waterproof outback boots for men in chestnut. Leather and sheepskin. Imported.In men's whole and half sizes: 8½, 9, 9½.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot
Review 1 for Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Boots--no polish,
October 24, 2012
By: SouthMauiJim
"These are very well made and high quality boots. They come with some waterproofing sauce. Unfortunately, they don't come with any polish or an indication of what type of polish to use. I am trying to figure that out at my local boot seller's display rack. It sounds like the manufacturer makes a boot polish but it is not offered by Orvis with the boots."
Review 2 for Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Boot......for me.,
August 28, 2012
By: gypsydog
"..and probably for you, too. Good fitting, solid gripping, comfortable for long days on your feet, well ventilated too. Over 30 years, this is my 3rd pair. In rain, sleet, heat, dry weather, it doesnt matter, these are good boots."
Review 3 for Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid, smart boot,
February 26, 2012
By: GWS243
from Penn.
"I learned of these boots by our local veterinarian. He wears these things all over the place and swears by them. They are solid despite the somewhat suspicious-looking elastic. They come with a nice little packet of Nikwax that lasts a treatment or two and truly is waterproof for a couple of inches of water. They are slightly insulated so I don't think they'll find much use in the summer, but these are great for knocking around and doing chores in."
Review 4 for Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable enough to sleep in,
February 20, 2012
By: furman
"Love the boot. The shearling liner makes these the most comfortable and warmest casual boot on the market. I recommend to everyone for rain, snow and even perfect weather. I plan to wear year round. Great boot."
Review 5 for Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grat Shoes,
February 6, 2012
By: Warmtoes
from Syracuse, NY
"Fit and comfort are excellent right from the box.
Toasty warm."
Review 6 for Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the expense,
January 12, 2012
By: starstruck
from Madison, WI
"I ordered a cheaper pair of slip-on insulated boots from another company and was disappointed by the loose lining and lack of sturdiness. So I bit the bullet and paid the extra bucks for this item for my husband's holiday gift. He wears them all the time. They fit well (8.5 for his size 8-8.5 shoe size), they're warm, and they have a great tread. Glad we got 'em."
Review 7 for Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Miserable Experience !,
January 4, 2012
By: GoMarines
from New York NY
"When I purchased these boots I couldn’t wait for them to arrive, my mood went from eager anticipation to disappointment and anger. The boots were not, I repeat not true to size. They were at least one full size to small. My original plan was to spend the day in NYC window shopping, that of course didn’t happen. As a consequence of wearing these boots, I was in blinding agony, not only was the boot its self impossibly small, the elastic (double-gore) was so tight that my both my ankles were bleeding. In the end I was forced to stop at a shoe store and spend $200.00 on shoes that fit. That left me with no alternative, but to carry the Orvis boots around for the remainder of the day. When I finally limped home I called Orvis customer service and explained to the agent what had happened, and innocently asked why Orvis did say buy one size up in the advertisement, her response was; "well you should have read the reviews it’s all there", implying everyone has time to read the reviews. I came away from my Orvis experience wondering what was more aggravating the shoes or the customer service. Buyer beware"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Draywawa,
September 27, 2011
By: Draywawa
from San Marcos,Texas
"Great Boot I really enjoy this boot .Very comfortable with the sheepskin lining!"
Review 9 for Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blunnie Winter Boots,
February 21, 2011
By: Divid
from Freeport, New York
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Size is tricky. I ordered a size 11 1/2 and had to return it for a size 12,, which fits, I wear a size 11 usually. That aside I am very pleased with the product. It keeps my feet warmer thnt any other boot I've tried. I take my dog to a dog run every day in the coldest winter we've had in years and the warmth lasts much longer than other boots I own. Iv'e been out standing on frozen ground for 3 to 4 hours before I start to feel the cold while with my other boots my feet feel frozen after an hour if not sooner."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Waterproof Insulated Outback Boot
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2